We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Visit hotel website
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (10)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Focus on the destination in a whole new way at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection ® Member in Grand Rapids, MI near Van Andel Arena. Our boutique Grand Rapids hotel is less than two miles from the heart of downtown near U.S. Route 131, making it easy to find the true local flavor you crave at attractions like: DeltaPlex Fifth Third Ballpark Art Van Sports Complex Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park Gerald R. Ford Museum The Gerald R. Ford International Airport is about 20 minutes away. Let the destination reach you at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. Grand Rapids hotels like ours connect you to the places, moments and experiences that make each destination special. Book now!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
119Reviews
115Photos
8Q+A
29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 30
  • 33
  • 19
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have stayed here twice plus have a room booked in July 2019. It’s clean, easy to get to location and can’t beat the free shuttle service. I will be booking most of my trips to Grand Rapids at this hotel.
Read more
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much Rae Ann for always choosing our place and for trusting us. Thank you for your kind compliment to our free shuttle and we are so glad that we were able to provide clean and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
We stayed for the Bob Segar concert at the Van Angel. Couldn't have picked s better place to stay. The staff was so nice and very helpful. They offer a free shuttle to downtown every half hour. After the concert we walked out to a waiting shuttle back to the hotel. I wish the
Read more
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much Suebid the five star review. We can't thank you enough for the kind and flattering words you wrote. We are so delighted that we were able to provide a nice and comfortable accommodation. Thank you for appreciating out staff and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Hotel was very nice and the staff was very accommodating to all of us. Very helpful in navigating the GR area. Would stay with them again. Bar is quite expensive I must say. Very easy place to get in and out of.
Read more
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 1 week ago
Hi MSUFH, Thank you so much for your heartwarming review and awesome feedback to our staff. It was our pleasure providing you with great and pleasant accommodation. Thank you for the five star review and we look forward to serving you again.
Read more
Chose this property because the hotel website advertised free shuttle to downtown. Perfect since it’s winter and not being familiar with downtown I didn’t want to try to find parking for my morning conference. Upon checking in, I was told the shuttle didn’t run in the mornings.
Read more
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi We, Thank you so much for sharing your review! I am so sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced due to not having a free shuttle at that time. We will reach out to our staff to make sure this will be addressed and will not happen again to our guests. I am very displeased to hear that anyone was not treated with kindness by our staff. This is something that we don't tolerate. Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention rest assured will improve on this aspect.
Read more
This property could be amazing with a little TLC. They are starting to work on things. The suite I stayed in was comfortable, although the bathroom was very small (the door hit the toilet when I shut it). There was a handle broken on a table, little things like that. The
Read more
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Laura for sharing your review and for recognizing our staff hospitality. We are glad that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and I want to let you know that we take your suggestions to heart and are reconsidering to have some updates and improvement some furnitures and the fitness room. Thank you for bringing this matter to us and we look forward to your next visit and see how much we improved.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Photo provided by managementThe Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Well-equipped guest room
Mattress pulling back the torn, cheap, plastic pee wrap covering the whole mattress.
Photo provided by managementThe Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Well appointed bathrooms.
PreviousNext
1234568
Our renovations are very minimal now, just fine detail touches that guests do not even experience. All rooms have been renovated and are ready for you!
0 votes
We are almost 50 years young! We just went through a complete renovation on our property in all areas!
1 vote
It starts at 9am, and I think it ends at 9pm. I'd call the hotel to find out when the last pick up from downtown is. The hotel number is 616-363-9001.
1 vote
PreviousNext
12
"river view rooms are nice"
"Ask for a river veiw."
"Elevator is very small and slow. Some rooms face the river and others the parking lot/highway."
"River view rooms were very nice."
"rooms away from the freeway!"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
radisson grand rapidsgrand rapids radisson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganGrand Rapids
NUMBER OF ROOMS
162
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing