We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scent of Green Papaya Resort

Save
Share
Ester A. Lim Drive, Tawala, Panglao 6340 Philippines
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (163)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (17)

About

#1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Tawala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Modern eco native resort, near the beach, with swimming pool and located in a green, peaceful and quiet area. With now a free Shuttle on demand direct to the beach, for a 3 min ride to the best vacations in BOHOL
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Snorkeling
Kids pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
220Reviews6Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 150
  • 44
  • 18
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eddie A wrote a review 23 Feb
1 contribution
If you're looking for a place to stay away from the crowd but still not that far from Alona Beach, this is exactly the place to stay, Scent of Green Papaya Resort. It was an excellent stay, indeed! Our family really did enjoyed staying in this resort. It was a lovely surprise for my sister's birthday upon check in when they left a birthday decor inside the room. There were staff members namely Joel, Philip, Mj and of course John, the Resort Manager who were particularly helpful, accommodating and friendly who go above and beyond to make sure you have the best time. We had encounter a small problem on my mother's room but here comes this guy Joel, who attentively handled our concern with grace and professionalism. Kudos to him👍 We will definitely comeback with my family soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Faith Rechelle C wrote a review 13 Feb
1 contribution
Very accomodating, great staff AND GREAT SERVICE. They do our requests with no charges and was shook by it. :) Deco is much appreciated. Place is not crowded and perfect place to chill and celeb with my family. :) Everything is perfect and I'm thankful with all the staff for letting us celeb that day and help us surprise our parents with no hassle. :) Wish we could stay more longer. :) Will stay again for sure. :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: all rooms and upstairs is a plus
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ab3 wrote a review Dec 2020
Los Angeles, California188 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
My review of the Scent of Green Papaya Resort/Hotel in Panglao, Bohol, Philippines. If you're looking for a great hotel to stay at that's economical and modern, look no further than this hidden gem of a resort. It's basically just a few blocks from the beach in the Alona Beach area of Panglao, Bohol in the Philippines. I stayed here in February, right when Covid was flaring up and they were shutting down borders. I booked the room using Agoda.com and paid about $60USD/night for a Superior King Room, which included a custom made breakfast every morning. The resort/hotel is about a five minute walk from the main road where the hustle and bustle is of Alona Beach, but if you don't feel like walking, they do have a shuttle taking you back and forth from the main road, which is lined with American-style restaurants (including McDonald's if that's your thing), as well as souvenir shops, tour kiosks etc. The front desk staff was super cool and reminded me to choose my breakfast each evening so they could prepare it fresh for me in the morning. Also, they helped me call a ride for the ferry and also were amazing helping me book tours, including a snorkeling tour. I had a great stay and highly recommend this place if you're looking for something different. This place even had a Balinese feel to it. There are lots of hotel options in Alona Beach, many of which are five times the price of this hotel. So if you're looking for something quaint, quiet and cool, give Scent of Green Papaya a try! I would definitely stay here again if I were ever to return to Alona Beach. Feel free to check out my channel if you would like to see a video walk-through of my room and the hotel grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
trvhapi wrote a review Feb 2020
Calgary, Canada21 contributions2 helpful votes
We would not stay here again - mainly due to location. Pros Nice pools which are well maintained Good sized balcony with table and chairs Lots of loungers around the pool with towels supplied Breakfast is brought in from elsewhere, so need to advise night before what you want We had some problems with our rooms and maintenance guy was there promptly to try to fix it. Only 2 small bottles of water in the room - not replaced daily. Water cooler in restaurant for refilling. Cons Plumbing - Our room had no consistent hot water - despite maintenance man working on it; also foul sewer smell in bathroom Location - walking distance to Alona Beach is about 30 minutes- 10 minutes by free shuttle; Part of road is very rough for walking especially in the dark. Safe in both our rooms was not working until we advised them. Overheard manager arguing with another guest. The issue was discrepancy between Agoda and their website about free breakfast for a child who was 3rd person in the room. She was telling guest it was up to him to get it changed on Agoda. Poor customer service in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Papaya, General Manager at Scent of Green Papaya Resort
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Good afternoon and thank you for this complete review. Thank you for the pros you noticed during your stay. About the cons, we do apologize for the different problems you did encountered. Problem of battery with the safe should have been noticed before your checking, the information will be added to the check in process. For the plumbing problem, it is something that we are unfortunately always working on, due to local regulation regarding sewer and also during very high season the hot water can supply a lower temperature as you experienced. New solar water heater are to be installed during the year. Now about our breakfast, we do "a la carte'' the day before for a better organisation everyday and be able to serve you in the morning faster. We do all our breakfast on site, only fresh baguette and croissant are served fresh every morning. The walking distance to the beach is a 20 min by feet. The shuttle is a 6 min ride to the drop off place at Alona beach area. ( 900 meter from the resort). We do give plastic bottle only once per check in, for environmental reason we provide a free hot and cold refilling at the restaurant area available 24/7 , it saves around 1100 bottle a month, which is quite important in this country. About Agoda rules, free child stay are for free and without breakfast, like that the corresponding breakfast can be ordered if needed. As a matter of fact, TripAdvisor rules are about your experience in the resort, and not about what other guests experienced or however we settle the rules in our establishment, which are based of years of accommodations. Thanks again for your complete point of view that will definitely help us to add some control upon checking. Thanks again for your stay in our establishment from all he team SOGPR
Read more
Voyage41493849157 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We were traveling in a group of 5 friends and rented two rooms from this hotel. I lived in upstairs suite with two of my friends and the room was perfect for us. Large enough balcony to host all 5 of us and the bedrooms were very clean and pretty large. Beds great and quiet place to sleep. In our room the AC was located perfectly so you really can't have a flu even if you forget it a bit too cold. That's a huge plus from my point of view :) Pool was clean and you could start sunbathing first thing in the morning because the sun is shining right from the morning till evening. Off course there are shade options also. Breakfast was well organized and good. Staff was very friendly. Location was nice, about 7min walk to the beach and there is even a free shuttle service that leaves every 30min.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasBohol ProvincePanglao IslandPanglaoTawala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scent of Green Papaya Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shaka Bohol, Saffron, and Sisa Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Scent of Green Papaya Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Scent of Green Papaya Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Scent of Green Papaya Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Balay Kabilin (13.4 km).