We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piermont Retreat

Save
Share
12990 Tasman Hwy Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (641)
Room & Suite (172)
Dining (33)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Swansea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation and a unique destination restaurant "Homestead" sourcing the best local and regional produce and wines with an Argentinian twist. All surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Spa
BBQ facilities
Parking
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Desk
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
625Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 300
  • 172
  • 90
  • 40
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Megan wrote a review May 2021
Adelaide, Australia314 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
Pro’s: - secluded location but not far from wineries and freycinet tourist spots - nice beach and free kayaks to rent - good views from rooms - modern decor - fireplace (we stayed in a Luna) - dinner at restaurant was good $95pp for a set menu - free bottled water in room Con’s: - wifi not included in rooms - $20 charge for a night seems a bit steep for a $650 a night room - some windows have no curtain/blinds so neighbours can see straight in - some power points in rooms not working - breakfast not included Overall very good but not sure if the Luna room type is worth the price tag for a couple - if sharing with family/friends maybe not so bad for the $$.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Maiz Casas, General Manager at Piermont Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your valuable comments, we will take them on board and thrive to improve the experience we try to offer our guests. Thank you again.
Read more
Greg T wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We stayed for the 3rd time. Never disappoints. Great rustic stone cottages in a beautiful setting. Log fire, and great amenities. Restaurant never disappoints for breakfast or dinner. Great place to base for Freycinet or Maria Island excursions.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Maiz Casas, General Manager at Piermont Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Does it meet expectations? wrote a review Apr 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Exceeded all expectations. We based ourselves at Piermont for four nights and explored all three National Parks - Freycinet, Maria Is, Aspley. The retreat is a fabulous place to do as little or as much as you would like. The old cottages are beautifully restored and very comfortable for all the enjoy. The team on-site were super accommodating and friendly. Highly recommended for family’s, group or special getaway. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Maiz Casas, General Manager at Piermont Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it is very much appreciated!
Read more
AnnaColt wrote a review Apr 2021
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions5 helpful votes
Faulty Towers only not the funny version. The place was quite grubby and whilst I realise the logistics of keeping the interior if a stone building clean, mouldy grout in the shower and dirty toilets are unacceptable. Steps up to bed and bathroom are dangerous and really need a railing as there is nothing at all to hang on to. I had a wrenched knee whilst there which didn’t help. No lounge seating for more than one person! and what there is simply a bench with a cushion ( bizarre) and very uncomfortable. Outdoor timber furniture is in need of updating and or refurbishment. Whilst the Indoor furniture is mismatched and poor quality. Fixtures and fittings Cheap and nasty. A full professional refurbishment is needed to bring the place up to spec. No wifi but have tv which really contradicts the “switch off” edict they use as a reason for not offering free wifi. They do have wifi at reception. No daily service or even fresh towels are offered and just 2 coffee sachets included. Branding as luxury is extremely misleading. Basic 3-3.5 star at best. Website confused and not user friendly. The whole experience is very amateurish but the marketing and rates indicate high end. The manager checked me out on departure and I waited and waited and waited for him to ask me how my stay had been ( basic hospitality 101), alas no, He was far more interested in feigning interest in where I was staying that night and the next!! With respect I would suggest management take much closer notice of what is happening within their own property and stop worrying about what everybody else is doing. Listening to guests and being gracious hosts might also help.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Maiz Casas, General Manager at Piermont Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments, what a shame you never expressed how you felt during your stay, we would have certainly resolved it. It is clearly advertised that service is only offered for 3x night stays, you are welcome to request one over 2x nights also. A railing is not legally required for a height of 3x steps, you should mention on time of booking that you are mobility impaired. We do have different room categories within the Piermont product and I am sorry you decided to go along with the entry level and expected a new Residence. I will address and review your comments with the team with regards to cleanliness. Thank you again.
Read more
Tasfoodlover wrote a review Mar 2021
8 contributions6 helpful votes
Resort is set in a magnificent position, first Impressions when checking in set the tone for 3 days.. the manager Laurent was very rude and dismissive, preoccupied and unhelpful, resort was untidy and the rooms neglected. Don't waste time while this manager is in charge
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Maiz Casas, General Manager at Piermont Retreat
Responded 7 Mar 2021
Thank-you Mr Glover for your comments. I am sorry to read that you felt I was rude and dismissive to you. This could be due to the fact your room wasn't ready before 2pm so I was unable to check you in early as you wanted. I also asked you to remove your vehicle off the grass when you had an allocated car park. This is common sense to most people. I understand this might have hurt your ego a little and this has translated to a bad review.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$160 - US$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
piermont retreat swansea, piermont retreat hotel swansea
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGlamorgan-Spring BaySwansea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Piermont Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Piermont Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Kate's Berry Farm (1.9 km), Spiky Bridge (3.6 km), and East Coast Heritage Museum (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Piermont Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Piermont Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Piermont Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Piermont Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Piermont Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Artifakt Gallery and Cafe, The Bark Mill Tavern & Bakery, and Kates Berry Farm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Piermont Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Piermont Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Piermont Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Spiky Bridge (3.6 km).
Does Piermont Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Piermont Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.