Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort

Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort

# 310 Cabitaogan Cawag, Subic, Luzon 2209 Philippines
Traveler (5)
Beach Cottage
Pool & Beach (12)
Some visitors
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#5 of 6 small hotels in Subic
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
It might not be a five-star resort, but it has plenty to offer to keep you busy. Aplaya Del Subic - Capati Resort is a quiet paradise located in Subic Bay just 3km out of Subic Town, Zambales. Amidst the other busy resorts in the area, it remains grounded and peaceful, making it the perfect beach escape for intimate barkada bonding, company outings, weddings and other events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Restaurant
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
7Reviews2Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sheryll O wrote a review Jun 2016
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the resort for our family outing last May 28-29, 2016.

Pros
1) Robert, one of the owners of the resort, was very accommodating. He answered all our queries prior to our visit. He even gave us a map to make sure that we would easily reach the resort. He also gave us options for Island hopping-Sampaloc Cove Tour and Snake Island Tour (Sampaloc cove tour may include lunch at the island). We were quite intrigued with the pictures of Sampaloc cove plus Robert also mentioned that the island has white sands and falls. Since we planned to visit the Sampaloc cove on our first day at the resort, he offered us with an option to use one of the 2 rooms (we reserved for 2 rooms) earlier than the check in time to make sure than we can leave for Sampaloc tour early.
2) Mary Ann, one of the resort attendants, assisted us during our stay (i.e. finding supply requests such as additional charcoal, salt, etc.)
3) Bringing of pets is allowed.
4) Rooms can accommodate 4-6 persons. For us, we booked for 1 family bungalow and 1 dorm type room. The girls (total of 4 pax) stayed at the bungalow and the guys (total of 4 pax) stayed at the dorm. The rooms have aircon and restroom.
5) No corkage fee for bringing food to the resort. We cooked our food at the family bungalow. Gas stove and refrigerator were provided (with P200 charge for each per day of use). They also lent us cooking pot, pan and utensils for free. There was a dining table outside the bungalow so we ate as a group there. They also provide purified water (with minimal fee).
6) Lots of parking space within the resort. No parking fee.
7) No additional charge for overstaying at the bungalow. Reasons for overstaying will be discussed at the cons portion.

Cons
1) We originally planned to leave for Sampaloc cove on the first day. However, it was a bit cloudy on that day plus we arrived around 12pm (it was already late since estimated travel time for the tour is 1-1.5 hours). Ergo, we thought of just staying at the resort and swim at the beach front. However, we were very disappointed when we saw the beach front. Aside from having murky water, there were lots of trash (i.e. sachets, plastics) on the shoreline. It looked like the beach front was not maintained. This was opposite of what we saw in the pictures of the resort. In the end, we have decided to go to Club Morocco for swimming (with a charge of P150 per head).
2) Resort facilities are outdated and require maintenance (i.e. restroom in the rooms, overall cleanliness).
3) Although our request for tv set in the rooms was confirmed prior to our visit, the resort was not able to accommodate our request.
4) Our Sampaloc Cove tour was moved to the next day. We have communicated with Robert that we plan to leave early for the tour so we can maximize our stay at the island since our check out time from the resort is at 12pm. Target time to leave the resort is at 7-7:30am. The following day, around 6am, we were surprised as Mary Ann informs us that we cannot proceed with our tour because the boat is under repair. I asked Mary Ann why are they informing us on a very short notice (Aren't there any other boats at the resort?) and told her that we were really hoping that the tour would push thru since it was the only thing that would make our visit to the resort worthwhile. She said that she will look for other options for us. She returned to us with the news that a boat can take us to Sampaloc cove but the thing is, it is a small boat that can only accommodate 3 persons. She suggested that the boat can take us to the cove by batch since 6 of us will be going to the cove. We were surprised again by this suggestion because we were promised with a bigger boat. Also, the boat has no available life vests. We requested for other options for the boat. In the end, we were informed that a bigger boat will bring us to the cove. Unfortunately, we were able to leave the resort quite late (around 10am).
5) Estimated travel time is 1-1.5 hours but it took us more than 2 hours going to the cove. We arrived there before 1pm. Upon arrival, we were again surprised to know that there are "entrance and use of facilities fees" at the cove. It was a good move that I have brought money with me, otherwise our travel to the cove would have been a waste of time.
6) The cove's pictures are too good be true. We were not amazed with it especially with the falls. We trekked for 30 mins (one way) just to see the falls. Voila! The pictures turned out to be false, not falls. It was not worth it.
7) The cove's shoreline was not what we were expecting. The sands were so-so. It was just a better option compared to the resort's shoreline but other than that, we could have just spent additional time of travel to visit a way better Nagsasa cove (which is at the other side of Sampaloc cove).
8) The restrooms at the cove are VERY dirty. No signs of maintenance at all. Ewww.
9) We left the cove past 3pm and arrived at the resort past 6pm. Check out time is at 12nn and thus we were delayed for 6 hours. Good thing is that the resort did not charge us for overstaying. Unfortunately, since we only rented a vehicle going to the resort, we had additional charges because of the 6-hour extension. Too much hassle because of logistical glitches with the boat.

