We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$234
Hotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$234
Orbitz.comUS$234
TravelocityUS$234
FindHotel
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (353)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Treetops Resort
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 16 hotels in Gaylord
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Tennis court
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
627Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 221
  • 167
  • 90
  • 78
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marsha Brown wrote a review 14 Jul
1 contribution
Nice place but staff did not believe we had requested towel and trash service, although we had received such services two days then staff denied we had requested services on third day. Refused to clean bathroom because of covid concerns but no one on staff, visiting, or anywhere on the grounds were wearing a mask. Covid was used as excuse for not providing a basic service. Disappointed that staff essentially called me a liar about services we asked for on day one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Devin Roach, Other at Treetops Resort
Responded today
Good Afternoon Marsha, so sorry to hear that this was your experience and apologize for the miscommunication. Our stay over service is by request only, but does not include a deep clean just a light touch up of amenities and a light vacuum. There are a few questions I have and would love to have you reach out to guestrelations@treetops.com so we can improve upon our training of our staff and resort.
Read more
Mar wrote a review 13 Jul
Martinez, Georgia85 contributions37 helpful votes
This was a first visit to Treetops. My husband and I are not from Michigan, but many of our friends and relatives were familiar with Treetops and raved about it. The issues began with check-in. My husband checked in. He received key cards and a room number along with notice that there would not be any housekeeping during our six day stay. I had received emails prior to arrival encouraging the use of the Treetops app. What a joke! We were not given a map when we checked in, had no idea that three of the golf courses were 3 miles away. Nor did we know there was a “rear” entrance to the property because the front desk person didn’t do her job! There were stained ceiling tiles and carpet in the room we were assigned. The carpet stains were dark, not recent. Surely could have been cleaned between guests. Our second day we awoke to a crew of HVAC techs installing lines outside our window and door. It wouldn’t have taken much to put a note on the door to notify us this was going to be happening. A hair in food at the Sports Bar cured us of eating there. Oh and did I mention when I requested coin to use the laundry facilities in The Inn the front desk person on duty said there was a change machine in the laundry room. All I saw in the laundry room was two washers, two stacked dryers, a vending machine for laundry supplies, a sink, and three tables. The longer I stayed the more evident it became that the employees were poorly trained which resulted in a poor guest experience for my husband and I. I won’t be back. And I won’t recommend Treetops.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great golf courses. Lodging leaves a lot to be desired.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Devin Roach, Other at Treetops Resort
Responded 4 days ago
We wanted to reach out to you to personally to apologize for the issues you experienced while you were here. Our Front Desk staff is usually phenomenal at telling our guests everything they need to know however, we are continuously working to improve for our guests and your comments will assist in the training and development of our resort and the many new faces we have welcomed this past month. If there is anything we can help with further please reach out to us at guestrelations@treetops.com. Again we apologize and we look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
Tim S wrote a review Jun 2021
48 contributions8 helpful votes
The staff at Treetops is helpful, pleasant, and personable. The 5 courses are in great shape, even if the cart parts are a real mess at one of the courses - The Tradition. The Premium, Masterpiece, Signature, and Threetops were each excellent and in wonderful condition - even considering that northern Michigan was in the middle of a drought. Lodging was adequate, but due to Covid restrictions, or maybe a lack of workers, daily room cleaning did not happen. This might be a turnoff for some folks, but my group of golfers was low maintenance, so it didn't bother us too much. We were able to get towels replaced, and really, that's about all we required. On-site dining options were somewhat limited (again due to Covid restrictions, I suppose, but with two free breakfasts and a $75 food voucher included in our package, we did just fine. Besides, Gaylord has more than a few great dining options in town (only 3 miles away). If you love golf, great scenery, and a pleasant experience, you will really enjoy Treetops.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Devin Roach, Other at Treetops Resort
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for reviewing Treetops Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Armon K wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions
Experience blue skies and beautiful golf courses at Treetops in Gaylord, Michigan. We had a two night and three day golf vacation. We golfed on four different courses: Signature, Premier, Threetops and Tradition. They will challenge your golf patience and game. The greens were fast, up/down and large/long. The beauty and quietness on the courses was relaxing. The one course we did not play was the Master. The food was good, the lodge rooms are large and quiet and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend Treetops and will go back for more adventures.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Devin Roach, Other at Treetops Resort
Responded 9 Jun 2021
Thank you for reviewing Treetops Resort. We are glad you had a great vacation!
Read more
Angela M wrote a review Mar 2021
Michigan125 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
We had a blast at the resort. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the main lodge on the second floor. Our room was very spacious with two queen beds and two sofas. The balcony was a nice surprise. We went on the Snowshoeing feast Saturday morning. Our guides, husband and wife, were very friendly. The food was good and the scenery spectacular. Later we booked an hour for Extreme tubing. So-much-fun!!!! You don’t need to be a kid to enjoy tubing. This was our first time at the resort and already talking about going back. Thank you for such an enjoyable weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Devin Roach, Other at Treetops Resort
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Angela, thank you for rating Treetops Resort! We are so glad you had such a wonderful time! We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
treetops hotel gaylord, treetops resort gaylord
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganOtsego CountyGaylord
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Treetops Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Treetops Resort?
Nearby attractions include Call of the Wild Museum (7.6 km), Treetops Resort (0.4 km), and Aspen Park (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Treetops Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Treetops Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Treetops Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Treetops Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alpine Chocolate Haus, Gobblers of Gaylord, and Alpine Tavern and Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Treetops Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Treetops Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Treetops Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.