We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
787 Tanglewood Rd, Covington, PA 16917-9446
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (10)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)

About

Location
Service
Value
Tanglewood Camping RV Park is one of the best places in Pennsylvania's "Lake & Canyon Country" for star gazing and relaxing, as well as fun planned activities for the kids. When you are camping with us, you'll feel that you can not only watch the stars, but that you can almost reach out and touch them. That's just one of the magical things that can happen when you camp with us on Mount Tanglewood. Our mission is to offer a family friendly camping experience! Catch up with friends and family around the campfire. We offer water/electric, water/electric/sewer, and primitive campsites. You can swim, paddle boat, or catch and release fish on our 5 acre lake. We also have hiking trails, a playground, volleyball, and basketball.Family activities every weekend. Dare to walk the Trail of Terror during the first 3 weekends in October.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
10Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kristen S wrote a review Oct 2022
This campground is one of the nicest campgrounds we have been to. Very clean. Super friendly people! We did not realize there would be a Halloween themed event weekend until we arrived. We booked with this campground because we wanted a place to camp at one last weekend before camping season was over for us. Experience in this campground felt like it was something straight out of a Hallmark movie! My whole family is deaf, everyone welcomed us regardless and didn't treat us differently. We truly enjoyed our time there very much and definitely plan on coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Swhite387 wrote a review Aug 2022
Mainesburg, Pennsylvania1 contribution
Tanglewood is sparkling clean, and the perfect mix of serenity and fun. Our kids and grandkids enjoyed swimming, volleyball, pedal cars, and the playground. The staff and other guests were friendly and welcoming. (And the camp store smells AMAZING at breakfast time!) I’ve seen people say there’s not a lot to do there, but I guess that depends what you’re looking for. It’s not a big themed-campground with water slides and jumping pillows, but our weekend there was far from boring. Our kids were worn out by the end of the day and even slept late in the mornings. We came home relaxed, instead of exhausted. Look forward to going back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanglewood Camping, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for the Great review. its much Appreciated !!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris J wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My wife & I visited with friends at Tanglewood this weekend. The road leading to the property is quite a challenge, to say the least. However, once there the campground is beautiful, serene & well kept. The staff were more than helpful & everyone made us feel welcome. Other campers that drove or walked by would wave or say hello. With the exception of one thing which was a big problem for us. There are signs all over the campground about leash rules for pets. They say they are strictly enforced but where we were - at the top of the campground that's not true. We have a small dog that we keep leashed at all times. Our son loves to take her for walks but was afraid to do that this weekend. The reason: I'm guessing by the looks of the campsite that it is a seasonal one. The entire weekend these people left their two large dogs (boxers I think) roam around the property with their leashes dragging. The one dog came towards ours so to make our son feel safe we put her in the camper. To make things worse in the large communal yard where our son was playing earlier the other one crapped with everyone watching & no one made an effort to clean it up. This left a bad taste in our mouths. Everyone else in that area was obeying the rules, so why can't they? We would love to come back again but if we do we'll be sure to stay in a different area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 16 Sep 2020
Chris, Thank you for the kind words on the cleanliness of the campground, and our friendly staff! We love hearing that other campers are kind to you and your family. Yes, we do have a strict leash policy for pets. We are sorry to hear that one of our campers was not adhering to the policy, and not adhering to the cleaning up after your pet policy. We do wish that you would have come and spoken to us about this so that we could have addressed it right away. If it was a seasonal, we will be sure to talk to them regarding this issue. We do hope that you come back and stay with us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb Geise wrote a review Aug 2020
Troy, Pennsylvania6 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I have rented cabins at Tanglewood for a few years and one year we decided to go looking at RV's needless to say we have been seasonal campers for the last three years. It's our home away from home. It's a beautiful piece of Heaven in a crazy world.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day for a nice review! We appreciate it
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane A wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I went to this camp ground for the first time, we checked in and everything was fine, we went to our cabin and it was what we expected but when returning to the office to purchase firewood the man inside, I assume the manager or owner told my husband he was going to charge us a $20 pet deposit, we did not have a pet, and when my husband told him this the man responded " are you sure", nobody likes to be called a liar especially when paying to stay somewhere, then my husband asked about the lake and fishing, really the main reason we wanted to go camping was for the lake and fishing and he was told it was a walk only park, so we would have to park at our cabin and walk to the lake carrying chairs and fishing gear, so if you have any sort of disability or even have small children this would be very inconvenient, we only booked for 2 days and left after 1, very big disappointment!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 7 Aug 2020
We are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the pet charge. It appears to be a technical issue with the reservation software. The owner was just following up and did not accuse your husband of lying. Regarding the parking at the lake, there is limited parking there. If you had checked the map there is the Lakeview Extension which would have given you better lake access. We do not allow people to park in area by the Lakeview road is because that is where our storm water drainage system is. We would like to offer you a $40 credit if you come to stay with us again. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DMO76453 wrote a review Jul 2020
Delmar, New York11 contributions3 helpful votes
Drive up the hill, past the signs telling us how well we would sleep, to see a half American, half confederate flag. Obviously that colored our experience, especially once we learned it was flying at the spot of seasonal guest, so we had to see it all week even when they weren't there. I guess management couldn't fly it directly but still wanted to signal not everyone welcome? Avoid the anxiety or the complicit guilt and go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 7 Aug 2020
If I wanted to fly it directly I would. I don't hide behind anyone and I am not in the dictatorship role to tell people what they can do here, unless its outrageously offensive. This still is a free country, and to some it may be offensive, but it's history and you can't erase it. That's the thing about history-you accept it for what it is the good ,bad, and ugly that doesn't mean you agree with it. Him flying it has nothing to do with racism, which you would have found out if you talked to him, so maybe don't be in a big hurry to judge other people. If you were treated poorly by my staff or myself , or if people were rude to you here, I would like to know about it seeing you gave us a bad review for our service here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frances A wrote a review Oct 2019
West Chester, Pennsylvania28 contributions6 helpful votes
In our retirement we have purchased a travel trailer and this was our first trip. Tanglewood Camping is outside the small town of Covington, PA. It's not too far from Mansfield, PA.I booked online, relying on reviews from other campers. We were very happy with our choice. Tanglewood is an established (19 years, I believe) campground. I chose to reserve a pull through site since we're " newbies". The campground emailed me that there was a road closed which caused campers to detour and they wanted us to know how to find them using the detour. The directions were easy to follow. We arrived early enough to set up in the daylight. Our site had well maintained full hookups ( water, electric, and sewer). The gravel pad was ample in size and well leveled. The camp store/registration building was easy to find. We were there at the end of season but there were still activities to join. There was a full breakfast offered on Saturday morning at reasonable prices. The campground also had a warm moderate sized bath house and coin op laundry situated mid park. There is a large activities lake which is visible from many of the sites. The management folks were very willing to answer our questions about camping in general and had good suggestions for things to do in the surrounding area. As we drove through the campgrounds other campers would wave a greeting. We felt secure in our surroundings. Since we have relatives in the area we are happy to know that Tanglewood Camping is a safe place with reasonable rates and friendly people. I'm sure we'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Since this is a campground
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TanglewoodCamping, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 29 Oct 2019
Frances, Thank you so much for your great review. I'm glad that we could be your first camping trip and that you were able to have such a positive experience! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane M wrote a review May 2019
Hammondsport, New York37 contributions7 helpful votes
Tanglewood is a hidden gem in the mountains of Pennsylvania. We are impressed by the spacious private sites and outstanding views. Our dogs LOVE the large dog park. Everything is clean and well cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TanglewoodCamping, Manager at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 21 May 2019
Diane, Thank you for the review! We pride ourselves on our clean and well cared for facilities. I'm glad you and your dogs loved the space and dog park! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Tanglewood Camping
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snowskiblues wrote a review Aug 2016
Middle River, Maryland24 contributions5 helpful votes
We arrived on Sunday evening, just as most of the permanent/seasonal campers were leaving for the weekend. We were meeting friends from TN and headed to Watkins Glen. We were able to secure two campsites in an open area but surrounded by woods and plenty of shade. Our sites were full hookups, a little expensive ($49/night) and I forgot to ask for a Good Sam discount. They only take cash or checks at this campground. Our sites were probably 40 yards apart which was nice since where we camp in Watkins Glen is not spacious. It was really quiet but several people came up to visit on their golf carts. We were not in the permanent sections but people were very friendly. There is no pool but there is a nice lake. We sat out at night and saw more stars than I can remember ever seeing on the East Coast but then, we live in a very urban area. The entry road is steep but well kept and worth the drive to the top of the mountain for camping. Both mornings, I walked to the bottom and the back up. It's a 3 mile round trip that will get your heart racing. It was safe, quiet and nice. We will try to stay there again next year. It's 10 miles or so to Wellsboro, PA where you can shop, eat and see the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania. We will also try to bike there next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JanJ wrote a review Jun 2016
Lisbon, New Hampshire113 contributions42 helpful votes
Campground is the best campground we have stayed in. It is clean, grounds are beautiful, staff is friendly and helpful. It has a lovely pond, nature trail, playground and planned activities. So much fun! Lots of great places to visit and activities to participate in.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanglewood C, Front Office Manager at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 13 Aug 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate it. We pride ourselves on our clean campground and beautiful grounds.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaCovington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TANGLEWOOD CAMPING - UPDATED 2022 Campground Reviews (Covington, PA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tanglewood Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Tanglewood Camping?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Theatre (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tanglewood Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Tanglewood Camping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tanglewood Camping?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddie's Restaurant, The Farmer's Table, and Lil Half Pints.
Are pets allowed at Tanglewood Camping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.