Thorp House Inn & Cottages

Thorp House Inn & Cottages

Thorp House Inn - Progressive Dinner Weekend 2016
Traveler (244)
Room & Suite (72)
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 4 B&Bs in Fish Creek
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The six unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The six cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the trees... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques with unique character. All cottages have gas fireplaces. We are open year-round.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Bowling offsite
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Delta County Airport
67.3 km
See all flights
Austin-Straubel Field
99.7 km
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles681 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Thorp House Inn & Cottages garners high marks for its spotless rooms and well-kept surroundings, with guests frequently lauding the property's cleanliness. The staff's warm and efficient service earns consistent accolades, enhancing the hotel's tranquil and cozy ambiance. Nestled in a serene yet central location in Fish Creek, the Inn's charming amenities and tastefully decorated rooms with a blend of historic allure and modern touches are often mentioned as highlights. Travelers consider the Thorp House a peaceful retreat offering good value and an inviting atmosphere that beckons a return visit.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Satisfying
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
681Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 601
  • 59
  • 13
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bill B wrote a review May 2023
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 2nd stay at Thorp. We take a cabin with the fully equipped kitchen as we have specific dietary needs. Fish Creek is a wonderful destination. Very much a New England in the Midwest vibe. Staying at Thorp makes it that much better.

Matt and his team are most hospitable. I don't think there is anything they would not do to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The accommodations are SPOTLESS and I am a fussy guy. The bedding is of the highest quality and the location has plenty of parking. The grounds themselves are also spotless and well kept. For as old as the property is, it is always freshly painted and gorgeous.

When we go on vacation, we usually stay a full week wherever we go. The only problem you will have here, is a bit of sadness when it's time to leave.

Now adays, excellent service and accommodations are at a premium. Thorp is far and away the best we have found in any of our stays anywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure to take a hike or drive through Peninsula State Park about 1/2 mile down the road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded May 22, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works hard to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We are so fortunate to be in quiet area, yet so close to all things Fish Creek. We look forward to your return this fall.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gabsnot wrote a review Sep 2020
Rockford, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my first stay at a B&B. Met the owners, Darlene and her husband Matt upon check-in. I booked the ELIZA room on the first floor of the main house. An absolutely charming beautiful room decorated with period wallpaper lamps and lace. Room comes with a walk in closet and private bath. The toiletries smell wonderful, the towels are fabulous and the room came with two lux robes to use.

Thorpe is a half block off the main street of Fishcreek, but you wouldn't know it. Enjoying my breakfast on the veranda/porch I heard the wind through the trees and the birds. This is a lovely B&B, well maintained with loving care by Darlene and Matt. They are welcoming and very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, activities and the local events going on in the community.

Thorpe House follows COVID precautions and I felt very safe there. Social distancing is followed and at breakfast you can choose to eat at the large kitchen table, in the parlor or out on the veranda/porch. After you are done with breakfast, they spray and disinfect the tables and chairs, there are hand sanitizers available.

This is a very sweet, charming B&B with wonderful welcoming owners who obviously care about their guests. It is within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants of Fish Creek without being exposed to the noise and traffic. I would stay here again in a heart beat.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The Eliza room is the only one on the first floor, next to the parlor. You have a secondary door...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Thank you for your delightful review. It was so nice to get to know you and we are glad you chose us for your first B&B experience. Eliza is a great room with all the amenities to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. We are do fortunate to be in such a quiet setting, yet so close to all the activity in Fish Creek. Our staff works hard to provide safe and clean spaces for everyone to enjoy. Hope to host you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
GlobalCitizen2 wrote a review Oct 2020
Racine, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect Fish Creek location, a block off the main road and away from the crowd, but an easy walk to most things in town. Historic property is clean and well maintained. Complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks, c-chip cookies, and mints in the common areas. Breakfast menu mixed berries/fruit, granola, yogurt, muffins, juice and coffee/tea with rotating entrées. Stairs up to most inn rooms.

Pandemic safety procedures in place and working. We requested extra towels in room prior to check-in and never needed any service in our room during a 2-night stay. We dropped used towels in the laundry room.

Parked in front of the property every time.

We stayed in the main house/inn and did not look in other inn rooms or the cottages.

Hosts very gracious, welcoming, and accommodating. Enjoyed our stay and will recommend Thorp House to our friends,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Everil rm upstairs, rear. Spacious, except bathroom & closet. Gas fireplace, high ceilings,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Oct 25, 2020
Thank you so much for your delightful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our property to be accommodating and safe. Breakfast, served warm every morning, is a great way to get a Door County start to your day. Hope to see you again and thanks for the referrals.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KTWriting wrote a review Jan 2020
Wheaton, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this lovely B&B the first weekend in January for the historic inn progressive dinner, held annually in Fish Creek each holiday season. We stayed in Everyl room, a beautiful, large room with a gas fireplace and awesome whirlpool tub. The room has a balcony overlooking a charming courtyard where the Thorp House cottages are located. It would be nice to stay here in warmer weather and use the balcony.

We loved that this room was separated from the other three bedrooms in the house. It’s beautifully decorated in keeping with the historical significance of the home. The common areas are warm and cozy with an eat-in kitchen where we ate a nice breakfast served by the owners—a lovely, friendly couple—and two living room areas, one with a grand wood burning fireplace and piano. Between the wonderful Progressive Dinner split between the White Gull Inn and Thorp House, the weekend could not have been more perfect! It was a Christmas gift my husband and I gave to each other — time together! Well done, Thorp House! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ThorpHouse, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thank you for such a nice review. It was wonderful to host you both for such a special weekend. The Progressive Dinners are always so fun and entertaining. And though we are open all year–and winter is a nice time to visit–May through October are great times to enjoy the outdoors here. Glad you enjoyed Everil, which is our largest and most private room and will soon sport a new king bed. Looking forward to hosting you both again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah R wrote a review Apr 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been visiting Door County for over a decade and always enjoy trying a new bnb, house rental, etc. I've always wanted to stay at the Thorp House so we decided to reserve one of the cottages with our kids over spring break. The owners are very friendly and the property is very tidy. The location is amazing -- you can see Lake Michigan across the street and you can walk to everything in downtown Fish Creek. The cottage was the perfect size for my family. The only downside to our visit was that the cottage had tons of tiny ants. They were in the kitchen, in the bathroom, and all over the living room floor. It made cooking in the kitchen a bit gross. I did speak w/ one of the owners about it was a bit surprised to learn that they already knew about the ants. She offered to come by and spray while we were out but I declined as we have a baby who is crawling (it was a product safe for kids). Ultimately, our stay was fine, but I would have appreciated a heads up that the cottage had ants as we may have changed our plans OR perhaps been offered a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Apr 7, 2021
Thank you for your review and we're sorry for the ants. We had only seen a few here and there so I was not aware that so many may have been around during your stay. We have been trying to mitigate them through safe methods and found that they arrived early because of the rapid warm temperatures. Generally they are not a problem for our property, so again I apologize. We always appreciate this feedback so we can do better in the future, and we welcome complaints or critiques before a guest leaves so we can make it right. I'm happy to offer a discount on a future stay. Glad you enjoyed your time with your family and were able to take in the local amenities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela D wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This bed and breakfast is so romantic and relaxing. When I called to make our reservation they didn't have anything available. Darlene, the inn owner, made some suggestions and we went! I called other hotels/B&B but no one was as kind or helpful as she was. Thorp House Inn is a beautiful old home. We stayed in the Inn itself. They have cottages too. It has a library with wonderful old book. We took advantage of the front porch for breakfast in the morning and brought our own wine for more porch time at night. Very quiet too, I was concerned that the house, being older, we might hear others walking about or..... but it was very quiet. Highly, HIGHLY, recommend. You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that your experience was everything you hoped and expected. Our staff takes special care to ensure your visit will be memorable and safe. We are glad you were able to enjoy our amenities. Look forward to a future visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer L wrote a review Sep 2021
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed in the Maria room over the labor day weekend, and our entire experience could not have been better! Check-in process was very smooth and the owners were very friendly and took the time to go through key items we needed to know for our stay (time of breakfast, guest pantry policy, how they could be contacted outside of work hours, etc.). Our room was very comfortable, bed and pillows were firm, temperature was comfortable and the furnishing details throughout the room made for a cozy feel. Breakfast each morning was delicious; you were always given a choice of water, orange juice and coffee followed by a fresh fruit, pastry and different warm option each morning. As for the location of the Inn, it's on a side street right off the main road in Fish Creek, which made for peaceful mornings/afternoons and also made it easy to walk to nearby restaurants and shopping. It could not have been a better stay, we hope to return in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Thank you for your delightful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Maria room. Each room has its own character and Maria adds views of the harbor. Our staff works hard to make your stay comfortable, safe, and memorable. Our breakfast seems to satisfy in just the right areas. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G73411568S wrote a review Feb 2020
Freedom, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thorp House Inn is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast conveniently located in Fish Creek. Being that we were there in the quiet month of Feb., we left for home totally relaxed and rejuvenated. We chose to stay in the Dove Cottage which is quaint and cozy with plenty of space for comfort. The cottage provided everything we needed in the kitchenette to be able to stay in and prepare a few meals. The fireplace adds warmth to the sitting area and the main bedroom is very inviting with a comfortable bed. The entire cottage was meticulously clean, which is truly appreciated. The Bay can be seen from the sitting room windows which also adds to the relaxing atmosphere. It is obvious the owners take great pride in their establishment. We will surely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ThorpHouse, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review and for acknowledging our hard work to make Thorp House Inn truly an inviting guest experience. Dove is one of our most popular cottages–quintessentially Door County! All our cottages have a kitchenette and a warm fireplace. So glad you had a nice and relaxing time–truly it is our honor to provide a place of refuge and recharging all year-round. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine E wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely long weekend staying at the historic and quiet Thorp House Inn. The room was spotless, the king bed was very comfortable, and we loved the Jacuzzi tub after our cold days of sightseeing.

The room didn't have a kitchenette, but there was a guest area downstairs for coffee as well as warming and storing leftovers. And the library and sitting room by the wood fireplace were charming.

The innkeepers were cheerful and helpful with tips on where to eat and what to do in the off season. The inn is just a block off Route 42, so it was a convenient spot to stay in Fish Creek. Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and included a gas fireplace as well as a Jacuzzi tub and a very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Mar 19, 2022
Thank you for your delightful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay the Jessie room. Jessie is one of our largest rooms with views of the harbor, gas fireplace, and soaking tub. We are very fortunate to be so close to all things Fish Creek. Hope to have you back again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott D wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had a fantastic time during our stay at the Thorp Inn! We stayed in the Everil Room and we couldn’t have been more pleased. The decor was traditional B & B but with convenient modern additions such as a remote control that worked the air conditioning, the fans and even the fire place. We particularly enjoyed the extremely comfortable king sized bed, the second floor balcony and the large bathtub.

Our stay included an enjoyable breakfast every morning where we had a chance to speak with the owners, Matt and Darlene, who gave us a history of the property and answered all our questions. The entire staff was friendly, accommodating and provided excellent recommendations for things to see and places to eat in the area.

Even though we staying in the Inn itself, the property also has several cottages, each with a complete kitchen, which provide a tremendous option for families and larger groups.

If you are looking for an outstanding B & B in the Fish Creek area, we highly recommend the Thorp Inn! You won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ThorpHouse, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Jul 4, 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review and it was great to host you in Everil. Everil is our largest room and has so many amenities for comfort and relaxation. We are glad you were able to take advantage of all that we offer at Thorp House Inn. Our staff works hard to be able to provide tips and information about local attractions and things to do. And yes, we have have a variety of spaces to stay that can accommodate almost any kind of guest. Looking forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
loveinns03 asked a question Feb 2021
Minneapolis, Minnesota42 contributions13 helpful votes
Which cottages are closest to parking?? I know the Lark is one, what about the Dove cottage?? Thank you
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
The other is Finch. Both Lark and Finch sit at the front of the property which is where the parking is.
mike s asked a question Oct 2015
Saint Louis, Missouri
does the Lark cottage have a BBQ pit? Gas or Charcoal?
Answer from GARY H
Kenosha, Wisconsin32 contributions6 helpful votes
Charcoal
Gordon M wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"An amazing experience!! The place is immaculately clean and comfortable. And the staff could not have been nicer nor more helpful. "
Read full review
Bill B wrote a tip Jun 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you value the ability to have a FULL kitchen, fridge, etc. the cottages are the way to go and it would be impossible to be disappointed."
Read full review
Liz C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If coming in the next few months, street is under construction so got a little muddy but wasn't too bad."
Read full review
Junie B wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"March is very off peak so things might be closed. Thorp is great though and very close to water/downtown Fish Creek!"
Read full review
Jessica S wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We heard that the progressive dinner weekend stays get booked up quite fast, so plan early!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fish Creek area.
PRICE RANGE
₱11,390 - ₱20,911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thorp house inn and cottages hotel fish creek
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinDoor CountyFish Creek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THORP HOUSE INN & COTTAGES - UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Fish Creek, WI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Sunset Beach Park (0.4 km), Alexander Noble House Museum (0.2 km), and Hide Side Corner Store (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Horse Cafe, Pelletier's Restaurant & Fish Boil, and Bayside Tavern.
Is Thorp House Inn & Cottages located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Fish Creek.
All Fish Creek HotelsFish Creek Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Fish CreekHotels near Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars