We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanglewood Camping

Save
Share
787 Tanglewood Rd, Covington, PA 16917-9446
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

Location
Service
Tanglewood Camping RV Park is one of the best places in Pennsylvania's "Lake & Canyon Country" for star gazing and relaxing, as well as fun planned activities for the kids. When you are camping with us, you'll feel that you can not only watch the stars, but that you can almost reach out and touch them. That's just one of the magical things that can happen when you camp with us on Mount Tanglewood. Our mission is to offer a family friendly camping experience! Catch up with friends and family around the campfire. We offer water/electric, water/electric/sewer, and primitive campsites. You can swim, paddle boat, or catch and release fish on our 5 acre lake. We also have hiking trails, a playground, volleyball, and basketball.Family activities every weekend. Dare to walk the Trail of Terror during the first 3 weekends in October.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem

Location

Full view
8Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris J wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My wife & I visited with friends at Tanglewood this weekend. The road leading to the property is quite a challenge, to say the least. However, once there the campground is beautiful, serene & well kept. The staff were more than helpful & everyone made us feel welcome. Other campers that drove or walked by would wave or say hello. With the exception of one thing which was a big problem for us. There are signs all over the campground about leash rules for pets. They say they are strictly enforced but where we were - at the top of the campground that's not true. We have a small dog that we keep leashed at all times. Our son loves to take her for walks but was afraid to do that this weekend. The reason: I'm guessing by the looks of the campsite that it is a seasonal one. The entire weekend these people left their two large dogs (boxers I think) roam around the property with their leashes dragging. The one dog came towards ours so to make our son feel safe we put her in the camper. To make things worse in the large communal yard where our son was playing earlier the other one crapped with everyone watching & no one made an effort to clean it up. This left a bad taste in our mouths. Everyone else in that area was obeying the rules, so why can't they? We would love to come back again but if we do we'll be sure to stay in a different area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 16 Sep 2020
Chris, Thank you for the kind words on the cleanliness of the campground, and our friendly staff! We love hearing that other campers are kind to you and your family. Yes, we do have a strict leash policy for pets. We are sorry to hear that one of our campers was not adhering to the policy, and not adhering to the cleaning up after your pet policy. We do wish that you would have come and spoken to us about this so that we could have addressed it right away. If it was a seasonal, we will be sure to talk to them regarding this issue. We do hope that you come back and stay with us again!
Read more
Deb Geise wrote a review Aug 2020
Troy, Pennsylvania6 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I have rented cabins at Tanglewood for a few years and one year we decided to go looking at RV's needless to say we have been seasonal campers for the last three years. It's our home away from home. It's a beautiful piece of Heaven in a crazy world.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day for a nice review! We appreciate it
Read more
Diane A wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I went to this camp ground for the first time, we checked in and everything was fine, we went to our cabin and it was what we expected but when returning to the office to purchase firewood the man inside, I assume the manager or owner told my husband he was going to charge us a $20 pet deposit, we did not have a pet, and when my husband told him this the man responded " are you sure", nobody likes to be called a liar especially when paying to stay somewhere, then my husband asked about the lake and fishing, really the main reason we wanted to go camping was for the lake and fishing and he was told it was a walk only park, so we would have to park at our cabin and walk to the lake carrying chairs and fishing gear, so if you have any sort of disability or even have small children this would be very inconvenient, we only booked for 2 days and left after 1, very big disappointment!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 7 Aug 2020
We are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the pet charge. It appears to be a technical issue with the reservation software. The owner was just following up and did not accuse your husband of lying. Regarding the parking at the lake, there is limited parking there. If you had checked the map there is the Lakeview Extension which would have given you better lake access. We do not allow people to park in area by the Lakeview road is because that is where our storm water drainage system is. We would like to offer you a $40 credit if you come to stay with us again. Thank you.
Read more
DMO76453 wrote a review Jul 2020
Delmar, New York11 contributions3 helpful votes
Drive up the hill, past the signs telling us how well we would sleep, to see a half American, half confederate flag. Obviously that colored our experience, especially once we learned it was flying at the spot of seasonal guest, so we had to see it all week even when they weren't there. I guess management couldn't fly it directly but still wanted to signal not everyone welcome? Avoid the anxiety or the complicit guilt and go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Paone, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 7 Aug 2020
If I wanted to fly it directly I would. I don't hide behind anyone and I am not in the dictatorship role to tell people what they can do here, unless its outrageously offensive. This still is a free country, and to some it may be offensive, but it's history and you can't erase it. That's the thing about history-you accept it for what it is the good ,bad, and ugly that doesn't mean you agree with it. Him flying it has nothing to do with racism, which you would have found out if you talked to him, so maybe don't be in a big hurry to judge other people. If you were treated poorly by my staff or myself , or if people were rude to you here, I would like to know about it seeing you gave us a bad review for our service here.
Read more
Frances A wrote a review Oct 2019
West Chester, Pennsylvania28 contributions5 helpful votes
In our retirement we have purchased a travel trailer and this was our first trip. Tanglewood Camping is outside the small town of Covington, PA. It's not too far from Mansfield, PA.I booked online, relying on reviews from other campers. We were very happy with our choice. Tanglewood is an established (19 years, I believe) campground. I chose to reserve a pull through site since we're " newbies". The campground emailed me that there was a road closed which caused campers to detour and they wanted us to know how to find them using the detour. The directions were easy to follow. We arrived early enough to set up in the daylight. Our site had well maintained full hookups ( water, electric, and sewer). The gravel pad was ample in size and well leveled. The camp store/registration building was easy to find. We were there at the end of season but there were still activities to join. There was a full breakfast offered on Saturday morning at reasonable prices. The campground also had a warm moderate sized bath house and coin op laundry situated mid park. There is a large activities lake which is visible from many of the sites. The management folks were very willing to answer our questions about camping in general and had good suggestions for things to do in the surrounding area. As we drove through the campgrounds other campers would wave a greeting. We felt secure in our surroundings. Since we have relatives in the area we are happy to know that Tanglewood Camping is a safe place with reasonable rates and friendly people. I'm sure we'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Since this is a campground
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TanglewoodCamping, Owner at Tanglewood Camping
Responded 29 Oct 2019
Frances, Thank you so much for your great review. I'm glad that we could be your first camping trip and that you were able to have such a positive experience! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!
Read more
Previous
12
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaCovington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tanglewood Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Tanglewood Camping?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Theatre (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tanglewood Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Tanglewood Camping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tanglewood Camping?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddie's Restaurant, Lil Half Pints, and The Farmer's Table.
Are pets allowed at Tanglewood Camping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.