Personally, I am really disappointed with our experience there. I will not go back to the resort. Hopefully the resort can improve their amenities and most importantly, their service to clients.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BognotLodge, former at Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort
Responded Jun 17, 2016
First off all we are sorry to hear about your negative experience staying at Aplaya del Subic and a we apologize sincerely for this. As you have pointed out at least you were happy in how Mary Anne our caretaker and I accommodated you. It was not my intention to mislead you in the belief that I am one of the owners and I never say I am. To clarify I am not one of the owners and It would be helpful if you could tell me who told you that. My wife and I just try to manage the place. Maybe now you understand that as I am not one of the the owners and even though we try very hard we can't really change things which sadly leads to disappointment of the guests. Further for your information we will no longer manage the resort. Hopefully the following will have more success and will be able to turn the place into what it would really deserve to be. For sure it will also be not easy for the following and as over the many years of its existence probably nothing will change. Thanks again for staying with us and please accept our apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rsmae2000 wrote a review Jan 2016
Metro Manila, Philippines
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this place through Airbnb for a very affordable amount.
The house was good for 10 people.
we had a hard time getting there because we followed GPS which apparently lead s to an old road. Despite that, it was still worth it. Calm waters, relaxed environment and accommodating owners. Nothingelse to ask for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: No No follow GPS..
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathecm wrote a review Dec 2015
Metro Manila, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I arrived on Friday on November. Since the beginning we felt like in home. We stay for about 3 days and It was perfect!!! We were looking for a place to disconnect us from the world, and we found it. The room was clean, organize and had what we need. The Resort was quite, close to see to enjoy the view, a quite swim in the sea and some time close to a wood fire in the beach. The owners are really nice, they make you feel like family and if you want you can ask for a home food Philippine dish. Finally from the resort you can go to a paradise by boat, you ask for it. I totally recommend this place, it is like home :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mhai Supan wrote a review Feb 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we been there feb 24-25. it was very relaxing day, and very satisfied with the environment and very kind staffs specially mam flor, super swak sa budget,just a little recommendation just to maintain cleanliness in beach area but overall very good service.i recommend this to my friends and officemate.. we surely comeback here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julius D wrote a review Jun 2016
Quezon City, Philippines
2.0 of 5 bubbles
They are not aware that we are going to stay on that day.On the spot cleaning and preparing the room,bed linens and everything.It could be a good resort if it week maintained.Malamik and Malangaw Day and Night but can be elimated by using Katol hahahha.Sayang ganda pa naman ng beach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas A wrote a review Apr 2016
Quezon City, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went there last week 4/21 til 4/23 and we decided to extend till 4/24. Owners are very accomodating. Easy access to all things you need. Beach is very calm and very friendly for small kids. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and planning to go back and recommend :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanie M wrote a review Mar 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in airconditioned house.lots of flies and mosquitoes morning and night.the bed is too old that dust poofs into the air when you sit or move.pillows are hard.the refrigirator was not working.there was no tv.no wifi if you bring globe tattoo.extra charge for gas stove.pls ask in advance what is free and what is not free so you can prepare for all the charges you might face.
I was disappointed by the rocks on the beach shoreline luckily one part was rock free.only thing I enjoyed was the shallow waters of the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BognotLodge, Manager at Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort
Responded Mar 31, 2016
Dear Jeanie thank you for your review. We are very sorry about your bad experience with mosquitoes and flees during your stay. We are a bit surprised that you as local didn't know that mosquitoes are a common problem in the Philippines. Unfortunately your stay with us was also just at the beginning of the dry season when mosquito population are the biggest. If you plan your next vacation and don't want to get bothered by mosquitoes choose April to May. These month being the hottest during the year are almost mosquito free. Apart from this, please be assured that we do all in our power to prevent our Guests being bothered by mosquitoes and advise our Guests to keep the windows and doors closed. With you keeping your 2 big dogs inside the Bungalow it was though understandable and appreciated that you had the door and windows open most of the time to let the intense smell wet dogs have evaporate from inside. We also took your other concern about flees in your room serious and had the room inspected. The inspection was positive on a small amount of dog flees. Possible your 2 dogs picked up some while your maid was walking them and they got transferred this way to your Bungalow. Sadly you didn't report this earlier and during your stay. Doing so, we could have taken some action and probably still make your stay enjoyable. We very much appreciate your report and thank you to help us prevent other guest from this experience. The Rooms and Bungalows are located only a few steps from the beach getting dust and sand blown inside when doors or windows are open actually can't be avoided and most of our guests then use the provided broom to keep their rooms sand and dust free. But and thank you for reminding us, your little gibe about the dust and possible extra charges refers to Airbnb with not clearly stating that the "cleaning fee is charged for the preparation of the room when the guest arrives and a final cleaning after the guest has departed. Normally all extra charges and amenities like stove, fridge etc. are posted on our Airbnb listings. We will try to add this also in Tagalog to make it understandable for people like you who don't understand english like you. We hope for your understanding and that you will accept our apologies. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
greyseu asked a question Dec 2015
How to get here from olongapo?
Answer from BognotLodge
Munich, Germany6 contributions1 helpful vote
The blue Jeepneys take you to Subic Town from Olongapo. From the Market in Subic Town you will need to take a tricycle!
rsmae2000 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Metro Manila, Philippines37 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No No follow GPS.."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Subic area.
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCentral Luzon RegionZambales ProvinceSubic
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APLAYA DEL SUBIC CAPATI BEACH RESORT - Hotel Reviews (Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Inflatable Island (7.2 km), The Magsaysay Ancestral House (7.0 km), and Vixxen Super Club (2.2 km).
What are some restaurants close to Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Myleen's Café, Sit-n-Bull, and Mango's Beach Bar and Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Aplaya Del Subic Capati Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Magsaysay Ancestral House (7.0 km).
All Subic HotelsSubic Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Subic
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars