The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Traveler (3238)
Ocean view ?  Nope.
Room & Suite (1034)
Pool & Beach (578)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
₱29,819
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 4 resorts in Ka'anapali
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas offers convenient access to whale watching, snorkeling, sailing, windsurfing, and scuba diving in Lahaina, Hawaii. Popular attractions like the Maui Ocean Center and Kahekili Beach Park are nearby. Enjoy four resort pools and waterfalls, three distinctive restaurants, a pool bar, a fitness center, and a full-service spa. At the end of an exciting day, settle into versatile studios and one- and two-bedroom villas with signature Heavenly® Beds, washers/dryers, fully equipped kitchens, and balconies. Our resort promises a memorable stay in Lahaina, Hawaii.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Kids pool
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English

Location

6 Kai Ala Drive, Ka'anapali, Maui, HI 96761
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Kahului Airport
27.1 km
See all flights
Kapalua Airport
6,065Reviews245Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,554
  • 1,346
  • 572
  • 301
  • 292
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TinyHarms wrote a review Mar 2020
Mountain View, California73 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took advantage of a 5-night package to stay at this resort as part of a time share promotion through American Express and their new Nanea Ocean Resort Villas. This review is only about the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas.

We loved the property and thought it was very well-maintained. The rooms have mini-kitchens, which helped with having two kids and not wanting to eat every meal out. The bathrooms are large and luckily have a separate room for the toilet, as the shutters near the bathtub open up to the rest of the room.

Our kids LOVED the pirate pool and the main pool area. I wish they would have had wristbands or some other type of policing near the pool areas. Especially at the small kids pirate pool, there were a lot of older kids creating a not enjoyable, and potentially dangerous, environment for the little ones. Having a lifeguard or at least a staff member to patrol these areas would help keep everyone safe. Not having lifeguards at the pools at such a big resort seemed odd to me.

The beach space at the resort is very nice. We went snorkeling many times and found a great variety of fish swimming around. It was generally calm enough for adults to swim but I would not have let my young kids do much else than get their feet wet. And again, there were no lifeguards at the beach.

The resort has several areas with barbecues. They were clean, easy to use and always available.

We used the free shuttle to travel around to Whalers Village and Lahaina. We appreciated this easy and convenient service, although at times it does require some patience since the shuttles make multiple stops.

We ate at Auntie's Kitchen multiple times and really enjoyed their buffet breakfast. Prices are expensive, as to be expected, but the food was always tasty and of great quality.

I'm not sure if it is because we were here during a slower season but some of the more 'Hawaiian' touches I was looking forward to were overlooked. They didn't ceremoniously light the tiki torches each night and some of the kids activities were advertised but then never happened. We still found plenty of things to do on our own(mini golf, shuffleboard, etc) but it would have been nice to take advantage of some of the more 'big resort' benefits.

Overall, we really enjoyed this resort and felt thankful to be able to spend our time here in Maui. The resort is beautiful and relaxing but also does a great job catering to families. We also loved the location and would walk up and down the beach side path each night. Looking forward to returning in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from westinkor, Front Office Manager at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Aloha! We are excited to hear your kind words and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you were so satisfied with your stay, and that your family members were impressed with their experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the pool and resort outlets. We do have Security that should be monitoring those areas and keeping it safe for all guest at all time of the day. Overall we are glad that you were able to enjoy everything that Maui has to offer and we hope to welcome you back for a more cultural experience. Thank you again for your feedback. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda B wrote a review Feb 2020
San Jose, California18 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As you arrive for check-in, adorable children and accomplished adults are just outside the open Lobby dancing hula and other Pacific Islander dances.The front desk, as well as all concierge stations and other staff, were extremely helpful and pleasant.
All rooms are fully complete units, Sleep area, front room, spacious bath and kitchen, or a full suite with separate sleeping/living spaces. Having never been to a resort before, we were very impressed. The shower in the room was amazing - large, with a bench to sit upon and rainshower head as well as hand held. Robes were provided as well as two "cards" each for beach/pool towels that could be turned in for fresh after every use. Full size fridge in the kitchen and fully stocked cupboards with dishes, utensils and cooking implements, although with Lahaina only a few moments away with some amazing food (like Kimo's or Cheeseburger in Paradise) we didn't do much dinner cooking. The full size coffeemaker was great, and the on-site resteraunt had excellent food. I especially loved their steel cut oatmeal breakfast with walnuts, raisons, bananas and honey.
Shuttles to Lahaina left every 30 minutes all day, so easy to get to the wonderful shopping and food options, as well as the activities like snorkel trips, glass bottom submarine and snorkel trips leaving from Lahaina harbor.
There were multiple pools to choose from and the ocean was just steps past the rooms. With a steep drop and quickly deep ocean , as well as a reef within feet of the shore, snorkeling was amazing. Even standing knee deep we had turtles swimming past us and could watch whales breaching in the channel. The one caveat was being so close to the channel made for a steep beach and fairly strong surf requiring extra close watch on children or poor swimmers.
My spouse and I were blown away and would highly recommend the resort. I can honestly say there was no downside or complaint to any part of our stay. Of course, luxury comes at a price, but since this was a once in a lifetime trip for us, it was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Not all rooms had an ocean view, but all had at least a pool view. AC was through forced air...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from westinkor, Front Office Manager at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Aloha! We are so excited to hear that staying with us was relaxing and enjoyable and you experienced great customer service. Thank you for choosing us as your Maui resort destination and for sharing everything that makes Maui paradise, and allowing others to embrace this experience through you. We could have not described Lahaina any better ourselves. We could not be more delighted to welcome you again in the future and be a part of another comfortable and relaxing experience. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmw3e71 wrote a review Jan 2020
Kansas City, Missouri6 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's Maui. It's a beautiful property. But there were just a few too many "cons" for me to encourage others to stay here, or bring me back.
The location on the island is in a "wet zone," according to some staff. We were told that we could go south to Lahaina for drier, warmer weather...which is fine, but not exactly convenient.
The property is very nice. Big. Staff is friendly.
Consistent from what you would expect from the Westin, from the beds, bathroom amenities, lobby scent, etc. The incidentals are the primary "knock" for us...beach chairs, umbrellas, parking charges, etc. We ate in-room for the most part, and having to "stock from scratch" for things like salt & pepper, olive oil, seasonings, while not a huge deal, but it adds up. All of these incidental things, we've found, are supplied when you rent an individually owned condo.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from westinkor, Front Office Manager at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Jan 25, 2020
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you were so satisfied with our property. We do apologize for any shortcomings that you may have experienced while you were here visiting with us. It is our priority to go above and beyond for our guest and make sure that each and every person that shares their vacation with us leaves with a memorable experience. We hope that you return to Maui and that you give us another chance to welcome you back to our Westin Ohana. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dlamb2020 wrote a review Jan 2020
Tucson, Arizona1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Family Resort, alot of activities for younger kids. Friendly staff, rooms are in great shape, Big kitchens and well furnished so we ate the majority of meals in, feeding 6 adults and 2 kids. Pool area is well maintained, short walk to the beach with great snorkling. Beach walk that runs from resort into the hotel zone of Kaanapoli.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from westinkor, Front Office Manager at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Aloha! We are excited to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We are glad that you were able to experience all that The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas, and Maui has to offer. We are glad that you and your family was able to have a relaxing and warm welcome here on the beautiful island of Maui. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your Maui Family Vacation. We hope to welcome you all back again soon. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Z wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are at the tail end of our 5 night stay at the North Villas here on Maui and this trip has been a bit frustrating. Staff has been northing but nice and helpful when they can but that's been about the extent of the good.

Like others have said, trash and belongings from rooms are left out in the hallways for days at a time. We had a giant coffin looking bed infront of our door for 3 days. The pool situation is absolutely horrible. People are out at 6am claiming chairs that they won't use until noon. In our 5 nights here, we have not once been able to walk down to the pool and get a chair. It usually has taken close to an hour of waiting and walking between both properties. We tried to rent some chairs and an umbrella for the beach but we're told they were sold out. We were there at 815am. We asked if we could reserve one for the next day and told no, but we can reserve extremely expensive cabana at the pool. The one restaurant that is open has lines all day that you are back to back with people.

I get we are in COVID times right now but this place is booked solid and are running a bare bones staff. They have one guy tending the pool so if you are lucky you might see him once every 2 hours, there is almost no one as far as house keeping and if you are staying under a week you have to pay to get your towels changed out in your room. The pool situation is absolutely frustrating. We stayed at 2 other resorts at our time on the island and never had that issue. I know they will say well we reduced seating but people are still with in arms reach of you, so they need to make up there minds with that one. Either have enough seats or actually make it so you are social distancing. It seems they are grossly unprepared or trying to cut costs everywhere they can right now which is making staying here less the pleasurable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Westin Kāʻanapali Ocean Resort Villas, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Mar 17, 2021
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. We do appreciate your feedback and will follow up with our team regarding your interactions. Mahalo, The Westin Kā‘anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Merek O wrote a review Jun 2021
Amelia Island, Florida7 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a resort go to to be pampered and taken care of. This is a resort where the rooms are only for stashing your stuff. Even the “ocean-view” rooms have a very poor view of the beach. There are no indoor restaurants at this resort so remember that if you are a fan of air conditioning. Long waits at every restaurant and no way to make reservations. There was no housekeeping due to Covid which negatively affected our “resort” experience. Nothing like laundering your own towels, washing your own dishes and making your own beds to make you wonder why you just didn’t stay home and save $20,000.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this resort if you expect to be pampered. May be fine for families who want to cook their...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Westin Kāʻanapali Ocean Resort Villas, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Jun 28, 2021
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcoming you have experienced. Your experience is important to us and we wish to further discuss your concerns with you. Please send your preferred contact information to vokor-experiences@vacationclub.com so that one of our Westin team members are able to reach out to you. We do appreciate your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather C wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been owners for almost 15 years and have been to this location many times; this is the first time that I can say we are really unhappy. While we completely understand the restrictions due to Covid-19 and traveled with that in mind, we are seeing issues that should not be happening. We are continually being told how they are at 100% capacity, yet they seem completely unprepared for it. Guests are relegated to placing towels on the lawn for space to sit down Nd with our 82 year old MIL along, that is simply not an option for us, nor is paying $250+ for a cabana daily.

What I did notice that really upset me the most was that over at Nanea, there are lounge chairs set up ALL OVER the lawn for their guests. Why for them and not the KOR guests???

If Westin wants to fill their hotel to 100%, then do the same for their KOR guests and owners and also, open the markets and restaurants or donr fill to capacity...it is simple. Who is making these decisions??
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Westin Kāʻanapali Ocean Resort Villas, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Mar 22, 2021
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was less than perfect. Our management team will be addressing each of your points of concern. The Westin Kāʻanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
llmmlm wrote a review Apr 2021
Mission Viejo, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been coming here almost every year since 2012 and love it. I would highly recommend either the north or south locations. We had very realistic expectations about our stay and figured that with social distancing that restaurants would be closed and pool chairs would be hard to come by. But not having a mid week clean of our room seemed strange. I wasn’t able to get a straight answer on why they were not allowed in our room to clean ( assuming we were not there) but they can come in once we leave and clean the room for the next guests. They were very accommodating and brought us extra towels when we asked, but I would really have liked new sheets after 4-5 nights. They said that they could drop them off and I could change them myself. Is it that they really don’t have the staff re-hired yet to support these services? But reservations have been on the books for months I’m sure they knew that the resort would be full at this time - so I hope it’s not Marriott trying to save a buck and blame COVID for not hiring more staff or can they not get people to come back to work right now? If management is reading this would be good to better understand the policy and make sure guests know of all the restrictions before coming. Also why are there no tables on the balconies at the south location? Didn’t there used to be?

We’ll continue to come back every year I’m sure things will get back to normal soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kevans92679 wrote a review Apr 2021
Mission Viejo, California4 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been Starwood Owners for the last 8 years and stay at this property nearly every year some times twice a year, prior to Marriott's buying of Starwood loved this property. This year it seems as though the resort was either not ready to open or could care less about their owners. ( we were there a week after Spring break which I heard was far worse).

While no room is guaranteed we were given a room that faced the parking lot with the street noise all night long. Upon check in we were told that we could not change rooms once we entered so to be sure that we were OK with the room that they gave us. Having been to the property several years we knew that this building was not ideal and voiced our dissatisfaction when she told us where they had put us. . The check in clerk could have cared less and basically said that this was what they had. ( they why ask if we were OK with it?)

We later learned that a couple on a promotional package was upgraded to a one Bedroom and were given a room facing the pool. Another couple booking through Priceline added on a few extra nights and were given an Ocean Front unit , moved from their room facing the pool ! Several owners were overheard complaining that they had the same issues with their room that we encountered as owners.

In my opinion this is not acceptable way to treat owners when several owners we spoke to were given the less desirable rooms than non owners.

The resort is 100% open yet there are 50 % of the pool lounge chairs available ( people had saved them all by 6:00 AM), the jacuzzi was close. The staff would only put out a specific number of beach chairs and umbrellas . People were having to sit on the grass.

Two of the 3 restaurants were open however no table service and again about a third of the tables and chairs available making for long lines . About 1/2 the BBQ's did not work and the chairs were removed from the eating area making it difficult if not impossible to eat outside . The market had no coffee, fresh food or baked goods. One restaurant/bar closed at 5:00 yet bringing your own food and liquor to the pool area was not allowed.

We asked the concierge on two separate occasions to book a dinner reservation for us 2 -3 days out. It was early morning and the restaurant was closed so we were told they would call us when they go our reservation ( 2 times , 2 separate concierges ) We never heard from either concierge. They did however ask me if they could schedule my owner update. I wisely explained that they did not want me in their sales office .

There was no housekeeping provided, however they would bring you items if you requested them. The room originally appeared to be clean however when I was mopping up the floor after spilling water , the towel I used was filthy. Several items were missing from the Kitchen .

All and all a very disappointing trip which is sad as this was always our favorite place. Not sure that we will go back here again rather use our points to check out other resorts, and most certainly would discourage anyone from purchasing at this property.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Westin Kāʻanapali Ocean Resort Villas, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded Apr 25, 2021
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcoming you have experienced. Your experience is important to us and we wish to further discuss your concerns with you. Please send your preferred contact information to vokor-experiences@vacationclub.com so that one of our Westin team members are able to reach out to you. We do appreciate your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mari M wrote a review Jul 2021
Walnut Creek3 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were lucky enough to be able to experience two hotels during our trip to Maui this July. The first was at Honua Kai for three days then off to the Westin Villas for the main seven day trip. It was very upsetting to go from an amazing stay at the previous hotel to the Westin- please when reading the reviews, believe them!

1. It took an hour to get checked into this hotel (with crying children in the car) only to find the studio lockout was ready and not the other room and family room. the remainder of our rooms were not ready to check in until 5:30 at night (check in is at 4).
2. I had previously asked for a crib probably 5 times to be ready in the room and once getting back into the room there was still no crib.
3. the lack of employees is very apparent.
4. The information given to us at check in for housekeeping services included: mid-week tidy( 3 days after arrival) after calling on the fourth day, we were told we only get a tidy up if staying for 14 days...
5. our "ocean front villa" would be considered by most to be partial since one balcony faced the neighboring wall for the most part...
6. certain restaurants are not open for dinner (aunties kitchen); Italian place is closed
7. Called a manager and left a message to express our frustrations and never got a call back.

Long story short-we were very excited to stay at a Westin but it left us sad that we didn't stay at Honua Kai. The company blames lack of service to "COVID times" but the hotel two doors down did not have the same problems (and the rooms are bigger and more updated!)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Culture277522 wrote a tip May 4
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Costco and a small supermarket is all you need to get set up with food and drinks for your stay:)"
Read full review
Aaron W wrote a tip Mar 2024
95 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring snorkel gear. The beach right by the hotel has fantastic snorkeling."
Read full review
Sarah M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dukes for dinner is great! Pool at Westin Nanea is better! "
Read full review
Companion67863235251 wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"We will be looking for a place that will accommodate us next year."
Read full review
Colorado Desperado wrote a tip Feb 2024
17 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lower your expectations of an ocean view room. Fitness area is very good. Steam room and sauna are spacious."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ka'anapali area.
PRICE RANGE
₱34,760 - ₱41,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin kaanapali ocean resort villas hotel lahaina, westin kaanapali ocean resort villas, westin lahaina, westin ka anapali ocean hotel, westin villas maui, lahaina westin, westin maui villas
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKa'anapali
NUMBER OF ROOMS
505
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTIN KA'ANAPALI OCEAN RESORT VILLAS - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Nearby attractions include Kahekili Beach Park (0.1 km), Ka'anapali Beach (1.5 km), and The Spa at Black Rock (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duke's Beach House, Castaway Cafe, and Pailolo Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Lahaina Courthouse (6.5 km), Lahaina Jodo Mission (6.1 km), and Wo Hing Temple Museum (6.9 km).
Does The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ka'anapali HotelsKa'anapali Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ka'anapali
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars