We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins

Traveler (38)
Room & Suite (11)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The main lodge features whirlpool and budget rooms. Our cabins are couples/ whirlpool.Moderate pricing.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf Course
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
36Reviews
39Photos
2Q+A
5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 8
  • 5
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed in the Tree House, levels two and three of a four-story building. Overall it was a good stay, although there are some things they could work on and a few things to be aware of. The space is huge--an odd layout, but plenty of room. Huge windows are everywhere, so you
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Responded 18 Nov 2018
Thanks for the review. Treehouse is a huge hit with repeat guests so we hope you come back also. Will look into the dish washer, we were not aware that is was an issue.
Read more
We stayed at the Cub Cabin off of Sudderth Drive. The cabin was excellent, provided all the comforts of home. Kitchen well stocked pots, pans, dishes, utensils, and silverware. Nice TV, couch, and sitting chairs. Towels, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Front porch and
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Thank you for the kind review. Cabin living offers so much more than most other options out there, so it is always awesome when folks like you find us then share with others. Come again soon.
Read more
Overall, we had an amazing stay. We stayed in lodge #2 and were pretty content with the size of the room, perfect for two people. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the tub was great. The location, we thought, was at a nice spot. If you explore the area you'll end up at a
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Thank you for the kind review. SO happy that you discovered us. Amid the clutter of rental options anymore it is nice when those of us actually in the business are appreciated for what we offer. Our staff is awesome and really want every guest to enjoy their stay ever time. We have discovered over the years that most people do not want maid service, so we stopped offering it everywhere except at Shadow Mountain Lodge, which is at the entrance of the upper canyon. This decision allows us to keep our prices more than competitive. However, next time you can simply call the office and we will happily run up more towels or other supplies. Come again soon.
Read more
My husband and I took our honeymoon in Ruidoso and for the last half of the week we were booked to stay in the Salmon Run cabin of Whispering Pines Cabins from Thursday night to Saturday night. At first the cabin was just fine. Small and rustic as the pictures on the website
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Responded 29 Apr 2018
These people never stayed at Upper Canyon Inn. We have no idea why they posted this here. We asked Trip Advisor to take this down but their response was to take our response down, then they told us to go to the management page where we supposedly could dispute this by clicking on the posting in question and filling out the form on why it is an issue with us. However, Trip Advisor has the posting locked out from clicking on it so none of that is possible. They also do not offer a phone number too call to sort this out so I guess this fake review stands.
Read more
We have stayed at Upper Canyon for 10 days for the past 2 years. We have never had a complaint, found anything wrong with our cabin (and I am OCD so if anything had been out of place or not right I would have noticed it and alerted the staff.). We enjoyed the weather, the peace
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Responded 27 Apr 2018
Yes! So wonderful when repeat guests share their experiences with others. So happy to have you back again!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & Suite
Soiled sheets and dirty bathroom with mild and rust. No refunds for their dirty service. Any oth
Soiled sheets and dirty bathroom with mild and rust. No refunds for their dirty service. Any oth
Soiled sheets and dirty bathroom with mild and rust. No refunds for their dirty service. Any oth
Soiled sheets and dirty bathroom with mild and rust. No refunds for their dirty service. Any oth
Soiled sheets and dirty bathroom with mild and rust. No refunds for their dirty service. Any oth
PreviousNext
123
I didn't see anywhere to park a motor home when we was there
0 votes
If you are coming down on Mechem, turn right at the stop light by Ranchers and Ace to go in to the Upper Canyon. Directions are also in the confirmation emails they send.
0 votes
"The very last cabin on the end past the 2 story lodge is awesome!"
"Most of the time you have to book several nights"
"17 steps to get upstairs. Make sure you can handle them"
"Cabins 11 & 12 face sit closer to a busy road than the other ones but not too loud."
"Even though the lodge is close to downtown, the combination of road construction and lack of sidewalks in some areas makes walking somewhat of an adventure. I would avoid walking if you have children or are elderly."
PRICE RANGE
US$175 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
upper canyon inn and cabins hotel ruidoso
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoRuidoso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing