We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit

Save
Share
1331 Trumbull St, Detroit, MI 48216-1376
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/12/21
Booking.com
US$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/12/21
Trip.com
US$307
US$281
View deal
Hotels.comUS$307
FindHotel
Lol.travel
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (210)
Dining (39)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Updated 02/06/20

About

#19 of 39 hotels in Detroit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 144-room 3-Star Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit has just recently finished a major renovation touching all aspects of the hotel including guest rooms, drinks and dining, fitness center and outdoor space. Guests enjoy supremely comfortable designer rooms with custom furniture built by Michigan artisans and an impressive art collection featuring local artists. The hotel features a spacious fitness center with an incredible city view, sundry shop and lobby bar. You won't find anything "run-of-the-mill" here. Our onsite restaurant, Red Dunn Kitchen, serves critic-loving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is a sought-after party venue. Enjoy events in the courtyard during warm months. Secure parking is available for a fee. Trumbull and Porter is ideally located 30 minutes from Detroit Metropolitan Airport and less than a mile from the Michigan Central Depot. Nearby is Ford Field, Comerica Park, Greektown, Cobo Center, the Henry Ford Museum and Windsor, Canada.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
393Reviews12Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 224
  • 91
  • 31
  • 31
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Will K wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
I had a reservation here but luckily I called ahead the day prior to confirm only to be told the hotel was closed! No notification whatsoever. No only that, they refused to give me a refund. So if you do book it, it might not be open when you get there and they might steal your money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Responded 4 weeks ago
We apologize for the inconvenience as we have been dealing with a water main break for over two months and are at the mercy of our vendors. We have contacted all online partners to refund for the reservations as the hotel remains closed. Please contact the General manger if you need assistance in expediting your refund.
Read more
klgbliss wrote a review Jun 2021
Port Huron, Michigan, USA107 contributions107 helpful votes
This is a boutique hotel in Corktown, it’s not a high-end downtown hotel. I would describe it more as edgy and eclectic. It fits right into the neighborhood. We loved it. We came in for an overnight stay and to enjoy a few of the restaurants and breweries in Corktown. Even during Covid restrictions, we found plenty of action and many places open, most doing their best to accommodate outdoor dining. The restaurant in the hotel was closed and there were limited amenities but again, this was due to Covid. This hotel is a great option for staying right in the heart of the Corktown neighborhood. You can request the Rolling Stone suite…and if it’s available, book it. You won’t be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Fadi&Michael wrote a review Jun 2021
Brooklyn, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
I've checked other reviews since then and it seems they've been closed for some time but decided to wait to notify me 3 days before I arrived. I should consider myself lucky, others reportedly showed up to a sign stating they were closed without notice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Responded 4 weeks ago
We apologize for the inconvenience as we have been dealing with a water main break for over two months and are at the mercy of our vendors. We hope to reopen soon and look forward to welcoming our guests back.
Read more
Mrs_JSR wrote a review Mar 2021
Playa del Carmen, Mexico156 contributions53 helpful votes
The place is cute but I had a really bad experience with the manager, JH, as well as B--king.com. So my overall experience was poor. We were there during COVID so the restaurant was closed when we tried to eat so I can't speak on that. But be very careful booking with Booking.com! When I booked it said we'd receive a full refund if cancelled by a certain date. However when we did cancel (in time), the hotel didn't want to give us a refund. I called, left voice messages and emailed the manager Mr. JH many times and also left face to face messages with the front desk and he completely ignored us. I was pretty unbelievable actually. I've never been completely ignored by management like this before. So buyer beware with this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Responded 28 Mar 2021
We apologize for not providing the level is guest service experience we strive for. Please note that due to a water main break from the city, the hotel is temporarily closed. Our General Manager, Eric Peter, would be more than happy to speak with you directly and resolve any issues.
Read more
Joe B wrote a review Feb 2021
Cleveland, Ohio62 contributions15 helpful votes
Arrived in Corktown and this is a decent location. Entered to check in and the restaurant is closed. Understandable with COVID but nowhere does it say on their website that it’s closed and the host blames the 3rd party sites for not updating their sites. We got a King “suite” which was a stretch and very industrial. Cracked and rough concrete floors. No microwave. Keurig machine, creamer, sleeves and lids. No cups or K cups. I call the host and he says coffee is not included. Very weird. Meanwhile wife finds shards of glass on the floor luckily before my one year old found them. Asked the host to clean them up and he said he was busy with a customer. Came up eventually with a broom, no cups. When I showed him the machine, cup sleeves and lids, he said it’s “not that kind of hotel” whatever that means. One positive was that it was relatively quiet and the host the next morning gave us cups and coffee from the bar.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Responded 22 Feb 2021
We are sorry to read that the expectation we set pt achieve were not met. Every comment and observation helps as we re build our team. We hope to get a chance to speak with directly, so please contact the General Manager at your convenience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
corktown hotel detroit
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit
Which popular attractions are close to Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Nearby attractions include The Michigan Pedaler (0.5 km), John K. King Books (0.6 km), and Michigan Central Station (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mudgie's, Green Dot Stables, and Ottava Via.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Trumbull and Porter Hotel - Downtown Detroit offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.