We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lily Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Burlington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Lily Inn is a small boutique bed and breakfast located one block from the Delaware River in the historic district of Burlington. This 300 years old Inn was extensively restored in 2008 and still retains it's original hardwood floors, five fireplaces, and 10' ceilings. The five large bedrooms feature private bathrooms, with four poster beds, ceiling fans, free internet service and premium beds. The Lily Inn is conveniently located near the NJ TPK, Interstates 95 & 295. The Inn is two blocks from the NJ River Line train station, with connections to Philadelphia and New York. Enjoy a brief respite while traveling or stay a day or two for a mini escape from your daily routine. Enjoy the Journey!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Free public parking nearby
Street parking
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
130Reviews2Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 120
  • 7
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bambrey wrote a review Dec 2023
Concord, Massachusetts5 contributions1 helpful vote
An excellent place to stay when visiting the area. Old Town ambiance with every comfort and convenience. Loved the interior furnishings, and the back garden for strolling & sitting--including the scent of boxwood (typical of Burlington and the Middle Atlantic region--I've missed it since I moved away!). The immediate neighborhood is architecturally charming and walkable; the nearby waterfront is particularly lovely. The host, Candace, was responsive and welcoming. She had good info about the area. She provided a delicious breakfast, made to order. As I was traveling solo, I appreciated her gentle conversation as I enjoyed my meal. Choose the Lily Inn for your stay if you want an authentic experience of the best that Burlington has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Tea/coffee/healthy snacks always available in the kitchen. Stairs to rooms are steep and somewhat...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gabo3455 wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York14 contributions4 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
We had to attend a funeral in a nearby town and decided to book a room at The Lily Inn. A wonderful place full of charm and personality. Everything is updated while keeping the history and architecture of the house. Comfortable with everything you need Great rooms, the quality of the bed, the sheets or towels, insanely clean, everything outstanding, airy and fresh in an atmosphere of old and beautiful. We had The Lydia Richie Room, there is a bathtub /jacuzzi. Not very easy to take a shower. If you like a jacuzzi then this room is for you. Other than that a spacious, beautiful room with a king bed that 4 people could sleep on it (just kidding) The breakfast was very good, served at a dinning table on the first floor, classic. Thank you. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The Lydia Richie Room has a jacuzzi. Not easy to get in and out for a shower.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Spaulding, Innkeeper at The Lily Inn
Responded Jun 26, 2022
Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. We're very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully you can visit Burlington City again, stay at our Lily Inn, and spend some time enjoying our historic downtown!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alexa F wrote a review Nov 2023
Philadelphia77 contributions20 helpful votes
Spent the night at this charming Bed& Breakfast in an old historical building located in walking distance to the river and local shops and restaurants. Very clean and welcoming. Full of beautiful decorative touches, even an enchanting garden out back and easy, FREE parking. The staff took excellent care of us and provided special snacks (delicious homemade cup cakes!) and a lovely custom breakfast. Our room was super comfortable and we enjoyed our stay very much. 6 rooms/suites, stairs, lots of old-world touches, combined with modern amenities. We will definitely return if we visit the area again. THANK YOU!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pricha18 wrote a review Sep 2023
Delta, Pennsylvania24 contributions65 helpful votes
After a previous stay at this hotel I thought we had found a gem. This second time however, was disappointing. Upon arrival we could not gain access to the hotel. The door was locked and we did not receive the welcome email that contained the door entry code. After 15 minutes and 3 phone calls we managed to get in. The key to our room was supposed to be on the bedside table but it was not. We therefore had to leave the door to our room open when we went out for dinner. Breakfast on the first morning consisted on fresh fruit, yoghurt and bagels but no cream cheese, butter or any other spread for the bagel. Juice and coffee were provided but no glasses to drink the juice from. We could not find a staff member to ask for these items. Breakfast on the second morning was non existent. No food, juice or coffee was available and no staff member could be found. We had to go elsewhere for food. We decided to leave early on the third morning and find breakfast rather than wait and be disappointed again. This is a lovely hotel and the staff, when available, are very friendly. Our previous stay had been wonderful so not sure what the problem was this time around.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Solomon, Owner at The Lily Inn
Responded Sep 11, 2023
We are veery sorry that this stay was disappointing. Our lovely hostess had to take leave very suddenly because her mother unfortunately has been diagnosed terminal. We had to cover for her with very little notice and unfortunately the person who was hosting over those days did not perform up to our standards. If you look at our reviews over the [past several years you will find them to be exemplary. We have corrected this situation so that our extremely high standards will be upheld. Please call us to set up a complimentary stay and leet us show you that we have uplifted the services to where it should be. Please ask for Dolly or Sharon when you call. Sharon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jack K wrote a review Aug 2023
New London, Connecticut2 contributions
What a gem of a place. Historic and only a block from the Delaware. Anyway, go before the area is discovered and rates go up. Shawnee was our innkeeper and she made us feel very welcomed. Great experience and next time we'll stay a few nights so we can explore the area. By the way, a lot of restaurants and antique shops. Fun.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew & Molly wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
This B&B felt like stepping into history in the historical city of Burlington. The host was very friendly and made everyone feel at home. Our breakfast was delicious and the perfect way to start our morning. We loved the views of main street and beautiful trees. We had a beautiful marble shower, a comfortable bed and a fire place. This B&B is located in the perfect spot for a walk or bike ride around a city filled with history and river views. We'd love to come back for another stay - thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take an early evening stroll in the garden on a summer night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robin G wrote a review Apr 2023
10 contributions10 helpful votes
This is a fabulous inn in an historic building filled with period furniture and decorating. The service was excellent including the full breakfast (omelot, bacon, toast, fruit, croissants, coffee, juice) all set in a gorgeous dining room. We felt like we'd gone back in time. It's just a block to the river park and right in the middle of a cute and very historic downtown (Ben Franklin hung out among other notables)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Be ready to carry your suitcase up a steep staircase.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HockeyJudge wrote a review Mar 2023
New York City, New York57 contributions37 helpful votes
When we first went to this bed and breakfast in October 2022, it was so wonderful. We could not wait to return--which we did in February 2023. We were incredibly disappointed. No one greeted us, no one showed us around. The fireplace did not work. Whoever the contact was (it was not the same people who were so wonderful in October) said that she would come from an hour away to fix it but she knew it worked (it did not). She indicated that she would not come until the morning to make breakfast. There was only one other person staying at the inn, with no owner in sight. Whoever it was showed up in the morning to make breakfast. We were not eating and expected to pay on the way out (I needed to change the credit card I was using. Unlike our first visit, where the office was open when we were to leave, this person knocked on our door at 9 am to tell us they were leaving and needed to run my card. I got some little credit card receipt under our door, no real Lily Inn receipt like we received the last time. When we left absolutely no one was around. This is not good at all. This inn is in an iffy neighborhood and many of the local establishments are closed. It was a bit of a scary situation. We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
valerie wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
I absolutely loved staying staying at the Lily Inn. Even in January it was completely worth the stay and a gorgeous place to spend the night. The owner, Sharon, was absolutely wonderful and took the time to talk to me and answer any questions I had about the history/design of this 300 year old home and never seemed bothered or inconvenienced by our stay. We missed the special breakfast, but even then there was still fresh cinnamon buns made and left on the counter for when we came down. 10/10 would recommend and in fact are trying to book another stay in two weeks when we can come with another couple.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RCA94501 wrote a review Nov 2022
Alameda, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I came up for one night on Veteran's day and we were so glad we did. The purpose of the trip was to have a place to stay once we were all done seeing Clue the play over in Bristol, just across the river. From the start we were greeted with warm hospitality, which carried on throughout our one-night stay. Alejandra and her husband TJ are such great hosts (weekends only for now) and made us feel right at home, sharing their local knowledge of Burlington and accommodating our every need. We stayed in the Garden Room, which had a comfy bed and a very nice view of the grounds behind the inn. I am a very picky sleeper, but somehow I managed to sleep like a baby. Other perks; very walkable, 10% discount at many of the local establishments, and charm, charm, charm. Check it out!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Burlington area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,560 - ₱12,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyBurlington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LILY INN - UPDATED 2023 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Burlington, NJ) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lily Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Lily Inn?
Nearby attractions include Historic Burlington Antiques and Art Emporium (0.4 km), Old St. Mary's Church (0.4 km), and Olde City Quilts (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lily Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and bicycle rental.
Which room amenities are available at The Lily Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lily Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lily Inn?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lily Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riverview Restaurant, Geraghty's Pub & Restaurant, and Francesco's.
Is The Lily Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Burlington.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lily Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting General Grant House (0.2 km) and Soul Anchor Of Burlington By Ms Nancy (0.2 km).
Does The Lily Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.