We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Website
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (190)
Room & Suite (79)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 28/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 28/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 59 hotels in Springfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center and The Tower Club• Breakfast and Lunch buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks and small bites, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1254Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 587
  • 311
  • 181
  • 93
  • 82
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
brit wrote a review Nov 2021
Branson, Missouri3 contributions
Rooms could use some updating. Lobby areas was very nice but disappointed by the room. Need better plug in outlets by the bed. Mine was coming out the wall and connection was very loose. Either our AC was broken or they control the temperature. Room never cooled off. AC wouldn’t come on at all on auto. We are from south Louisiana so even though it was 40 degrees outside we still like our AC on at night. Ice machines were also only located on select floors.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Dear Paradise31030092371, I'm so sorry for your poor impression and your disappointment while staying at our hotel. We regret that there was a mechanical issue with your AC and that you felt our rooms could use some updating. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
jmeyer010 wrote a review Aug 2021
Marthasville, Missouri3 contributions
Not a great experience!! We get that people are short staffed but it took almost 4 hours to get our rooms after attempting to Check in with our reservations. There are areas that are run down and safety issues like the indoor pool stairs that have sharp metal corroding areas on it. . The staff was not friendly at all and never once attempted to make the wait worth it. The web site is vague and breakfast is not included in the room price. Will not be staying here again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2021
Dear jmeyer010, We sincerely regret your experience. I apologize that we did not have a room ready for your arrival. This is not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided; I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay our guests have come to expect. Again, my sincere apologies for any stress we caused and thank you for taking the time to write. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
Pioneer45040880675 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is in need of a major renovation. We were in room 614 and the toilet didn’t work, the handle fell off the sink and there were screws coming out of the handle in the bathtub. Times are cracked and I think the carpet is from 1940. No matter microwave or refrigerator in rooms. staff is nice enough but we didn’t get any housekeeping and we stayed here for a week. The understanding was linens are changed after 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2021
Dear Pioneer45040880675, Our goal is to provide comfort to all our guests, so I regret that you did not enjoy your visit. We appreciate your attention to reviewing our hotel and do review your feedback as a team to continually improve. For this reason, we hope to better serve you upon your return to the area. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
KELOFF wrote a review Jun 2021
Columbia, Missouri83 contributions22 helpful votes
At hotel for conference. Stayed several nights. Sleeping room temp was over 80. Room was dark, worn, and not clean. Stains on white comforters. Restaurant was closed. Most ice machines out of order. Meeting rooms were even hotter. Felt bad for staff members. Too few and too new. Couldn’t get water for meeting rooms. Miserable experience. No plan to ever return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Dear KELOFF, We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience while attending a conference at our hotel. I regret that you found the temperature in our facilities too warm overall. Additionally, I'm sorry for any lapses in service you experienced. We value all your feedback and do review it as a team to continually improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will reconsider a return visit. We'd love the opportunity to serve you better. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
ATL_TX wrote a review Jun 2021
Texas, United States2 contributions
For a quick overnight this place is meh. That’s a bout it. Dated rooms and mattresses…A/C on 7th room did not work. My wife maybe slept 1 hour the night we stayed. Bathrooms were dated and cramped. Sink was in the room and not even in bathroom. The pillows were tiny and not comfortable. The iron board I used didn’t even fold up after use, it was broken. We would stay somewhere else next time. No question. It was an expensive $170/night for a sub-par stay in an “executive room” Executive room had 0 perks. Not even a couple bottles of water. Regrettably, unless new ownership came in, I would stay else where.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Dear ATL_TEX, I’m sorry that you did not find us to be a good value and that our accommodations were not to your liking. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages improvements for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Sincerely, Thys Jones General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university plaza hotel springfield, university plaza hotel and convention center
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSpringfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about University Plaza Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to University Plaza Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Springfield Cardinals (0.4 km), Blue Room Comedy Club (0.4 km), and Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at University Plaza Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at University Plaza Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at University Plaza Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to University Plaza Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gilardi's Ristorante, Ebbets Field, and Terrace Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at University Plaza Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does University Plaza Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, University Plaza Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does University Plaza Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, University Plaza Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is University Plaza Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Springfield.
Are any cleaning services offered at University Plaza Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at University Plaza Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.