We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatteras Island Inn

Save
Share
46745 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Lowest prices for your stay
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
PricelineUS$74
Agoda.comUS$74
eDreamsUS$74
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (82)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (74)

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Public wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
271Reviews4Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 88
  • 46
  • 22
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Caroline L wrote a review May 2021
19 contributions
+1
The photos on the ad don't portray the hotel with the modern make over it has undergone. The room was comfortable with plush beds, hyperallergenic pillows and comforters, friendly and welcomimg staff, the owner called us to ensure our reservation and arrival time, access to the rooms are digital codes texted to your phone for modern technology and safety, and walking distance to numerous restaurants and the Buxton Beach. I loved my stay, so grateful for the extra pillows we requested and towels the staff brought with smiles and warmth, and botanical soaps, shampoo, and conditioners. They paid attention to every detail to make our stay extraordinary. They made our weekend getaway with another couple worthwhile and peaceful. Thank you! We will be back soon for more Beach fun and comfortable stay when the outdoor pool is open for the summer season.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Karen C wrote a review May 2021
Calistoga, California269 contributions112 helpful votes
We arrived, very tired. Luckily found this great place to stay. The clerk was very helpful & had info on the ferry for the next day. The room was clean, well stocked & the bed was comfortable. Lots of extra pillows was nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Maleta Slaughter, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn
Responded 14 May 2021
We are very pleased to hear your feedback. We to see you on your next visit.
Read more
James N wrote a review Sep 2020
Southport, North Carolina10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Comments: 1. The sales flyer photos looked great which is why we booked there; however, the realty was quite different almost felt like it was photo shopped. 2. Room was nicely appointed and clean; however, it was vastly overpriced at over $250.00 for a one-night stay. 3. Front desk staff (fellow) was quite gruff. 4. The facility said juice, coffee and tea available. What I found was a juice machine not working properly (only chilled water came out) and there were no lids or cream for the coffee. I mentioned this to the staff about this and the fellow expressed no desire to address the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay there...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tabby S wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I booked a room for my sister and I to come down August 2nd. About an hour out from the hotel, we see a road sign saying the island was evacuated (started on the 1st). We didn’t receive a call telling us this. After already driving 4 hours we decided to find somewhere else to stay. I called the hotel to see if I would get a refund since I couldn’t get on the island due to the evacuation. The lady said yes she already refunded it (she never asked my name). It’s now the 18th I’ve called about every day for almost a week and they won’t put a manager on the phone even though they said she’s the only person who can “look at reservations”, said it was “refunded”, then said that it was never charged (my bank account says different), Expedia has tried to contact them and they wouldn’t respond to them. Finally they emailed Expedia back and said I won’t be refunded due to policies... It was an EVACUATION how could I possibly be there for my stay when no one was allowed on the island. Which no one informed us about. They act like they don’t want to help and never asked my name, not once. So pretty much the staff is a joke, the manager is an even bigger joke and they will take your money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Maleta Slaughter, General Manager at Hatteras Island Inn
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Hi Ms Selby. After reading your review on Trip Advisor I immediately contacted Expedia on your behalf. They will be reaching out to you to start the refund process. Due to the incoming hurricane and the mandatory evacuation, your reservation was cancelled by the Hatteras Island Inn and your credit card was not charged by us.It is indeed hotel policy that we inform any incoming guests of a mandatory evacuation or approaching hurricane.
Read more
tobybearmi wrote a review Jul 2020
Jackson, Michigan21 contributions2 helpful votes
Enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Hatteras Island Inn. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Room was very clean and had a lot of nice unexpected features (Microwave, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker). Pool was very nice, clean, and refreshing. Walking distance to a convenience store, several restaurants, and the beach. All in all I'd definitely stay here again. Two great big thumbs up! 👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn hatteras island hotel buxton, comfort inn buxton, buxton comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksHatteras IslandBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hatteras Island Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Hatteras Island Inn?
Nearby attractions include Canadian Hole (0.1 km), Uncle Eddy's Frozen Custard and 18-Hole Mini Golf (0.2 km), and Fox Watersports (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hatteras Island Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Hatteras Island Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hatteras Island Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hatteras Island Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buxton Munch Company, Orange Blossom Bakery, and Rusty's Surf And Turf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hatteras Island Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hatteras Island Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cape Hatteras Lighthouse (1.8 km).
Is Hatteras Island Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.