We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunrise On Falie Court

Lot 4 Falie Court, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (32)
View from Room (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 villa in American River
Location
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Property amenities
Street parking
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Room features
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
15Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
1234MandP wrote a review Jul 2023
Mildura, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Kangaroo Island offers an amazing natural environment to explore but we have just spent three days in the trees at American River. Sunrise on Falie provides the best facilities my mobility challenged husband and I have experienced. Hosts Kevin and Yvonne were interstate but their prompt responses to our last minutes queries could not be faulted. Thank you for your care of and attention to those who need a little more care.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book ferry well in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Matthews, Owner at Sunrise On Falie Court
Responded Jul 19, 2023
Thank you for your fantastic review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us even though we did not get to meet you as our short holiday in Sydney for a week came at the same time as your arrival. We built these just before covid especially to be accessible and pet friendly and i keep on adding bits to fine tune the ‘home away from home’ enjoyment for our guests. I actually do get time also to go fishing here now plus a few long overdue holidays like Sydney. I will pass on your review to our ki family of 6 who help with looking after guests as they were the real helpers this time. Thank you Kevin & Yvonne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jaya1460 wrote a review Mar 2023
26 contributions32 helpful votes
From the time of our first communication with Kevin we were impressed with his friendly nature, and helpful travel tips and info for planning our stay. On arrival we were so delighted to find the spacious Penthouse apartment as advertised, spotlessly clean and delightfully decorated, with a lovely view over the trees and water. I really enjoyed Yvonne's photography of the island, a great feature. We were on the island for a week, so all the extras and "little things" you'll find in the apartment were greatly appreciated. The kitchen contains everything you might need if you're eating in. It was delightful to sit and watch the endangered black cockatoos and other birdlife. Local walking tracks were so enjoyable and there was a selection of dining options in the town. We particurly enjoyed a Friday night meal at the Community Shed, with plenty of friendly locals. "Sunrise on Falie" is a great spot to base yourself, if you can give yourself plenty of time to enjoy a moment to relax and enjoy the apartment too!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: the view from the penthouse is worth the extra cost the beds and pillows are a delight!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Matthews, Owner at Sunrise On Falie Court
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you for your generous review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emily112658 wrote a review Dec 2021
Australia13 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Such a beautiful spot to stay and incredible hosts. The place was spotless and much more independent than we imagined, we had a beautiful balcony that was not shared as each has their own. Has everything you need including a coffee machine, cooking basics, etc. we loved the view from the bedroom and lounge room overlooking the bay and beautiful trees. Very quiet and serene but not too isolated which is always a bonus. We ended up extending our stay as we loved it so much. Thank you both for hosting us. Try to get to KI tru (thai food) on a Thursday night, definitely worth a visit, thanks for the recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Steve C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Recently stayed for 5 nights in Penthouse 3 which has an accessible bathroom / shower as well as an on-suite in the main bedroom. We were greeted by Kevin, the owner, and although we arrived early and the unit was still being cleaned we were able to drop our bags while we visited the township. An excellent view was the first thing noted. (and how steep the driveway is!) All you needed is here in the unit with a full size fridge, oven and stove top cooking facilities. Internet access and local TV. On the second morning we were greeted by the local Echidna which makes its home next to the driveway. Very comfortable digs! Worth a visit particularly with a mobility impaired guest (we just rolled up a few of the hessian floor mats so the floor was nice and flat and no problems, although the bedroom sliding doors may be a bit heavy for someone in a wheelchair travelling on their own.) American River is a great base from which to see the island.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Penthouse 3 has the best views and the easiest access
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Matthews, Owner at Sunrise On Falie Court
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Thank you for your review and yes we also love living here with our native friends. I built the deck, ramps and gardens to attract and provide the wildlife (echidna's, wallabies, goannas, birds etc) homes and food supplies as well. Kevin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Catherine C wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Our family of 4 and puppy Ollie were lucky enough to stumble upon Sunrise on Falie when searching for accommodation on KI. The accommodation was excellent with its location offering river views on one side and beautiful Australian bush on the other. From the moment we arrived Yvonne and Kevin made us feel welcome, which then extended to compassionate and supportive when our stay was unexpectedly extended due to poor weather. We are so grateful for the comfort of the apartment, it was truly a home away from home and a wonderful base for our stay on KI! Catherine, Jason and co ❤️❤️🐾
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marie W wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
A large group of friends hired all 3 of the Sunrise on Faley apartments for a 3 day weekend..being a short escape from Adelaide. It was a fantastic time away. American River is an ideal location to stay at as its quite central to everything and a beautiful area offering some lovely local experiences...ie the Oyster shack...not to be missed! Kevin and Yvonne were wonderful hosts and extremely knowledgeable of life on the island and things to do. The accomadation was extremely comfortable and suited all of our needs.. and the Sunrise in the mornings is particularly beautiful....with a wonderful view over the bay. It's a peaceful and meditative experience observing that every morning!. Overall fell in love with the place and would thoroughly recomnend it as a place to stay..we will return!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jane D wrote a review Sep 2021
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution
+1
Really enjoyed our stay.. lovely accommodation, bright & airy ..good kitchen facilities.. dishwasher.. coffee machine.. we spent 10 nights .. American river such a great spot .. definitely recommend! Really nice hosts
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pablo M wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Don’t try to book this place if we’re still in pandemic. We were forced to cancel the booking because of Covid-19 border closure, the owner refused to refund the total cost despite he was able to book some days to other local people. My recommendation is to avoid this host and also booking.com app. Go straight to airbnb, the customer service is much better and hosts are reliable and fair players (we had the full refund for all the other hosts booked by airbnb).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Matthews, Owner at Sunrise On Falie Court
Responded Jul 1, 2021
When the reviewer cant even put their name to their comments that tells its own story. We offer a choice of refundable last minute cancellation prices and non refundable prices. If you are coming from interstate choose the option that gives a refund even at the last minute if you cant get to us. Even with non refundable prices we refund cleaning and gst and if we can rebook the room we refund that as well. We also offer to move the booking to a later date. We give guests a choice. We do our best to help guests as the hundreds of reviews at 9/10 level show and can prove - check out booking.cm reviews at 9.2 out of 10 if any doubt. I built these, own them and manage them Kevin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andynick5109 wrote a review Jun 2021
Adelaide, Australia31 contributions61 helpful votes
We had a lovely few days at Sunrise on Failie. Kevin & Yvonne were very friendly and helpful and the apartment (No 2) was very clean, spacious and comfortable and had a full kitchen with pretty well everything thought of in order to make our stay an enjoyable one. There's even a coffee machine and some coffee to boot! The windows are all double-glazed which makes it considerably warmer than outside through the day. No doubt it will help keep you cooler longer in summer. There is a laundry available too should you outlast your clean clothes which can come in very handy. Views are lovely and, if you like peace and quiet and communing with nature, then this should suit you very well. American River is sheltered from the prevailing winds, in winter at least, and it is half an hour's drive to both Penneshaw and Kingscote. We had dinners at the Mercure and Wanderer's Rest, both of which are a short walk from the accommodation, and they were very good. If you are on a budget then just bring your provisions over on the ferry and the fully-equipped kitchen will serve you extremely well. Kevin & Yvonne are justifiably proud of 'Sunrise' and are very relaxed and welcoming. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Just be aware that the driveway is quite steep for units 2 & 3!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Xanerin wrote a review May 2021
Alice Springs, Australia1506 contributions830 helpful votes
What an absolutely beautiful place which has everything you could want. Beautifully clean and really well set out. Beds are comfy and loved the kitchen. The design of the place is so warming and the host is friendly, informative and perfect 👌. Absolutely love the area and at night you will see kangaroos/wallabies and during the day fabulous bird life. Could not fault our stay (apartment 2). Only one thing - driveway is steep so be careful, however, good car park once you get up. Thank you Kevin!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the American River area.
PRICE RANGE
₱11,707 - ₱16,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandAmerican River
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNRISE ON FALIE COURT - UPDATED 2023 Villa Reviews & Price Comparison (American River, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise On Falie Court
Which popular attractions are close to Sunrise On Falie Court?
Nearby attractions include The Oyster Farm Shop (1.6 km), Rebuild Independence Group (1.7 km), and Drift On Bliss (1.3 km).
What food & drink options are available at Sunrise On Falie Court?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunrise On Falie Court?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunrise On Falie Court?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oyster Farm Shop, Reflections Restaurant, and The Deck Cafe On The Wharf.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunrise On Falie Court?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Frenchman's Rock Penneshaw (15.7 km) and Frenchman's Rock (15.7 km).