Sydney Beachouse YHA

Sydney Beachouse YHA

4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097 Australia

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Collaroy Beach
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sydney Beachouse YHA is a stalwart in the Sydney accommodation market. The modern, award winning facilities provide a perfect base to explore the City via express bus, or the many stunning beaches from Manly to Palm Beach. Sydney Beachouse boasts share, ensuite, twin, double & family rooms with spacious airy living areas, rooftop swimming pool, BBQ's & a cafe. Activity equipment such as Surfboards and Bicycles are free to use.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Snorkeling
Billiards
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern

Location

4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Sydney Airport
26.1 km
See all flights
84Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 24
  • 24
  • 17
  • 13
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
stephaniemdury wrote a review Sep 2016
Brisbane, Australia21 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I base all my reviews on practicality, not aesthetically, with 5 main areas; security, power, communication, wash and cook facilities. I award 1 star for each area that has been fulfilled in order to rate them fairly. Please bare in mind the original hotel/hostel star rating and its price bracket when reading my reviews.

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in June 2016. This hostel is in a great location and served a purpose for my visit. I found there were a lot of Dutch in this hostel, most of whom looked as though they were doing some sort of rural/construction work as there were a lot of shoes left outside of dorm rooms in the corridor. I didn't use the pool as it was too cold, I'm not sure if it was even open. Pool area looked nice though. This is where the smokers go for a smoke. The room also smelt of damp and was so, so cold. I wore more clothes to bed than I did during the day. From a practicality perspective, I've given this hostel 3.5 stars.

Security - there were lockers in the dorm room big enough to fit my day pack and few other pieces in but you have to provide your own lock. The door to the dorm room didn't actually close properly. Some roommates weren't aware of this and so I'd return with the door left ajar a couple of times. Half a star - there was security but it wasn't great.
Communication - you can access the premium wifi from the dorm at a cost and it worked quite well. I used the free wifi in the common areas just a couple of times and I did have problems logging on to the free wifi once, so I just connected to the premium wifi instead that I'd already purchased. Staff at reception were always helpful. 1 star.
Power - I could only find 2 power points in the room and one of the girls had her laptop plugged in to one of them the whole time. There were power points outside of the room but I didn't use them as I would have had to sit in the hallway to charge my laptop. Half a star - I was able to charge my stuff but not as conveniently as I'd have liked.
Wash facilities - the bathrooms, I always found were clean and I didn't have to queue to go to the toilet or for a shower. This may have been due to it being low season. There was also laundry facilities and an iron and ironing board available. 1 star.
Cook facilities - I wasn't a massive fan of this kitchen, I washed everything before using it. I wasn't aware that you had to either take your own stuff or buy some cutlery/plates from reception. There are very small amounts of cutlery/plates in the kitchen where other people have left behind. Pots, pans and basic utensils were available to use. Half a star - I was able to prepare and cook food but was limited with basic equipment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SoloSeat wrote a review May 2012
Beijing, China103 contributions254 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
No trip would be complete to Sydney unless you go to the North Sydney Beaches. The PERFECT place to stay is Sydney Beachouse (aka Collaroy) because it is a MINUTE walk to mile long white sand beaches. If you go to the book at this YHA location be sure to book in advance and use YHA eNights to SAVE $$$ Money...!! Also, ask about their three nights for the price of two promotion (it was going on when I was there...but you had to ASK for the deal)...!!

Or better yet...stay at YHA Bondi Beach House or YHA Sydney Harbour locations!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA
Responded May 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your reveiw. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful beaches here, and made the most of our accommodation deals. The YHA has great properties all over Australia, so grab an ePAC (sold at every reception desk) and check them out. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards, James James Dakin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luby10 wrote a review Jul 2011
England43 contributions76 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely YHA, fantastic staff and very clean rooms and showers. Nice pool and right near beach. More of a quiet atmosphere though, not really a party place, if you want a couple of days away from Sydney madness to relax on a quiet beach then a great place. The bus goes right outside into the city centre, which did take quite a while so not great for a sydney base, but I spent a week here, relaxing on the beach and fishing, and cycling with free bikes from the hostel. The local area is mostly residential so not the best place for getting food, also the bars nearby were a bit rough, not great for females travelling alone to go into these bars at night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raimundo M wrote a review Sep 2020
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed my time in this hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hostel is big, clean and cozy with very cool amenities and the location is just amazing, with lots of beautiful beaches to explore all around. I was glad to realize that they lend surf boards too. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to have a great time and explore the Northern Beaches of Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joanna82 wrote a review Jan 2008
Kent, United Kingdom58 contributions72 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst YHA i've stayed in and do not recommend it to anyone. Its too far from the main city, especially when your on a budget. Also we stayed there for new year and found the staff unhelpful, rude and unorganised. My friend and I were put in a 6 bed girls dorm but at one time 8 people were sleeping in this room, and not all girls!! Our "roommate" had been there for a number of months and our room was known as the "party" room of the hostel with random people turning up all through the night, we didnt feel safe at all as all sorts was going on. We'd come back from a day out to find bottle tops propped between the door and the doorframe so anyone could come into the room whenever they felt like it!! The noise throughout the night was awful and the kitchen was dirty. The only good thing is the showers were clean. I will never be returning to this hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2007
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dooster2010 wrote a review Jan 2010
1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What can I say. I am actually writing this review from the hostel. This is a horrible experience and I have stayed in South America and SE Asian accommodation. The room smells like excrement, is poorly ventilated and stuffy, dark and crammed. We are staying in a ground floor room and it is hot and doesnt even have a fan. We have been told numerous times that a fan is on its way... Keep away
Read more
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soefchen wrote a review Feb 2014
Timbuktu, Mali10 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel was full of workers (which would be nice if you're working as well but I wasn't). The Rooms were smelly, the bathrooms and the kitchen a mess, the common area was dirty and the atmosphere wasn't too nice. Plus there is not really anything to do around.
Bonus: free surfboards!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA
Responded Mar 12, 2014
Dear Soefchen, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a workers hostel, which suits many people, but not all. Working holiday makers are allowed to work for the same employer for up to 6 months, meaning many stay for this amount of time. We did however have problems with the cleanliness of the hostel, but now with our new housekeeping team, we are back to a great standard. If you ever have problems during your stay at any YHA, just let the staff know so we can fix things while you are here...we would rather you enjoy your stay! Thanks for taking the time to give feedback. Kind Regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maragart wrote a review Mar 2013
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Warm welcome from Drew when we arrived. However all down hill from there. The room were small, painted nappy yellow, smelly carpet.. The shower looked liked it hadn't been clean. The kitchen looked ok I guess if you could find a pan that had a handle.. Many safety issues there.. Being elderly I wasn't interest hearing man having a go at each other and fighting. I would see this kind of action at a pub not a hostel..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
exf642 wrote a review Feb 2010
Colchester7 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived at this hostel we were made to read and sign a number of forms stating that we would adhere to the rules of the hostel, a number of which related to keeping the hostel tidy. We found this a little strange but OK. How shocked we were when we opened the door to our room and it looked like a bomb site. There was rubbish everywhere and other peoples belongings all over our beds. This was not a great start, although reception staff did get the room cleaned up by the other guests in the room. The hostel is in an ok location near the main road, although the beach had blue bottle jelly fish washed up all along the shore. There did not seem to be much in Collaroy apart from the beach and the main road. Food shops were limited and expensive in the town area. Would not go back here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthWestLondoner wrote a review Nov 2006
London8,936 contributions297 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a double room in this hostel close to the beach in Collaroy (a bus ride out of Sydney). The room had been vacuumed, but there was a lingering smell of feet, and the surfaces and lockers were dusty. There was a toenail in one of the lockers (lovely!). The walls were thick, and I experienced no problems with noise. The ladies bathroom on my floor was a bit muddy due to heavy use (it was the closest to the communal area - plus there was something leaking somewhere (not something yucky I don't think, but it made the toilet floor wet). Other toilets and showers I used were clean.

The staff seem friendly and helpful, and the hostel is reasonably priced.

There is a small pool, and a number of different communal areas. The kitchen gets quite busy, but there is enough room for everyone. You pay a $20 deposit to get a set of plates and cutlery. Keep these safe, or you won't get your money back. There is a walk in fridge where you can squeeze in your food, and there are some open cupboards in the kitchen. I also discovered more cupboards in the games room behind the kitchen.

You can play ping pong, board games, a couple of arcade games or watch TV. The hostel organises parties.

There's a small supermarket close to the hostel.

The beach is across the road, and there is a salt water swimming pool, and a safe area to swim watched by lifeguards. The beach is more picturesque if you walk beyond the rock swimming pool.

You can catch the bus for about half an hour and be at Palm Beach where they film Home and Away. There are lots of other equally attractive beaches along the way.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from James D
Sydney
Hi Cathy, Other than long weekends, and between December 18th and January 3rd, you may stay for just 1 night on the weekend. We have double rooms with share bathroom for $95 per night ($85 for YHA members) or Family Ensuite Rooms for $145 per night ($135 for YHA members). If you would like to book, please call us on 02 9981 1177. Regards, James General Manager Sydney Beachouse YHA
Chris M wrote a tip Mar 2019
3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elswehere"
Read full review
Uncle_Gweilo wrote a tip Dec 2014
Gold Coast, Australia31 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"One of the dorms on the outside of the building for better airflow, especially in summer."
Read full review
Anjiphotos wrote a tip Oct 2014
Gloucester, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dorms are good value, but twin rooms are available too."
Read full review
atn092011 wrote a tip Sep 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada13 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all pretty awesome rooms. the 3 girls we stayed with were nice. You get to meet alot of nice people here."
Read full review
A T wrote a tip Aug 2014
Sydney, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"It probably goes without saying, but you might want a room away from the common area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Collaroy Beach area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater SydneyWarringahCollaroy Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SYDNEY BEACHOUSE YHA - Hostel Reviews (Collaroy Beach, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sydney Beachouse YHA
Which popular attractions are close to Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Nearby attractions include Long Reef Point (0.8 km), Collaroy Books (0.1 km), and Collaroy Beach Playground (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, airport transportation, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Upper Crust, The Indian Joint, and Long Reef Golf Club - Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sydney Beachouse YHA have airport transportation?
Yes, Sydney Beachouse YHA offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Sydney Beachouse YHA?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Corso (7.4 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars