We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Veranda Tamarin Hotel

Save
Share
Tamarin Bay, Royal Road, Tamarin, Mauritius 90921
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Official Site
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (423)
Dining (59)
Pool & Beach (10)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Veranda Tamarin Hotel
Updated 10/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Tamarin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Ideally located facing the mythical surf spot of Tamarin Bay, here the days stretch slowly, rocked from early morning by the daily visits of dolphins and illuminated by the legendary sunset, feet deeply rooted in the white soft sand. Welcome to Veranda Tamarin hotel, an address out of the ordinary and the best meeting place for those who seek to live a unique, friendly experience as close as possible to Mauritian communities and art of living.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
383Reviews12Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 235
  • 88
  • 30
  • 15
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
samantha wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Me and my partner came here for our first holiday in 2 years! There were good and bad moments of our experience with this resort and overall,it's led us to decide we wouldn't return. Here are our thoughts: 1 - service staff were very friendly but slow in the restaurant and bar, definitely short staffed 2 - rooms were clean and had a quirky boutique feel 3 - the spa on site was magnificent; I had a full body massage by a lady named Voahagny and my experience there was 10/10. 4 - we were fined by the police and the hotel was not helpful (full story below) 5 - we booked through Emotions via a travel agents and their service was impeccable; would recommend them again. 6- pool area is nice but the pool bar wasn't serviced by anyone, you'd have to completely leave the area to get a drink and they're reluctant to serve you unless you're at a table. 7 - the beach shown on the website is NOT PRIVATE. It's a public beach and is not safe at night. It was clean, the food was nice (had vegan options for me) and the cocktails were good. Just lots of small things (and one big) had led us to feel unimpressed by this resort. Point 4 explained- On day 2/3 of our holiday we went to a local newsagent to grab some crisps etc, making sure to wear our mask in the shop as required by the signs. When leaving the shop we took off our masks - thinking there is no need to wear them out in the open away from people - and we were stopped by police. They asked us to put on our masks which we did and then demanded our passports; we led them back to our hotel where they proceeded to fine us both for not wearing our masks. During this process, the hotel staff were talking to the police in french but no one communicated to us what was happening or bothered to defend us. When the police left, we asked the hotel staff about the rules and the fact there were no signs up anywhere to say a mask is needed to be worn LEGALLY. The only sign is on the front of the hotel (barely readable) that says 'kindly wear a mask'. That's hardly an instruction!! It's a request!! Upon arrival we were not informed that it's law in the country to wear a mask outside of your room due to the rising cases. The worst bit is, the hotel said they no longer inform their guests about the requirements because of the bad response they get from travellers not wanting to wear a mask on holiday. So instead of informing us properly, we were fined and the hotel did nothing to help. We asked for compensation or help to pay it, they said they'd speak to their manager (who was present when the police were there and also DID NOTHING, not even speak to us!) they had a 2 second conversation and said 'no sorry we can't help'. Really disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Opt for the one up from the basic room; our room was a bit small and it was the comfort double.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Christophe Montocchio, General Manager at Veranda Tamarin Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Samantha, BONZOUR ! The Veranda Tamarin family and myself wish to thank you for your review following your mixed experience at our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly team members, our clean rooms, your spa experience, our pool area and all our food and beverage options. We are very sorry for your experience with the police, as you know, with the COVID 19 pandemic, each country have their own regulation and everyone have to abide to the law. Unfortunately, we have tried to help you as soon as I heard that they fined you but the police didn't even try to understand. They even give us a fine because you were not wearing your mask and you were staying at the hotel. We have well taken your feedback to increase our communication about the sanitary protocol. We are already explaining it to all our guest at check in time despite that they all told us that they already have the information at the time of booking and during their flight to Mauritius. Once again, please accept our apologize for this inconvenience and we hope to be able to welcome you back within the tribe ! SEE YOU SOON! Faithfully yours, Christophe Manager Hotel Manager
Read more
Thierry C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
One of my best experiences ever! All the people working there are very professional and helpful. The new concept Awanam was the Cherry on the cake! Surely will come again. A Special thank you for the Hotel Manager, Mr Christophe Montocchio and his dedicated team!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Christophe Montocchio, General Manager at Veranda Tamarin Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr Thierry C, BONZOUR ! The Veranda Tamarin family and myself wish to thank you for your excellent review following your stay during our launch of our new concept : Awanam. We are very happy to read that you had one of your best experience ever here and that you appreciated our dedicated team. Your satisfaction was our top priority. We look forward to welcome you back within the tribe ! SEE YOU SOON! Faithfully yours, Christophe Manager Hotel Manager
Read more
Saad E wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
The room was on a garden view, not bad at all seeing on the pool also.Foods were excellent, very tasty and self service.Staffs were nice and very friendly.i would surely go one more time for the food, especially the beef steaks.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Accessibility to everything in the hotel, like near the ba/pool.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Christophe Montocchio, General Manager at Veranda Tamarin Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Saad E, BONZOUR ! The Veranda Tamarin family and myself wish to thank you for your nice review following your stay at our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our room, our tasty food and our team members. We look forward to welcome you back within the tribe ! SEE YOU SOON! Faithfully yours, Christophe Manager Hotel Manager
Read more
Lovyna S wrote a review Nov 2021
Mauritius128 contributions9 helpful votes
Resort is short staffed. On site staff appears overwhelmed. Mauritian guests are disregarded. Food is basic and repetitive. All clients complaining about this. Servings are small. Room is decent but shower room tiny. No soap dish. Daily room clean up is bare minimum. Water bottle or coffee is not refilled on a daily basis. Gardens are unattended with leaves strewn everywhere. The toilet next to the main restaurant Ye!Man stinks and was in a worser state than a public toilet. This is our first experience at a VLH hotel. They don't live up to the hospitality brand. Waited for 1.5hrs to have our rooms and while waiting we could see that other people who arrived after us, were being checked in before us. Failed to understand the logic that when 2 rooms are booked, we don't get them side by side. The room in between was given to someone else who checked in afterwards. Has been a more stressed than chilled week end for us. Advice: don't onboard clients if you cannot provide the service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christophe Montocchio, General Manager at Veranda Tamarin Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs Lovyna, The Veranda Tamarin family and myself, wish to thank you for your review. Your comment has been shared with our management team for the continuous improvement of our services. We apologize for the attention provided which was not at all our intention. We really hope to welcome you back in a near future to be able to demonstrate our improvement. Faithfully yours, Christophe Montocchio Hotel manager
Read more
Hoomesh S wrote a review Oct 2021
Mauritius1 contribution
We came for dinner on the occasion of our 3rd wedding anniversary. It was symply fabulous. Warm welcome by Mélanie from the reception. Very cozy atmosphere, good music, tasty food and great service. The most important assets are the staffs who took great care of us, specially Cedric, Ornella, Anishta. Thank you for making this special day of ours a memorable one. Will definitely come back. Lovy & Nitisha
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Christophe Montocchio, General Manager at Veranda Tamarin Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Lovy & Nitisha, BONZOUR ! The Veranda Tamarin family and myself wish to thank you for your excellent review following your dinner on the occasion of your 3rd wedding anniversary. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our tasty food, our warm welcome and our team members. We look forward to welcome you back within the tribe ! SEE YOU SOON! Faithfully yours, Christophe Manager Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tamarin hotel
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictTamarin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Veranda Tamarin Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Willy's, La Cosa Nostra, and Le Bistrot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Veranda Tamarin Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Veranda Tamarin Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Veranda Tamarin Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (3.5 km).