We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
718 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3914
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$179
Travelocity$179
Hotels.com$179
Priceline$179
Agoda.com$179
FindHotel$209
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (148)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (17)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
672Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 579
  • 63
  • 18
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Syd G wrote a review 7 Aug
Alexandria, Virginia1 contribution
My wife and I had a wonderful visit to the Williamsburg White House B&B. Debbie and John could not have been kinder, more professional, or more welcoming. The evening wine was a nice touch, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. REALLY comfortable bed too. One other thing that really stood out was how clean the inn is. I honestly don’t think I have ever stayed at a cleaner inn or hotel. Amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will let our housekeepers know that you appreciated all their hard work! We hope you get back to Wiliamsburg again in the future as we would love to see you again! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chip F wrote a review 5 Aug
1 contribution
A pleasant, comfortable, and personal stay near the center of Williamsburg. The house and rooms were well kept, and I was treated very personably and warmly. The excellent breakfast served is homemade and made for an enjoyable talk with other guests before starting the day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 1 week ago
Chip..Thanks so much for the kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast conversation. We hope to see you again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gina v wrote a review 1 Aug
1 contribution
Gosh, we just got back from such a good time! Accommodations were clean and inviting, we really loved all the history and presidential decor. This was only our 3rd experience with a bed and breakfast, and we totally enjoyed this place. The owners are wonderful (loved listening to John when he gets on a favorite subject!), and Debbie was also enjoyable (and a great cook!). Breakfasts were delicious, and we really enjoyed meeting some wonderful people around the table. Thank you also to Shannon, who helped with breakfast and kept our room up to snuff every day! We typically are in Williamsburg about 6-7 time a year and stay in our timeshare. But they were booked up this time, so we decided to try something a bit different. So glad we did and would definitely return again!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Gina, Thanks so much for your review! I am so glad your time share was booked! LOL...You guys were awesome and we would love to have you back. I am glad you enjoyed John's conversations. He is a world of knowledge when it come to History and I am sure you got an earful! We appreciate you noticing Shannon's hard work. She is definitely a keeper and works harder than most people I know! We are glad you arrived home safely and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tatum s wrote a review Jul 2022
Wilmington, North Carolina1 contribution
We have visited numerous bed and breakfasts in several cities; it is our favorite way to travel! Out of all of the places we have stayed, A Williamsburg White House is HANDS DOWN our absolute favorite! Everything was beautiful, wonderfully appointed, clean, and the food was to die for! We loved the early evening wine and snacks as well! We also loved the presidential theme! If you are traveling to Williamsburg, you MUST stay at A Williamsburg White House! We plan to come back for our honeymoon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Reagan Room is gorgeous and spacious!!! Wonderful bathroom with beautiful walk-in shower!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Tatum, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a great old Estate that loves to be filled with guests that appreciate her. We certainly hope to see you for your honeymoon. Best Wishes! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our room and the common areas were beautifully furnished and adorned with many historic photos and quips. We enjoyed mulling over the titles of their fabulous collection of history books. We had an opportunity to have a private breakfast in the library but equally enjoyed meeting new friends at the dining room breakfast table. The breakfasts were fabulous! Debbie and John's attention to detail from the daily wine and sweets in the parlor to the impeccably kept gardens shows their passion for their business. Should we visit this area again, we will be back! Thank you Debbie and John!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We loved the west wing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Sue. Thank you so much for your review! If John only had more time to sit and read those books in the library! LOL...So glad you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to see you again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelmavensny wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York70 contributions45 helpful votes
This B&B is set back from the road, making it an appealing alternative to some other nearby B&Bs. My room which was pleasant and spacious, but the aging, down-at-the heels bathroom needs a major update, including a drain that drains properly. The major issue however, was the miserably uncomfortable bed mattress - one of those rock hard, cheap mattresses, which robbed me of a good night's sleep. The hard, super thick foam pillows were equally miserable. I woke up in the morning with a major back and neck ache. I did not have this issue at any of the other places I stayed over a 4 day period in VA. A telling sign was the cheap "see-through" toilet paper in the bathroom. If the rest stops on the New Jersey Turnpike can provide decent toilet paper, why can't a $200/night B&B do so?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 29 Jun 2022
We are sorry to hear you had a terrible experiece at our Inn. We certainly wish you would have brought it to our attention while you were here! You are the first to complain about that mattress as it is actually fairly new and far from "cheap". Once again, we have many pillows and all you had to do was ask us but you never mentioned a thing during your stay. The house was built in 1904 and your bathroom is a favorite of many due to its size! I am sorry, we are not the Marriot and the charm of any old home is the small oddities you find. By the way, the toilet paper is single ply because the entire road we live on has a sewer system that was probably original to Williamsburg, so soft and fluffy would certainly not go down very well. We work very hard at pleasing our guests and all we ask is to let us know of your discontent while you are here so we can fix it instead of voicing you displeasure online after you leave when we have no change to make your stay pleasant.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Great location - only blocks from colonial Williamsburg and very easy to walk to. Gracious hosts and fun decor. Breakfast was delicious and the late afternoon wine was a nice chance to wind down after a busy day. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Elizabeth. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the decor "fun"....We hope to see you again in the future! We will have the chilled wine waiting in the afternoon. Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SWilliamsoninVA wrote a review May 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia101 contributions49 helpful votes
As before, Debbie and John were great hosts! We always enjoy our stay; we are greeted with a warm reception, then off to our elegant, spotless suite! This time we stayed in the Churchill Room. The bed was comfortable, we slept very well. The water pressure was great with plenty of hot water. And compliments to the cook for the breakfasts are wonderful! We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 20 May 2022
You guys are awesome! As usual we love when you come back and see us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to see you both again! Debbie & John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie wrote a review Mar 2022
Portsmouth, Virginia12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Normally, we visit Williamsburg the first weekend of December, but with the pandemic and family health issues, we delayed our 36th anniversary celebration, and celebrated my February birthday instead. This property has been lovingly and beautifully painted and decorated. The presidential theme is interesting and fun, although John Keane, the owner who greeted us, made it very clear he is a Republican and politically inclined, which made us just a tad uncomfortable. However, we met some lovely couples and families over our two night stay. We stayed in the FDR room, and it is very nice, with two comfy chairs. I have never understood a room for two having only one chair. My husband has difficulty with stairs, so we would not reserve this room again. From what I could tell, the Jefferson room access has fewer stairs. Being a travel consultant, I would have loved a tour of the property, but I could never find the owners, John and Debbie Keane. I probably should have set up a tour when making the reservation. Breakfasts were very nice, although I was looking forward to the eggs Benedict. Unfortunately, that was served the morning of our arrival, so I missed them. The only time we saw Debbie was at breakfast. We had a very nice time, and I would stay at A Williamsburg White House again in a heartbeat 💓. The only thing I would have liked more was to have the hosts join in conversation with the guests. I'm sure everyone would love to hear their stories of owning and running a B&B. Note to those with accessibility issues, there is a longish and uneven walk from the parking area to the house, as well as very uneven walkways to the west and east wings. Other than that, we highly recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 6 Mar 2022
Laurinda. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed most of your stay. To address some of your issues, I am sorry you felt uncomfortable with Johns political leaning, we all make our own decisions in regards to where we stand. When you booked last year and had to cancel, we were happy we could rebook your stay and return your deposit. When you booked last year you booked the Jefferson, but that was not available when you rebooked to come this year. The FDR does have a set of outside steps and that is stated on our website. If anyone has mobility issues we encourage them to call us so we can help in their decision. You would not have been happy in the Jefferson as you stated above, you need 2 chairs. The Jefferson is our economy room and is the smallest, with only one chair. In regards to spending time with you and the other guests, I attempted several times at breakfast to interact but there was a lot of conversation taking place between guests so I just left you all to interact. You spent the day in your room while you were here but if you had been in the common areas from 6am to 5pm you would have seen me all day..Doing laundry, cleaning, baking, etc. We run our business 24/7 so I am not sure why you didn't see me. In regards to the walkways, once again, this is a Century Old Property. The front walk is original brick so the charm to many is the uneven, original design. We wish you well and again, congratulations on your belated anniversary! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlene A wrote a review Jan 2022
Kiawah Island, South Carolina28 contributions8 helpful votes
The occupants of this Williamsburg white house know how to treat their guests. Traveling back to Williamsburg with my daughter for the start of the W & M spring semester, we wanted to stay somewhere a little special for the night. My daughter did an online search, discovered this gem, read the reviews and booked a room. When we had to make a last minute change to our reservation, Debbie was both understanding and accommodating. We arrived, parked in the cleverly labeled parking spot of our choosing and made our way to the warm and comforting foyer of the inn. Surrounded by presidential memorabilia, we were greeted by our hostess and treated to some friendly and unhurried conversation which we found very relaxing after a 7 hour trip in the car. After giving us instructions about the next morning’s breakfast, she escorted us to our room - the JF Kennedy room. Freshly decorated, the room was spotlessly clean, nicely appointed, very quiet and complete with many black and white framed photos of President Kennedy and Jackie. Breakfast was delish, and we were fortunate to dine with charming guests visiting for the weekend. I would not have changed a thing about our stay. Located just across the street from the William and Mary campus (very near the business school building), it is a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg attractions, shops and restaurants. We will most certainly stay in this white house again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$202 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
a williamsburg white house hotel williamsburg, a williamsburg white house b&b
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about A Williamsburg White House
Which popular attractions are close to A Williamsburg White House?
Nearby attractions include The College of William and Mary (1.1 km), Kimball Theatre (1.2 km), and Williamsburg Art Gallery (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at A Williamsburg White House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at A Williamsburg White House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at A Williamsburg White House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at A Williamsburg White House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to A Williamsburg White House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rick's Cheese Steak, Amber Ox Public House, and The Hound's Tale.
Are there any historical sites close to A Williamsburg White House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colonial Williamsburg (2.3 km), Bassett Hall (2.7 km), and Historic Jamestowne (8.0 km).