Scent of Green Papaya Resort

Scent of Green Papaya Resort

Ester A. Lim Drive, Tawala, Panglao 6340 Philippines
Traveler (206)
Room & Suite (49)
My breakfast - even though I'm in the Philippines I still like my eggs, toast, and bacon.
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 17 small hotels in Tawala
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Modern eco native resort, near the beach, with swimming pool and located in a green, peaceful and quiet area. With now a free Shuttle on demand direct to the beach, for a 3 min ride to the best vacations in BOHOL
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Kids stay free
Kids pool
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Snorkeling
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino

Location

Ester A. Lim Drive, Tawala, Panglao 6340 Philippines
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Tagbilaran Airport
Dumaguete Airport
57.9 km
See all flights
239Reviews6Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 163
  • 48
  • 19
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KiroDJ wrote a review May 2017
5.0 of 5 bubbles
[Disclaimer: Reviews are only true at the time of my stay. My rating is based on the Room Price (twin sharing) vs Expectations (below 1500=Tight; 1500-3000=Econo; 3000-6000=Relax; 6000-12,000=Indulge; above 12,000=Luxury)]

Location/Travel:
Scent of Green Papaya is a pretty small but homey resort in Panglao Island, about 30 mins car travel from Tagbilaran Airport or Pier. The hotel offers pick-up transfer up to 4 pax for PhP 600. A major setback for this hotel is that it’s about 10-15 mins walk on some partially muddy and dark-at-night pathway from the main road and Alona beach. The resort solves this by arranging a shuttle (multicab) that could take you to the beach every 30 mins from 7am to 10:30pm. Trikes and for-rent scooters are aplenty for your transportation means. On a positive note, its location offers secludedness away from the busy and noisy street if one prefers a quiet relax time after a day’s worth of activities (scuba diving, island hopping, land tours, etc.) that the resort can arrange for you at reasonable prices.

Suggestions: 1. Provide handy flashlights for guests leaving at night.

Resort:
The rooms in the resort are clustered around a mid-sized lighted adult pool with jacuzzi and a separate kiddie pool. The restaurant/bar (opens 7 am to 10 pm) offers a complimentary basic breakfast (with brewed coffee and a glass ofjuice) for guest as well as tasty but limited ala-carte menus at reasonable prices and servings. Drinks/Beers/Cocktails are reasonably priced as well. Wifi is working fast and well around the resort. The resort offers room service, massage, laundry, luggage storage, car rental, activities/tours services and a 24-hour security. Pool towels are provided at the reception but cannot be brought to the beach.

Suggestions: 1. Allow guests to bring towels to the beach (you have to walk back about 500 meters from the beach to find a store that sells towels)
2. Add more food selections in the menu.

Rooms:
We had a superior deluxe king room with 2 beds set-up with basic linen but comfortable matress (1 king and 1 twin beds), with 32” flat screen tv, split-type acu, ceiling fan, minibar, safety box, umbrella, slippers, fixed desk, chair and an open closet. It has a modern and large bathroom with rainshower, with basic toiletries (dental kit, soap, shampoo, conditioner, hand sanitizer and tissue paper). Every room has a veranda or terrace where smoking is permitted.

Suggestions: 1. Provide coffee/tea-making facilities, bidet, life-sized mirror, a veranda/terrace rack for wet clothes, comforter and additional pillows
2. Match the faucet attached to the lavatory bowl, it somehow encumbers your hand when face washing
3. Replenish complimentary bottled waters everyday (this could probably be a housekeeping mistake)
4. Make the door locks more easily accessible (it takes time to master locking the door)
5. Better minibar assortment (the resort location away from convenience stores and bar operating hours make this especially necessary)

Services:
The staff is pure Bohol hospitality at its finest. From the security guards to the front desk and waiters, they go all out to provide guests personal services that complement the homey feel of this resort. (Kudos to the waiter who performs a fire-dancing stunt to entertain guests at night)

Price:
The published rate is PhP 3,500, but we got the room online at PhP 2760/night for 2 pax during peak season, with complimentary breakfast. At this rate, all the amenities, room details, services provided are justified, and more than meets my expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WrenAbuDhabi wrote a review Mar 2016
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Though not absolute beach front like so many hotels and resorts on Alona Beach, Scent of Green Papaya (SGP) has soooo much more to offer the discerning traveller.

SGP is a boutique hotel with only 12 rooms at present. The rooms are tastefully furnished with solid fittings. The bathroom would not be out of place in a 4 star resort hotel. The room was spotlessly cleaned each day and the pool large enough to do laps .... after a day at the beach.

The staff were amazing - actually, more like extended family. Krissy Love, one of the managers, made sure that every guest was looked after. A coked breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day's diving.

I highly commend Scent of Green Papaya as 1st rate value for money, meticulously clean and a restful get-a-way.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from coxdreamer, Propriétaire at Scent of Green Papaya Resort
Responded Aug 19, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and it was a pleasure to have you as guests. hope to see you again in a future trip. Best regards . SOGPR Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H2888XFmanuel wrote a review May 2015
Province of Guadalajara, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is really quiet, just in the perfect spot to have the beach close and have silene and peace.
Really modern rooms and excelent service! :))) The staff was very friendly and available. Spaces were very big and confortable with a hug pool and a very nice restaurant. Really nice for that price
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael I wrote a review Nov 2019
Shanghai, China
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice room and staff. Everything clean and a good pool. Way to the hotel is bumpy and already described by other travellers..nothing to add. Some ideas to the hotel staff....please add a warm water supply to the shower. But I guess more important is to add an exhaust in the bathroom to reduce moisture there...
All in all I definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Pangloa Island!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
flyboy55 wrote a review Nov 2019
Vancouver, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All in all this quaint little 'resort' is good choice for a budget conscience traveller. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

PROS:
- overall good location
- close to Alona Beach
- tasty, quality breakfast
- comfortable beds and pillows
- clean, comfortable bathroom
- decent wi-fi
- good air conditioning in the room

CONS:
- the location, being back off the main roads, after rain the dirt road to the resort gets muddy and very slippery
- the ground level rooms in building A don't afford much privacy if you want the curtains open. Room 1 in building A is the worst - I had to have my curtains closed otherwise people at the pool were staring right in the room
- no hot water in the bathroom sink, only in the shower
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mango wrote a review May 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The 2 bedrooms suite is spacious and clean. It’s quite a distance to Alona beach but shuttle is provided every 30mins. Driver is punctual and it takes about 5mins drive to the beach. Staffs are very friendly and accommodating. The front desk girls are always there to help and you can have their recommendations for food and tour!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GreenPapaya356, Front Desk Officer at Scent of Green Papaya Resort
Responded Jun 6, 2019
Dear Cheeche, Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write this wonderful review of Scent of Green Papaya Resort. Great feedback such as yours inspire us to continuously strive on guest satisfaction, so please know that we are truly overjoyed to read that you were extremely satisfied on your 2-night stay in one of our Two-bedroom suite. We are happy that you mentioned the cleanliness of our room, the excellent facilities, as well as the free shuttle bus that our valued guests truly enjoy. Especially for commending our front desk staff. Thank you for recommending our resort. Our team hopes to welcome you back here at Green Papaya Resort on your next visit to Panglao Island, Bohol. The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AngiCaveney wrote a review Apr 2019
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this fabulous little place for two nights. The staff are very friendly and willing to help with anything you need. The prices for food and drinks were similar to what you can find locally (e.g., cheap by US standards).The rooms were clean. The pool was clean and warm. The hotel provides a free shuttle to/from Alona beach (just a few minutes' drive).

The only negative was that there is a crazy rooster at a neighboring property who thinks dawn is arriving...well...most of the night. If you're a light sleeper, bring your earplugs. (This is true throughout the Philippines. Roosters and howling cats are everywhere.)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dinis A wrote a review Sep 2018
Bereldange, Luxembourg
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When I landed in Cebu I should head to Malapasqua but a typhoon in Leyte region made me change my plans. So I slept one night in Cebu city then decide to go to Panglao next morning . Just booked the Scent of Green Papaya Resort on the taxi heading to the pier and couldn’t be more lucky of the choice I made.This is what I expect from a resort, it’s human sized it makes you feel like home, the staff are so friendly and helpful whenever you need something, the rooms are spacious clean as new, the bed is huge and comfortable ( best bed ever, and I’m used to travel). Im not a fan of swimming pool but this one was perfect to relax at until late in the evening.
I only had breakfast there and was delicious with different choices of tasty breakfast. Won’t hesitate to choose this resort next time I go to Alona. Dagahan salamat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steph wrote a review May 2018
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here from 13th-18th May. It’s a lovely hotel, nice & clean, friendly staff, nice food & drinks from the bar, really nice pool that is open until 10pm. Can’t really fault my stay wound come back. Shuttle bus to alona beach is every half hour until 11pm. We did have a problem with ants in our room the first day mentioned it to the staff & the ants were gone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoong N wrote a review Apr 2018
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Reviewing this hotel I stayed at back in October 2017 - (latest update at the end)

As the title suggested, great staff, staff was friendly at the reception and bar and so was housekeeping, I'm very picky with hotels, especially cleanliness and stains on the bedsheets, and you might think why would I stay here and not a 5 star hotel.
Well I had to stay here to suss out if it is suitable for my family of 7 with 2 babies 5 months from now, for my wedding, and they needed a place close to Alona beach that has free shuttle so they would not need to walk that 2km with 2 babies.

We stayed for a duration of 4 nights, the room is spacious and clean and so was the bathroom, I assume that the shower water is the sea water but not filtered properly as it is still salty and the shower knob has holes which was caused by corrosion.
Fully functional air-conditionining, because our aircon was left on from day to night because of the HOT Philippine weather and worked perfectly fine. But be warn if you get cold at night turn off your aircon because blanket/doona is not provided in the room (I didn't bother asking housekeeping if they have any) our bed is basically made up of 3 pillows, fitted/flat sheet for the mattress and your 'blanket' is a flat sheet.

Complimentary water every day, housekeeping everyday, the communal pool is very clean but do be careful at night there is a lot of mosquitos.
Pricing was cheap considering the location and free shuttle to Alona beach every hour and also complimentary breakfast (I highly recommend going for hotels that has the breakfast option, because I found it hard in Phillipines to have a normal breakfast on the street without being too meaty)

Update: March 2018 Family stayed

They like the free shuttle, they complained to ask about the flat sheet being the blanket but also didn't bother asking housekeeping if they do have blankets. Location was good for them, if they were too busy handling the kids and cannot go to Alona beach they just chill at the pool. Complimentary breakfast for them was very convenient. We went over to visit them and the staff REMEMBERS us and congratulate us on our wedding.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hammertime082 asked a question Sep 2019
3 contributions
Hi, is the pool still closed?
Answer from Florient L
Bordeaux14 contributions3 helpful votes
Good morning. The 2 pools of the resort are open and fully operational. The 5 days renovation ended last week.
Len asked a question Apr 2018
San Francisco, California1 contribution
Does this property have a beach?
Panglao Island, Philippines
The property is not a front beach resort. we are 900 m away from the shore in a quiet area. We do have a free shuttle every 30 min going to the beach for a 3 min ride.
JOY967 asked a question Jul 2015
New South Wales, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
When is this fully furnish !
Panglao Island, Philippines
Hello, good afternoon. Our room are since 3 months for rent and already fully furnished. If your question is about kitchen, our rooms are resort type, and dedicated to guests who want to completely relax and use our restaurant and bar. Hope we can answer to more of your questions. Best regards.
LetiziaMaggi1996 asked a question Oct 2019
Querceta, Toscana, Italy360 contributions90 helpful votes
Volevo sapere se questa struttura organizza escursioni per visitare le Chocolate Hills?
Answer from Florient L
Bordeaux14 contributions3 helpful votes
The chocolate hills tour is a classic tour that the resort organise, it can be by car or van and take a whole day of tour with different spots.
Darya S asked a question Feb 2017
28 contributions6 helpful votes
hello. can you please confirm my booking 10.03 - 15.03.
Panglao Island, Philippines
Kindly directly contact our receptionists by mail, messenger or call you can find all information on Tripadvisor
xcitedbouttraveln wrote a tip May 2024
Sydney, Australia64 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Down a narrow bumpy road"
Read full review
Pauline D wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom239 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is a 10 minute walk off the main road but a tuk-tuk can be ordered for 100 pesos if you don't want to walk. "
Read full review
Carmen wrote a tip Feb 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"BEST WIFI, beautiful swimminpool and resort, and very confortable. "
Read full review
Faith Rechelle C wrote a tip Feb 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms and upstairs is a plus"
Read full review
scoobie007 wrote a tip Apr 2019
Cebu City, Philippines96 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to choose an upstairs room as if in ground floor likely to be noise from upper rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tawala area.
PRICE RANGE
₱2,862 - ₱3,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasBohol ProvincePanglao IslandPanglaoTawala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCENT OF GREEN PAPAYA RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Tawala, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

All Tawala HotelsTawala Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TawalaHotels near Scent of Green Papaya Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars