We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
399 Somerset St, Harrison, NJ 07029-2335
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (224)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (30)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Element Harrison-Newark
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 2 hotels in Harrison
Travelers' Choice
Enhance your stay in the Newark area by checking into Element Harrison - Newark. Our modern hotel in Harrison, New Jersey provides spacious and rejuvenating accommodations near top area destinations like Newark Liberty International Airport. Our apartment-style guest rooms offer many smart amenities including kitchenettes so you have the features you need to stay comfortable.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking garage
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
615Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 380
  • 164
  • 36
  • 16
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jasmine S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at the Element for one night - I checked in late on a Monday and checked out before 9 am the next day. While having dinner with a friend in my studio room, a cockroach climbed across the window shade. I freaked out and killed it, and went downstairs to calmly ask for a partial refund. I told the folks at the night desk, repeatedly, that I knew this wasn’t their fault and that I didn’t need another room, I just wanted a partial refund. They moved me anyway, to what I now know is a more expensive room, and told me to talk to the morning staff ASAP and the supervisor could help me with the partial refund. The next morning I arrived at the front desk at 7 am to talk to the supervisor - her name is MaryAnn Cordine. I told her what had happened the night before, and that I had been advised to let her know what happened. I even sent the attached photo to the front desk to verify (if you’ve stayed there you will recognize the shade IMMEDIATELY). MC proceeded to tell me that not only was there nothing she could do, but that the team had upgraded me overnight and I now had “a much more expensive room” anyway. I told her I asked repeatedly for a refund, not an upgrade, and was moved. She told me repeatedly (almost without taking a breath) that there was nothing, nothing nothing she could do. 15 minutes later she calls up to my room and asks for an email with proof of the roach. I emailed it. I also told her exactly where the roach was (I killed it on the windowsill and it had fallen directly behind the couch). This is the response I received: “I have given your concerns and issue to my management team about your stay. The Management has inspected the whole room and did not find anything in the room. The hotel did move your room and upgraded it at the time of it being brought to our attention. We do appreciate you bringing the issue and concern to us and for the inconvenience we will refund $50 from your room rate for last night. If you have any questions please feel free to reach out to me.” TL;DR: DO NOT STAY HERE THERE ARE ROACHES
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Response from Christina Scoppetta, General Manager at Element Harrison-Newark
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings JSudark, Thank you for your valued feedback. Please note that we do have a thorough pest control plan in place to prevent instinces like this from happening. Upon reviewing the photo and the events that have happened we did everything possible. We offered a room move, we gave you a partial refund and handled it accordingly. If you have any further questions please contact Marriott Customer care. Thank you!
Read more
Jason M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Before I say anything else be sure to meet Carlos at the front desk. Carlos was the highlight of our stay. Super friendly, EXTREMELY generous and a genuine human being. A true pure soul. I’m honored to have met him. If you’re looking for incredible customer service be sure to meet Carlos. I could go on about Carlos for the whole review Our room was incredible. Full kitchen, full dishwasher, full fridge, sink, microwave, pots and pans etc.. but not at the cost of losing other options. They still had room for a couch and tv area. I’ll never stay at another hotel as long as that area has an Element. It’s my first choice now. For all the amenities it’s a shame we were only there for the night. We’ll be back for sure. We’re already thinking about coming back next summer
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
BOB T wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
CARLOS at front-desk is a great asset to the Hotel. He was most accommodating to us and when we left some items after checking out - he personally retrieved them from the room and got them back to us. Room & Hotel very clean and we will stay there again when visiting family in the area !!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Stephen B wrote a review Aug 2021
Annapolis, Maryland29 contributions23 helpful votes
This was my first ever stay at an Element hotel, despite being a Lifetime Gold Bonvoy Member. I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, with friendly staff and a well-stocked breakfast despite pandemic precautions. The location across from the PATH train could not be beat. The attached TaKorea restaurant was good for dinner. If I am being picky, the furniture was a bit utilitarian rather than attractive, but it did its job. And the full size refrigerator and filtered water dispenser was a nice bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rajkumarie N wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
This property is very nice and would recommend it for sure. Dominique was super helpful, very professional, She made my stay very welcoming and relax since I was very worried and hesitant to go check in. Thank you for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My room had a good view
See more room tips
US$154 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesNew JerseyHarrison
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Element Harrison-Newark
Which popular attractions are close to Element Harrison-Newark?
Nearby attractions include New Jersey Performing Arts Center (1.0 km), Ironbound (1.2 km), and Red Bull Arena (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Element Harrison-Newark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Element Harrison-Newark?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Element Harrison-Newark?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Element Harrison-Newark?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Element Harrison-Newark?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forno's of Spain Restaurant, La Fiamma, and Seabra's Marisqueira.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Element Harrison-Newark?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Element Harrison-Newark have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Element Harrison-Newark offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Element Harrison-Newark have airport transportation?
Yes, Element Harrison-Newark offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Element Harrison-Newark located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Harrison.
Are any cleaning services offered at Element Harrison-Newark?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.