Casuarina Coastal Units

31 Ryberg Rd, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221 Australia
Traveler (33)
Second Bedroom
Room & Suite (11)
Dining Area
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in American River
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travelers make Casuarina Coastal Units their hotel of choice when visiting American River. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at Casuarina Coastal Units offer a kitchenette and a refrigerator.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a gift shop and baggage storage. Guests of Casuarina Coastal Units are also welcome to enjoy barbeque facilities, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available.

While in American River, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Casuarina Coastal Units, including Reflections Restaurant (0.1 mi), The Oyster Farm Shop (0.8 mi), and The Deck Cafe (0.9 mi).

At Casuarina Coastal Units, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to American River.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
37Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 12
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
01943863515 wrote a review Jun 2007
yorkshire2 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great place to stay, so near to nature in this quite island resort, with friendly welcoming owners of these purpose built bungalows. Being on a ‘round the world’ trip we just had to add Kangaroo Island to the places to visit and arrived at the little airport to pickup our hire car for the week, which was so easy to arrange.
The accommodation was just what we required, private yet with just a small number of other guests, there being only six units, some interaction with fellow travellers.
Just one step away from the Post Office, so do not forget to send some postcards home of this idyllic place. With all the comforts of home, these bungalows are only a very short walk away from the sea and are situated on the edge of woods, so that wild life visits you, in the form of wallabies in an evening and all kinds of bird life.
This is an excellent place to stop if you are interested in fishing and there is space to park your boat on the front of the property.
We set off most days to the surrounding national parks and found the roads interesting, but rather dusty and looked forward to a beer or a glass or two of wine, each evening. Out back is a barbeque for those who have enjoyed a good days fishing and now intend to sample their catch.
American River has a general store and petrol station, with grog shop attached so all provisions are available and easily at hand as this is two minutes back down the road.
Whether you like us where here to see and experience the natural beauty of this island or just getting away for the weekend, then these bungalows are an ideal place to stay. We had a great time and found that being situated in a small community offered so much more, than a main town. A real touch of Ozzy life at its most relaxing and at its best!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aussieinturkey wrote a review Feb 2013
Pamukkale85 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the other reviews of Casuarina units, it sounded like the perfect spot for us and I can tell you we were not at all dissapointed. It was perfect! From the first interaction to the last, Kim and Ken were immensly helpful and friendly without being intruding or pushy. One of the main reasons we went to KI was to relax, try some fishing and see some of the beautiful island. For this purpose the units was a perfect 10 out of 10 match! For fishing, plenty of close options, the beach (2 minute walk), the jetty (10 min walk) and charter boats leaving from the jetty as well.
Having heard of our first days unsuccessful nature, Ken delievered us one of his catches. Very unexpected and welcomed!! There is a great fish cleaning area at the units, with a free lesson off Ken to get us started. After a few days we managed to catch fish everyday for dinner.

American river was also a great location as it was a 25min drive to Kingscote for supplies and closer to Penshaw although we generally always went to Kingscote. American River was so peaceful and quiet, the people friendly. We had initially planned to stay half our time in American River or Kingscote and then stay on the other side of the island the rest of the time. We were so happy with our first 4 days at Casuarina units that we decided to stay all our days there PLUS extended our holiday for a few more days.

The units were clean and well maintained. The kitchen was COMPLETE as any I have stayed. We didn't need to have brought as much stuff as we did with us as everything was there.

We had a koala in the tree outside our unit for most of the stay, wallabies visiting nightly for a drink, and the sound of the birds in the morning just spectacular!

As you can tell, we loved it and will not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who is headed to KI.
IMO: Do not book anything with Sealink, after buying your (VERY expensive!!) ferry ticket, they try to sell you insurance, they try to convince you to book accomodation through them (at a higher rate of course),...like the $390.00 you got out of us for a 30min ferry ride isn't enough already!! come'on?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CaT0ny wrote a review Oct 2012
Melbourne232 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When our family travel we do it on a budget and I am becoming tired of places that begrudge everything they provide for you. Casuarina is the opposite, everything you could hope to find in accommodation and providing extras that places far more costly don't. Plentiful linen and artisan soaps as well as large quantities of small wrapped bars, spacious floor plan, well equipped kitchen, dozens of extra blankets and all set in delightful grounds so you can breakfast in the sunshine just outside the unit. Ken and Kim are superb hosts, always helpful, but not intruding. A beautiful location in quiet surrounds. Definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yumi_Betty wrote a review Jun 2010
Singapore144 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner Ken and Kim are warm and helpful. Before we actually place a booking with them, they were already helping us eg. sourcing for a car rental company and patiently answering long list of questions we had regarding the Island and the unit.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The kids loved to spend times on the swing outside the office. The kitchen is neat and fully equipped. Though some of the utensils are slightly worn out but it is clean and totally usable. The bathroom is heated on winter night. We stayed 3 nights, on the 1st night after returning from dinner, we actually saw Wallabies outside our unit. The unit is very near America River. Every morning as we drove passed the beautiful river, we will see many Pelicans gathered together. The units is 35mins drive from the jetty and Kingscote.

I give a 5 star for their excellent service and 4 star for the apartment as it fit our purpose well. Upon arrival, I requested for a high chair for my baby. Kim told us that she does not have it in Casuarina Units but will help to source for us. In less than 30mins she was back with the high chair and later we learn that she has actually gone all the way to borrow for us from a nearby restaurant.

The other owner Ken gone fishing and caught a Whiting for us. They helped to clean, prepared the fish and placed it in a cooler box outside our unit when we went out for day tour. They are so thoughtful that they even leave a simple instructions on how to cook the fish and provided all the necessity (cooking oil, lemons, flour etc) in the box together with the fish.

I did not give a good rating on sleep quality because the heater is not warm enough on cold winter night. And that is the only draw back of the unit. However I would say that the blankets provided are good enough to keep all of us warm.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
live2travel5 wrote a review Jul 2011
NJ38 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had never been to Kangaroo Island before, and though we were expecting a rustic atmosphere, we were a bit surprised at the lack of amenities...heat being one! I'm sure the CC units are more pleasant in the summer season, but with one small space heater to heat 2 bedrooms, it was a long four night stay. Color scheme was unusual but lively. Possums dancing on the roof at night (but we came for the wildlife!) With that said, the owners were friendly and pleasant when we checked in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If going in winter, layer up! And ask for extra heat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kicu, Owner at Casuarina Coastal Units
Responded Jul 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. This July on Kangaroo Island, was indeed cold and had some of the coldest daytime and nighttime temperatures for some years. Additional heaters are provided when requested but are not kept in the rooms as space is an issue. There are lots of blankets provided in the cupboard for the extra chilly nights. We can not do a lot about the possums on the roof as they are wild animals and unfortunately at times they do sound like they are having a party with all their mates -but that is nature!! Kind regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole wrote a review Sep 2010
Sydney, Australia122 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Kim and Ken are wonderful hosts and will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cabins are basic and very clean. Our cabin had room for three people to sleep and would probably suit small families, couples or singles best. It is a great base for a relaxed holiday with great views, lots of wildlife and peace and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2010
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joemon M wrote a review Nov 2014
Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not friendly, Different from the picture, not clean, I dont like suggest this for my friends, The bed is not good. Lights are not good. There is no heating and air cooler facility. Less water.

BBQ area is not clean to make BBQ. We went out side public park to make BBQ,

Its terrible
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make arrangements for enough water. Clean BBQ areas, Garden. Clear the tree branches in front of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim106, Owner at Casuarina Coastal Units
Responded Nov 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; however my cleaner of several years would be appalled that your suggestion that the units and BBQ were not clean and I do not agree with your remarks. Your unit had an oil heater and lots of blankets provided in the cupboards and additional heaters are provided when requested but are not kept in the units as space is an issue. Your unit also had a ceiling fan and floor fan, but air conditioning is not provided nor advertised. Beds comfort levels are individual and vary from person to person and I can only comment that each unit has relatively new ensembles. Kangaroo Island is noted for its pristine and natural environment and the 30 to 50 metre gum tree outside the unit is not able to be trimmed and provides valuable habitat for our wildlife. Unfortunately gum trees also drop a lot of leaves and with the windy conditions we have had, it is not always possible to have all the leaves swept up. The rest of the garden area was in a tidy and weed free condition. American River does not have town water and we are reliant on rain water, so unless it rains we don’t have water to spare and is treated as a precious commodity. As most of Australia is in the grip of drought, so too are we on Kangaroo Island and as a result there is no green grass near the units, which may explain why the units looks different from the picture. The water pressure to the units is less than if it was town water supplied as it is gravity fed, but there is always enough water for any guests needs in the bathroom or kitchen. Kind regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lihn T wrote a review Apr 2013
Sydney, Australia118 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights at Casuarina and it was a perfect. Ken and Kim are good hosts, Kim provided us all the info we need to explore KI. The unit is nothing fancy but has everything we wanted for a comfy stay. If you can watch sunrise at the lagoon nearby,plenty of beautiful black swans...
We would definitely come back:) good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah V wrote a review Dec 2012
Rayleigh, United Kingdom221 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I took my Mum across to Kangaroo Island as I had not been there before and I wanted to show her something different other than our usual Barossa and Handorf outings. I wanted a self contained unit without a big price tag. This was perfect for us, it had a good size fridge and freezer which meant we could keep our costs down by bringing our own food with us. The kitchen is small but very practicle and everything worked well. The unit was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable. The water pressure is very low, however as I have grown up in the country this is something that I understand comes with having to capture your own water and not having any mains. The really great thing was being able to get up close to some wallabies. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tubbystours wrote a review Oct 2012
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed for three nights and found it suited our needs perfectly. It was budget priced but was cheery, comfortable and homely. It was much nicer than staying in a park cabin. We were able to keep food fresh in a large modern fridge/freezer and use the small stove top and microwave to prepare our meals. The kitchen had everything we needed. We were able to watch TV on a modern good size TV. Kim and Ken were very friendly and had a great knowledge of Kangaroo Island. We found it a great place to access all the attractions and not far from Kingscote for supplies. It was in a quiet area and it was easy to get a good night's sleep in the warm comfortable beds. We would highly recommend it as value for money for those on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring food supplies with you. Kingscote is the cheapest place to shop on the island.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Julie H wrote a tip Nov 2015
Ulverstone tasmania12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kim will take care of you"
Read full review
Kathy J wrote a tip May 2015
Adelaide, Australia19 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a small personally run facility"
Read full review
Joemon M wrote a tip Nov 2014
Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make arrangements for enough water. Clean BBQ areas, Garden. Clear the tree branches in front of the rooms."
Read full review
tubbystours wrote a tip Oct 2012
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring food supplies with you. Kingscote is the cheapest place to shop on the island."
Read full review
hellofish wrote a tip Dec 2011
Burkina Faso651 contributions256 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are only a handfull of units, so it doesn't really matter which one you get."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the American River area.
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandAmerican River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASUARINA COASTAL UNITS - Hotel Reviews (American River, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Casuarina Coastal Units
Which popular attractions are close to Casuarina Coastal Units?
Nearby attractions include The Oyster Farm Shop (1.6 km), Rebuild Independence Group (1.7 km), and Drift On Bliss (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casuarina Coastal Units?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Casuarina Coastal Units?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Casuarina Coastal Units?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casuarina Coastal Units?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oyster Farm Shop, Reflections Restaurant, and The Deck Cafe On The Wharf.
Are there any historical sites close to Casuarina Coastal Units?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Frenchman's Rock Penneshaw (15.6 km) and Frenchman's Rock (15.6 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars