We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glidden House

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (209)
Room & Suite (192)
Dining (45)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 36 hotels in Cleveland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Parking
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
843Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 495
  • 224
  • 63
  • 36
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
DrStorkmd wrote a review Apr 16
10 contributions17 helpful votes
The hotel is quaint and accessible. However, it's worse than an air bnb. My experience was horrible! No maid service for four days. You had to put out your own trash. No one came into the room to clean or change the linens. There was NO timepiece in the bedroom or phone. You had to walk into the other room to answer the phone or make a call. And this was a SUITE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We sincerely regret to learn of your disappointment with your recent experience. Your feedback about housekeeping will be shared internally to ensure our high standards of hospitality and cleanliness are being met. It was a pleasure having you here, and we hope you will give us another chance in the future to change your lasting impression. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barbara K wrote a review Apr 3
1 contribution
We stayed in the manor house which was cozy. Have stayed before and were impressed by the wonderful breakfast but totally disappointed this time by a below average breakfast that didn’t even have butter for the toast. Two drinks at the bar were 38$.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t order drinks at the bar and don’t get excited by breakfast. Used to be excellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Barbara, We appreciate your repeated patronage, and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast during your most recent visit. Your comments will be shared with our team for improvement. If you're in the area again, we hope you'll come back to see us. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cincy2 wrote a review Mar 2024
Cincinnati, Ohio433 contributions124 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay at the Glidden House after touring the Art Museum. This hotel is centered around the original mansion with lots of charming details. We had a cocktail at the bar before heading out to dinner. Included breakfast was bountiful and served in the beautiful parlor area. Parking ($12.) is on site. Would definitely chose to stay here again if back in the museum area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Cincy, Thank you! There is no better compliment than knowing a guest enjoyed their stay so much that they would choose Glidden House again on future trips to the area. Your kind comments about our beautiful property and delicious breakfast are appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellen F wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
My husband and I stay at The Glidden House on nearly all of our visits to Cleveland throughout the year. The only time we don't stay at The Glidden House is when all of the rooms are booked, and, on these rare occasions, we miss our "home away from home". Yes, the rooms are lovely and comfortable, the public areas are exquisite, the location is perfect for us, and the breakfasts are plentiful, tasty, and nourishing. But it is the kind, helpful, and respectful members of the staff that make The Glidden House such a special place to stay. Over the years, we have become friends with several of the staff members and always look forward to seeing them and chatting with them during our stay. Recently, we had the good fortune to meet one of the staff members who, we believe, works primarily "behind the scenes". This staff member's name is Roger, and he epitomizes the warmth and kindness that all of us hope to encounter in our travels. Roger is the type of person who truly cares about the guests and goes above and beyond his job description to ensure the safety and comfort of the guests. During our most recent visit to Cleveland, my husband contracted the intestinal virus that is making the rounds in the region. Our drive to Cleveland is a long one (7+ hours), so we decided to leave at 4 am. Much to my surprise, when I went to the lobby to get the luggage cart and bring it to our room, a lovely gentleman in uniform came from the kitchen area and asked if I needed help. I told him of our situation and took the cart to our room, packed it, and returned to the lobby. Roger took the loaded cart out to the parking lot and helped me pack the car. While Roger returned the cart to the lobby, I returned to our room to get my husband, who was fatigued, unsteady on his feet, and a bit disoriented from the virus. I brought him to the lobby to wait in a chair while I drove the car around to the front entrance, and Roger said that he would keep an eye on my husband. And watch over him he did! Roger was ready to sprint if my husband made any move to leave the chair without help. When I arrived with the car, Roger helped my husband to the car and made sure that he was safe and ready to travel. I hope but don't know if we will see Roger again in the near future, since he works while most of the guests are sleeping. So I want to say "Thank you, Roger" for your help, kindness, grace, and efficiency in an otherwise stressful and harried situation. You are a true gentleman and a gentle man, and we are very fortunate to have made your acquaintance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ellen, It is an honor to be your home away from home in Cleveland. We are committed to providing the best possible customer service and are thrilled to hear that our team members have made such a great impression. Roger is one of the best, and we know he will be thrilled to learn of your kind words. You and your husband are always welcome at Glidden House. We look forward to continuing to host you and ensuring that it's an experience worthy of a five-star rating every time. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Go59739058640 wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
The Glidden House has one of the best staff available from the front desk to the housekeepers, to the maintenance of any hotel property. It is quiet, respectful, clean, and the breakfast you will never find paper or plastic utensils of any description. The breakfast staff is professional and service is above reproach. An extremely safe area and in the middle of the Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve campus. Close to numerous restaurants of any taste. You may want to fill your vehicle with fuel as there are no service stations close to the area. Grocery and drug stores are also rare. Just relax in this historic mansion that has a bar in the middle of the home along with continuous enjoyable music from the greats of the 1940's. The history of this large mansion is found everywhere and you will not want for anything. Enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Expect a perfect stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded Mar 3, 2024
It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Glidden House! Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has an exceptional stay, and we are ecstatic that we exceeded your expectations. Hopefully, you took full advantage of our fabulous location, and we appreciate you mentioning our peaceful atmosphere, high standards of cleanliness, and rich history. Thank you for your glowing review, and we hope you return soon. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
popsicletoes wrote a review Dec 2023
Ann Arbor, Michigan8 contributions13 helpful votes
Wonderful alternative to the ubiquitous chain hotels in Cleveland. Great location: close to the Art Museum, Botanical Garden, and so much more. Nice breakfast in the beautiful parlor and atrium rooms included in price. Hotel very clean and nicely decorated.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded Jan 2, 2024
It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest, and we’re elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words about our impeccable facility and delicious breakfast offerings and for highlighting the convenience our great location affords our guests. Take care, and know we'd be thrilled to welcome you back anytime your plans bring you this way. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thomas K wrote a review Dec 2023
Randolph, Massachusetts2 contributions1 helpful vote
Glidden House was a wonderful find. The building architecture is gorgeous, the breakfasts were quality, the price was reasonable, the room was spacious. The location is convenient to the Case Western Reserve campus, Severance Hall, the Cleveland Museum of Art. It is directly across from the Botanical Garden, as well. Would love to stay there, again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded Dec 20, 2023
Dear Thomas, It was a pleasure hosting you at Glidden House! We're glad our beautiful property, convenient location, and affordable rates impressed you. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciate the quality breakfast. The next time you're in the area, please come back to see us. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DesignandTravelGuide wrote a review Dec 2023
Ermatingen, Switzerland905 contributions231 helpful votes
+1
A big disappointment! When you read the description and view the photos on their website you get the impression of a cosy and welcoming atmosphere. Our room 322 was like a furniture storage room with a huge fridge in the bedroom. Oversized and unnecessary furniture cluttered the room. Icy atmosphere amongst the staff. We had also asked 3 times for reception to book us a table at the Etna Restaurant. When arrived at the restaurant it was packed and we were lucky to get a table.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: no safe no slippers no large mirror no space for luggage
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded Dec 16, 2023
We are disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory and know that your comments are heard and will be discussed with management and maintenance to make sure we do better going forward. We are committed to guest satisfaction and appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DrStorkmd wrote a review Nov 2023
10 contributions17 helpful votes
NO HOUSEKEEPING!!! I selected The Glidden House because it sounded bucolic, cozy and charming compared to the InterContinental my colleagues had suggested. Upon arrival, I was promptly told by the receptionist that "No one will be entering your room for the entire stay." WHAAAT??!! There was NO HOUSEKEEPING!! What sort of hotel is this that doesn't offer the basic, fundamental daily housekeeping. I reserved a suite, yet I was told that my soiled towels had to put in a bag, my trash can had to put outside of the room. There was no vacuuming of the floor and the bed was not made on a daily basis (much less changing the linens). The dirty glasses used to drink were not replaced and the dried water spots on the shower door were just left there. I couldn't believe this!! Four days?! The COVID-19 pandemic is over. Yet, this policy seems to have been continuing for a long period of time after COVID without letting anyone know. I reserved a suite in a distinctive hotel, not an air BnB. The folks were nice, but the policy of "NO HOUSEKEEPING" during the entire stay of the guest and that NO ONE ENTERS A ROOM needs to be abolished. It was horrible. Furthermore, in the room, there was NO CLOCK (on the night table) or timepiece to know what time it was. There was no phone bedside (in case you needed to call the front desk). So, you had to get out of the bed, walk into the other room where there WAS a phone and call the front desk. And this was a SUITE!!! The experience was a total disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Unless you want to make your own bed, vacuum your carpet and take out your own trash, I would not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded Nov 25, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience at Glidden House. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our current housekeeping policy and the amenities in your suite. Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we will take it into consideration as we strive to meet our guests' expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a stay that aligns with the high standards we strive for. Warm Regards, Glidden House Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RJ R wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
This mansion converted to a hotel has a great old-timey feel - very, very classy. James, our fine concierge, collected our luggage, took it to our room, answered questions and gave us the lay of the land. Coffee/tea was available any time. The morning saw a very nice breakfast with terrific variety. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Glidden House
Responded Oct 21, 2023
Dear RJ, We’re delighted to hear about your recent experience with us, and we’re so pleased that you recommend us to your fellow travelers! It’s great to know that our delicious breakfast offerings and hospitable team helped make your trip a memorable one. You can be sure we'll pass your compliments along to James! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cleveland area.
PRICE RANGE
₱9,095 - ₱12,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
glidden house hotel cleveland, glidden hotel cleveland
LOCATION
United StatesOhioCleveland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLIDDEN HOUSE - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Cleveland, OH) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Glidden House
Which popular attractions are close to Glidden House?
Nearby attractions include Cleveland Museum of Art (0.4 km), University Circle (0.4 km), and Cleveland Botanical Garden (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glidden House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Glidden House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Glidden House?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glidden House?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar, Mitchell's Ice Cream, and Simply Greek.
Does Glidden House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Glidden House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting USS Cod Submarine Memorial (7.1 km), Heinen's Downtown (6.6 km), and Wade Memorial Chapel (1.1 km).
Is Glidden House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.