We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU England
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (440)
360
Panoramas (51)
Room & Suite (216)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 05/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Beechfield House
Updated 05/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat & Lacock. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, a delicious lunch, traditional afternoon tea, bar snacks or fabulous two AA Rosette dining. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free superfast Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. We will ALWAYS match or beat any rate offered by the online travel agents.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1000Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 710
  • 173
  • 70
  • 31
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Erin74 wrote a review Yesterday
California684 contributions212 helpful votes
We spent over £1000 for a reservation at Beechfield House in Spring 2020 for what was to be a special, milestone family trip. Just weeks before we were meant to travel from America, the world shut down due to Covid. The five other hotels we had booked in Europe immediately refunded our money or issued us credit for our reservations. Beechfield eventually (and somewhat reluctantly) offered to give us a few mid-week nights in December in exchange for our original reservation. Mind you, international travel was not even permitted in December 2020. We asked if they could please allow us to book at another time, as we desperately wanted to take this trip, but would have to wait until international travel was possible. Beechfield agreed and said to contact them later. We struggled through Covid like everyone else, managed to get back to a place where we could re-book our travel, reached out to Beechfield to see what dates they had available in 2022 and... they would not respond. They took more than £1000 from us and never allowed us to rebook our reservation. The dishonesty and lack of decency here is astounding. Absolutely every other hotel and attraction with whom we had a reservation made some sort of allowance, given that the pandemic and ensuing travel restrictions were not our fault, but not Beechfield. Please do not trust them with your precious holiday dollars or your special occasion. We were so excited to stay at their property and this was heartbreaking for us, and very expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mary wrote a review 19 Jun
Felixstowe, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Arrived after a 6 hour journey on the road. Asked the receptionist if we could have a snack or afternoon tea. We were told the afternoon teas were fully booked and they could not offer even a sandwich. We had to return to the car and find somewhere else to eat. Very disappointing. The following morning I went to reception to ask a couple of questions to find a notice saying ‘check out on line and leave your key in the room. ‘ It was a beautiful hotel with excellent facilities, but sometimes you just need a human to help you! The television did not work and unable to find anyone to help.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ground floor extension was quiet and pleasant, with the exception of garden that was just weeds
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
T and D Davies wrote a review 12 Jun
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked a 4 night break; the day before we left home we received a text informing us the hotel’s restaurant would not be available for Monday or Tuesday. We booked a table for Wednesday, only to be told at the last minute there was no chef that evening. We asked to speak to a manager, to be told there was none available, we had to go out in the rain to find a meal at 7:30pm, no one spoke to us the next day! Friday morning at 1:00am the fire alarm woke us; we went to reception where there was no duty manager to be seen to allay our fears. We rang the emergency number but the tone was dead. This hotel is not worthy of the good hotel guide status, management is abysmal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
gotboxr wrote a review 4 Jun
Los Angeles, California178 contributions94 helpful votes
I had a reasonably comfortable stay in a hotel with lots of potential that hasn't yet been realized. The hotel is clearly in the midst of an upgrade, with lots of new decor and renovations. The staff is very friendly and helpful and my dinner and breakfast were more than acceptable and fairly priced. I found the room to be somewhat small but generally quite comfortable and the desk area was was convenient with lots of light and outlets for my many electrical accessories. I had difficulty getting my luggage up the front steps to the reception area. There was no one available to assist, and the fact that there was a step-free entrance to my room didn't help since I had no way of knowing about it before checking in. The bathroom light comes on as one enters and stays on, with enough wattage to do brain surgery. At 2 in the morning this is not a welcome event. The two "lounge" chairs in the room are reasonably attractive but singularly uncomfortable and designed for veryveryvery short people. This from a person who is five feet tall. In general, the hotel felt like it was trying hard to overcome a decline.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review. We, like the vast majority of the hospitality and travel industry, are dealing with severe staff shortages. We continue to invest in the property and even since you stayed our new fabulous bar furniture has been installed.
Read more
Amy B wrote a review 1 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Recently stayed at Beechfield House and wow what can I say! On arrival, the property is simply beautiful. We had a drink in the courtyard by the pool and relaxed in the beautiful gardens. Dinner was lovely, and waking up to a gorgeous view of the pool was amazing! The perfect Summer getaway, highly recommend to anybody thinking about staying.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you - such a lovely review which is so appreciated by the team who are working in such hard circumstances as is everyone in the hospitality industry. I don't think everyone realises have devasting the 9 months of lockdowns had on the staff who have chosen to remain in hospitalty and look after our guests.
