The Cabins at Healing Springs

The Cabins at Healing Springs

1097 E Healing Springs Rd, Crumpler, NC 28617-9663
Outside of cabins
Traveler (128)
Full kitchen
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campground in Crumpler
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Historic cabins surrounding a natural "healing spring" discovered in 1884. Water from the spring has been recorded as having curative powers. Most of the cabins available for your use are the original cabins built in the early 1900's. Our cozy cabin rentals have been sympathetically restored and feature comfortable furnishings and plush beds with modern comforts. Our cabins range in size from a cozy cabin for two to spacious family cabins that sleep eight, to glamping style camping cabins Many of our cabins are pet friendly! Healing Springs Farm raises grass fed Belted Galloway cattle, woodland heritage breed pigs and pastured chickens. Our pastured meats and free range eggs are available for sale in our Farm Store, right on the property. We also make jams and jellies along with artisan soaps and body products.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Express check-in / check-out
Patio
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
174Reviews10Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 121
  • 35
  • 5
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chelsea O wrote a review Jul 2020
Palm Beach, Florida6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment my daughter and I found the treehouse online we could not wait to check in. The owner Anne was extremely helpful and kind before we checked in and during our stay. The treehouse was exactly what we were looking for and was better and bigger then we expected.

The only problem we had was deciding which yummy smelling handmade soap to buy and how I was going to strap the worlds the most comfortable bed to the roof of my car!! Of course I’m kidding about taking the bed! But seriously it was THE MOST comfortable bed we have ever slept in. My daughter said she could have slept all day. The handmade soaps are amazing. Anne makes them herself with the water from the healing spring.

Overall a wonderful glamping experience. No electricity or bathroom in the treehouse (the bathroom is close by) and wifi can be spotty so plan accordingly and completely check out from the world in the cutest treehouse you will ever stay in.

Forgot something? Visit the onsite farm shop for yummy cheese, snacks, soaps, and jugs to put the healing springs water in. The crisp, cold, delicious healing spring water can be pumped from the spring anytime you want.. as much as you want. Don’t forget to bring a cup to refill with healing spring water throughout the day.

I almost forgot to mention the adorable moo-bors who graze in the field adjacent to the cabins. They are so beautiful and peaceful to watch from the porch. At night millions, if not trillions, of fireflies light up sky. Yes, everything I’m telling you is true. This place is wonderful and Anne works very hard to make your stay memorable and comfortable. I am so glad we booked an extra night/day. So much to do and see in the area or just sit by the fire and do nothing at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind words. Your review has captured exactly what we are looking to provide for folks! We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elysia D wrote a review Sep 2020
Salisbury, North Carolina50 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really needed to get some time away and a quick google search lead me to this pet friendly retreat in the blue ridge. The trip was easy and directions were spot on. They had a big assortment of cabins that were pet friendly and affordable. We went with “Through the Woods” although it was another trip further from town down a peaceful dirt road. It was a perfect picturesque spot perched high above the New River and isolated from the bustle of other cabins and people. The cabin was well equipped with anything you’d need and then some just in case you didn’t find everything you imagined at the check in lodge. The bed was super luxurious and comfy and the homemade soap was a nice thoughtful touch! We picked up farm raised Ribeye from the owner which were melt in your mouth delicious on the cabins grill. We also recommend staying here and traveling into West Jefferson and trying Boondocks on Main st. Their cauliflower tacos are amazing. Don’t forget to grab some healing springs water on your way out. It was so nice we returned two weeks later to soak it up again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We love being able to offer up a variety of cabins in different price points to meet all of our guests' needs. Some of our cabins are indeed, a bit more isolated :) We appreciate our return guests and hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SSSaternye wrote a review Jul 2020
Troy, Virginia27 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We rented the Over The River cabin, which is about 5.5 miles from the Springs themselves. There is one other cabin near it so it's not totally secluded. The cabin itself was clean and nicely furnished and the deck facing the river was a favorite spot.
We should point out that there is some road noise from light traffic on the gravel road on the other side of the river. There was also noise from some construction going on over there as well. Not the cabin owners' fault. Still, like I said, we enjoyed our deck time.
In the kitchen there are two under the cabinet battery powered lights, both of which had dead batteries which should have been checked by housekeeping before we got there. The shower water only got lukewarm, although both sinks had no problem getting hot. And I would recommend that a light be put over the bathroom sink. These were our only complaints. We could called to tell the owners about them when we had unpacked but chose not to as it wasn't a big deal to us.
We got the chocolate dessert package as well as meat, eggs and bacon. All were very good!
All in all, we would do it again if we were going to be visiting the area in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate guest feedback and will immediately address the issues that you found during your stay. We hope to see you again soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter D wrote a review Dec 2020
Hillsborough, North Carolina9 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The cabins were off the beaten path, which is what I wanted. It was reasonably clean but not well supplied. The management provided only one bar of soap, no dish sponge and a single roll of toilet paper. Utensils are sparse given there is a kitchen. Obviously you can walk up front to supplies, but it left an impression of being cheap and it is not really that inexpensive given its location.

Main gripe was the management/owner/person at the front desk. She had no mask and was dismissive when I asked why; these are not the times for risks or to leave bad impressions on exposure and I avoided going back to the desk. When asked basic questions, responses were very short and not helpful and she almost appeared annoyed to have to answer. They state they were open to 7 but there was no one at the desk after 5.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Jun 3, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that our property and our staff did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in keeping everyone as safe as possible during the pandemic and have set it up so that folks have contact-less check in and check out for everyone's safety. We have a phone located right on the guest check in counter so that you can talk to a live person 24 x 7 should you have any issues at all during your stay. I am not sure which of my staff you encountered during your stay, but can assure you that we have addressed all of the issues that you brought up during your stay with our staff and have made modifications to ensure that this doesn't ever happen again. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SueLovesDuke wrote a review Aug 2020
Southern Pines, North Carolina285 contributions154 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from this place, which is in BFE by a neat little creek that obviously has the propensity to flood. The cabin was spacious and the bed was confortable. The kitchen was very sparcely equipped with 2 each of kinves, fork, and spoon. No steak or cutting knives. We had to wash the dishes before using them. Get this: the window in the bathroom (4' off the ground) neither closed all the way NOR LOCKED. They only charged $20 for our dog (1 time fee, not per night). As quaint as the cabin was, it was so DAMP that our towels never dried, the dishes we washed never dried, and all of the clothes in our suitcase were damp. How they don't (yet) have a mold problem, I'll never know. Maybe they do and I just didn't SEE it. There is moss growing on the roofs. We brought our own grill which was good since one was not located there (or we didn't see it). While we understand that the place is 100+ years old, I wonder how much longer they can stay in business. We would not recommend this place (nor Crumpler, NC) to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Aug 23, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We live on the property and would have been happy to address and resolve any issues you had during your stay. We have had a period of significant rain, which has been a challenge. Our cabins all have air conditioning (and heat) which does help during torrential rains. We don't typically have weather like this in our area. We are located in the woods and in a quiet part of the state. I have addressed the issues that you brought up in your review with our housekeeping and maintenance staff and we have promptly corrected these issues. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and wish you had let us know while you were here so that we could have immediately made changes that would have made your stay more enjoyable. We do hope that you will choose to come for another visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jasmine P wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Owner has zero integrity and is quite argumentative and always has something to snap back at. Aka excuses rather than being a quality owner.

Only communication that was had was when she reached out to ask me for more money.
When we arrived nothing was as promised. We decided to not stay because it was dark and at this point I had reached out to the owner hours prior with no response. (She of course was quick to only respond when the conversation was about money) She never responded only until I canceled the reservation and left.
Stay anywhere else. Especially for a 5 by 5 treehouse with only a bed in it. Not even a candle! Regardless of any of her excuses I’m sure you’ll hear there are PLENTY of other cabins that go the extra mile with their patrons. This place just wants your money only to offer the bare minimum.
This place stole my money $230 and I did not receive any service or an offer of even a partial refund. And I asked! Of course this is when she became silent in the conversation because she has no integrity.

For a small owned business you think the owners here would have more integrity and a moral compass to do the right thing.
Stay at a small owned business that deserves your money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acmbraun wrote a review Apr 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina38 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We highly recommend a stay in the Baker Drive Farmhouse. 1/2 mile up the road from the cabin area at Healing Springs, this is the place to come to truly get away. The house has comfortable beds, a washer and dryer, terrific wi-fi, and a great kitchen. It is somewhat retro, but in a charming way. There are ample supplies of books and games, plus places to walk and soak in the beautiful mountain views. Anne and everyone at Healing Springs takes care of every need. We enjoyed the cows in a nearby field and visiting the chickens near the farm store. Be ready for adventure as you come up Baker Road -- it can be a jolting drive, but always exciting. The Healing Springs water and the fresh air would be good for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The stairs to the upstairs bedrooms can be tricky. Just be a little careful. Nice bedroom and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide a relaxing space for folks to get away. Our Baker Farmhouse is indeed a bit "retro" as the house was built in the late 1800's, but we strive to make it comfortable with modern conveniences such as great WiFi. We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany G wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was like a haunted house. It stunk so bad was awful. I spent 1 night and gone early morning and returned late evening then the smell again terrible. I looked toward the window look like blood stains on the wall. I decided to leave so I called a friend and verified I was coming then I pack up to leave took out 2 bags and there was a car parked with its headlights on and toward me I ran back inside to grab up my last bags and ran back to the car then I car pulls in behind me and follows me down the road all the way to 221 in Scottville. I called the manager and she had nothing nice to say and was very rude then come to.find out my bank verified that I was charged for another night being 3 nights and I had already spoken to the owner and she refused to reimburse me for a night I didn't reserve further she sure wasn't giving me a refund.on the other 2 nights I had stayed and left by 11 pm the second night. This place ripped me off and I don't believe it was the first time because my house burnt down and I had previously stayed there before and the place just got worse and very dirty and stinks. Best look at your bank statements cause like I said I was charges for 1 night I didn't reserve for.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Do not stay here and if you do or have in the past check your bank statement to see I'd you were...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Jan 8, 2024
While we do appreciate guest feedback, you left a similar review in September of 2023. You have only stayed with us once, not twice as this review would indicate. We are onsite and available to our guests should they need anything during their stay. As before, we did reach out to you via telephone and email to discuss your stay and you did not respond to voicemails or emails. We want every guest to enjoy their stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Junko Gilbert wrote a review Apr 2024
Winston Salem, North Carolina13 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to relax in a rustic cabin setting. We had a full cabin, Duck cabin. It is pretty spacious and we enjoyed the surroundings with the sound of stream and campfire. There are several things you can do nearby within 30 minutes or so. There are no stores nearby except Dollar general so just have to make sure to bring your food and items. There is no TV but good WiFi.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Various accommodations from a room with shared bathroom and mini kitchen to a full cabin with...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Huff wrote a review Jun 2021
Barco, North Carolina9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Cabins at Healing Springs is very quaint and rustic. We rented the Brookside cabin. It was everything described. Understand that these are early 1900s cabins with some updated modern ammenities. We chose no TV for a reason. But had excellent wifi. No cell ohone service which we expected. Even better to unplug from everything. Bed was very comfortable and clean. We had very little contact with owners or workers because we had NO issues. It was very peaceful and relaxing. My only issue is the parking but nothing to really complain about. We will recommend staying here. And we will be back for our yearly getaway. Please do not expect 5 star accomadations or amenities as this not not the Hilton or high end rentals. These are your perfect getaway and unplugging from the world rentals. Absolutely wonderful place! We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Pression, Owner at The Cabins at Healing Springs
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. We enjoy sharing what makes Healing Springs special with folks and very much appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Anne Pression
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France14 contributions2 helpful votes
We have a 3 bedroom cabin that accommodates 6 guests.
Answer from Anne Pression
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France14 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, Yes! We have WiFi throughout the property and cable TV in Fern, Pine, Owl, Acorn and Bird's Nest cabins. Give us a call if you have any additional questions - 336-982-6262. Anne
Barbara S asked a question May 2019
Oak Island, North Carolina186 contributions180 helpful votes
Are the"healing springs" open to the public/guests?
Answer from Anne P
Yes, they are :)
Debi S asked a question Sep 2018
1 contribution
Do you have RV spots as well?
Answer from Anne Pression
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France14 contributions2 helpful votes
We don't have RV spots, but there is a campground nearby that does :)
Junko Gilbert wrote a tip Apr 2024
Winston Salem, North Carolina13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Various accommodations from a room with shared bathroom and mini kitchen to a full cabin with full bath and kitchen. Choose carefully."
Read full review
Tiffany G wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here and if you do or have in the past check your bank statement to see I'd you were over charged like I was. "
Read full review
RebeccaJD01 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Raleigh, North Carolina143 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you are not overcharged."
Read full review
Iris D wrote a tip Oct 2022
Seymour, Tennessee490 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The big cabin is an amazing option for six people but probably you will need a 4x4 car to access."
Read full review
acmbraun wrote a tip Apr 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina38 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The stairs to the upstairs bedrooms can be tricky. Just be a little careful. Nice bedroom and two bathrooms on the main floor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crumpler area.
PRICE RANGE
₱5,059 - ₱6,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsCrumpler
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CABINS AT HEALING SPRINGS - UPDATED 2024 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Crumpler, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cabins at Healing Springs
Which popular attractions are close to The Cabins at Healing Springs?
Nearby attractions include Phipps Farm and Country Store Jam (4.7 km) and Cedar Hill Park (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cabins at Healing Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, off-site canoeing, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at The Cabins at Healing Springs?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Cabins at Healing Springs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cabins at Healing Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riverhouse Country Inn, River House Bed and Breakfast, and Blevins Subs 2 Go.
Are pets allowed at The Cabins at Healing Springs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Cabins at Healing Springs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars