We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort

155 Keen Lake Rd, Waymart, PA 18472-3077
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (236)
Pool & Beach (34)
Room & Suite (26)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 campground in Waymart
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Keen Family has welcomed RV campers, tent campers, and cottage guests for over 60 years, and it is as much a privilege today as it was for our parents, James and Dorothy Keen. Every day brings an opportunity to greet a returning friend or to meet a new one. The resort campus includes a 90-acre spring fed mountain lake, a glamping village, pioneer style tent sites, full hook up RV site. Some sites are located on the water, others nestled among trees and others in shaded area. Amenities include lake and pool swimming, snack bar, camp store, gift shop and pet beach, laundromat, clean and spacious bathhouses and Wi-Fi. Family fun includes, basketball, volleyball, and pickleball courts, sports field, shuffleboard, horseshoe pit, game room, horseshoe pit, organized activities and entertainment. We respect how valuable a commodity leisure time is, and our mission is to provide the opportunity for all families to reconnect with each other and to connect with the splendor that is the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, It's time to gather at the lake.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Snack bar
Beach
Badminton
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Archery offsite
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
230Reviews5Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 137
  • 53
  • 23
  • 8
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Carleen V wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions
Our first impression of the resort was the store and staff. Great store and staff! Then we went to our cabin which was a little small for 5 of us but we made it work. Loved the front porch! The grounds were another story. The pool needs to be replaced; tape on the liner and steps roped off. The splash pad is no longer. Was filled in with sand. No place for the little ones to swim. The "little" mini-golf is in very rough shape. The whole place really needs a good makeover. According to others, the resort has been saying that repairs would be done, but its been a few years and nothing had changed. Hopefully this year they will go through and make the necessary fixes and updates. Could be a beautiful resort!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Oct 5, 2023
Hi! We're a little confused. Our pool has been closed for the season since September 16. We don't have a pool liner and we have never had a splash pad. We have also never had a mini-golf course. We take pride in our grounds and make sure that we improve them every year. Are you sure you are reviewing the right campground?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronnie V wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
+1
Beautiful location, a multitude of different types of campsites surrounding a serene lake. Some sites are tight when bringing in a camper. Great organized activities for the kids plus playgrounds, pool & lakefront beach. Staff is friendly & helpful. With regard to making reservations, our question were quickly answered whether by phone or email. Our visit included two on site rental RS’s & a camper site & they were very accommodating. Everyone has a different opinion but I think Keen Lake description is very much as it states.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Sep 25, 2023
What a lovely review! More importantly, we are so happy that your family enjoyed your stay a the lake. The pleasure was indeed ours!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
561marke wrote a review Sep 2023
Collegeville, Pennsylvania41 contributions12 helpful votes
This this the second time we visited Keen Lake and it could not have been better. The staff is very responsive and friendly. Always has a smile and willing to help. The place we stayed at was nice and clean. The entire grounds is well kept. Would highly recommend snd will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at the lake. Meeting our guest's expectations is why we do what we do.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Caitlin M wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions
Keen Lake is definitely going to be our new labor day destination/tradition. The place is huge, and gorgeous! We stayed at an electric water hookup site, in tents, and cooked for ourselves the whole time, although my husband did get a po boy off the food truck one day, and we had plenty of ice cream from the store-conveniently located right near the pool, lake swimming area, bathrooms, pet beach, basketball courts, boat house, and laundromat. Very clean. Movie Hall, and so many extra activities for kids, which is awesome incase of a rainy day. I must say, the Staff were so very pleasant, accommodating, super friendly and informative! The only thing I would say could be changed or improved, is that the camp sites are quite close together. I think in a cabin or camper, I wouldn't mind too much, however in tents outside ..the first day and night were great because the campsites bordering ours were empty. However the last couple of nights I could literally hear my neighbor snoring, and another camper mentioned being disturbed/feeling awkward near their neighbors as well. I would honestly pay more next year to rent two sites just to have an adequate amount of space/privacy. All in all our family is looking forward to next year at Keen Lake. Thanks to the employees for a wonderful time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Any time our staff is complemented makes our heart's sing as we do think we have the most amazing people! Thank you, too, for your feedback on site size. I will certainly include this in our management team's next meeting. Finally, thank you for including us in your getaway. We truly appreciate your staying at the lake.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vicky W wrote a review Sep 2023
Chesapeake City, Maryland33 contributions14 helpful votes
We just camped at keen lake and had a great time! It is very festive and picturesque with it’s beautiful lake! We love kayaking and this was a perfect place for it including a cool bridge tunnel that u can paddle through. There's also a big sports field available with lots to do like horse shoes, corn hole, volleyball, basketball and pickle ball! Our 16 yr old had a blast! We definitely recommend this campground. The only negative that we found was that they charge you to put your own kayaks in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted beyond words that you enjoyed your stay at the lake! The pleasure was ours.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BarbT_Phila_PA wrote a review Aug 2023
Hatboro, Pennsylvania164 contributions94 helpful votes
Overall it was good visit. Keen Lake has a large lake with swimming, boating and fishing available. A small swimming pool and playground is also available. The staff is friendly and helpful. The campground map is deceiving because site #131 - 134 isn’t lake view as indicated. Once you park your camper your view is obstructed by the woods. We visited Honesdale which is 10 minutes away and enjoyed several restaurants and ice cream stores.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Sites 135 & 136B are extremely lit at night. It was a disappointment to have to relocate our...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Sep 4, 2023
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We very much appreciate your kind words and your feedback. I have spoken with our map making company to see what they can do to more clearly separate lake sites from those that are not lakefront. Best, Jan Keen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jacquie wrote a review Aug 2023
Baiting Hollow, New York1 contribution
The staff and campers were so welcoming and friendly. The lake setting was beautiful. My grandson felt comfortable riding his bike around. I would highly recommend this resort to others. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids busy. The DJ on Saturday night was engaging and played songs everyone enjoyed dancing to . There was so much available to keep busy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Weekdays are much quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Aug 2, 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always an honor when a family tells us they had a great time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jessica C wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
+1
My husband and I stayed at the Laurel Cottage with our boys Otis and Kruz. It was SPOTLESS and perfect … Beautiful view and awesome lake. Lots to do. Pet friendly. Thank you for a perfect time. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Jul 26, 2023
What a nice thing to say! We truly enjoyed your family's stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you to the lake anytime you have the time! Have a great rest of the summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SUE R wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
The Farm house is perfect! Private, close to everything, well maintained. The staff is always friendly, courteous, and helpful. So close to Honesdale, which has restaurants, cafe's, shops, Walmart, grocery stores everything you need + more! I reserve a week every year, we love it so much!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Jul 26, 2023
I'm so delighted that you are enjoying our family home. Growing up in the Farmhouse was wonderful and a true adventure in both the summer and the winter. I love that you have found Honesdale, one of the most charming towns in the Poconos and finally, thank you, thank you, thank you for your shout out to our staff. We are so proud of them! I'll make sure they see your kind words. Have a wonderful rest of the summer. We look forward to welcoming you next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan L wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Our family has gone to the campground for over 22 years. We always go the same week and book for the following year when we check out. Getting ready for our stay in 2 days and were just told they have no reservation for us this year. Over 22 years of patronage and were told they had nothing on the book for us. When we made the reservation a year ago, the person. checking us out would not take a deposit at the time because they didn't know the rates. Complete disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Keen, Owner at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Responded Jul 1, 2023
Dear Susan and Thom and Family, We are so sorry that we found ourselves in a situation that did not allow us to accommodate your family. As you have been a treasured guest for so many years, we think it fair to say that you knew that our booking policy would require a deposit. When deposits are not received, our online reservation system, simply releases these unsecured bookings within a certain time span, thus opening the accommodations to another. Once a reservation is released, all the details regarding that booking are also released. Susan, you know the rhythm of when deposits are due so it was surprising for us to hear from you 2 days prior to your check in for a reservation that was made June 29 , 2022. Clearly we were both lacking in the communication that would have prevented our disappointing your family so greatly. We couldn't be more devastated that this has happened. We truly have loved your visits to the lake and are so sorry that this has happened. Best wishes always, Jan Keen i
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waymart area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
keen lake camping and cottage hotel waymart
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPocono Mountains RegionWaymart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KEEN LAKE CAMPING AND COTTAGE RESORT - UPDATED 2023 Campground Reviews (Waymart, PA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Nearby attractions include Prompton State Park (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mustard Seed Cafe, The Gravity Inn Restaurant and Bar, and Waymart Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Keen Lake Camping and Cottage Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.