We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9239 Valley Blvd (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$144
FindHotelUS$144
Expedia.comUS$144
PricelineUS$144
TravelocityUS$144
CheapTicketsUS$144
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (218)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Green Park Inn
Updated 25/08/20

About

#5 of 17 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
648Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 318
  • 197
  • 78
  • 42
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Blair S wrote a review May 2021
Long Beach, Mississippi19 contributions4 helpful votes
Great hotel, like staying in a beautiful museum, breakfast was great, service outstanding. We had an a/c malfunction and they fixed it fast! Highly recommend. Very close to Blowing Rock As well as the city of Blowing Rock Whitehall was a bit busy but the hotel was quiet refuge!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make reservations well in advance
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Green Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing! We're so glad you felt that our hotel was a refuge for you and that you enjoyed your trip. We were happy to help you with your AC, and we appreciate you letting us know that you needed assistance so we could take care of you and keep you comfortable. Thank you for recommending us!
Read more
Darina B wrote a review May 2021
Raleigh, North Carolina48 contributions29 helpful votes
As my second time staying at Green Park Inn, I experienced the most wonderful customer service; they even stored my very expensive bike that I bring with me for cycling on the parkway. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that appreciates the history and charm of this hotel where you feel like at home. Rooms are spacious and gracious, restaurant and bar are just right (at the bar - I suggest the Greentini with St. Germain Elderflower liquor). Location of Green Park Inn is perfect: minutes from Blue Ridge Parkway where you can hike to local waterfalls or ride your bike, but also close to many other great attractions on the parkway and around Blowing Rock; hotel is easy to find and plenty of parking space.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Green Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for recommending us! We're glad you felt welcomed by our staff and that we were able to safely store your bike for you during your stay. We appreciate your compliments to our staff, and we'd love to see you on your next cycling adventure!
Read more
Steve D wrote a review May 2021
Ringgold, Virginia1 contribution
Appreciate historic hotels and this one was enjoyable. Enough modernization to fully enjoy. Bed, shower and size of room were all positives. The breakfast offers good choice and the tavern is great for burgers/chicken sandwich and shrimp and grits. This is old fashioned at its best, good food, helpful staff, clean rooms. Stayed 5 nights, just minutes from downtown and many attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Green Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing! We're glad you enjoyed the history of the hotel and dining in the tavern! We'd love to see you another time!
Read more
LMF1965 wrote a review Apr 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina179 contributions82 helpful votes
For years, we have seen this lovely property and always thought it was above our means. We were pleasantly surprised to find that was not so and so we booked an April weekend away. We checked in on a Friday afternoon and headed to our room, only to find that it was operated by steam heat and it was a MILLION degrees in the room: so incredibly hot!! We closed the vent on the heater but it did not get any cooler. We stopped by the front desk and it was acknowledged that this is an issue and that after dinner we could pick up a fan. Well, we picked up the fan.. but such a laugh we had: it was not an actual fan intended to cool off a room: it was a small personal size fan to barely cool your face, much less a space. We tried to open the windows but one of our windows would not stay open. The doors do not fit the doorframes properly and light shines around the doors: not the best advertisement for safety. But we got through the night and decided to make the best of it. Saturday afternoon we were resting and all of a sudden, both the beds and in fact, the whole room begins to vibrate...shaking for minutes. This continued to happen throughout the day. That evening, we asked the front desk clerk and were told "oh yes, it's the laundry room downstairs". We were on the 3rd floor! The day shift front desk staff was quite rude.. we asked about a 'ghost log" (its' written in the hotel book in the room) and she rolled her eyes and said "there is not one" and as we sat in the lobby that first evening, it was noticed she rolled her eyes often and looked unhappy anytime anyone asked her anything. The Inn is lovely but has a very dark look (in keeping with the times of it's greatness I suppose) and is very musty smelling. We will not go back... sadly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 330!!! LOL
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Green Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing! We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, we have been struggling, as many business have, with finding employees, so many of our employees are quite new and are still being trained in best practices for assisting our guests and in learning how the hotel works in general, which seems to be the biggest contributing factor of the issues you had during your stay. We do apologize, and we are continuing our efforts to further the training to correct some of these issues. We do have rooms that operate on steam heat, and it seems that a previous guest must have opened the valve to increase the amount of heat in the room. Normally, housekeeping would catch this and adjust it before your arrival, but it must have been missed and again we apologize for that, and that the front desk associate didn't appropriately handle the issue when it arose. They should have offered to help adjust your heat, or move you to another room if possible, as opposed to offering a small personal fan that we keep at the front desk for our staff to use. We believe that the washing machine in the laundry room may have become unseated during your stay, which could have caused a vibration, and that has since been corrected. We don't operate the laundry machines during the evening, so we hope that any vibration was only during the day. Our owners and management are very particular to promote the history of the hotel, and we don't include any "paranormal" history in any of our promotional materials, so we don't know how anything in your room would have mentioned a ghost log, unless it was an article left by a previous guest, but we do apologize for any miscommunication. We have seen articles that mention a ghost log that was apparently at the hotel during a previous ownership, but we don't have one, nor do we have access to the one that did exist. Again, we really appreciate your feedback, so we are able to direct our attention toward bettering our guest experiences and making improvements where needed.
Read more
Steven R. wrote a review Apr 2021
Wilmington, North Carolina40 contributions3 helpful votes
I looked forward to staying at this historic hotel. I selected it after viewing several different choices. I specifically looked forward to the breakfast as part of our stay. Upon arrival we learned that they they were setting reservation times for breakfast (I assume due to COVID). The earliest reservation was at 9 AM, but unfortunately I had already set an entrance reservation time for Grandfather Mountain at 9:30. So we asked if they could simply fix a breakfast to go at 8, but couldn't do that until 9 AM. I understand setting up reservation times to spread out people, but not being able to fix a breakfast to go, I don't understand this one at all. The historic ambience of the hotel was interesting. The bed was comfortable to me (not so for my wife). Offered easy access to The Blowing Rock. I wish I could comment on the breakfast quality, but can't as we did not receive breakfast as part of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Green Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing, and we do apologize that our staff did not accommodate your to-go breakfast request. We've actually been attempting to reach out to you personally, but have been unable to do so because the party that you made your reservation through didn't provide any contact information. We believe that our staff didn't understand our breakfast reservation process, and they clearly believed that we wouldn't be able to take a food order beyond what our reservation book allowed. We have since spoken with them to make sure they understand that we may be able to take to-go orders, and that they can check with management to see if we can better accommodate guests that have specific needs in the future. We are so sorry for your inconvenience, and appreciate you letting us know that this happened so we can take steps to correct this.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the green park hotel blowing rock, green park inn, park inn green
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Green Park Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Green Park Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (2.9 km), Doc's Rocks Gem Mine (5.2 km), and Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Green Park Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Green Park Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Green Park Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Green Park Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Sunny Rock Eggs and Things, and Kilwin's.
Are pets allowed at The Green Park Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Green Park Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Green Park Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (4.5 km) and Flat Top Manor (4.5 km).
Is The Green Park Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.