We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Terrace Motor Inn

130 Adelaide St, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (6)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

₱5,507
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Raymond Terrace
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conveniently located in the Raymond Terrace CBD, 5 min from the Pacific Highway and 15 min from Newcastle (Williamtown) Airport, the Colonial Terrace Motor Inn is a great place to stay, work, rest and dine. Our Restaurant is open 7 days a week for Breakfast and Monday - Thursday for Dinner.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Boating
Bowling
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Diving
Golf course
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Fishing
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
175Reviews1Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 98
  • 52
  • 11
  • 2
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mark W wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
All I’ll say is read the reviews before you book. It won’t matter what I write here as the owner will turn things around like he has in all the negative reviews… and there are plenty of them. The owner is a bully and tried being intimidating with kids when they were having fun. What I did was stick up for my kids as they were scared of his actions. When I did stand up to him I then found out he is actually a coward. Stay away from this place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Dec 26, 2023
Thanks Mark or should we say Greenlizard, previous review under another name. Besides the threats from you of harm, swearing, abuse you still don't have the facts. No bullying of kids, when they were asked to keep quiet for the respect of other guests they didn't and then they were asked to pack up. Anyway, we heard you are the trouble maker of the cricket group and this proves it. Below is the response we sent the last review and we look forward to you creating another profile to leave yet another. These aren't lies, these are all recorded on security footage and we are happy to send you copies. Sorry you let the facts get in the way of your story to make your self feel good about abusing people, accusing them of being wife bashers and threats of violence. Even your group tries to stop you for 30 minutes during your violent outrage and we even had embarrassed members of your group apologise for your disgraceful actions. Hopefully this is a lesson in humility to you and you learn from this, especially as the police had to escort you for disruption and you drove away with kids in the car after drinking.... Happy 2024 Mark, we are humbled by the fact you created 2 new tripadvisor accounts to leave these reviews, thanks! Oh Mark, thanks for this, but unfortunately you left out many vital things. We calmly, 3 times explained to you that your payment had failed, we even showed you proof via booking.com and the receipt but you still didn't accept this. You became very abusive in front of another guest. Secondly, we have signs for no glass in the pool, for everyones safety, you saw, you ignored and you risked the safety of other guests, many children. Thirdly, you came back approx midnight one night, loud and disruptive, we had compalints from other guests. And sadly lastly, you were evicted due to abusive, violent behaviour towards staff because we keep the place quiet for all guests, not just you. It was comforting to hear that this is the way you are on all of these trips from others in your group and sincerly hope you dont treat other places like this anymore. To have the police come to evict you based on your actions is embarrasing for you. Merry Christmas, Mark!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GreenLizard wrote a review Dec 2023
Tweed Heads, Australia1 contribution
The owner as stated in the multiple previous 1 star reviews is as rude as they come. From the offset he was aggressive and condescending to us. Claiming that a payment did not go through when we were actually charged 3 times, he was straight on the attack telling us that the machines are never wrong and to F off. No respect for his customers when they are the reason he is where he is. The lady who was also behind the counter at reception is nothing short of a Saint and could not be nicer. A real shame.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Dec 24, 2023
Oh Mark, thanks for this, but unfortunately you left out many vital things. We calmly, 3 times explained to you that your payment had failed, we even showed you proof via booking.com and the receipt but you still didnt accept this. You became very abusive in front of another guest. Secondly, we have signs for no glass in the pool, for everyones safety, you saw, you ignored and you risked the safety of other guests, many children. Thirdly, you came back approx midnight one night, loud and disruptive, we had compalints from other guests. And sadly lastly, you were evicted due to abusive, violent behaviour towards staff because we keep the place quiet for all guests, not just you. It was comforting to hear that this is the way you are on all of these trips from others in your group and sincerly hope you dont treat other places like this anymore. To have the police come to evict you based on your actions is embarrasing for you. Merry Christmas, Mark!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tangles wrote a review Jan 2023
Goondiwindi, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
How on earth did you ever get a good review is beyond me. Motel cleaning staff are fantastic it’s just the obnoxious boss that gets a kick out of speaking over his customers . He forgets his customers actually pay his bills ! Congratulations you take the cake, never have I been spoken to by such an aggressive motel manager before….. Yes you did yell at us and told us to “ get in our car & off your premises “ all because I had asked for a receipt for my payments. Our little group did nothing wrong, in fact we saved you money by making sure our rooms where made up each day. You advertised trailer parking , yet we couldn’t even park our F truck in our space, you abused the boys before they even got out of the car to get the Ute out ! Do you get a kick out of speaking to ladies poorly especially a lady in her 70’s, sure hope that made your day . I know you are now going to leave a fantastic review about my stay but just make sure you get the facts right first and also remember those ⭐️ started before you arrived 😊 Our little group did NOT eat in your restaurant or did we purchase champagne off you as you claimed in a review before . I gave your motel a one star and that’s for your staff & your rooms. Unfortunately your aggressiveness deleted the 4 stars as I don’t want anyone else staying at your motel getting abused as the only two ladies in our group did .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Jan 24, 2023
Thanks. Firstly, by having housekeeping do your rooms or not doesn't save money, please don't assume you know how our business operates. Secondly, you were demanding and unhelpful from the time you first booked. There was no abuse of you F truck drivers, they were asked twice to remove their oversized vehicle from our courtyard as it was taking up 2 spots. We advertise trailer parking, no huge speedboat parking but we accommodate, bur again you felt entitled to try and park a trailer in our courtyard. You were rude on check in, not listening, talking over the top. You were asked to leave, as you were checking out and were given what you wanted but it still wasn't good enough. Additionally some of your people left without paying so I guess that is why you are upset too as you had to foot the bill. Maybe check our other reviews, you will see 93% of guests love our property and service. All the best Tania!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elgrad wrote a review Jan 2023
34 contributions21 helpful votes
Actually the accommodation was fine. The attitude of the man behind the counter was absolutely obnoxious. So rude & demeaning to the point of on checkout was "just get in your car & get out". Stay away from this Motel. He shouldn't be in hospitality. Nothing hospitable about him.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Jan 17, 2023
Thank for your review. It is a shame you actually don't put the full story on. You and your group were rude upon check in, rude during the stay, very rude and demanding on check out and not kind at all. You weren't told to "get in your car and leave" you were told "here is your tax invoice, goodbye". Additionally the arrogance of your group in the restaurant too by refusing to pay for a bottle of champagne that you all drank and the rudeness too. And I guess your group felt it ok to take up many car spaces with trailers and had a severe entitlement complex. A little bit of politeness goes a long way. Finally, thanks for thinking of us, you haven't left a review for 6 years and we are honoured we are your first since 2017!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig H wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Our flight home to Melbourne was cancelled last minute and the airline had no rooms left available to put us up in. A quick call ourselves to this motel and they went above and beyond to help us out kate on a Sunday night which was greatly appreciated. All we wanted by that stage was a comfy bed. Rooms were nice and clean, beds super comfy and the shower pressure amazing. Thank you guys for your hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Nov 28, 2022
Thanks Craig, appreciate the kind words and we are always here to help ensure all of our guests have a great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny F wrote a review Oct 2022
Port Macquarie, Australia13 contributions6 helpful votes
Given the previous reviews I wouldn't have booked had I taken the time to read them. Previous guests have mentioned the appalling attitude of the male receptionist. Rude, arrogant followed by demands the guest leave. We had precisely the same experience. Turned up early, not expecting to have the room ready but certainly not expecting to be spoken to so offensively. Threats of camera footage followed by accusations of rudeness and arrogance. Does this apology of a receptionist have such a limited vocabulary? Yes we have two motels, one being number one in the town, with excellent reviews. People, do not book. Do not stay. There are endless wonderful other places, as we found to our delight, with wonderful staff, facilities and services. The sign in Reception that tells you the motel is not pet friendly, be warned. They are not friendly. Sorry, he is not friendly. The lady who answers the phone is delightful. I can't wait to see the response that TripAdvisor should not publish.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Oct 16, 2022
FYI - as motel operators yourself you certainly don't give others the respect you supposedly demand at your motel. Jenny, you and John have a habit of contributions of calling others out without stating your faults.... HI Jenny, I will just leave this one here that was replied to your husband. 1 - you did expect to have the room ready as you said you were here to check in and when told they weren't ready you turned angry straight away. You were not spoken to offensively, you were given options around town, you were advised, very politely and kindly we would call once the room was ready. You forgot to mention this and the fact you also agreed several times this is exactly what happened. Yes we have read the Gunnedah motel reviews and there are some that state the rudeness of you and your husband. Pity you let the truth get in the way of your wonderful words. FYI - we are number one in town too, pity because of your attitude you didn't get to experience. Also you have a track record of this kind of review. Thanks James & Jenny, so pity you didn't write what happened, here let me. You turned up at 12.30 for check in. You stated you operate 2 motels so you know check in is from 2pm. You were then kindly advised the rooms weren't ready, we would happily call you when they are, gave you options for lunch or looking around our lovely little township. Then you asked for a fridge, we again kindly advised we didn't have one i reception and again advised once the room was ready we would call. Suddenly this was not good enough and the way yourself and your lovely wife respond was quite rude and arrogant. We helped where we could and gave advice etc but, again not good enough. As motel operators yourself, and I wouldn't embarrass you by stating which ones (yes we do know), you should have shown a lot more respect yet you felt the need for self importance and entitlement. By the way - Customer Relations - there it is, I can also send you the meaning if you like, as we have read some of your motels reviews too. Thanks for the kind words and we wish you all the success. As per your contributions you have a track record of leaving poor scores knowing yourself it is your actions that lead to the service you deserve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James F wrote a review Oct 2022
Runaway Bay, Australia24 contributions26 helpful votes
Our experience with the owner/manager was exactly the same as previous one star reviews. The guy is a fruit-loop who would be better employed as a bouncer instead of in the hospitality industry. I doubt he could spell "customer relations" let alone utilise them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2022
Thanks James, so pity you didn't write what happened, here let me. You turned up at 12.30 for check in. You stated you operate 2 motels so you know check in is from 2pm. You were then kindly advised the rooms weren't ready, we would happily call you when they are, gave you options for lunch or looking around our lovely little township. Then you asked for a fridge, we again kindly advised we didn't have one i reception and again advised once the room was ready we would call. Suddenly this was not good enough and the way yourself and your lovely wife respond was quite rude and arrogant. We helped where we could and gave advice etc but, again not good enough. As motel operators yourself, and I wouldn't embarrass you by stating which ones (yes we do know), you should have shown a lot more respect yet you felt the need for self importance and entitlement. By the way - Customer Relations - there it is, I can also send you the meaning if you like, as we have read some of your motels reviews too. Thanks for the kind words and we wish you all the success. As per your contributions you have a track record of leaving poor scores knowing yourself it is your actions that lead to the service you deserve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pe ter M wrote a review Oct 2022
Nelson Bay, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
We would never stay there again.. Have stayed there several times pre covid with the previous owners. The current owner of this motel was extremely rude and arrogant and sould not be dealing with the public at all. The place used to be spotless but is now run down, shabby and grubby. We definitely could not recommend it to anyone. The website makes the place look excellent - it used to be three years ago but not any more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Oct 9, 2022
HI Peter, thanks for your review. Unfortunately with reviews guests forget the wrongs of their actions. When you are rude and demanding and expect other people to bow down to you =, when this doesn't happen then I guess you think this is our fault. Happy to send you the reception camera footage of your actions if you wish. Also are you sure you stayed here (we know you did but follow me here) as 99% of guests (you are the only 1%) mention always how great our facilities are, how clean we are, how friendly we are, how excellent we are and how modern we are and many also say that from the website to IRL it looks great (in IRL that is). Thank anyway for your kind words and we will be sure to park you 1 beside the often 4/5 or 8/9/10 we get regularly on a daily basis. If you wish to mend the error of your ways feel free to visit again, next time with a more peaceful attitude and friendlier outlook on life. Also we feel much respect you felt you needed to open a tripadvisor account to make your one and only contribution to us - Much Respect to you... All the best Peter
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vicki H wrote a review Sep 2022
Pottsville, Australia89 contributions13 helpful votes
I stay here for work travel often but was disappointed this time. Each time i turned on a light during the night the sink was infested with cockroaches. Not sure if climate ussue or lack of pest control. The restaraunt was pleaseant and pizza delicious but terrible service. 50 min wait for a pizza while staff stood around talking. It was not busy at the time so no excuse for wait. Takeaways were quicker
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Parking outside room. Reception helpful. Generally quiet and basic facilities orovided including...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Sep 24, 2022
HI Vicki, we get regular pest control and housekeeping haven't reported any pests in that room. The restaurant is a very busy restaurant and we have never had any complaints about their food or service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Russ W wrote a review Sep 2022
Bribie Island, Australia41 contributions4 helpful votes
Very comfortable rooms great beds, clean tidy, staff were most willing to help and very friendly. Could not wish for more after a long day's travel. Priced very reasonably too! Close to shops and everything we needed. Enjoyed a great meal on site and a peaceful good nights rest. Excellent family room with 2 bedrooms. Loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book ahead it is popular.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig T, General Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Responded Sep 24, 2022
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Raymond Terrace area.
PRICE RANGE
₱5,982 - ₱6,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sundowner Raymond Terrace
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastlePort StephensRaymond Terrace
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COLONIAL TERRACE MOTOR INN - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Raymond Terrace, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Riverside Park, Raymond Terrace (0.5 km), Boomerang Park (0.5 km), and Raymond Terrace Squash and Fitness (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thai at 27, The Junction Inn Hotel, and Cups' N' Saucers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Colonial Terrace Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Maitland Gaol (14.4 km) and Morpeth Bridge (11.7 km).
Is Colonial Terrace Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.