We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Save
Share
73 Scenic Drive, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$107
US$94
View Deal
SAVE US$13
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
eDreamsUS$95
Booking.comUS$95
getaroom.comUS$107
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (252)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (31)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 09/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Updated 09/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in American River
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with most rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Fishing
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
623Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 186
  • 266
  • 114
  • 40
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elaine P wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the lodge for 8 days and overall the accommodation was adequate. The main concern we had was the crumbed chicken wings ordered for entree. Some were RAW as when I ate them the juices had pink in them and the bone was red/pink. When the waiter (who is also the Manager) came to clear our plates I pointed out my concern to him and said to let the chef know that he had undercooked some of the wings. The Managers was not happy that I had told him this and went out to the kitchen. He came back and said the chef told him "he was good" with the cooking of the wings? The Manager was firm that they were not RAW and he offered no apology or concern and walked off. I was made to feel that I was out of line. RAW chicken can put you in hospital or even kill you. The other grievance we had was that the all inclusive full breakfast was served COLD daily. The chipolata sausages were sometimes luke warm only. The bacon was rolled and cooked on top but underneath soggy and undercooked. Overall the breakfast was very disappointing. The other staff were very nice. We wouldn’t ever stay at Mecure lodge again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Solomon, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to point out that there was an apology on the night, you weren't charged for the chicken, you didn't get sick and you continued to eat in the restaurant almost every night. I do apologise for your breakfast experience, that wasn't brought to any of the breakfast staff attention at the time.
Read more
Ross H wrote a review Jan 2021
Warwick, Australia1,777 contributions271 helpful votes
Tired old hotel. The staff are the best part of this place; they are great. The restaurant is abit hit and miss - table of 4 - 2 had good to great dishes while 2 of us were underwhelmed by our food. Breakfast was great thoug!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Solomon, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Ross Sorry we didn't live up to your expectations, or ours, on you recent stay. We generally get rave reviews in regards to the food at Reflections Restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to the Island regards
Read more
Corey M wrote a review Jan 2021
Adelaide5 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed at American River for a few nights and a local told us the Mercure offered a decent meal... so we made a booking for dinner not expecting much. We absolutely couldn't believe the quality of the food and the level of service. We regularly eat out in Adelaide's top restaurants, and can say this place holds its own... so much so, we returned for a second night in a row and were equally impressed. If you go to KI, this is the best restaurant on the island... and its not close.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Solomon, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Hi Corey Thank you very much for your review. We are certainly proud of our award winning restaurant "Reflections" and we glad that it exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again. regards
Read more
sally n wrote a review Jan 2021
Port Willunga, Australia7 contributions
+1
Great fresh local seafood and produce, really well designed flavour combinations. Stand out dish was the octopus with watermelon and pickled yellow beets. Squid and scallops were also delicious dishes. The view is beautiful and relaxing, do the doors open to alfresco dining on warm nights? I love that outside space, looking over the stunning Island Beach. Very impressed with the Bay of Shoal’s rose, a beautiful wine with seafood.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Solomon, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Responded 8 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We are very fortunate to have fresh seafood on our doorstep and the ability to source other SA produce. Kangaroo Island wines certainly have come a long way in a very short time, as well as the KI Brewery and KI Spirits, we are spoilt for choice. Look forward to welcoming you back regards
Read more
JimmyD_8 wrote a review Dec 2020
Glenelg, Australia139 contributions75 helpful votes
I decided at short notice finally to tick KI off my Australian check list. I decided to stay here mainly because the hotel is part of the Accor group. What was really nice was, apart from the name, it didn't feel like part of a mega chain. The staff quickly got to know the names of guests and were very warm in their welcome. The poor desk staff spent ages helping me to decide where to go during my three days. The rooms are kind of arranged into a motel type arrangement in a series of detached blocks. Rooms are very large with even a microwave. The rooms feel a bit rustic but that is a big party of the charm. I ate a lot in the restaurant as a number of people in KI who I met recommended it as the best food on the island. The food was high quality but good was particularly the case for the desserts! I really wish I took a picture of the mille feuille! The location is a but away from the two main population centres of KI, but you don't go to KI to be surrounded by people! The picture I've uploaded is a stunning (no filter) picture of the sunset over the water right outside the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Solomon, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Hi Jimmy, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad that you had a relaxing time - not sure about all that bike riding though. Hope you have a great Christmas and look forward to seeing you again when you next venture down to KI
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel all seasons kangaroo island american river, kangaroo island hotel, kangaroo island american river
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandAmerican River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Prospect Hill (8.0 km), The Oyster Farm Shop (1.3 km), and Drift On Bliss (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Reflections Restaurant, The Oyster Farm Shop, and The Deck Cafe on the wharf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Frenchman's Rock Penneshaw (15.9 km) and Frenchman's Rock (15.9 km).
Does Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.