Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City

Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City

Traveler (99)
Habitación king
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Join Wyndham Rewards Free
₱12,318
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#15 of 36 hotels in Long Island City
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Free breakfast
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

3870 12th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6116
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
LaGuardia Airport
Teterboro Airport
14.5 km
See all flights
21st St
4 minNew York City Subway
123Reviews17Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 73
  • 25
  • 11
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Foodiefun wrote a review Feb 2020
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom57 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is lovely and clean, staff are super friendly and helpful and beds are comfy.
I have a huge gripe though and that is the waste !! Breakfast (avoid the scrambled egg...honestly) is all served on paper plates with plastic cutlery, paper bowls and cups. All the condiments are small packets and the waste is almost criminal. So unnecessary. I understand also that the breakfast is complimentary but it’s a bit of a let down; stale apples, stale cereal and powdered egg and sausages that smell so bad I couldn’t bring myself to try.

Location is good, quite far out from anything to do but an easy 5 min walk to subway.

The rooms are definitely not noise proof and the aircon sounds like a plane is taking off in your room; so unless you have ear plugs.

The bathroom is basically in the bedroom with no door....so not ideal if you want any privacy...I had to run the tap to use the toilet so my partner couldn’t hear.

Overall though, it’s been OK.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
malbertell wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York161 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Special thanks to Alex S. Ask for him, he exemplifies outstanding customer service.

This hotel has spacious rooms, a large lobby, is a 10 minute car ride to Manhattan, and within walking distance to the F train.

They also offer complimentary breakfast and all staff has been very courteous and professional. I highly recommend if you are looking for an inexpensive stay with close proximity to Manhattan.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: 10 Minutes to Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
L. Karamoy wrote a review Jan 2020
Jakarta, Indonesia7 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel location is in Queens Long Island City accross the UN Building, and the price could be 1/3 of a Manhattan location hotel. High quality management and professional staffs. The Subway stop is about 200 feet.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ReyVelasquez50931, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear AndyKaramoy, Thank you for staying with us at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City and sharing your feedback. I will go ahead and share this review with the staff. We hope to see you soon!! Thank you. Best regards, Rey Velasquez Front office manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah L wrote a review Jan 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Wingate LIC was quite disappointing. Initially we were impressed by the appearance, despite it being located in a not great neighborhood. The hotel appeared to have been recently renovated and they offer continental breakfast each morning. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk to the subway, which was only a 15 min ride to Times Square. We did immediately notice, however, that the employees of the hotel were mostly either wearing their masks under their nose or not wearing a mask at all. Many guests were walking around without masks and nobody seemed to be enforcing this policy.

The breakfast was just OK. Again, health protocols were not followed as there was an eating area but nobody checked vaccination status. The guests eating in the dining area were obviously unmasked and quite close to the tables of food.

The room itself was renovated which was nice, but the walls were thin and we could hear children running and yelling in the halls. Things suddenly took a turn after our first 3 nights, when we discovered roaches in our room. The first roach was running across the desk, when we finally tracked this one down and killed it, another roach ran across the floor. This was totally disgusting as our luggage was left open and anything could have crawled in. The response from the hotel was muted and the man working the desk that evening was quite snarky and defensive. It was clear by his response that roaches are not uncommon in this hotel. With no apologies, we were given another room.

The room we were given was actually a downgrade from our first room, smelling like old cigarette smoke and we discovered after sleeping there for a night, the door did not latch. The door was essentially unlocked all night. Again, the hotel response was lacking and we were told there is a trick to maneuver the door handle in a certain way that would make sure the door latches. This was not an issue in our first room or with any hotel door I have ever used before. Clearly it was faulty but nobody took responsibility for this safety concern.

We ended up leaving the hotel early despite the additional inconvenience and cost this caused.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kleissp wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about this hotel was top notch save for two minor things. I stayed in two rooms over 7 nights. The rooms were modern, clean, quiet and quite comfortable with nice views of Queens. The staff were very friendly and easily helped me with a few odd requests I asked for concerning my son who has autism.

The 'hot' breakfast could use some variety, eating sausage every single day gets old.
Also, there is no parking and the local lot, which is six blocks away, costs an additional $30 a day with no in and out privileges. But if you have no car to park, this hotel is fantastic and a good value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fran wrote a review May 2022
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was so great! Especially the management (Michelle) - Very polite and accommodating! Great overall stay. The service wasn’t slow, quality room care and I felt extremely safe and relaxed. Rating this place 10/10 for solo/business trips!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tricia C wrote a review Apr 2022
Frisco, United States19 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First let me start off by saying the best part of my stay was the bed. It was very comfortable and I absolutely love that they iron their sheets. You don’t see that often anymore in this class of hotel. To me it is one of the best signs they care about their service. When hotels don’t iron sheets the rooms feel a little bit dirty. No, I don’t iron my own sheets, but no one pays me to do it either.

The room was also very clean. What more could you ask for? Well, a better breakfast would be nice. It wasn’t the worst COVID era breakfast I’ve had, but it wasn’t good either. Small yogurts were available, but not a lot more. There were packaged muffins etc. There were also bagels, but no cereal or oatmeal. They had apples that weren’t very good and on a couple of the days I was there they had bananas. I was there a week. There aren’t a lot of breakfast choices around either. Once I took the bus to Mac Donald’s but then realized there was a Subway nearby. I had breakfast there one day. There is a Dunkin Donuts near the subway station.

There is a fridge in the room and I appreciate that, but no microwave. There is one in the breakfast area and it looked pretty busy in the evening.

The front desk personnel were pleasant as one would expect. And the hotel is only a five minute walk from the subway station making it just 15 minutes or less from Manhattan. The area is a little rough looking, but my niece who has been living in Queens for over ten years, said it wasn’t dangerous. I was traveling alone and as a female I didn’t encounter any problems. The one time I was out after dark, I got a Lyft.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reynaldo Velasquez, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Thank you for your kind review, Tricia! I am so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Although, I am sorry breakfast was not up to par. I will certainly discuss with my team, on what we can do to add more variety to our breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again! Warm Regards, Michelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joon C wrote a review Sep 2022
Central Florida, Florida1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had the opportunity to stay a few nights at this Long Island City Gem for a long weekend

Check in was super fast & easy
Staff went out of their way to accommodate & make sure my wife and I felt welcomed especially Jose.

We loved that the hotel was conveniently close to the trains we were a hop jump & a skip away from The City.

Definitely enjoyed the continental breakfast they had everything we enjoy to eat.

Our room was cozy, we had an amazing view of The City Skyline which is so nostalgic.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for the following reasons

Cleanliness
Staff goes above and beyond
Continental Breakfast
Location
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle B, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Thank you for your kind words Joon! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dwinga390016 wrote a review Jul 2022
Gloucester, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in Long Island city many times, the ease of the metro being one block away makes it so convenient for site seeing. A little further walk and you can access all the major metro lines to manhattan, JFK one metro ride and transfer +$8.00 air train. If you have the chance pay the extra for a bridge view you will not be disappointed or with any aspect of this hotel, this was our first visit to this hotel, it will be our hotel of choice from now on when in NY.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle B, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank D wrote a review Jan 2023
Simsbury, Connecticut114 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
So, is the hotel as great as so many reviews have indicated? Definitely. The staff is well trained and friendly. The included continental breakfast buffet makes the hotel an even better value. Our room was clean and well appointed with a view of Long Island City. So why am I not giving it an excellent rating? Well, as they say, it’s complicated. In my opinion the neighborhood is not more dangerous than a lot of other areas of the city, but it is not midtown Manhattan with lots of people around late at night. My friend and I are both seniors, but we managed to go with the flow. Still, the neighborhood will not work for everyone, but the hotel’s value and staff’s professionalism are there to offset any uncomfortable feelings about the area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle B, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Responded Jan 17, 2023
Thank you, Frank. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AndorkaZoltan asked a question Jul 2022
Mosonmagyarovar, Hungary19 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, Do you have a rooftop terrace in your hotel? Thank you very much!
Answer from dave m
3 contributions1 helpful vote
They do not. Also be aware of your belongings when staying there.
Marica G asked a question May 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you also accept debit cards for deposit?
BSH101 asked a question Feb 2020
New York City, New York46 contributions18 helpful votes
Do they have HBO or SHOWTIME or CINEMAX channels on the tv??
Answer from KingKongNYC
Shenzhen, China447 contributions69 helpful votes
I only remember there a movie channel . Not sure is it HBO or showtime . Call the hotel and ask ! I’m sure they can answer your question. Very friendly staff’s
Answer from NicoleFNJane
42 contributions7 helpful votes
Nope, I did not stay there because no one would even answer my phone calls.
Navigate15863545010 wrote a tip Feb 2023
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want breakfast stay somewhere else"
Read full review
Left my heart in NYC wrote a tip Jan 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for an extra blanket "
Read full review
Morgan M wrote a tip Dec 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No microwave in the room, but there is a coffee maker and mini fridge. There is a microwave in the lobby for use"
Read full review
eia wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors will likely have better views of New York"
Read full review
Hussainr wrote a tip Aug 2022
West Midlands, United Kingdom227 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors provide a city view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Long Island City area.
PRICE RANGE
₱8,730 - ₱15,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkQueensLong Island City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WINGATE BY WYNDHAM LONG ISLAND CITY - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Which popular attractions are close to Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City?
Nearby attractions include Queensbridge Park (0.3 km), Vista Sky Lounge (0.6 km), and The Cliffs at LIC (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Court Square Diner, Astoria Seafood, and The Baroness.
Is Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Long Island City.
Are there any historical sites close to Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (7.8 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (7.7 km), and Hamilton Park (6.5 km).
Is Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Long Island City HotelsLong Island City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Long Island CityHotels near Wingate by Wyndham Long Island City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars