We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
711 Union St, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (167)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Capitol Hotel
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#75 of 213 hotels in Nashville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1231Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 421
  • 388
  • 233
  • 98
  • 92
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lynneesv wrote a review Yesterday
Salt Lake City, Utah1 contribution
The staff was amazingly friendly but the hotel itself was minimalistic - I would define it as a motel. Very tight room for two queen beds, the room opened to the exterior and the bathroom was all one space - so only one person could use it at a time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Dr Duke wrote a review 15 Oct
2 contributions
I’ve always wanted to know what it was like to sleep in a prison and this place answered all my questions. Is it impossible to get comfortable? 100%. Is there constant, inexplicable banging noise throughout the night? You know it. Is everything old, rusted, and vaguely deteriorating? Duh. Is the bed somehow both brick hard and lumpy and are the pillows basically paper? It’s not supposed to be luxurious! On a serious note, the staff were super nice and the location is central to about everything. Other than that this is basically a Super 8 off of an abandoned highway in terms of quality. If all you need is somewhere to sleep that’s not under an overpass then you’ve hit the jackpot. Otherwise go anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are glad you liked our friendly staff and convenient location. However, we regret the issues which kept it from being perfect. Our goal is to provide each guest with comfortable accommodations, so we apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We continually work to improve our accommodations, and we appreciate you sharing your comments. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the relaxing stay you deserve. General Manager
Read more
TA L wrote a review 4 Oct
Grand Rapids, Michigan117 contributions21 helpful votes
Don’t get a room by the elevator This hotel was a good location and the room was clean. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor and slept terribly the whole time due to hearing the elevator rattle all night long. Also the rooms have exterior doors and we could hear everything that went on outside our room. I would not stay here again, or maybe if it was my only option I’d make sure I was no where near that horrible loud elevator
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t accept a room by the elevator or you will not sleep. The lighting is also bad, might want...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you were pleased with our location as well as the cleanliness of your room. However, we regret the inconvenience you had with the noise of the elevator and the discomfort this caused you. We wish we were aware of this during your stay, as we would have been happy to move you to another room. In the future, please know our front desk staff is always available to help make the most of your stay. We hope you will choose us again for a great experience. General Manager
Read more
Bobdogandtam wrote a review 2 Oct
Upper Peninsula, Michigan1 contribution2 helpful votes
Least expensive parking in the downtown area ($21 vs $35-$50 per day at other places). Check in was a breeze. Front desk woman was very professional and always smiling. Rooms were adequate and clean. The only drawback was breakfast. Due to the pandemic, we had to fill out a sheet as to what we wanted and the front desk called when it was ready. Not the hotels fault, but we all have to live with it. I will most definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is delightful to read how much you were pleased with our refreshing accommodations and the excellent service you received from our staff. All of us at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville look forward to having you stay with us again. General Manager
Read more
jane wrote a review Sep 2021
Venice, Florida4 contributions2 helpful votes
Our room was clean, no pool but that was no big deal, the best thing about this hotel was the staff!!! Everyone we came in contact with were extremely helpful and friendly!!! Angel was amazing! Close to all the venues and most Everything was within walking distance!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded 13 Sep 2021
Thank you for choosing The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville and sharing your experience. We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit. It is also good to learn you liked our refreshing accommodations and the excellent service you received from our staff. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit! General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western downtown hotel nashville, best western nashville, nashville best western
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeDavidson CountyNashvilleDowntown Nashville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Capitol Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Capitol Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Experience (0.3 km), The Ville Tours (0.5 km), and Bourbon Street Blues and Boogie Bar (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Capitol Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Capitol Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Capitol Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Capitol Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Capitol Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skull's Rainbow Room, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Nashville, and The Standard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Capitol Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Capitol Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Nashville.
Are there any historical sites close to The Capitol Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Belmont Mansion (3.2 km), Marathon Village (1.1 km), and Fort Negley Park and Visitors Center (2.3 km).
Is The Capitol Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.