Lakeside Lodge Clemson

Lakeside Lodge Clemson

Crumbs and dirt all over the floor
Traveler (59)
sofa and end table
Room & Suite (31)
Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#5 of 9 hotels in Seneca
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Clemson's only luxury resort experience. Rooms and suites at Lakeside Lodge Clemson offer you the comforts of home and the simplicity of having everything you need all in one place. Whether you choose a suite with a full kitchen or a more traditional micro room, you’ll enjoy luxury amenities, on-site restaurant and bar, modern furnishings, and conveniences that define comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
93Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 35
  • 13
  • 11
  • 14
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michelle S wrote a review Jul 2021
Austin, Texas7 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room is decent but nothing special. Decor was newer. Beds were comfortable. Our double queen was pretty small. Had a room overlooking the parking lot with no balcony. Had to listen to a very close train all night long. Door deadbolt was not fitted properly so couldn’t fully lock the door, and there was no door stopper to prevent a hotel employee from entering the room while we were inside. The bedside nightstand had 1 plug which was used for the clock. There were no other plugs near the beds. The outdoor area in the back had the potential to be nice, however, the pool had music blaring into the evening that carried across all the outside seating and dining areas. We opted to eat elsewhere to get away from the music even though the dining patio would have been a nice option otherwise. The room provided no bottled water, and water out of the tap only came out warm or hot. All in all, I would not choose to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shane Bounds, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Jul 26, 2021
We're disappointed to see this is the impression you got of our establishment. We appreciate your feedback about the plugs in the room and the volume from the pool We hope you let the front desk know about your door deadlock so they could address that problem while you were here. We empathize with your frustrations about the noise from the train, but we can't do much about that. It's a shame you feel you won't be back. Hopefully, you'll change your mind and decide to see all we have to offer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BertHerm wrote a review Apr 2022
South Carolina21 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Have staged at Lakeside several times in the past and have been pleased with our prior stays.

Our most recent stay we had minor issue which had Lakeside addressed I would have not even considered writing this review. After first night’s stay realize the shampoo and body wash dispensers were empty. Walked down to the front desk to request they be refilled. Two hours later request not fulfilled. Walked down to front desk again to check in on status of initial request they said someone would be by to refill soon.

Next morning (24 hours later) request still not fulfilled so my wife stops down to front desk, to request refills again and first response from person at front desk is “we have you checking out this morning” and ultimately fulfilled our request by coming back with shampoo in a coffee cup.

I know things go wrong but it’s what is done to fix them which counts. They need to learn how to take ownership of customer requests. An initial response to our third request of “when are you leaving” makes you wonder what priority is placed on customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shane Bounds, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Apr 11, 2022
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay this time, BertHerm. We always do our best to make sure every guest is perfectly taken care of. Still, we should always work to resolve a concern and it sounds like that did not happen in this case. We apologize for not meeting our usual standards and hope you'll give us another chance to show you how enjoyable our stays really are.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robby P wrote a review Aug 2022
Florence, South Carolina34 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very mixed review. For a hotel that is only two years old, it needs some serious TLC. I can't imagine that being so new there are so many problems. First of all, the drain in the shower needs to be secured to the floor. It came up easily and left a big hole in the shower floor. Not that I was trying to lift it, it just came up when I passed it over with my foot.

The ac vent is in the ceiling and had mold around it. Not a huge deal to me but before people check in, clean the vents. The shower soap and shampoo were empty. Again, no big deal but it is the little things that matter.

The entry gates are all tied off so anyone can walk through. I don't really mind that but the key card where you should be able to enter was completely broken. The boards on the exterior need to be replaced. Cracks everywhere.

Even though they have quiet hours, some kid was running in his room at like 2 am above us and that was EASILY heard. The train is terribly loud as well in the middle of the night. No sound proofing at all.

I feel like the construction on this project was terrible. The wall sockets are not level and it just appears thrown together. I am not even a construction guy but you can tell that there was not a second thought at all given to the details.

Now the food and the staff were great. I had no problems with either of them and I imagine on game weekends it is a great place to be.

However, no way I would buy one with the lack of details in the construction and desperate need of maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carter Sowers, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Sep 6, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to review us, despite the fact that we weren’t able to provide the best experience. We will use this as a learning experience for how we can improve. It is important to us that our guests are more than satisfied and we would like the opportunity to discuss any issues you may have encountered. And we are sorry about the noise level. With any building, it can be tricky to not hear anything from your neighbors, but we do our best to keep the noise level to a minimum. If anything is seriously disturbing, let our front desk know so we can address it with the other guests. We hope you'll give us another chance to show you what a truly relaxing stay should be like.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cricket64 wrote a review Jun 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina40 contributions39 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely time at Lakeside Lodge. The accommodations were great. We slept very well. You cannot beat the lake view. We had dinner at Traditions Friday night and it was outstanding! Karson waited on our table. She did an amazing job.
We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carter Sowers, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Jun 23, 2022
Thanks for making us part of your trip to the Upstate! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back the next time you're in the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zach-Anne wrote a review Sep 2021
Raleigh, North Carolina120 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I were in Clemson for a mini family reunion in July this year. We reserved 5 rooms and a lakeside suite with a sitting room. We were there for 2 nights, checking in on Friday, July 23rd and checking out on Sunday, July 25th.

When we arrived Friday afternoon , the toilet in the bathroom of the room given to my mom and dad was not working. The hotel was full and there were no other rooms available to shift them. My parents could not use the bathroom for that entire night because there was no maintenance person available to fix the toilet.

My parents are 78 and 83. To ask them to hold off not going to the bathroom for an entire night (they didn’t fix the toilet till close to 10 am the next morning) was totally unreasonable.

One of the staff members came up with the “bright” idea that they could go to one of the other family rooms - I guess they didn’t care that an elderly couple would be traipsing around the hotel in the middle of the night, waking up other members of the family just to go to the bathroom.

Around 9:45 am on Saturday, a maintenance engineer showed up and used a snake to dislodge a piece of soap that an earlier guest had dropped in the toilet. It took 15 minutes.

After the toilet was fixed, no one cleaned it. There was a plunger on a plastic bag left in front of the toilet in the bathroom. I went and picked it up and left it outside near a housekeeping closet door. I got towels from my room, and sanitary wipes that we brought, and wiped the toilet and floor ourselves.

I called the hotel front desk and asked that my parents be refunded the cost of their room for Friday night, since they were unable to use the bathroom, with all the stress of not being able to relieve themselves. I was assured that would not be a problem.

However, no such refund was given in my dad’s bill at checkout. After we returned home, I called several times and left several voicemails for two managers, and sent an email a few days ago. To this day, 9 weeks later, not a single person from Lakeside Lodge or Southern Resort Group has returned my calls, voicemails or email.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ambassador608084 wrote a review Sep 2020
8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at the Lakeside Lodge for 2 nights while dropping our daughter off at Clemson. We stayed in a one bedroom unit and enjoyed having a huge apartment at a reasonable price. The kingsize bed and pillows in the bedroom were very comfortable. The living room/kitchen area was huge and had a washer/dryer available. The bathroom was also very large, nice and new. We paid extra for "lakeside" and while we were officially lakeside, we were on the side of the building near the athletic field. There wasn't any view of the lake at all from our room, but it was still nice to be on that side of the building. It was raining most of our stay so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the outdoor area, but did take a walk around, and the pool and grounds are lovely. I would highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Echo Bostrom, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Sep 28, 2020
Thank you for the compliments, Lisa! We're glad we could accommodate you with our large suites. We hope you'll be able to return when the weather is nicer to enjoy all of our amenities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimaloha wrote a review Dec 2020
Yulee, Florida1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ for the location and view.

⭐⭐⭐⭐ for the room which was lovely. It would have been a 5-star experience if not for the unexpected price gauge and the noise.

⭐ for the continually slamming, VERY LOUD service and stairwell doors on the first floor.The room door had a 1" gap underneath allowing noise and light 24/7. The noise was specifically related to the stairwell and service doors which slammed loudly all night. The guests and staff were not noisy but respectful,kind,and quiet.

⭐ for the shocking rate charged! Beware! We were expecting $149 + taxes through Booking.com but were charged $250 upon arrival!

⭐ Booking.com and Lakeside Lodge were a disappointment on this trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shane Bounds, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Dec 17, 2020
Thank you for the positive words. We're disappointed that you had such a negative experience with noise in the property, and we hope you mentioned your issues with our front desk while you were here so we could take care of the problems. We can't comment on the individual price you paid because we don't have the specifics, but we can assure you no price gouging took place intentionally. If you have not already done so, we hope you let the manager on duty know about the price discrepancy so it doesn't happen again, and we hope you will stay with us the next time you're on vacation in Clemson.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca W wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I called before making the reservation to make sure CDC protocols were being followed, was assured they were. Sign on lobby entrance said masks must be worn although both desk clerks did not have masks on. My son and I are both immune compromised so was not happy to see the ladies at the desk without masks every time we came and went. The room was also obviously not deep cleaned. Fortunately I was prepared with Lysol wipes so disinfected everything myself. In the future, we’ll stay where we can trust covid safety precautions are being followed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shane Bounds, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Dec 17, 2020
We are so disappointed that this is the first impression you got of our resort. We have spent many hours training our employees about the importance of following CDC-recommended protocols, and it is disheartening to find out that they were not followed at the time of your visit. We assure you the disregard for the guidelines are no longer an issue, and we hope you will give us another try in the future when you visit Clemson.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trixiespin wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival at 4:30 our room wasn’t ready. Check in time is 4:00. So we had to wait. We finally got checked in at around 6:00 pm. Our room was not very clean. We called from our room and asked for more pillows and the girl at the desk said there were no pillows in the hotel but she could give me pillow cases. What am I going to do with a pillow case and no pillow? Comical. Then she said she had comforters. Again comical. Then there was a sign on our door that said “do not disturb” on one side and “maid service” on the other. So when we left for the day at 7:40 am we put the maid service side on the door assuming it meant they would clean our room. Came back that night and the beds were unmade, garbages full and only 3 towels put in the room. Our dirty towels were still there. So the next day a man came to our room and asked if we need towels. My husband said yes and explained what happened the day before. He also asked the man if they clean the rooms and he said yes they do. The man said he would make sure he told someone we wanted our room cleaned. So again we put the “maid service”sign on the door. Once again came back later and nothing. No garbages we’re emptied, beds unmade and no toilet paper either. So my husband called front desk and they said they don’t have maid service. LOL so he asked why do you have a sign on the door to hang that says “maid service” if you don’t have anyone cleaning the rooms. The answer was “I don’t know”. I have to say we were extremely disappointed as they claim to be this great hotel. In addition to the aformentioned we had a big brown stain on the carpet which appeared to be from a pet going to the bathroom. Shower door didn’t close properly so there was water all over the floor when we showered. We will not be staying here again that’s for sure. The employees don’t seem to care about the guests and were completely unapologetic about everything.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carter Sowers, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded Aug 25, 2022
It's unfortunate this was the impression you had of our establishment. Our daily stayover service includes towel exchange and trash removal. We do not clean the rooms or make beds for stayovers. However, when you stayed here, we had an unfortunate couple of days where we were without our commercial dryers AND press due to technical difficulties, so we were unable to do stayover service for a day or two. That week also happened to be our busiest week of the year, with move-in week at Clemson, as well as back-to-school for the children of most of our employees. You should never have to endure hardships because of personnel issues, and we do apologize that those issues affected you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sksmom wrote a review May 2022
ny137 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my fourth stay at the Lakeside Lodge and the first time I can leave a 5 star review. The property slowly seems to be coming around. Little things like having coffee set up in the lobby in the morning was nice to see (breakfast will be a nice addition someday). My room was stocked with everything I needed - shampoo, conditioner, soap, dish soap and a fresh sponge, paper towels etc. I hope they continue to improve as the property is lovely and location to Clemson is very convenient. This time I traveled solo to move my daughter out. We are booked again for move in this summer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms facing the lake will be quieter as the train passes on the front side of the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carter Sowers, General Manager at Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Responded May 16, 2022
Fantastic news! We're so glad you had a stay you deserved this time, and we can't wait to see you later this summer. Thank you for continuing to stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seneca area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,796 - ₱7,855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaSeneca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
189
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKESIDE LODGE CLEMSON - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Seneca, SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lakeside Lodge Clemson
What are some of the property amenities at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lakeside Lodge Clemson?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lakeside Lodge Clemson offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Does Lakeside Lodge Clemson have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lakeside Lodge Clemson accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Seneca HotelsSeneca Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SenecaHotels near Lakeside Lodge Clemson
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars