Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge

Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge

Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (6)
Golfing at cherry hills on the 9th tee.
The cliff hole.
Sand traps weren't a problem this day.
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#10 of 18 hotels in Sturgeon Bay
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge lies in the heart of beautiful Door County Wisconsin. With an 18 hole golf course, driving range, and bar & grill this resort is the ultimate golf getaway. Every room has a walk out balcony overlooking the 9th green and is just a few steps away from the golf shop and first tee. With a friendly staff, fun atmosphere and great golf course Cherry Hills is a great place to stay, play and relax in Door County.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Golf course
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
Languages Spoken
English
69Reviews7Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 29
  • 27
  • 9
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathryn C wrote a review Jul 2021
Davenport, Iowa114 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a little late when there wasn't much availability and I am so glad we were able to find space here. It is a few miles off the highway but it is only a short drive to Sturgeon Bay and it's handy to get up to the rest of the peninsula. The rooms are big and look out onto the golf course-with a balcony or walk out porch! The bar can't be beat with nice prices and well made drinks. The best part is that it is quiet! We were on the bottom floor and I really didn't hear much noise above or to the sides at all. Yes, we have a dehumidifier in the room but that also helps dampen any noise there might be and keeps the room cool. The beds are all new and so comfortable and there are plenty of blankets and pillows . There is no pool but there is a discount to a local spa (book ahead of your trip!), discounted golf, and access to the driving range. The staff couldn't be friendlier too. If you are looking for a super upscale and fancy resort with a lot of frills, this is probably not your place. If you are looking for a relaxing and cozy place with great drinks, this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LauraZ wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, Wisconsin20 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family planned a surprise 40th for us at Cherry Hills Golf and Lodge. There were 11 adults and two children under the age of two. We all stayed at the resort and it was like our own private compound. Everyone was so nice to us and the rooms were just perfect for families. The guys golfed and the women enjoyed shopping and all that the area has to offer. The location, at first, seems like it’s out-of-the-way but it’s truly only about 10 minutes from any shopping and restaurants and very close to a nice winery.

We hope to go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey K wrote a review Sep 2021
Seymour, Wisconsin55 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here numerous times in the past with my husband, this time here with girlfriends. We requested rooms next to each other and that was accommodated. It was so fun and easy to move from room to room on patios. All of my friends were impressed with this place. We golfed and had a wonderful time on a beautiful course. Best bang for your buck in Door County! I especially love the location and how easy you can get to sturgeon bay, egg harbor, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JoeandJill L wrote a review Sep 2023
10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a two night stay for our first time visiting SB area. We wanted to play a round of golf while we were there so found this resort online. It is NOT a luxury resort. It is a GREAT place to stay if you like clean rooms, that are older but well maintained and are not planning on spending a ton of time in the room. There is a walk out balcony on each room with a golf course view.

Where this resort shines is the staff. WOW, amazing. From check in to check out everyone was awesome. TAYLOR in the bar, front desk, and just about everywhere else is amazing. She bartended both nights we were there and we watched her work very hard, yet kept the smile on her face and was always willing to help.

The golf shop, again friendly staff, and course are very nice. The course is challenging with some very interesting holes. We had a great time, even though we lost a couple balls to hidden hazards. I would encourage anyone interested in friendly staff, a good golf course and decent room to check this place out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fred R wrote a review Aug 2022
Westmont, Illinois40 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I could not ask for a better introduction to Door County! Cherry Hills is fantastic. Our room was perfect - spotless, comfortable, and ready for us to relax. Great view of the golf course and a great discount during our stay. Jon was able to help us out with an extra day when he got a cancellation. The course is nicely manicured and the pro staff is very accommodating. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for things+sights to see+do and places to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Every room has a great view of the golf course.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dcisive wrote a review Feb 2012
Hagerman, Idaho46 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
or at least it WAS my best kept secret. I guess I'll give it up. I love this place for it's location on the Door County Penninsula as well as the over all value and convenience. I've been coming here for years usually because I would visit stores I serviced as a national sales manager. But I've also brought my wife and parents up here at times. They all loved it. The restaurant on site is wonderful and has great prime rib and a nice bar. Also perfect for breakfast (their cinnamon cake is to die for). The main reason I prefer it here is it typically is devoid of children, or for that matter the average age of folks staying here is probably between 35-70, so it suits me well. NO noise. You can really relax. I don't even play golf :-) It is easy access to the highway to the rest of Door county. The staff is always so wonderful and accommodating. For people that aren't toting around children I consider this the best choice for a nice peaceful stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CinnamonChicago wrote a review Sep 2017
Chicago7 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cheap amenities and worn out beds, very arrogant front desk staff, having to drive many miles to find parks and shops and the lake or bay, etc make this the worst choice we ever made ( in more than 60 trips) to Door County. Have never had a bad experience like this in the Door, and have stayed in a good number of different places from simple to superior. We made a last minute decision to go on Labor day weekend, and this was one of three places left on the peninsula, and we only wanted a good night's sleep there. But the beds were wornout and made it hard to sleep, with the springs so bouncy; staff refused to believe us the next day and were very rude.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GolfCherryHills, Owner at Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge
Responded Sep 15, 2017
Your initial review (on record with Expedia) after being in the room for six hours was very positive (including cleanliness and beds), then in the morning when you demanded a refund because you didn't like the beds, the room was dirty, or the soap size (which is pretty universal for all hotels). Our "cheap" amenities include 18 hole golf course, bar & grill--was there something we else we advertised but failed to provide, or is that another generic complaint for attention? It is clear this is something you do to scam hotels. Please have better character than this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenn and Susan S wrote a review Jun 2017
Vernon Hills, Illinois32 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Back again with the guys for a golf weekend right before Memorial Day weekend. Can't say enough of the time we had with our favorite resort owner John. His hospitality and attention to making the guests feel at home is unbelievable. The rooms were upgraded, the gold course was in wonderful condition for the time of year and the staff were the best. Erin and Jenny made our weekend memorable. Laughs and good times will keep us coming back to this Door County resort that will only get better. Thanks John, Erin and Jenny
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GolfCherryHills, Manager at Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge
Responded Aug 16, 2017
Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Theatrix wrote a review Sep 2015
Loveland18 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was full of flies on check in. When we called two months ago to check on the lodgings we were told it was completely renovated. This is an absolute lie. The carpet is filthy and the walls need painting. The furniture is old and outdated, with a tube style television, not the flat screen we were promised was in every room. We have an awesome view of their empty mildewy pool. What a complete and utter disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeff T wrote a review Jun 2015
Fredonia, Wisconsin3 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm surprised by the previous reviews. Our stay was not good. The entire resort is very old and was closed for two years before re-opening under new ownership. The first floor is still not open because of remodeling. Room had a noise coming from the walls every minute 24/7 that kept us up all night. Tons of June bugs flying around the balcony kept us from going out. No phone in room to call front desk. None of the outside doors were locked so access to the rooms would have been real easy. Key locks on the doors so a good kick and your in. Room was made up nicely. Staff was nice and friendly. AC was very old and noisy. Had to guess where to place the dials for adequate cooling. Room was hot when we got in.
No WIFI in the rooms.
It has a pool and hot tub but they were empty.
If you want a cheap place to just go in and sleep and not worry about security, this is for you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: wait for the hotel to be completely done.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Sally F
New Berlin17 contributions2 helpful votes
Its a lovely 10-15 min drive along BayShore Dr. It leads right into the main street in Sturgeon Bay. 3rd Street. BayShore Dr also is nice to take to Egg Harbor. Not busy and great fall colors along the way. Enjoy your stay in DC. We have property in Fish Creek and visit DC often. If you have another questions please don't hesitate to ask.
Answer from GolfCherryHills
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Yes it does!
33sisters asked a question Jun 2017
Rock Island, Illinois2 contributions
Do you allow pets
sadiedoggy asked a question Jun 2017
Chicago, Illinois19 contributions7 helpful votes
Whirlpools
Answer from Shakleemar
Waupaca, Wisconsin51 contributions18 helpful votes
No pool, no fitness center, no whirlpool, no sauna.....basic motel but we love it! Quiet...away from the crowds....you can walk on safe country roads, golf, sit on the patio and then psych yourself up to go into the crowds of Door Co or other "green areas".
Answer from blackpupchucky
Wisconsin1,077 contribution43 helpful votes
No, there is not, unless you play golf, then the entire outside is your fitness area.
Fred R wrote a tip Aug 2022
Westmont, Illinois40 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every room has a great view of the golf course."
Read full review
Audrey L wrote a tip Oct 2019
Chicago, Illinois96 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The ceiling of our room seems very thin. We can hear all the noises when people walking. It's better to have a room on the second floor."
Read full review
BJaerosmith wrote a tip Sep 2019
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a second floor and avoid party/noisy adjacent occupants if possible. Be well documented when lodging any complaints to staff/mgmnt."
Read full review
Susan Y wrote a tip Sep 2019
16 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have balconies. Rooms have a mini fridge and a coffeemaker. There is no microwave."
Read full review
tomorrowsantiques wrote a tip Oct 2018
Mesa, Arizona1,207 contribution165 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"They appear to be all good. Nice floor plan."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sturgeon Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,658 - ₱10,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinDoor CountySturgeon Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHERRY HILLS GOLF & LODGE - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sturgeon Bay, WI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Farm (4.2 km), Door County Maritime Museum (6.7 km), and Door County Historical Museum (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bluefront Cafe, Scaturo's Baking Co & Cafe, and Door County Coffee and Tea Co..
Are there any historical sites close to Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bliss General Store (6.1 km).
Is Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sturgeon Bay HotelsSturgeon Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sturgeon BayHotels near Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars