We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-102, Akumal 77710 Mexico
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!50 ANNIVERSARY OFFER
Hotels.com
US$200
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Booking.com
US$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$276
US$160
View deal
SAVE US$116
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
WIOL.com
Expedia.comUS$200
TravelocityUS$200
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (8774)
Room & Suite (844)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities.
Read more
Room & Suite (844)844
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:50 ANNIVERSARY OFFER

Location

Full view
39Car recommended
Grade: 39 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
Contact
Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-102, Akumal 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Cancun Airport79 kmSee all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen30 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
7483Reviews1292Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,532
  • 1,799
  • 647
  • 291
  • 214
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Emma wrote a review 15 Jun
1 contribution
The activities personnel were all super great! They work really hard to make sure there is all ways something for people to participate in. Special thanks to Celeste and maycu who painted our faces at that Latin show. They did great!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear N9223DIemmas, We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa and that there were some memorable staff members who stood out for being helpful, attentive and friendly with you; we will be sure to congratulate Celeste and Maycu! Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez, Hospitality Manager
Read more
auzzi14 wrote a review 13 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The resort itself in the property was absolutely beautiful. However if you were going here for a culinary delight you were in for a big disappointment. All the food at every buffet was ice cold and very limited on selection. Be sure to take food from the Buffet if you’d like a snack throughout the day as there is no 24 hour snack bars or restaurants open to grab a bite if your hungry during the day with lunch or breakfast or dinner is not offered. The staff was very friendly and helpful when needed but being in Mexico there was a language barrier as most staff that we encountered did not speak much English other than the registration desk and restaurants.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing your vacation experience at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa. We are deeply sorry to read of the poor impression you left with regarding our food. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed with the corresponding department managers, your comments are of great help to us as they help us to know our areas of improvement and we can create more efficient services in the not too distant future, however, we would like to mention that the opinion of our guests is our main objective. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and reinstate your confidence in our service. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez, Hospitality Manager
Read more
Corey S wrote a review 12 Jun
Reading, Pennsylvania38 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
On May 23-30 , 2021 My family and I traveled to Grand Palladium Colonial Mexico. Our trip started off really well. Flight on time, smooth flight, luggage arrived with us, Hotel transfer ready to go. It is a long drive from Cancun International to GP Colonial, depending on traffic it could take an hour and a half to get there. When we arrived our driver was directed to GP White Sands lobby. The Colonial check in desk was closed for check ins. The Kenatah resort was still closed due to 50% occupancy (Even though most travel agents were still selling rooms for Kenatah). We checked in, room wasn’t ready. According to their web site all rooms are vacant 24 hours before the next occupancy and there is an empty room in between occupied rooms! We found this to not totally be true. If the rooms were vacant 24 hours prior, then why couldn’t we go to our rooms until 4 o’clock? By the end of the week the room next door to us and my daughters room were both occupied, so no separation like they claim! The week started off ok, there was a lot of confusion early as to what restaurants or buffets were open and when, the App they ask you to download wasn’t updated with correct times when we arrived. Monday night we went to the Colonial lobby after dinner to check out the sports bar. It was nice and promising for later in the week. Little did anyone know that it wouldn’t be an option the rest of the week after Tuesday. The rooms were nice, however, its not what I expected. I’m not sure who is responsible but when you book a poolside room, you expect to be near the pool! We were at least five hundred feet from the closest open pool! The resort said poolside is not offered at this resort, but Apple Vacations sold us one! The safe in my daughters room didn’t work properly and security was called four times during the week to open it because she was locked out of it! On Tuesday late morning while sitting at the White Sands swim up bar, another guest pointed to the sky, wow look at all that smoke! Something was burning, maybe the seaweed we hoped they were cleaning up!? Unfortunately it wasn’t seaweed, it was the lobby to the Colonial!!!!! Goodbye Sports bar, Mexican,Steakhouse,Thai and Japanese restaurants and the Theater for the rest of the week! This is where things started to really go downhill. We were at the pool at least another 45 minutes before staff started walking around asking guests to evacuate to the TRS Yucatán property until the fire is under control. We picked up all our belongings and made the long walk, stopping at their small pool for the bathroom and to get a drink. We then continued to the Infinity pool by the oceanfront…just like every other guest for all 3 properties! When we arrived there was nowhere to sit, we put our stuff down on a short wall and went in the pool. We no sooner got in and some chairs opened up, I got out of the pool and by the time I got to the chairs, the staff was coming around telling us to return to the White Sands pool. The Colonial/Kenatah pool was now closed! Attempted to get a drink before we returned, refused alcohol because we didn’t have the appropriate wrist band!!! (You sent us here and now you wont serve us!?). Learned later in the week that other guests were refused food as well , because they didn’t have the TRS wristband. Not great customer service!! When we attempted to go to our rooms we were told no! When asked why, we were told that they were closed due to the fire! When asked if my building was effected, the answer was, I don’t think so! So then why can’t we go to our rooms? Because they have all pathways leading away from White Sands closed with security! All guests were now “quarantined” to the White Sands or TRS properties! When will they reopen? They didn’t know! Finally around Six o’clock we noticed the guard was gone, I guess we can return!? No announcement, no spreading the word by the staff. When we did get to our rooms I noticed the time was reset on the A/C control….I guess the power was out!? Why didn’t they just say that? Why was it so secretive? Phones not working in rooms now! Finally restored the next day, but you have to look at the app to get the extension number for the White Sands because the numbers on the phone were for the Colonial lobby! When we returned to the White Sands pool, my wife and I decided to go to the lobby and inquire about our dinner reservations we had for that night at the now closed Mexican restaurant. We were told that we could show our reservation at any specialty restaurant and they would seat us, the same for our Friday reservation at the Thai restaurant. (When we went to the Italian restaurant on Friday to get a table, they said they were booked. A little persistence and informing them we were told we would be seated because the Thai restaurant was closed, they finally agreed to seat us. At least two other couples weren’t as fortunate because they were turned away! Not great customer service!) Wednesday we decided to take a resort van to Playa Del Carmen for a few hours. The cost was $63 US for the four of us for the trip and two hours of shopping time. The driver said we could stay longer if we wanted for the same price. We barely made it two hours because of the heat! When asked about the fire the driver said that they can rebuild in a month once they start, they would work 24/7 to get it done! Frank was great! He gave us his phone number in case we wanted to stay longer and made sure we knew where to be for him to pick us up! The Brazilian restaurant was good and the food was the only good thing at Poseidon Seafood restaurant, the bugs ate more then we did and the smell of the seaweed on the beach next to the restaurant was pretty strong and unappetizing. The buffets at night were good and the wait staff was always on top of things and kept our drinks full. As the week progressed and more guests arrived, it was very taxing on the buffet staff for breakfast. They couldn’t keep up with the demand and the long lines for a specialty omelette. There were two days were it was slim pickings because of the amount of people seated. The pool at Colonial/Kenatah reopened but we didn’t prefer that pool because it was over five feet deep except around the swim up bar and a few other shallow areas. We preferred the White sands pool as it was only a little over three feet deep all around. They also have a volleyball net in that pool where we played many games that week. The swim up bar there was great, Daniel one of the bartenders was quick and the drinks were perfect when he made them. Elvira and Doris were helping out there and waiting on people around the pool at their chairs. I must also mention the bell service and the cart drivers that drive you around from the lobby to your rooms, they were always polite and if you were the only one waiting they would grab a cart and take you! The rest of the staff seemed confused at times, especially after the fire. It never seemed as if there was one Manager in charge! There were staff with different colored shirts as if they were department managers, but we never saw a hotel or property manager out in public like we have at other resorts we have visited. Most times when asking a question they wouldn’t have an answer or wouldn’t know what to say and what not to say. They are in no hurry to fix problems in the rooms. Early in the week we reported our TV wasn’t working properly and it had red and blue lines on the screen. It never got replaced. The bathroom outlet also was not working and was reported at the same time as the TV, it was never fixed and we didn’t hear back from the staff as to what their resolution would be! The beach was a whole other story, it appeared as if they hadn’t even attempted to clean up the seaweed for weeks! They finally started on Thursday but made little progress until we last saw it on Saturday! They had a “White Party” on the beach next to the Las Olas restaurant and bar, party was great but the smell had me leaving early! There is only fifteen feet of beach from the edge of the property to the water, more at some points, and then three feet of seaweed to walk over to get in the water. We never saw more then 6 people in the water when we were there and there were very few people on the lounge chairs anytime we visited! A week in Mexico and we never got to go in the ocean because of the smell and massive amounts of seaweed! The Safety procedures and guest notification system (or lack there of) should be reevaluated by the corporate staff at Grand Palladium! If the other issues on the resort on the property aren’t immediately fixed the safety and guest security should be fixed immediately! There were people still in their rooms in the closest building next to the Colonial lobby while it was burning, there are fire alarms, but because their building wasn’t burning the alarms never went off! There should be a way of notifying guests of an emergency other then walking around by word of mouth! Most guests have the app on their phones, it should be able to send alerts to the guests! I hope the corporate leaders at GP see this review and start addressing these issues immediately, until they do I cannot recommend any of the resorts on this property to anyone who reads this review! Safety of guests should always be the number one priority and they are severely lacking at these resorts!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Pick another resort chain! Safety procedures need fixing before anyone should go here!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear coreys797, Thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share a detailed feedback about your stay. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our rooms and security protocol. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests, so we'll address all of your concerns with our team moving forward. On behalf of the Management team, we extend our sincerest apologies again for any inconvenience with your accommodations during your family stay. We will take very seriously each of your comments in order to improve our performance day after day. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez, Hospitality Manager
Read more
Longhorn5243 wrote a review 11 Jun
Hurricane, Utah1 contribution
Concierge was a joke! Computers not working, printer not working. Combined 3 hour waits. Poor communication should have been told about the beach and that where we booked was closed down, couple pools closed, and only a few restaurants open
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and valuing your vacation experience at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa. We take all our guests’ concerns into consideration, and we regret reading that you did not enjoy the service with our concierges, please accept our apologies; we have relayed your comments to the department manager to see how best we can improve this situations, considering your observations. It is thanks to the opinion of our guests, that we achieve the success of our company that is why we appreciate your valuable opinion through TripAdvisor We hope that in a near future, you give us an opportunity to change your opinion. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez Hospitality Manager
Read more
chesco1979 wrote a review 10 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was very impressed with the quality of service I received. Every employee went beyond my expectation. The food was great , the complimentary room service was amazing. This place was the best up so far from the ones I visited before. Thank you Grand Palladium for making my vacation special.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear chesco1979, Thank you for staying at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our hotel. I am delighted that our staff was able to exceed your expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez, Hospitality Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$170 - US$374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand palladium colonial hotel, grand palladium colonial resort & spa, hotel grand palladium colonial, grand palladium mexico, palladium colonial resort, grand palladium spa
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaAkumal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
414
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include CHIC CABARET & RESTAURANT, Portofino Restaurant, and La Jarra Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.