We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Keswick CA12 5UX England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1325)
360
Panoramas (1)
Dining (183)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 6 hotels in Borrowdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater, fresh pan-Asian inspired dishes are available in the hotel's second restaurant - Mizu and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The Falls Spa is located within the grounds, offering a thermal suite with 12 heat experiences, exclusive Champagne bar, 4 person rasul, outdoor 16m infinity edge vitality pool, and 5 treatments rooms using Elemis and La Sultane De Saba products. The spa is open daily, guests under 16 years old are not allowed in the spa. Spa access is complimentary for guests staying in a Deluxe Spa Suite, for other rooms the Spa can be accessed for an additional fee.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
2,889Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,576
  • 704
  • 308
  • 165
  • 136
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hope This Helps... wrote a review Jan 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom1 contribution4 helpful votes
For a few days away for Christmas, this seemed to be idyllic. It is set in a stunning part of the world. But, whilst the spa is spectacular, you don't normally pay extra for using steam rooms (£25 each), the room we had was absolutely nothing like the photo's; it was tiny, hardly any storage and reminded me of of guest house rooms of the 70's. Reception staff are keen for you to pay in advance upon arrival, this is the second time in my life I have been stung in this way as the rate was certainly not worth the room we were given. We couldn't pass each other in the spaces and the outlook was over scaffolding at the back of the hotel. The rooms on the pictures look exactly as I imagined they would be in a 4* hotel and what we would get, so my advice is to ensure you review the room you are issued before handing over any money as this was somewhat deceptive to the customer. Be careful about exiting the drop off point at the front of the hotel. The car park is on the other side of the road and whilst there are mirrors for drivers, they aren't regularly cleaned, are difficult to see any reflection in and so it is a blind exit to cross the road as you can't see what is coming from the right due to planting and a wall. And also, when you do get in to the car park which is a substantial size, when you come to exit, there is a building on your right that completely obliterates any view to the right, so with the aforementioned mirrors on each side of the road being pointless if filthy, it is somewhat nerve racking to exit the car park. Restaurant food was far from 4*, it would be adequate for a reasonable pub, but virtually every dish had to be returned as it was either wrong or came with something that wasn't on the menu which meant if they would have listed it, we would have chose something else and whilst all of the young staff were incredibly polite and extremely warm and friendly, what appears to be the supervising staff could be short and rude; if we weren't in company I would have taken this further rather than let it pass. The bar area is comfortable, airy and welcoming and there is a separate seating area to the side of the bar which seemed to be used in the main by those who brought their dogs on holiday. The lift stopped going to our floor after a short while and wasn't fixed over three days but I would say don't use it if you have any claustrophobic feelings, it is much, much smaller than a downstairs cloakroom. The sign says it is big enough for four persons, when actually it is a struggle with two, if you have bags as well then it is a major struggle to fit in and with the cases, we had to go up and down one at a time. Overall, it was my wife and the company we had that made this short holiday the pleasant break it was and were very well looked after in the spa treatment area (reminder that the use of the steam and sauna rooms and outside heated pools costs £25 each for only two hours!) So check the room before paying for it as the pictures were a country mile away from what we got, be careful leaving the drop off area and car park but do enjoy the spectacular region.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcell Cilliers, Other at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very objective review and feedback after your recent stay at Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa. I can support most of your statements and observation but would like to point out a few aspects raised to guide the reader of my reply to your very constructive and valuable feedback. The Spa facility is included in our Spa room rates and price point is done accordingly. If guests choose to reserve a classic room which is price point accordingly, the Spa facility is not included. Due to the current worldwide and UK wide situation, we are guided by external legislation about the allowed number of guests in the Spa at one time. We therefore allocate 2 hours per person for the guests that wish to reserve the Spa facility. For the reader, this not just for the steam rooms as stated but the entire facility which is the outdoor heated pool, steam rooms, remarkable sauna and therapy rooms. This unfortunately will not be able to change till such time the legislation that we are currently trading under, will be lifted. £50 pre-payment for staying guests are taken as standard. When you reserve your online reservation, payment is taken as standard either via a 3rd party website like Booking.com or direct by our head office. The £50 is put towards expenses, like Spa, beverage or food expenses and offset or refunded according after guest stay. This is common practice and not something we will be amending going forward. About the road to and from Lodore Falls, there is very little that we can do to improve the situation and any reasonable person will agree. We do clean the blind spot mirrors and make sure the access points are as clear as possible but it is a narrow road with blind spot areas on either side. From a company point of view, we have done what we could but will monitor the condition of the mirrors on a more regular basis. I will take your feedback regarding the Lake View restaurant food quality and service on board and will discuss it with the relevant department heads. Direct feedback is always very valuable for us from an operational point of view. You are correct about the lift issue during your stay and I can only sincerely apologise. The second-floor button did not respond but the situation got rectified shortly after that weekend and no further issues got reported since. We hope to welcome you again at Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa or any of our other remarkable hotels part of the Lake District Hotels profile. Regards, Marcell Cilliers
Read more
Charlotte wrote a review Dec 2020
Keswick, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
Firstly we were advised that we would hear from the hotel prior to our visit via a courtesy call - which never happened. We were advised we would book our breakfast slot during this call, as it never happened we were left with going to reception after arriving and booking our own slot and there were only two left at 7:30 or 7:45 - this was very disappointing as we both were expecting a bit of a lie in as a treat on our break. We went to the bar lounge for food as we liked the look of the menu. It took 15 minutes before anyone even noticed we were there even though we sat right next to the bar and it was table service only. The food came and it was bitterly disappointing, the fries looked like they had came out of McDonald’s and that’s me being nice. The pizza was lukewarm and the sandwiches were definitely not worth £9. The breakfast the next morning was horrible, I ate the beans and mushrooms from my vegetarian breakfast and that was it. The service in the morning was just as disappointing as the night before, it was slow and the staff were very unprofessional. We were not the only ones who thought this as a family walked out due to their wait. The room was underwhelming, for the price you pay to stay in the hotel you expect a certain standard which this did not meet. The room was cold and we had to get the Porter to fix the heating. It was very small and nothing special. On a positive note the spa was lovely, the staff were nice and it was up there with the best spa’s I have visited so far. However, £25pp for 2 hours is a bit steep considering we had already paid a lot to stay in the hotel and only being able to book our slot on the day of our stay was disappointing. Me and my partner work for the NHS and Army so could have done with a nice break and this sadly didn’t meet our expectations at all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcell Cilliers, Other at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay. I am delighted to read that the Spa met your expectations but would like to clarify the following regarding the charge. The Spa facility is included in our Spa room rates and price point is done accordingly. If guests choose to reserve a classic room which is price point accordingly, the Spa facility is not included. Due to the current worldwide and UK wide situation, we are guided by external legislation about the allowed number of guests in the Spa at one time. We therefore allocate 2 hours per person for the guests that wish to reserve the Spa facility. I can only apologise that you have not received your courtesy call prior to your scheduled date. I can confirm that the pre arrival calls are a large part of the reception team’ focus and it is something that is happening every day. I can only narrow it down to incorrect details on our system for your reservation that potentially caused the issue but can only sincerely apologise about that. I will take your feedback regarding Lounge food quality and service on board and will discuss it with the relevant department heads. Direct feedback is always very valuable for us from an operational point of view. I am disappointed to read your comments about breakfast and the statement that guest walked out. I do not have any knowledge of anything like that happening at all. I am at the hotel most days and deal with guest feedback and complaints and I can sincerely confirm that the breakfast issue and guests walking out is not something I have knowledge of at all. We are very fortunate that we have a bio mass system operating Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa. Seldon, if ever, do we experience heating issues but from time to time an airlock can cause radiators not to perform at optimum capacity. I have seen the hand over from the night porter at the time and he confirmed that it was indeed the issue. I trust you will be able to understand that it is not a regular occurrence and can only apologise about the inconvenience. I hope to welcome you back again at Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa or any of our other remarkable hotels part of the Lake District Hotels profile. Regargs, Marcell Cilliers
Read more
Jh1 wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived at lodore falls hotel and spa for a one night stay on my birthday. Before we had arrived we had been contacted by a member of staff to confirm the booking, we were informed we had to call the spa when it opened at 8AM on the morning of arrival to book in a 2 hour time slot. I called the spa on the morning of our arrival at 8AM over 50 times, YES OVER 50 times before anyone actually answered the phone. Eventually I got through to a lady in the spa that greeted me with absolute rudeness, I asked to book a time slot in the spa and she said the only slot they had left was 6-8 in the evening. I questioned how I had called all morning but no answer and they only had 1 slot left? The lady I spoke with was completely on the defence and nothing but rude to me as she stated if we had booked a suite we could of pre booked the spa slot earlier. Bare in mind the cost of the hotel was 330 for the night and the main attraction is the spa itself. I felt belittled and completely shocked that I was made to feel this way even though I was spending so much money and travelling two hours to get there. A few days prior to staying I had called to try and book treatments in the spa again I was completely mistreated and made us rethink about actually visiting the hotel, I stated on the phone to the lady I spoke with that I would potentially cancel and she didn’t even flinch to try and save the booking she stated ‘ok well that’s fine if you want to cancel’. We are paying customers and to be mistreated before even arriving is absolutely disgusting and unprofessional. The hotel room was tiny, very dated and old. The bed was so uncomfortable and rock solid. I appreciate this is a dog friendly hotel but when there are dogs barking keeping you up all night it is not ideal when you want a relaxing quiet break. I have read other reviews on the hotel and I can see it is clearly a repeated problem that the staff here are untrained, unprofessional and extremely rude. The staff need to be trained in prioritising customer experience, I would not recommend staying here what so ever! The sheer lack of communication definitely shows. On checkout of the hotel we was given a bill of £28 for food and drinks which we had in the hotel bar the day before which we had paid by card when leaving the bar. We further stated on departure we had paid this the day before as soon as we had eaten, the receptionist was trying to convince us if we had paid it wouldn’t be on the bill. After showing them the receipt from the card payment they finally took the money off the room charge. After departing the hotel a further £50 was taken for the cost of using the spa, bare in mind you are only allowed a two hour time slot, I’d understand if we wasn’t staying in the hotel but with us being hotel guests an additional cost to use the spa is just extremely disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcell Cilliers, Other at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, I am not in support of this review. I have reported it to TripAdvisor as inaccurate but do not have an objection if it is not removed. I will reply to your statements to allow a healthy perspective to the reader on your review and my reply. The Spa facility is included in our Spa room rates and price point is done accordingly. If guests choose to reserve a classic room which is price point accordingly, the Spa facility is not included. Due to the current worldwide and UK wide situation, we are guided by external legislation about the allowed number of guests in the Spa at one time. We therefore allocate 2 hours per person for the guests that wish to reserve the Spa facility. Why anyone will phone 50 times is just beyond me. I would have done 5 or 6 attempts and in failing to get through to someone on the direct Spa phone line, contact the main hotel line and explained the situation and request a call back. I feel that will be a reasonable approach to a situation you have shared. None of our rooms are tiny and have rock hard beds or severely uncomfortable beds, as stated. I understand that you are negatively fuelled by the experience but statement like that is not fair or just on this establishment. We are a dog friendly hotel but surely if dogs are barking all night, not only will the night porter attend to the situation but we will have similar reports on our hands the next morning on check-out. I can confirm we have not had a report that support your statement. I fully support that we have not met your expectation and can only apologise about that but please be mindful of your statements, keep it factual and accurate. It is unlikely you will visit our hospitality profile again but this is a kind request for any other establishment you visit and review. Regards, Marcell Cilliers
Read more
Sarah H wrote a review Dec 2020
6 contributions
+1
My fiance and I visited for the festive afternoon tea after seeing the great photos online. I have to admit, we thought it was great and loved the Yuzu trifle dessert, it's a bit of a tongue twister! Your staff were extremely helpful and polite, and we liked the fact we could swap out a salmon sandwich for something else as not all venues allow this. The hotel is dressed so lovely for the festive season and we can't wait to come back and enjoy our spa vouchers in the future. The view from the dining room of the Lake and mountains was also lovely. Would have given 5/5 but the scones were a bit dry, and I think a couple of the desserts could have a little longer to defrost but it wouldn't put us off coming again. Thank you again to your lovely attentive staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcell Cilliers, Other at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review and feedback after your visit to Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience and thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the scones, I have shared that with the pastry department. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Lodore Falls Hotel for your planned Spa experience. Regards, Marcell Cilliers
Read more
Melanie1998 wrote a review Dec 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
Thank you so much to all staff for making our Christmas perfect despite COVID! We were a family group and there was something here for everyone from the Spa, to a quiz to roasting marshmallows and singing carols! From the minute you arrive you are taken care of and you feel very safe. The hotel has gone out of their way to make sure guests and staff are safe. The events laid on for the festive stay were well planned and thought out. The food was truly delicious and there was so much of it! The whole team were always on hand to talk to and help your stay go smoothly. The hotel was very clean and COVID safe. We visited the Spa which was lovely. I would highly recommend staying here and can’t wait to return. Thank you so much and a Happy New Year to you all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcell Cilliers, Other at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review and feedback after your Christmas package experience at Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and all our package guests over the festive period and I am delighted to read that the catering, facilities, Christmas program and Covid measure have met your expectation. Hopefully we will welcome you back soon at Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa or any of our other remarkable hotels part of the Lake District Hotels profile. Regards, Marcell Cilliers
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lodore falls hotel, lodore falls keswick, hotel lodore falls
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Keswick Lodore
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictKeswickBorrowdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Alpacaly Ever After (3.3 km), Derwentwater (4.3 km), and Surprise View (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fellpack, The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood, and Thyme Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castlerigg Stone Circle (5.4 km), Watendlath (2.8 km), and Crosthwaite Parish Church (4.7 km).