Read more
Roxanna r wrote a review 1 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at Beechfield House for 1 night, we enjoyed some wonderful food and some great service throughout our stay. Chris and the team were a pleasure and more helpful with everything we required throughout our stay. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very peaceful which was very much welcomed. Will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are beautiful.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments - delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Lorraine wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions7 helpful votes
Beautiful house, lovely staff, however overpriced. Would have been happier to have had breakfast included as I thought £159 plus £17 for breakfast was pricey. We enjoyed our meal but did feel this was overpriced too and agree with previous review that the rhubarb tart was tasteless. Our shower was awful and the toilet need some de staining. All in all disappointing. There was a fancy coffee machine in room with no instruction, tea and coffee but no kettle.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review and kind comments. It's worth noting as you booked via an online travel agent breakfast wasn't included in the price. This is because agents such as Booking.com charge us 18% commission and we have to cover this cost. Bookings made direct with us via our reservations team or via our website are priced the same but include breakfast so it's always best to book direct with us and actually any hotel.
Read more
Amey B wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
On arrival, beechfield house looked beautiful, lovely location and the room was nice. We paid £240 for a supreme deluxe room, once inspecting the room, we found a surprise under our bed which was very disappointing for the price paid. Disappointed with the shower and the general finished touch on the room, paint work could do with a touch up. Me and my partner haven't had a break from our children for over a year so we were looking forward to relaxing and enjoying some cocktails. When we went down to the bar we were told they wasn't doing cocktails, i got the impression the man on the bar couldn't make them! Bar prices are very expensive bottle beer £5 we didn't mind as it was a break. We drove 2 hours and it really wasn't worth it, when I told the man on duty about our surprise present under our bed he really didn't seem bothered. We obviously left this gift in the room for the cleaners.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review - apologies for the oversight in checking your room.
Read more
Andrew Y wrote a review May 2022
Wellow, United Kingdom328 contributions206 helpful votes
Would we stay here again? No. Plus points: Staff in restaurant at dinner and breakfast delightful, especially Juan the restaurant manager. Bed comfortable. Main course scallops and fillet steak dishes very tasty. Breakfasts good. Location and grounds good. Minus points: on arrival we were shown to the Hazel room on the 2nd floor. A door through to a loft space was open and banging loudly in the draught with no way to close it. Tried to call reception but room phone not working. Used a mobile to call and took menu option for reception only to be told it is closed and to leave a message. Tried option to book a room and told to call back between 9 and 5! Went down to reception. Juan did his best to find a key without luck. Eventually we were moved to Walnut on 2nd floor. Both 2nd floor rooms had very low ceilings in places so heads often bumped, e.g. In Walnut you cannot stand up straight and use the toilet if 6' tall. Choice of dishes in restaurant small which could be alright if available but often not, e.g. no scallops, steak or swordfish on last night. Had to wait over 50 minutes for our meal on the last evening. Prices are high for what you get and some things you would expect to be included are charged as extra,e.g. bread is £4.50. Almond and Rhubarb tart at £9 had little taste of almonds. Overall the impression was of front line staff working hard to overcome a lack of management. Seemed to be a drive for profit before quality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your feedback. So sorry that the loft hatch was left unlocked - this was after some essential maintenance and an oversight on our part. I think we are all going to have to get used to higher prices and not the headline rate seen on the news which is no reflection of the input costs for hospitality. Cooking oil has risen from £20 to £70, milk pergals from £7.70 to £12.47 and laundry charges have risen 9% twice in the last 6 months. Staffing costs have risen exponentially. This of course has to be reflected in the charges hospitality business make.
Read more
Extraordinary762814 wrote a review May 2022
Trowbridge, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
I was seeking to make a booking for a Rotarian Event. First I contacted reservations who told me yo contact reception. Got no reply so contacted reservations again who told me it was because people were checking out and reception was busy. It later transpired that this was false, the hotel had been closed over proceeding days! I tried reception again later and had to leave a voicemail. Same result no one called.I tried again and selected the option for the kitchen and got the chef. He agreed to get someone to call me. No one called! ENOUGH is ENOUGH the Rotarian Luncheon is now booked elsewhere. DREADFUL
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beechfield House, General Manager at Beechfield House
Responded 3 weeks ago
We chose not to engage with you following your offensive and misogynistic approach to the female members of our reservations team. I trust your approach doesn't reflect the manners of the other members of your Rotarian group.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$172 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
beechfield house hotel, restaurant & gardens hotel beanacre, beechfield house hotel, restaurant and gardens, beechfield hotel beanacre
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireMelkshamBeanacre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beechfield House
Which popular attractions are close to Beechfield House?
Nearby attractions include 11th Hour Escape Rooms Limited (6.6 km), The Courts Garden (5.7 km), and Great Chalfield Manor (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beechfield House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Beechfield House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Beechfield House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beechfield House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Haveli Indian Restaurant, The Greyhound, and The Gladstone Arms.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beechfield House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Beechfield House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Beanacre.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beechfield House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Beechfield House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Beechfield House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Beechfield House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Great Chalfield Manor (4.9 km), Lacock Abbey (3.0 km), and St Cyriac's Church (3.2 km).