We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
130 E Front St, Erie, PA 16507-1554
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
$155
View deal
Travelocity
$155
View deal
FindHotel
$144
View deal
Priceline$155
Hotels.com$155
Booking.com$155
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 40 hotels in Erie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Next door to the Erie Maritime Museum, nearby the Bicentennial Tower and 10-minutes from Presque Isle State Park's beaches, you'll enjoy our hotel's ideal location with lakeside views and convenient access to downtown Erie. During your stay enjoy premium amenities including complimentary breakfast, free WiFi and parking, a rooftop bar, indoor pool and fitness center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
82Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 12
  • 7
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
307leven wrote a review 8 Sep
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania177 contributions84 helpful votes
I spent 3 nights here during the last weekend of August 2022 and the newer hotel exceeded my expectations. My room was on the 5th floor and was clean, comfortable and reasonably quiet considering all the activity near the waterfront. The hotel is right next to the Maritime Museum and was very conveniently located near all waterfront activities, including the beer garden located behind the hotel. And the hotel is only about a 5-7 minute drive to the popular Presque Isle State Park. Parking was $10/night and there were no resort fees. I understand parking was free on the street next to the parking lot, but there were no spaces available during this very busy weekend. The gym was adequate and clean and available at all hours. The breakfast was free and was reasonably good with a variety of items and the front of the breakfast area had coffee available throughout the day. Breakfast started at 6 am which was convenient as I left very early on Monday morning. The room was quiet and had a very comfortable mattress which was welcomed. The hotel staff was helpful, professional and very friendly. The hotel has a restaurant on the top floor, called Olivers, and had very good food at a reasonable price, but on busy weekends, it is recommended that you make reservations. One recommendation: For better views, try to get a room facing Lake Erie as my front (city) facing view faced the hospital.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Front (city) facing rooms face the hospital and you may hear ambulances and med-evac helicopters.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 307leven, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We're so glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to enjoy all our property had to offer. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hampton the next time you find yourself in need of a room in the neighborhood! Nicole A. - Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MellyRussi wrote a review Jun 2021
Pgh PA317 contributions340 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed One Night in June it was our first time here it is a brand new hotel. We had a standard two queen Room with a View. This hotel sits back a little bit from the other two hotels that are right on the water. You still have a great view of the marina and a partial view of the bay. The price is a little bit cheaper than the Courtyard Marriott or the Sheraton.. it is brand new and clean. All staff was friendly and professional. Unlike the other two hotels they also offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning which offered eggs and sausage as well. They do have a rooftop restaurant called Olivers. I have a separate review for that as we ate dinner there one night. Parking is $7 or there are a number of free spots along the street right in front of the hotel. There is no resort fee. The pool is only a very small indoor pool just keep that in mind is visiting in the summer months. Then again you have all of Lake Erie Presque Isle and Water World at Waldameer park. There is a fitness center as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Hogue, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 8 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. And thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and sincerely hope the next time you are in our neighborhood you will stop by and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tomandlea wrote a review Aug 2022
Uniontown, Pennsylvania260 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
1-2 blocks from bay. Crowded area but parking reserved fot hotel. Lovely staff. Free breakfast. Swimming pools. Comfortable beds. Refrigerator and microwave in room. It was so lovely we didn't want to leave. Olivers rooftop restaurant here and a beer garden in back with music, corn toss, fire pit, food truck, etc. Our dog was welcome here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tomandlea - Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will make sure to pass your comments on to the entire team. We truly hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in our neighborhood! Nicole A. - Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura G wrote a review Aug 2022
ohio31 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Took my grandsons for a get out of town overnight trip to Erie Pa. First time ever stay at a Hampton Inn, won't be the last. Room was spotless ,the breakfast was great, loved the location, my water view was ok not sure I would pay the extra to get it again. It is a short drive to Presque Isle State Park and Waldameer & Water World. Very nice location to take a walk around . It was my first time using a digital key on phone it worked pretty good ,I have the app on my phone and loved checking in and out right from my phone, the only negative was paying to park, all in all great experience,hotel, area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dear Laura G - Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We agree, our digital key feature is quite convenient! We truly hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hampton the next time you're here on Erie's beautiful bay front! Nicole A. Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shellbell616 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cincinnati, Ohio104 contributions43 helpful votes
We recently had a great stay at this hotel. All of the employees were friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Location was great. Breakfast was delicious. One of the best Hampton hotels we've stayed in. The pool is TINY, but super clean and we were the only ones there, so it worked out great. We stayed at a different hotel last year, just a couple doors down from this one, and had a terrible experience. So glad this experience was different!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear Shellbell616 - Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I'm so glad our team was able to provide you with an unforgettable experience for your trip this year. We, sincerely, hope to welcome you back to the Hampton Inn & Suites on Erie's beautiful bay front the next time you find yourself needing a room in our neighborhood. Nicole A. Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msc0tt579 wrote a review Aug 2022
48 contributions3 helpful votes
We love Presque Isle! We stayed at another bayfront hotel and this one is far better. It’s fairly new and we loved the location. We stayed in a king suite studio it was very roomy and had enough room for our bikes. We loved that it’s within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and bars. We even had dinner at the rooftop bar Oliver’s. A bit pricy but food, service, and views were top notch. We will be back to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Dear Msc0tt579, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We're so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy Oliver's and all that we have to offer here at the Bay Front. We can't wait to welcome you back the next time you're in Erie. Nicole A. Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul A wrote a review Aug 2022
12 contributions5 helpful votes
I’m not sure where to begin, there are so many bad things to say. The most serious problem was the noise. A beer garden is located on the grounds of the hotel, and rock bands play there nightly. We were there on a Wednesday and Thursday, and the band played until 10 pm the first night and 11 pm the second night. It was loud. We could hear every drum beat, every note of the bass guitar, every guitar solo, and every lyric of every song clearly it our room. We are early to bed and early to rise, and the blasting music definitely interrupted our usual sleep pattern…Moving on, the carpet in the room was covered in hair. I don’t know if a dog stayed in this room before us, but it was obvious that the floor had not been vacuumed. No one wants to stay in a room with a lot of other people’s hair, do they? My partner and I are vegan and we like to prepare simple meals in our room. For this reason, we booked a room with a kitchenette (wet bar, refrigerator, and microwave). The room had a nice table to eat at but only 1 chair to sit in. How are two people supposed to eat a meal together with only one chair? Were we expected to take turns eating?...One of the curtains in the room was broken. The bathroom had the shallowest bathtub I have ever seen. It would be impossible to take a bath in it. The microwave was set so low to the ground that I had to get on my hands and knees to use it. The bathroom had plenty of towels but no towel racks. Where are we supposed to hang up the used towels? As I mentioned earlier, we are vegan, and the breakfasts buffet had nothing we could eat, not even a simple piece of fresh fruit...To add insult to injury, on the final night, we tried to have a drink in the 8th floor bar. But after sitting down in the bar area, we were kicked out because we didn’t have a reservation. In a bar??? Overall, this is a HORRIBLE hotel. And, I should point out, this is not a budget hotel. We payed plenty for our room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book a room on the highest floor possible to minimize the loud noise from the rock bands that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Dear PaulaB7982AW, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We always strive to deliver the best experience, but its clear we fell short this time. We'll make sure to have maintenance double check the curtains and make sure the hooks for the towels are in place. I will check with the kitchen staff as we should always have oatmeal and fruit available for breakfast options. We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests and we'll take your comments to the appropriate managers so that this experience is not repeated again. Nicole A. Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy3838 wrote a review Jul 2022
Sarver, Pennsylvania441 contributions150 helpful votes
This was my first stay at this newer Hampton Inn. Many features typical of a Hampton property, breakfast offered several hot options, indoor pool was small but nice. The room was on the smaller side but did offer view of marina. Beds were comfortable and AC kept room cool and comfortable. Location was close to lake-front but hotel is angled in a way that hotel does not really offer view of the lake. Parking is across the street and costs $10 per day which seems a little high for an uncovered parking lot. Overall, nice hotel, good location and a reasonably convenient option near Presque Isle.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Dear Andy3838 - Thank you much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We're so glad to hear to enjoyed yourself and we hope you'll stop back in the next time you're in Erie. Nicole A. Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Avg Joe wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Wow. This is place is on a nice stretch of the bayfront. The Sheraton nearby is better situated to actually face the water though. My sons had fun fishing in the area but when we came back each day, it was super disappointing to deal with the plumbing problems. The maintenance guys were super nice trying to help fix the recurring problems. We weren't the only room on the floor to deal with it either. For a 4 night stay costing over $1k, I was hoping management would understand better. After the first day, we actually resigned ourselves to using the first floor public toilets in the hopes that we could shower off after fishing on the lake in the hot sun. Several reports to front desk resulted in no response from the manager, Niki. Her voicemail was full, so no message could be left. Despite multiple requests to discuss our disappointment, the manager only offered 15k Hilton points. That amounts to a whopping $50 off one night's rate. That's not my idea of customer service. The big thing that sticks in my crawl after checking out was the cowardice of the manager. When you book a room and pay $1100 for the stay, isn't it reasonable to assume your family will be able to use the shower and toilet? Oh well, what goes around comes around.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Dear Avgjoe5, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We truly aim to provide the best customer service we can at all times, but its clear we fell short. We apologize for the inconvenience that our plumbing issues caused during your stay. Our maintenance team did come in as quickly as possible to resolve the issues and they were resolved by 6:30pm the same day they were reported and the facilities were usable for the remainder of your stay. After reviewing your guest assistance case Hilton determined that there was not any other compensation they were willing to provide. While it may not seem like a large amount, 15,000 points is equivalent to over $100 off one of our rooms during our peak summer season. We are working with our technical team to fix the issues with our voicemail system. Our management team is always available via email as well. Thank you again for relaying your concerns to us. Nikki Cully General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evan A wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I have spent total of 4 weeks at this hotel. Great location, newer hotel but horrible management… Although it is a newer hotel, outside of the hotel is covered with cobwebs and dirt, you cannot see outside from the windows. They have a nice restaurant and a beer garden with high prices. This is the only place I have seen serving nachos with no jalapeños… and margaritas with no salt… and when you ask why is that everyone has the same answer: “We just work here, we don’t make the rules…” very convenient. For $250 a night stay, I would expect a better breakfast… instead of writing the names of the guests for the day on a useless board at the front desk, they could use their funds and resources to provide better breakfast and service. They clean rooms every 4 days, but still do not leave any extra towels, shampoos, soaps etc… I can go for days but I think you get the idea… I stayed there just for the convenient location and will consider my choices more carefully next time… Regards, Evan Acar Hilton Diamond Member
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Axtell-Clark, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Responded 21 Jul 2022
Dear Evan, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate all of our guests feedback so that we know where we are falling short and make a plan to correct it. We are aware of the challenges that being by the lake presents and we have contracted a company to come out twice a year to do a thorough cleaning of the outside of the building. They are scheduled to arrive within the next month or so. As far as housekeeping - we are still by request only and if we do not ask when you would like service our system defaults to every 4 days. I will work with the desk to ensure they are asking every guest when they would like house keeping so this does not happen to anyone else. In regards to the Beer Garden they are a separate business, however we work very closely with them so I will pass your comments along to the management team there. We truly do value your input and we will work hard to correct the issues presented. Hopefully, in the future you will be willing to give us another chance to show off the improvements we are working so hard to enact. Nicole Axtell-Clark Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaErie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Nearby attractions include Erie Maritime Museum (0.1 km), Port Erie Bicentennial Tower (0.4 km), and UPMC Park (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bayfront Grille, U Pick 6 Tap House, and Shoreline Bar and Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Erie.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.