We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Save
Share
38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8145
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
CheapTickets
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (104)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 28/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Updated 28/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
395Reviews7Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 266
  • 85
  • 25
  • 12
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ed wrote a review 4 Jun
1 contribution
Disliked: Staff & service The rooms are specified at least 500sf on expedia, and it turned out the 2 queen bed room are at most 250sf, about half of the size specified. We were given the room right by the stairs on the second floor -- the busiest foot traffic room. We asked for moving to another same type room or honor the 500 sf spec by upgrading us to a bigger room. The staff flatly lied that it was "fully booked for the night". We checked around the night and next morning most of the bigger rooms are empty. Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack McConnell, Owner at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi - we are so sorry you felt the room was smaller than advertised. We are confident the rooms are as listed but we are certainly going to measure them all now to ensure that all websites that advertise our rooms use the correct dimensions. We have a variety of room sizes from the cozy double you booked to the one bedroom luxury suites. We were glad to refund you the night you decided not to stay and hope that you would consider returning so that we can show you the service that so many people rave about it their reviews. And we’ll be sure to double check all square footage reference on others’ websites.
Read more
Jean W wrote a review May 2021
Tampa, Florida, United States627 contributions193 helpful votes
Great location and very helpful, accommodating staff. We had a lovely room on the fourth floor (no elevator!). The breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay here when visiting Martha's Vineyard.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have health issues be sure to get a room on a lower floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jlcampbell1@cox.net wrote a review May 2021
Little Compton6 contributions1 helpful vote
Decided to go on our annual MV visit while the weather was good and the craziness had not started. We wanted to stay in Edgartown reasonably and knew of the Vineyard square location. Very reasonably priced for a great location. Came with in room breakfast. Stayed in Cozy King. Good size bathroom. Best part was the staff. Booked with Sami (sp) who was so helpful and friendly. She was also at the desk at checking and was just the same in person. Matt could not have been nicer. Also at the reception desk, one night we spent 20 minutes chatting before dinner. Very interesting and genuine. Also a shoutout to Levi . Whoever put this staff together, knew what they were doing. Probably won’t be back until after Labor Day, but this is our new go to stay when we do. Thank you for a most pleasant stay, celebrating our anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Use the 4th floor deck for a great view. BYOB up there.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack McConnell, Owner at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for recognizing our warm, friendly, and helpful staff. We do seem to have the best staff on the island for everyone’s getaway vacation. And remember, when you return, you get the 10% repeat guest discount as our way of saying, “Welcome back, friend!”
Read more
Barbara H wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My dog and I stayed in the larger of the two dog-suites at Vineyard Square. The suite is very large (I think perhaps 750 sq. ft.), with a fully equipped kitchen -- very useful to avoid having to dine out with a dog. I brought my car over and five days' worth of groceries. Others have noted how perfectly located the Square is, in the center of Edgartown, but it is also uniquely situated to bring a canine companion. Across Winter Street is a little-used park, protected from the street, great for playing ball or running around. The ferry to Chappaquiddick is a few steps away and just on the other side is a great beach for walking and sniffing seaweed. The entrance to the dog suites is separate from the main hotel door and leads to small grassy areas where one can make a quick late-night visit in PJs and not worry about running into anyone! My favorite feature of the Square is the wide veranda with classic M.V. rocking chairs, much sun, and a never-ending parade of people to watch. I visit every year and have always found the staff friendly, welcoming and helpful -- this year no exception -- from the front desk staff to the outdoor maintenance crew. For example, I had called from the ferry to find out check-in time, which was several hours away. Not a half-hour later, I got a call from the desk that my room was ready, if I wanted to check in early. Super-friendly, couldn't ask for any more considerate than that. Oh, forgot the dog treats at the desk!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack McConnell, Owner at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Barbara, we loved having you and Ella for your annual visit! Our two dog friendly suites are very popular for all the reason you stated and many people, like you, come back over and over!
Read more
BedlamBikesco wrote a review Apr 2021
Massachusetts97 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
We haven't stayed here in many years, and came back to the Vineyard in April 2021. The Vineyard Square is literally in the PERFECT location on the island. Edgartown blows away every other "in town" location on the entire island, and its not even close. The Vineyard Square is right in the middle of it all in Edgartown. Our 3rd floor balcony offered fantastic views of the Town and the harbor over looking Chappaquiddick. The room was beautifully renovated with modern flair for such an older building. PLENTY of room inside, nice furnishings, etc.... Awesome water pressure which is instant with hot water. This is a nice property from the moment you step onto the walkway leading to the front porch. Some of the floors are slightly tilted in one direction or another, and I love that about history places! You can feel that your staying someplace with a lot of history behind it, yet its so modernly appointed and super clean! Being right next door to The legendary (former) Shiretown Inn where Ted Kennedy went to sleep with zero conscious of what he had just done in the summer of 1969 gives the entire area a feeling a major historical significance to it. We loved the Vineyard Square for everything the building itself has to offer from luxury accommodations to location, location, location! The negatives: The staff: Only saw 3 employees the entire time we were here. Two girls at the front desk talked for 10 minutes about their personal lives as I stood there and waited, and waited. Not very friendly, and in general they weren't around all that much. The hotel bicycles were in pretty rough condition. We were told we were the first guests that asked to use them this year. I guess that makes it ok then? They just needed tune ups. Air in tires, greased chains, brakes adjusted. The weather was incredibly beautiful. (sunny and 68 degrees) These bikes should have been taken care of well before the nice weather arrives, but they weren't. We rode them anyways to East Beach on Chappaquiddick, and it just the ride a little more exhausting than it need to be with low pressure tires, etc.. Let me be clear that it IS nice that they have bikes to use in general as some other local competing boutique style hotels in the area do not. The large balcony flower pot outside STILL had Christmas decor' inside of it. Dead ferns and a few Christmas ornaments. Its literally one week from MAY now. I texted (no answer) and then later called and asked for turn down service for the room for the evening including setting up the sofa bed for our son to sleep on for the night and they declined to do it for us. I was told that I'd have to do it myself each evening. Nobody every entered our room once to empty the trash, replace towels, or anything for the duration that we stayed. I assume its a Covid thing.... In summary, this is a pleasant place in a fantastic location, but it feels like things are a bit ignored and overlooked until the summer season ramps up when the "real" profits to be made roll into town. Its too bad as the off season on the Vineyard is so much nicer for those that really like to enjoy the island without the crowds and chaos of summer traffic! But regardless of a few shortcomings concerning service, the Vineyard Square is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed at in Massachusetts and we've literally been everywhere in this state!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack McConnell, Owner at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Jeff - thanks for the review and the kind words. We totally agree with you that "The Vineyard Square is literally in the PERFECT location on the island. Edgartown blows away every other "in town" location on the entire island, and it's not even close." As for the areas were we did not live up to your expectations, please know that we try very hard to give outstanding service to all guests, 100% of the time. A quick look at our reviews will show you that our customer service is something for which we routinely receive great praise. During the pandemic and the off-season, we appear to have exhibited less than our norm to you, and for that we apologize and assure you that it will never happen again. Our free bikes have all been refurbished, our staff is at 100%, and our commitment to the guests is reaffirmed.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$192 - US$598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vineyard square hotel edgartown, vineyard square hotel and suites
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Colonial Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsMartha's VineyardEdgartown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Old Whaling Church (0.3 km), Stefanie Wolf Designs (0.09 km), and Edgartown Memorial Wharf (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free private parking nearby, free public parking nearby, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Among The Flowers Cafe, l'étoile restaurant, and Detente Restaurant and Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, locker rooms available in the fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vincent House Museum (0.3 km) and Dr. Daniel Fisher House (0.3 km).
Does Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.