We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Borrowdale Hotel

Save
Share
Keswick CA12 5UY England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (519)
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (61)

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Borrowdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hungarian and 2 more
1,324Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 723
  • 351
  • 135
  • 70
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ann C wrote a review Jan 2021
Bromborough, United Kingdom198 contributions95 helpful votes
+1
Weekend before Xmas, we spent 3 nights in this hotel. As expected, typical lakeland hotel, in its look, both in and out. All communal areas were lovely, they made every effort to make it very festive, with all the Xmas trees, and lovely coal effect burning fires. The bar area was very cosy. Especially inviting as the weather was awful. The food was excellent, good service. Staff were very pleasant. We upgraded to a classic room, clean, tidy, albeit quite small, but with it being an old lakeland style hotel, was to be expected, Wi-fi was hit and miss, but you are in an area with poor mobile signal. As, at the time, we were in a tier 2 , the hotel was quiet. All covid guidelines were in place. It's not been the easiest of times for the hospitality industry, so I congratulate the hotel staff for making us feel safe, welcomed, and appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Chris D wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed in a prestige room for 2 nights in room 45 initially the room looked nice.our friends were in the room next door room 46. We had no WiFi in our room for the whole time we were there but our friends had full WiFi and the bar next door to our room also had full WiFi reception too. When speaking to the reception desk their comment was "Well we are in the middle of nowhere" and I explained that the room next door perfect Internet reception (she wasn't interested) . Even the shelf in the bathroom was faulty. If you put more than a toothbrush on it then it would go vertical and tip everything off it. The worst thing was everytime the room above turned on their taps it was like a fog horn went off. We had to turn the TV up so we could hear it. It wasnt very pleasant either when it went off at 6.45am and kept waking us up. Also our friends in room 46 paid the same price as us but their room was twice the size of ours. When I asked about the prices with the manager (I assumed he was the manager) said they are both prestige rooms and they are same price. (so basically it's tough) It's a shame our experience of room 45 was really poor as we stayed in a sister hotel "The Inn on The Lake" . Their prestige rooms we stayed in were fantastic and I would gladly go back there. Overall I wouldn't stay at the Borrowdale Hotel again. I must say though all the other staff we had any interaction with were really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
SHS Reviewers wrote a review Nov 2020
Ormskirk, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
I loved staying here. The waiters were fantastic and the food is outstanding. The rooms are a good standard too - they are big and spacious and will suit a family well for a good night's sleep. It's a great place to stay and you will enjoy it loads.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chris D wrote a review Nov 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom104 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
I booked a 2 night stay 'exclusive offer' as advertised in the Daily Telegraph. This was advertised as £185 per person, but when I tried to book this I was informed that only Prestige rooms were available at £225 per person. This I accepted, but was surprised to find several non-prestige rooms unoccupied in the hotel once we took up residence. The 'glass of bubbly' supposedly included never offered or appeared. The 'Prestige' room we were given had numerous faults including stains on net curtains; stain on a window ledge; dirt on the window frames; rusty window latches, raised and separating flooring in the en-suite; lost grouting from wall tiles; lost paint from the door frame,; no cap on the hot water tap; dirt and mould around the bath; stains and disrupted surface to the base of a draw; and a chunk out of one of the picture frames. Not one of which you would expect to find in a 4 star hotel. The food quality at Dinner was adequate, but breakfast on both days was tasteless and inedible; the fruit juice grossly watered down, and overall was the worst breakfast by some margin that I have ever been served up in any hotel. I wrote a letter of complaint to the Director explain the shortcomings, and received a reply from the hotel manager. He had obviously failed to do his homework as this was inaccurate, paltry excuses made, but innumerable points I raised ignored and left unaddressed. There is a photograph in the lobby of the front of the hotel in 1977. This has AA and RAC plaques indicating a 2 Start hotel, which is a more accurate assessment of it in its current condition and service provided. The Lake District Hotels Ltd have 6 hotels, five of which are reported 'Luxury 4 Star' according to their website. If the other hotels are a reflection of the standards at the Borrowdale Hotel. I shall be avoiding these in the future. Poor hotel, poor service, poor response to guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a slight oblique view of Derwent Water
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from George Smith, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel
Responded 26 Dec 2020
Dear chrisdL5610NP, Thank you for your review. I believe all the above points have been fully covered in the correspondence between us. Kind regards George and Team.
Read more
blondie048 wrote a review Nov 2020
london138 contributions76 helpful votes
The hotel is in a great location and there are some fabulous restaurants and tea rooms around. Our first room (standard) was very loud and very small, luckily we were able to get upgraded and our new room was a much better size and we weren’t disturbed by anyone. The staff were all fantastic, breakfast was very good. Wine and the bar were nice. The evening meals were popular although we never tried it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$176 - US$250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
borrowdale hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictKeswickBorrowdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Borrowdale Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Borrowdale Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alpacaly Ever After (3.9 km), Derwentwater (5.0 km), and Surprise View (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Borrowdale Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Borrowdale Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Borrowdale Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Borrowdale Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fellpack, The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood, and Thyme Bistro.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Borrowdale Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Borrowdale Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Borrowdale Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Polish, Romanian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Borrowdale Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castlerigg Stone Circle (6.2 km), Watendlath (2.4 km), and Crosthwaite Parish Church (5.4 km).
Does The Borrowdale Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Borrowdale Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.