North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks

M-28 East East Highway 28 and Federal Highway 13, Munising, MI 49862
Surprising red heart-shaped jacuzzi in this room.
Traveler (41)
Two Queen beds
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 7 motels in Munising
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are all new! We are 2 1/2 miles east of downtown Munising, all amenities: in lobby - a guest computer and printer, microwaves, coffee 24 hrs, all guest rooms have a 39" flat screen TV w/over 50 HD channels for enjoyment, refrig w/sm freezer, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, in room coffee, alarm clock with USB plug ins, internet throughout building, queen and king beds, some recliners in some room types, exercise equipment, Lg whirlpool and sauna, guest laundry, deluxe hot breakfast, located across from gas/grocery, snowmobile and ATV trails.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Mini golf
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
330Reviews5Q+A62Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 174
  • 90
  • 38
  • 7
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KarenMllr wrote a review Dec 2022
Skokie, Illinois4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location to many of the waterfalls and hikes in this gorgeous area. Not far from town and Pictured Rocks cruise ship. Friendly, clean hotel and a wonderful breakfast too. Beautiful part of the country. Our fall drive was lovely. Waterfalls great.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from North Star Hotel, Owner at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying your stay and Munising.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
porkister wrote a review Aug 2020
Toledo, Ohio69 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A couple of miles outside of Munising. Very clean. They offered breakfast and did their best in COVID times. Great variety. I doubt the tables were 6 feet apart though.
Rooms are large, clean, comfortable. Linens were spotless and beds were comfy, not too soft not too hard.
Looks newly renovated.
Overall, would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
iafamilytravel wrote a review Sep 2021
Mineral Point, Wisconsin182 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay at this conscientiously maintained motel We enjoyed the sizable hot tub after a day of hiking. Located in a large airy space, we were the only ones using it. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard. They request you not take food to the room but tables are spaced out and the use of hand sanitizer is required when you enter the dining room. It's a little outside of town, but still a good location to access area attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Sep 22, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily H wrote a review Jun 2021
13 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel seemed understaffed. We were told by the front desk that we couldn't exchange for clean towels until the housekeeper was there. We were told the housekeeper was there from 9 am -11:30 am and we would just need to find her in the hallway to exchange during that time period. This just isn't practical if, like us, you are there to hike and do activities that you need to get an early start for. Therefore we were unable to get clean towels because we were never at the hotel during those times. I understand that due to "Covid restrictions" housekeeping isn't allowed in the rooms, but I feel that the front desk should be able to get you what you need (clean towels, toilet paper, etc.) at any time. It's like that at any other hotel I've ever stayed in.
The breakfast was nothing special. The room was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We are under staffed do to lack of no one wants to work. So we are taking care of the breakfast and you can get towels from the front desk anytime. It is if you need to exchange towels , because of sanitary reasons, you would give dirty towels to housekeepers collected . You totally misunderstood.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim C wrote a review Aug 2021
Portage, Indiana9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading the reviews my expectations were not very high. But when we pulled in, I was happy to see the property was kept up. Stepping inside the doors to check in the lobby was clean, no terrible smells like other reviews said. The woman checking us in, gave us information as to which restaurants to go to for good food in the area. The housekeeper was leaving for the evening, but was super friendly and welcomed us along with thanking us for staying with them. The hall going to our room was clean, and looked like it had been recently updated. Our room was nicely decorated, extremely clean. Along with the bathroom. I would definitely stay here again, if we ever make it back up that way. The only negative I would have would be, not having access to more washcloths or towels until the housekeeper comes in in the morning. Most hotels keep some behind the registration desk, if the housekeeper is gone for the day. But we waited a short time in the morning before going out sightseeing for housekeeping to come in, and we were able to get a few clean washcloths. The lady that was handling the breakfast crowd, was very friendly, on her toes with making sure the tables were clean and the food well stocked. They have the usual hotel breakfast. Wide assortment of choices. It was filling, easy to get in and eat and be on our way. I know everyone is short handed and overworked with the Covid thing, but the staff that is there does a great job. THANK YOU! We ENJOYED the two nights we stayed. Hot showers, clean beds, clean room and bathrooms!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Aug 29, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying your stay. We have a great staff that are proud of the job they do. We do have extra stock of towels, etc at the front desk anytime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MER1 wrote a review Sep 2020
Oak Park, Illinois233 contributions73 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This facility had everything we needed including a spacious room with two queen beds, large refrigerator, microwave, and all the usual items in place. The place was clean and obviously had a recent renovation, with new carpeting, newly painted walls, and granite in the bathroom. However, for some reason I just didn’t feel like the renovation was done with good design in mind. The long internal halls in combination with beige and brown everywhere, somehow made the place feel depressing. In addition, some staff didn’t wear face masks as they worked to supply or clean in the breakfast room, which made me feel uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Thank you for staying with us . Staff are not required to wear a mask while cleaning rooms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie R wrote a review Jun 2022
North Canton, Ohio336 contributions87 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one evening and it was adequate. It’s outside of the main drag in Munising. Staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of signs within the hotel that add to its ambiance. There is no separate shampoo…it’s included with the automatic dispenser with the regular foam soap. If you like shampoo, be sure and pack some.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking; breakfast bar is adequate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from North Star Hotel, Owner at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We are trying to go green as much as possible to avoid millions of plastic bottles and plastic wrapping in our land fills.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen Solano d wrote a review Sep 2021
15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove up to this hotel and did not think we would be leaving a 5 star review. However this place was so clean and well cared for that we have to let you know you will be happy you stayed here. The breakfast is great (best waffles ever!!) and the housekeeping is very very good. It is not a fancy place, but the rooms and the bathrooms are very clean. The bed is comfy, and there is a nice sized fridge in the room (with a separate freezer) which really was great for storing and preparing our picnic lunches for all the amazing trails in the Pictured Rocks park. This location is great too - easy to get to the park and the trails, and also not far from Munising where you can get groceries and where the restaurants are located. A bonus is the hot tub (again very clean) which is a great way to end a day of hiking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying your stay and Munising! We have a great housekeeping staff that take pride in their work.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aimee C wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible beds! Hard as a rock! No comfy chairs in the room. Had to wait till housekeeper came in to get any extra towels, toliet paper, or kleenex. The front desk wouldn’t give out any, and when you did wait for housekeeper, to get the towels or washcloths, you had to give them your dirty ones first and they gave you the exact amount back. Staff except one housekeeper (didn’t catch her name) were unfriendly. Free breakfast was a joke! No protein offered at all! Definitely would not stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Jun 18, 2021
Thank you for staying at our hotel. Sorry you didnt like the beds ...they are not hard at all. We get people all the time asking where to purchase our mattresses. Front desk does give you towels , but to exchange has to be done anytime after 9 when housekeepers are here. Due to the state order we are not allowed to enter guest rooms for stay overs, so we tell you at with the housekeepers in morning at 9 am to exchange dirty towels or if you need tp or take your garbage. This way we keep track of our linen. We offer a good breakfast. We have waffles and sausage and hard boiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches you heat up. We have yogurts and apples and cuties and apple sauce, cereals including oatmeal , and orange juice and apple juice , coffees , teas , hot chocolate, 2 different kinds of bagels and english muffins, cinn rolls , assorted danish, donuts , assorted muffins. Not sure what protein you want.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kckbxrssm wrote a review Jun 2020
Loves Park, Illinois293 contributions113 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a bit away from the downtown area, but clean and remodeled (not like many of the pictures). Normally they serve a nice breakfast with eggs and meat but with the coronavirus, it's more limited. Still, there was good coffee, made to order waffles, yogurt, mini muffins, granola bars, apples and tangerines. The refrigerator in the room was larger than most and had a freezer. We were happy with the accommodations other than the high humidity in the room that apparently the a/c unit was unable to help with.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie Schwarz, General Manager at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Marie S
Munising, Michigan
Hi, yes everything is easy to get to ... To check out everything to do in our area visit exploremunising com
Answer from Marie S
Munising, Michigan
Hi, We do not allow pets.
davegrab asked a question Jul 2016
Perrysburg, Ohio177 contributions43 helpful votes
Just a question. How far from pictured rocks
Answer from Nate T
Rockford, Michigan51 contributions5 helpful votes
About 7 miles...maybe
sidney39 asked a question Jun 2015
Garland,TX
Do They have free self-parking?
Answer from Marie S
Munising, Michigan
Yes we do.
Answer from Marie S
Munising, Michigan
Hi we are located 15 mins from the park and a few miles from several fishing lakes.
Tim R wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early , they fill upfast"
Read full review
Paula S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Midland, Michigan33 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You will be very comfortable here, but the rate is on the high end. The included breakfast helps to make the rate more affordable."
Read full review
Jackie F wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you just stay here, do NOT book with a third party. The lady at the front desk informed us that we paid more than calling directly."
Read full review
Panela S wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Conveniently located in Munising. Wonderful breakfast!!"
Read full review
Julie H wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Large Whirlpool "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munising area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,585 - ₱12,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
munising super 8, munising super eight
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaMunising
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NORTH STAR HOTEL – PICTURED ROCKS - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Munising, MI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Which popular attractions are close to North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Nearby attractions include Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (4.8 km), Sand Point Beach (6.2 km), and Wagner Falls (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pictured Rocks Pizza, Tracey's At Roam Inn, and Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Does North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Is North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Munising HotelsMunising Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MunisingHotels near North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars