We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3149 Campground Rd, Gloucester Point, VA 23072-4521
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (35)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Gloucester Point RV Resort offers family-friendly camping on the beautiful Severn River. Enjoy a relaxing vacation complete with a pool, a Water Zone, the Jumping Pillow, a playground, fishing piers, arts and crafts, and planned activities. Full and partial hook-ups Pull thru sites, waterfront camping, tent sites, and cottage rentals.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Water park
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Self-serve laundry
Show more
113Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 34
  • 32
  • 19
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NIcole031412 wrote a review Jun 2022
Salisbury, Maryland9 contributions21 helpful votes
This campground is in a very beautiful location. It has a lot of amenities and activities for the kids. The rental kayaks, paddle boards, etc are included for no extra charge which is really nice. The river is gorgeous. The pool and camp store are very nice. The cottages are well equipped. The problem with this campground is the seasonal/long term residents. There are MANY of them and some of them are absolutely obnoxious. They act like they own the place with total disregard for other guests. The residents in the two campers across from cottages 1 and 2 are horrible. They play VERY loud country music 24/7. When I say 24/7, I mean all day long even when they leave their camper. The music plays for hours even when they aren’t at their site. Then they play corn hole for hours either in their front yard or at the pavilion with even louder country music that can be heard all the way back at their site. So they have blaring music on at their camper and at the pavilion AT THE SAME TIME. They have blaring country music from their golf carts as well. Sometimes they play two different country songs at the same time, one on the golf cart and one at the camper. They all know everyone so golf carts come and go and congregate on their lawns often. So they sit there with parked golf carts with their lights shining directly into the windows of cottages 1 and 2. We had to hang beach towels over the windows every night to try to block the golf cart lights out of the front bedroom of the cottage. The woman who lives in the second camper is LOUD. ALLLLLL the time. One night, and you can’t even make this stuff up, she had a megaphone. Literally, a megaphone. She was yelling into a megaphone. It was obnoxious. I would never camp here again unless the people who live across from cottages 1 and 2 moved out. Even then, I would hesitate because this place clearly has zero rules about noise/loud music.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Gloucester Point RV Resort
Responded 29 Jun 2022
We appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to share them. Our team is glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location, great amenities, and fun activities, even if there were some disappointments due to the unruly and loud neighbors. Please know that we appreciate you bringing this to our attention because it will help us improve our rules and services in the future. We hope you will give us another chance the next time so that we can provide you with a better experience! Thank you very much, and best wishes.
Read more
klm41109 wrote a review Jun 2022
Poquoson, Virginia42 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Our first visit to this campground was in early April 2021 when it was still a Jellystone Campground. We liked it but weren’t super impressed with the tent sites as they seemed pretty muddy but we chalked it up to the season. The kids had a great time on the playground and the bouncy pillows. Fast forward to Memorial Day weekend 2022. My family purchased a new camper and wanted to camp close to home to get a feel for it so we booked at what is now Cardinal. Our site was a pull thru with no shade, fine ..we put out our awning and our canopy. The bathrooms closest to us were pretty dirty and I don’t think they were cleaned well or maybe it was just the campers that destroyed it quickly. The playground had trash all over it in the mornings. One of the water slides was closed. The store was really nice and my daughter liked the pool even though it was pretty crowded and on the smaller side. In my opinion this campground is overpriced and while it was nice testing out our camper close to home, I don’t see us going back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Gloucester Point RV Resort
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences. Even if your vacation wasn't perfect due to the concerns you mentioned, we're delighted your kids loved the playground and pool. The resort was, however, completely filled because of the holiday. With a full campground, there are times when the facilities and the park itself become filthy, and trash is strewn around, though our guest service personnel make it a point to clean twice daily. Regardless, we apologize for the poor quality of your experience. Our team understands your dissatisfaction and hopes you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.
Read more
Kelsey M wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Rude staff in clubhouse. Can't seem to properly hire for the pool during the summertime. So they kept having to close the slides during our stay. We were not made aware of this upon arrival... Not until we asked why the slides were closed were we told, oh we don't have the staff. very disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cindy C wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We booked a site for 2 days when it was Yogi Bear back in May. We noticed that they changed ownership so we called to confirm they would still have activities and if we still had the same site. They said yes and then said we owed them $367 dollars for the 2 days that I already paid $106 deposit for so if you are doing the math that is $494 for 2 days! We we asked them about it they sent me a confirmation for my spot right after I hung up the phone and it had a $264 "adjustment" when they were sold to the corporation mentioned by another reviewer. We were so excited to go but now we are out $60 dollars for cancellation fees for our multiple bookings we had...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kimberly A wrote a review May 2021
Chesapeake, Virginia2 contributions
This is our very first time at the campground. We had no idea what the sites looked like ahead of time, so we wouldn’t have known which spot to reserve ahead of time anyway. We have been plopped right in the middle of this open “parking lot” area with a bunch of parked cars and buildings around us. Who in their right mind thought THIS is what campers drive hours to their campground for?? We are extremely disappointed and are not able to move sites because they’re booked. I’m giving this place a generous three stars because the other sites do look pretty good, and we’re hoping the amenities and activities make up for this horrible, awful spot they put us in. Jellystone staff: whoever decided this was a good spot for campers should be ashamed of themselves. We are so upset that if we hadn’t already paid and drove all this way, we would literally turn around and go home.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Demottsquad wrote a review Oct 2020
Chesapeake, Virginia22 contributions17 helpful votes
Our campsite was nice (had a fenced in area for our dogs) but everything else needs a lot of work. There are a lot of permanent resident sites and they are junky. There were piles of old picnic tables and old broke down RVs in the lawn. My kids did like the petting zoo and pony rides. We crabbed and fished in the pier. We are willing to give Jellystone another chance but definitely not this location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sylvber wrote a review Sep 2020
Richmond, Virginia27 contributions27 helpful votes
As campgrounds go there is the usual activities. We stayed there over the Labor Day weekend in our Motor home. We rented a spot close to the river with a concrete patio. There were the characters and activities for the children. The staff was friendly and we met a nice couple. There was underage drivers of golf carts speeding through the campground. The place is so dusty. When carts and be Vehicles past you are left with an inch of dust. The location is central to nearby towns. There is no such thing as a curfew. The river is beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
VA2cUSA wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions
My husband,myself, Son, Daughter-in-law and 4 grandchildren spent last weekend here. I’m am totally impressed with the parks hard work to entertain the children during the COVID 19. The bears made morning and evening rides thru the park, crafts were delivered daily ,online bingo, scavenger hunts, and by appointment craft all while keeping the social distancing . They offer fishing, paddle boating, crabbing and a little beach. Which was also me with all the other amenities shut down. We also had breakfast from the picnic basket which was excellent!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris M wrote a review Nov 2019
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Stayed over the weekend and had a good experience. It was off—season, so there were no activities, which was expected. This review will be about the grounds. Stay at a patio site and found it to be it good shape. The grounds are a little unlevel, but nothing a outrageous. The patio sites were large with big lots. The sewage, water, electric, and cable were conveniently located at the site (didn’t need to stretch hoses and cords in different directions). The dog park is large, probably close to 3/4 acre, and well maintained. Bathrooms were okay with a lot of potential. A good scrubbing would take care of them because they are fully tiled. Internet was amazing for a campground (very rare in my experience). Cable TV was nice with a large selection of channels. They have well maintained boat ramp and docks. My only gripe was the lack of store hours during the off season Incase I wanted / needed something (I.e. firewood). Overall great stay and can’t wait to see how the summer is with activities. The price was very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lindsey Johnson wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Absolute NIGHTMARE! Ruined my daughter's birthday, embarrassment to me as a host, misinformed on more than one occasion, "MANAGMEMENT" was argumentative, rude, disrespectful and misinformed me multiple times(with witneasess), after already charging an outrageous cost for the worst waste of time imaginable, in order to charge extra money. SHE EVEN ATTEMPTED TO INSTIGATE A FURTHER ESCALATION OF OUR.DISAGREEMENT.INTO A CONFRONTATION AND PROCEEDED TO EMBARRASS AND DISRESPECT ME IN FRONT OF MY FRIENDS, FAMILY AND NEICES The other staff were very rude as well, making my guests and I very uncomfortable. I WOULD NOT RETURN TO THIS LOCATION IF YOU PAID ME! They expected my elderly family as well as my family with 3-4+ kids many 6 and under to walk to the far end of the campground, even after changing her statement and the "policy" regarding this as well 3+ times(in front of witnesses). I had family that came from Virginia Beach, Portsmouth, Newport news, Williamsburg, and Hampton and the treatment we received was completely uncalled for and embarrassing not to mention disrespectful and for the price I paid as a single mother awaiting disability it was a disgrace and they should all be ashamed of themselves. I explained to them that we were celebrating my daughter's birthday which is 3 days after mine. Also another big importance of this family day together is that that following Monday I had ankle and foot surgery and I'm now wheelchair-bound and will not have whole use or mobility withoutassistance for at least a year. Having a 5 and 6 year old children that made you not understand and they try their best to be understanding but I can see the disappointment and it hurts he has another to know that even though it's out of my control due to my health issues my children are having to miss out on a lot of things and here lately with having 6+ surgeries in less than a year, we have not had many opportunities to be together, laugh and make memories and spend quality time. I explained all of this and the importance of it to my children myself and my family in depth the manager as well as multiple staff members and it was like it went in one ear and out the other. It was irrelevant to them and they could have cared less. During actual in there there was maybe one or two activities that way no one that happened to be ironically on the complete opposite side of the campground and we were unable to participate. There are no handicap accommodations hearing regarding motorized wheelchairs or the golf karts. Petting zoos closed, one of the slides they stopped use of after my son was only able to use it once. Disappointment for my daughter, myself and all of our family and friends that drove hours to attend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaGloucesterGloucester Point
NUMBER OF ROOMS
203
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gloucester Point RV Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Nearby attractions include American Revolution Museum at Yorktown (7.6 km), Yorktown Battlefield (7.9 km), and Yorktown Victory Monument (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tony and Milena's, Carrot Tree Kitchens, and Yorktown Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Gloucester Point RV Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting American Revolution Museum at Yorktown (7.6 km), Yorktown Battlefield (7.9 km), and Nelson House (7.7 km).