We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center

Save
Share
1310 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1114
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$84
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$84
View deal
Trip.com
$82
View deal
BestWestern.com$84
Travelocity$84
Hotels.com$84
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (6)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 11 hotels in Clemson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center will stand out among other hotels in Clemson,SC. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Boating
Bowling offsite
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
122Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 50
  • 31
  • 14
  • 14
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Patricia G wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
We stayed here while moving my daughter in for college. The staff .especially Ayanna..were awesome. But at check in I received different room than was on reservation. It had said balcony with atrium view ..I got first floor with dumpster view. We had a lot to do so I did not complain. My room key did not work more than once. Every time we left the room I had to go get new key. Kind of annoying. The room reeked of bug spray when we entered. But did not see any bugs other than one dead in hallway. While swimming in the pool, which was not very clean but I understand low staff issues...3 people came out to fire pit area with beers. No problem. Then they started smoking weed. Still not my issue. Then 2 people with security vests joined them and enjoyed weed with them. Were they the hotel security? No idea but they had the same shirts under vests. Not very professional in my opinion. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jelisa Robinson, Sales at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. We use guests feedback to help us become better. I sincerely apologize that you were not welcomed into your room with a pleasant frangrance. The hotel does not have security and our staff do not wear vests. Please accept my sincerest apology and I hope that you stay with us again to give us the oppotunity to provide you with a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightsee233835 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was the worst hotel I ever had stayed at the worst staff ever rude and smug violating laws that pertain to the Americans with disabilities act insulting their guests and then kick them out so many things wrong with the rooms and staff please avoid this hotel like the plague
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Kessinger, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Mr. Kalusa....thank you for your review. The review below this one is also from you. You were removed from the hotel via my request and with the supervision of the City of Clemson Police Department. You unfortunately were verbally abusive to my staff and my manager. We do not tolerate abuse of any kind in our hotel. You did mention your mission to degrade the hotel via all social media and that's exactly what you have done. This is your prerogative, but we do have the police report and also have witnesses to your behavior. I am not worried as we want all guests and future guests to know that our hotel is free of anyone who insists upon abusing the hotel staff or guests. And as mentioned below in your additional review, I welcome any inquiry into any perceived violation you state via the Department of Justice or ADA. The hotel has done absolutely nothing wrong. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim K wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
In reference to my recent stay at the best western plus in Clemson, SC. Ticket # cr519785 I have to say I am very upset with the service and treatment by the dayshift manager that my husband and I received. We will never stay at this particular hotel ever again. Let me start by explaining that on 07/18/22, we experienced an electrical emergency at our home and had to seek alternative shelter due to the heat. Now I know that doesn’t excuse any words we had or said to the staff, but it was a very stressful situation. My husband and I both have medical issues and we each have a service dog. The particular policy for this hotel was no pets. We explained they were service animals. After much debate and a phone call to the general manager, we acquired a room for the night. Skip to the next morning, my husband went down to readdress the issue and get clarification from the staff. Granted I wasn’t present at the time because we were instructed that the dogs couldn’t left alone in the room. The morning manager was very rude towards my husband and my husband isn’t one who quietly takes rudeness from others. He did call the manager a rude ass. But the attitude from the manager was that they only allow service animals is because they have to instead of showing a welcomeness to those in need of service animals. We were forced to vacant the hotel upon their demand even though we paid for 2 nights stay. 2nd night fee is supposed to be refunded, we’ll see. I have to say as a person with medical issues and require the need of a service animal, i have never been more embarrassed or insulted in my life especially enduring an already stressful personal situation. I firmly feel the staff violated ada and Hippa policies by demanding to know our medical issues and why we needed the service animals also wanting us to show proof. We will be reaching out to the ada to see what steps we can take next to see that this never happens to another person with medical issues and disabilities.if I could give this hotel a “0” rating I would
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Kessinger, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. I am the GM and I am fully aware of this situation. From the moment you arrived your husband was yelling and screaming in the lobby saying you would sur=e our hotel if we did not take your dog (one dog). This is even before we could as you the 2 questions, we are permitted to ask by the Department of Justice regarding service animals. I was called on the phone by my front desk associate and I heard your husband yelling in the lobby about suing us and having my associate fired. This behavior is never permitted in a hotel by a guest. I asked your husband the 2 questions we are permitted to ask. Once he responded the check in continued. At no time ever did we ask exactly what the medical issues were that you may have. We are permitted to ask..."Is that a service animal?" and "What tasks does your service animal provide for you?" Thats it. And he went to his room. The next day your husband returned to the desk many times to say we ripped you off by charging you too much money, which was completely untrue. Your husband returned again for another reason and then became very agitated with the desk staff and Assistant Manager. Your husband did in fact use the words "rude ass" in reference to my Assistant Manager and that was overheard by the staff and the lobby guests. It was at that point your husband was asked to vacate the property due to his verbal violent outburst toward my staff. This is not permitted as a guest of our hotel in any situation. Your husband then asked to speak to me via the phone and I repeated the demand to vacate the property. Your husband refused verbally many times and then he hung the phone up on me. The Police were then called on a non emergency basis to help assist you and your husband to vacate the hotel. Only with the Police present and much arguing did you finally vacate the property but that was not before throwing the keys at us at the front desk. Please note this had absolutely nothing to do with your service animals, it had to do with irrational behavior and statements in the lobby of the hotel towards my staff. I welcome any and all inquiries from the DOJ and ADA or anyone regarding your stay with us. Also please note that you did mention you would slam my hotel via every social media site. Your choice of course, but you were removed from the hotel with the Police present and we do have that police report. We run a respected and very professional hotel and we do not tolerate abuse of any kind against our associates, our guests and your vendors. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charlesgraydonw wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
We were checked in and walked into an already occupied room. Automatically checked out after day 1 of a 2 day stay. Getting that error and the billing fup has been a comedy in errors. The staff and management were all new and not that friendly. I only saw one staff member wear a mask. Even the room and hallway upkeep were poor-stained carpets, broken toilet seat fasteners, etc. There are better options in Clemson SC.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
migsters wrote a review Aug 2020
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina1 contribution
Bathrooms filthy! A/C clanking! Breakers tripped no electricity! Restaurant Closed! We stay here all the time. It has been going downhill for a while, but this time was by far the worst! Not sure anyone even cares! Too bad cause they are so close to Clemson University and had a good thing going!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dean B wrote a review Aug 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at hotel for two nights while moving our son into his nearby apt. for his junior year at CU. On the plus side: - AC in room worked well - Bed and pillows were comfortable Negative aspects of stay: - Multiple front desk staff not wearing masks, not just behind counter, but also when walking around lobby on 7/31, 8/1, and 8/2 - No housekeeping services provided and no notice given at check-in - No To-Go bag provided in morning (they were all out at 0900) - Shower head too low - Hair dryer inop (broken switch) (turned in to front desk at checkout) - Front desk ignored trash on floor in lobby (morning of 8/1) rather than simply picking it up - Only decaf coffee pods provided in room - Electrical outlet on desk lamp inop Our hotel stay was $80 a night. For this amount, I think the rooms should have been in better shape and staff more attentive. We will be looking to stay elsewhere next time (we go up to Clemson 5-6 times/year).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were on first floor and neighbors made quite a bit of noise starting before 0600.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris_From_Mich wrote a review Jul 2020
Commerce Township, Michigan334 contributions238 helpful votes
covid stay in June 2020. thought i would check out a Best Western brand. photos looked good. checked in and was told i was being upgraded to a suite. the room was clean and comfortable. it was a decent stay and the staff was very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
LoriSC wrote a review May 2020
7 contributions8 helpful votes
Do not stay at the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center in Clemson SC! I was a victim of attempted identity theft at this hotel, and I feel that the Front Office Manager, Charnette, may have been involved. I waited to post this review, hoping for a better ending. But, unfortunately, the issue was not resolved to my satisfaction. I have stayed at this hotel twice. The first time was uneventful. The second time, after not having heat in my room, ended with a call being made to my hotel room from someone claiming to be from hotel management. This man was very polite and professional, and was trying to get banking information from me to issue a credit for our troubles with the heat. Let me explain. I made several attempts to call the front desk about the heat. Since there was no answer, I went down to the lobby, to find the front desk manager smoking outside. I explained the problem with the heat. She got me blankets and offered to take a look at the unit in my room. After determining that the unit was broken, she said she’d put in a work order. Hotel Customer Service says that at that point I was offered another room. I don’t recall the offer, but that’s neither here nor there. It wasn’t that cold and the extra blankets were fine. Shortly after she left, as she should, she put through a call from “upper management” to my room. I thought, WOW, what wonderful service! After trusting the person who represented himself as being from the hotel, I shared personal information (shame on me). I was able to rectify this with my bank, and in the end, no financial harm was done. I did file a police report. I reached out to Best Western Customer Care service asking compensation for not having heat, and the personal breach. More importantly, I wanted the hotel to know that either hotel management is in on an opportunity to scam people, or the room is bugged. Since there were no other guests around when I was talking with the manager, I am having trouble coming up with a different reason as to how this could have happened. Customer Care reached out to the Clemson hotel, but told me that there was nothing they could do. My concern lies not in reimbursement. Since it was off season the room was only $100. I am more concerned with the indifference from Customer Care headquarters and the local hotel. No one seemed to be concerned with how this happened. There are plenty of other hotels in the area in the same price range. There is no reason to stay at the Best Western and risk identity theft.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Quest16386493944 wrote a review May 2020
2 contributions
Room was not vacuumed so was a little creeped out by that. Hallway smelled weird. Everything else about hotel was great--location to Clemson campus, friendliness of staff, hospitality. Was inexpensive but I see why it was now
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris H wrote a review Mar 2020
Litchfield, Connecticut537 contributions154 helpful votes
We picked this hotel for its price and location to the college. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower had good hot water. The restaurant was just ok as it looks to be in transition. The complementary breakfast in the morning was just OK.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university inn clemson hotel clemson, ramada clemson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada Inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaClemson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include Larry W. Abernathy Waterfront Park (1.1 km), Clemson Area African American Museum (0.5 km), and Backstreets Pub & Grill (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include 'All In' Coffee Shop, Pixie & Bill's, and Calhoun Corners Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.