We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510 New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (33)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pipi Dune B&B
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Travelers' Choice
Pipi Dune is a purpose built Bed & Breakfast with separate guest accommodation. Located in a quiet cul de sac and within easy walking distance of pictureque Buffalo Beach, guests can walk along the sand on their way to the town centre with its trendy restaurants and cafes.We have a guest lounge, kitchenette & satellite T.V. Also free of charge is wifi, a BBQ area and off street parking.A cooked breakfast from our menu is served at a time that suits our guests, is inclusive and part of our service. There is a self serve option.We are very happy to offer advice on where to go and what to see in our very scenic part of New Zealand.We provide picnic equipment & spades for Hot Water Beach.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Danish
299Reviews1Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 238
  • 50
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wekawoo wrote a review May 2021
Snells Beach, New Zealand2 contributions
We had an enjoyable two nights here in Whitianga. Wonderful host. Yummy breakfast cooked by Wayne. He couldn't do enough for us. Quiet street. Nice room with bathroom. We had the bigger room. Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great parking
See more room tips
Response from Wayne Fletcher, Owner at Pipi Dune B&B
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Wekawoo, Thank you for your time in submitting a review witch is very much appreciated and we hope to see you in the future , Kind regards Wayne & Lizette
Read more
david w wrote a review Apr 2020
cambridge23 contributions66 helpful votes
We had extra days to fill as we couldn't go to Australia due to the shut down. Well, what a last-minute find this was! So close for a dip in the sea, and real quality accommodation, yet still with a 'home' feeling. Host Wayne made us welcome and was really helpful with suggestions of what to do, and lent us towels and robes to take to the 'Lost Spring' which was worth a visit. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Wander08941608650, Owner at Pipi Dune B&B
Responded 5 Apr 2020
Hi team UK, Thank you for your kind words and choosing to stay with us for those last days of your holiday so stay safe and healthy for the future , Wayne & Lizette
Read more
sa2vicfalls wrote a review Mar 2020
Geelong, Australia73 contributions35 helpful votes
We recently had the pleasure of staying at Pipi Dune B&B for 4 nights. Because of the length of stay we had the very comfortable deluxe room with our own private entrance and car park at the door. This room included a queen size bed and also a single bed and would suit a family, spotlessly clean and quality linen. Our host Wayne was very helpful in as much as what to do and where to go etc. He also cooked a very lovely breakfast. There was always tea, coffee, juice and fruit available to help yourself to at any time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It is a little way out of the town centre, but a lovely boardwalk along the beach.
See more room tips
Response from Wander08941608650, Owner at Pipi Dune B&B
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words and one day we might cross paths again . Kind regards Wayne & Lizette
Read more
NiNo1189 wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions12 helpful votes
We were here for 3 Nights. The owner is a very nice guy and made an amazing breakfast for us.The House is so nice and the rooms are very comfortable. It was our first stay in NZL and a perfect start. Thank you very much!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Wander08941608650, Owner at Pipi Dune B&B
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thanks for your lovely words and may you enjoy the rest of New Zealand ,be safe you Two Regards the nice guy at pipi dune
Read more
Malcolm S wrote a review Feb 2020
Aldershot, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed for three nights. Our room was modern and spotlessly clean. It had its own side entrance and a sitting area outside. The hosts were very welcoming and provided a great breakfast. They also thoughfully provided a spade and bucket for Hot Water Beach and a beach umbrella. The room was on the small side but once organised it presented no problem. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
US$82 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaWhitianga
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pipi Dune B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Pipi Dune B&B?
Nearby attractions include Combat & Fun Zone Adventure & Family Park (7.1 km), The Lost Spring (0.9 km), and Shakespeare Cliff Scenic and Historic Reserve (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pipi Dune B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Pipi Dune B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Pipi Dune B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pipi Dune B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Purangi Winery Pizzeria, That Curry Place, and Blue Ginger.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pipi Dune B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Danish.