We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
15-17 East Street, Havant PO9 1AA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$52
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Expedia.com
$47
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$47
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$47
Priceline$52
FindHotel$47
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (282)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 11/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Havant
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The Bear Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Havant, offering a quiet environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to newspaper and baggage storage while staying at Bear Hotel. In addition, The Bear Hotel offers free breakfast, which will help make your Havant trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While in Havant, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Bear Hotel, including Langbrook Farm, Dining & Carvery (0.4 mi), The Royal Oak (0.8 mi), and Chilli & Lime (0.2 mi).

Should time allow, The Spring Arts and Heritage Centre and Havant Gazebo Garden are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Havant!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Badminton
Boating
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Squash
Windsurfing
Archery offsite
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
871Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 128
  • 207
  • 200
  • 131
  • 205
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tah89 wrote a review Sep 2022
Luton, United Kingdom17 contributions31 helpful votes
This hotel offers a good size room with en suite. Situated in Havant town centre it is easy to walk to shops and places to eat and drink, if you don't want to eat there. Ample car park at the rear, just have to give your registration when checking in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
TAH. 89 Thank you for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle T wrote a review Sep 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions
Very disappointed in the hotel. I arrived to meet a friend for an overnight stay and a catchup. In reception I was greeted very warmly by a lovely lady who was very helpful. I was helped to our room on the top floor with my case as there were so many stairs. The room (No 15) was OK, the floor slanted but that is to be expected for a building of that age. I had been told that the room "had just been refurbished" but there were water marks and a small amount of mould on the walls. The room and the bathroom were clean and the beds were super comfortable. We ate in the hotel and I had probably the worst hamburger I have ever eaten well, less than half eaten. It was grey with bacon that looked uncooked and an overcooked egg plonked on top - the chips and the 3 onion rings were ok. My friend ordered a steak which she said was cooked to her liking and tasty. The 2 waitresses were lovely, very helpful and bent over backwards to look after us. The following morning there was a different receptionist who I found to be quite rude. I made a complaint about the burger that I had been served the night before and was met with excuses and more excuses backed up by the "kitchen manager" with more excuses. There was no apology, just them telling me why they were right and I was wrong - Rude !! Avoid this place for your own sake.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: To get a good room - stay somewhere else 1
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I can only apologise for your recent visit. I will most certainly look into your details as usually we have nothing but compliments about our food and staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin F wrote a review Sep 2022
Basildon, United Kingdom2 contributions
What a lovely hotel food good staff friendly and helpful rooms nice and clean ,within walking distance of station ,excellent, would definitely recommend it,shops local and a good bus service to all areas
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for your review. I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
While visiting woodstock to see Blenheim Palace we stopped at this charming hotel for dinner. The young waitress, Gracie was very welcoming and friendly. Me and my husband had a great evening would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you 496anp for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise Foulger wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
We missed the door to number 19 on the route round but backtracked when reaching 21/22 The door looked like a cupboard with steps down into a blast from the mid 50’s Very tight packed room. Television was lower than the foot of the bed and the radio / light on the one side of the bed was straight out of the early 40’s ( which was apt as we were going to Goodwood!) the wireless didn’t work but the light did. No plug for iPhone charging next to the bed. Bathroom… well you had to hold onto the sink when on the toilet as there was quite a slope. Bath was large and not sloped and sink taps were quite different to one another. Bed was very comfortable A*** Charged for full breakfast when I only had continental Typical beautiful old inn needing much updating to get close to being re-bookable Location was fine. Didn’t get a chance to use the bar unfortunately
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Louise Thank you for your review. Some of our rooms are very quirky. Hopefully, we will be a part of a re-investment soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaybee wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Spent 2 nights, excellent service and food, rooms warm but considering outside temps in the 30's couldn't complain. I would highly recommend, friendly efficient service, helpful and accommodating. Impressive food , enjoyed all meals we had there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day! Hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lazypaws_Kent wrote a review Jul 2022
Belvedere, United Kingdom5 contributions11 helpful votes
The Bear Hotel smacks of history dating back to the 1700s, with nooks and crannies aplenty. There's even - reputedly - a ghost and ghostly goings on, which some visitors clamour to experience. My partner and I arrived on the hottest day of the year (so far) but the hotel reception was cool and inviting. Our room, however, was at the top of several flights of stairs - which had I known that at the time of booking, I would have requested a lower floor. However, the receptionist carried our cases up to the room for us, while we huffed and puffed our way behind her. The room was clean but in need of refreshing and refurbing and I understand that this might happen in a couple of year's time. The breakfast had all you could possibly want and was well presented and well-cooked. There is a good selection of evening meals and desserts. The friendliness of the staff is what makes The Bear stand out. A special mention for Mike Gilbert and Hannah who were good fun, remembered our drink orders, and chatted to us, especially Mike. We are looking forward to returning, remembering to request a room on the lower floor but not near the room that the ghost likes to frequent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Thank you for your honest feedback. I will most certainly pass on your comments to all concerned. We do pride ourselves on our team delivering exceptional but genuine service . Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rachel t wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Awful experience. We arrived at hotel to find room had been double booked. No apology given no help to find another hotel room anywhere. Manager became angry because i was angry that they had given away room and we had nowhere to sleep. Dont know quite what they expected. Worst experience of my life wrt booking a hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Thank you for this your 3rd review so far.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean Tottman wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Drove from Spain to find that despite us contacting them this morning and them saying the room is being sorted, we arrived and the were rude to my wife and said that they had canceled our room without warning
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Thank you for this..... your 4th review so far
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I've stayed in quite a few places around England. And some cheaper ones, than The Bear Hotel. Have been much nicer and less basic. No way are these rooms worth anywhere near around £60.00/£70.00 a night. They clearly spend no money on maintenance of the rooms they have. My room - carpet stained, could only open window six inches, cold tap on bath would only come on if you had it on full. So it was either a third degree burn shower, or something a polar bear would enjoy. Mum's room - wardrobe door broken, window wouldn't open, pushing thirty degrees and no fan in room, huge burn in the carpet. The furniture was something that's fallen off the back of a charity shop lorry!! Can't fault the staff or the food. But everything else was well under par.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Bear Hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Matthew Dyer - thank you for your feedback. Greeneking do operate a healthy re-investment budget and hopwfully we will be a part of that very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bear hotel havant
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireHavant
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bear Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bear Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Spring Arts and Heritage Centre (0.1 km), Havant (0.4 km), and St Faiths Church Havant (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bear Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bear Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bear Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bear Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include 19 Fourteas Tearoom Havant, Lavender Tea Rooms, and The Wheelwright's Arms.
Is The Bear Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Havant.
Are pets allowed at The Bear Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bear Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsdown Hill (7.9 km), Stansted Park (6.4 km), and Sinah Heavy Anti-Aircraft Battery (7.0 km).