We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2800 W Main St US Hwy 75 & Peter Pan Rd, Independence, KS 67301-8421
Hotel direct offer!Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Wyndham
Booking.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (1)

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Independence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Independence, Super 8 by Wyndham Independence is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its budget friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Super 8 by Wyndham Independence makes it easy to enjoy the best of Independence.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Super Eight Independence features a 24 hour front desk and room service. In addition, as a valued Independence Super Eight guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you’re looking for a Chinese restaurant, consider a visit to Great China Restaurant or New China Restaurant, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Super Eight Independence.

Should time allow, Elk City State Park is a popular state park that is relatively easy to get to.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Super 8 by Wyndham Independence is sure to make your visit to Independence one worth remembering.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
10Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pam B wrote a review Jun 2022
Dalhart, Texas1 contribution
Front desk was friendly. Breakfast was a good variety of things. BUT..all in all, Hotel was Not very secure. Access to first floor hallway through an unlocked glass door, No key needed! Older Hotel, needs some repairs. Our room door was hard to shut and had a 1/4 inch gap in it when closed. We also had a broken window that looked like it had been glued to fix it. Bathroom was the worse! Extremely loud exhaust fan that was on same connection to light, so could never be shut off. The toilet seat was broken, and the toilet didn't flush well. The Tub didn't drain well, I had to shut the water off twice during my shower so it could drain. The floor was sticky and dirty. There was a lot of "Crud" buildup on baseboards and corners. Needs a Very Extensive Cleaning!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
albertonoriega1122 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I love the check in breakfast the people very friendly I would definitely recommend it to people to stay at super 8 and their rewards program is awesome too helps out a lot free night as you pile points
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear albertonoriega1122, It is really nice to know that you liked the stay and services at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for your compliments on our friendly staff, hospitality, and breakfast layout. Our ultimate ambition is to provide a five-star experience, and we are thrilled to learn that we have succeeded. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Henry A wrote a review Dec 2021
Hays, Kansas526 contributions128 helpful votes
The room was clean and comfortable. One complaint would be the lack of sufficient outlets. The bed was comfortable and the location was quiet. The Wi-Fi quit and was not restored while I was there, Check in was friendly. This appears to be a family operation. Breakfast was less than minimal, but you save enough on the room to get a hot fast food breakfast elsewhere in town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 22 Dec 2021
721henrya, Thank you for staying with us! It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the electrical outlet as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest experience. We can't wait to show you how we continue to improve based on feedback like yours.
Read more
J C wrote a review Oct 2021
Dallas, Texas36 contributions9 helpful votes
It was clean, but very worn. Some things being updated, but water stains in room ceiling and super HARD BED were no good. Quiet and slept well, but back ache from poor mattress were real negatives. Coffee only, while most every other property is offering something for breakfast, not here. Kitchen had left over food all over, looked like the staff is cooking in there, but nothing for guests. I liked it was Wyndham, so points, and price was good. However once was enough. Maybe they will be better someday, but they are not there yet.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: That's easy go to the Microtel across the street for a good room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 18 Oct 2021
J C, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. We do apologize for the discomfort you experienced with our bed but we are glad we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness. Breakfast is temporarily out of service this time due to the pandemic. Our Hotel is working hard to follow the CDC guidelines, and all of our local county and state recommendations when it comes to Covid-19. We are all doing the best that we can for our valued guests. We hope to be back to normal someday soon, and we thank you for your understanding.
Read more
Ron wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
The new manager and his wife are professional and customer-oriented. They are in the process of upgrading the hotel with new furniture, cleanliness, and great customer service. They have repeatedly asked if there was anything we needed or if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable. On this five-week trip through six states. we have stayed in more expensive hotels but none have been as professional or as accommodating as the management at this Super 8.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 15 Jul 2021
GlampDocker, On behalf of my entire team, We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for noticing the recent updates that we have made to our hotel. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. Best of luck on your trip and we look forward to seeing you when you return. Take care and stay safe as you travel back home.
Read more
Vanessa B wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5 stars for amazing customer service provided by management and staff at the Wyndham Super 8 in Independence, Kansas. Every hotel/motel has it's pros and cons. There were a few issues with our room that I have gotten with higher ups about and hope to resolve. I had my children with me and they loved our stay. The pool was so clean and my kids had a wonderful time. We were even invited to participate in the 4th of July festivities at the hotel. Management went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The owner on the other hand has some work to accomplish.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 11 Jul 2021
Msentre, Thank you for taking the time to share this five-star experience with our management, staff, and future guests. We are glad that our services, hospitality, and accommodations exceeded your expectations and hope that you experience the same comfortable stay during your next visit! It is great to hear that your kids enjoyed our swimming pool and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Read more
Yolanda V wrote a review Jul 2021
Kansas City, Missouri13 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is under new management after a poor reputation. Believe it was the manager who checked us in and he was very nice and accomodating; he also followed up with us after we checked in to be sure all was ok. He did admit the hotel was going thru renovations so if anything wasn't working to let him know for immediate corrections. The room had some small things I could get past - stains on the carpet, cigarette hole on the comforter. The area was quiet, I felt safe, it was clean and the bed was very comfy for my 1 night stay. I'd stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Yolovesthesun90, Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We hope to see you stay with us more in the future as we promise to push our services better to provide you the most pleasant stay that you can find. We thank you that you highlighted our strengths in your review. May you return again soon and feel at home just like the last time!
Read more
Paul Gardner wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We came to town on personal business, the price was the best at any Super 8 we previously stayed at. The Clerks were friendly, informative and helpful (Especially Carly) They even went out of their way to make us fresh coffee on several occasions. We ended up staying there 5 nights, the maid was there everyday and even on the days we told her we didn't need service she was quick to bring fresh towels and dump trash with a friendly smile. I realize it could have been difficult since they were having lots of new furniture being delivered and remodeling going on. The day after we left we stayed in a Super 8 in Colorado. It cost us more for one night in Colorado than for 3 nights in Independence, for half the room size and unfriendly employees.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are best
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 23 May 2021
Hi PaulGardner530, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and we were able to provide a comfortable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Read more
Shelby28Warren wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Staff was rude and unprofessional. Let their kids run up and down the hall all evening and right after midnight let them shoot fireworks off right under our window then when we complained about the dirty room and the noisy kids after midnight they made excuses and refused to resolve the issue. Wouldnt even acknowledge us. We ended our stay early with them and went across the street to the Comfort inn and got SO MUCH better service. And it was so much cleaner and professional and accommodating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 7 Jan 2021
Shelby28Warren, Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered during your recent stay at our hotel. It is distressing to hear that you encountered a number of issues with our housekeeping and guest services and I want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are working hard and fast to address these problems in hopes of improving upon the guest experience. I want to apologize for the kid's noises that disturb your rest, All Front Desk Clerks are instructed and trained on how to handle these types of issues and I'm very sorry they failed to correct this problem for you. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
Superk518 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan6 contributions
I stay at Super8 frequently and had gotten confused about this one, which is why I have stayed there twice. This is the dirtiest Super8 I have ever visited. There was no maid service at all while I was there (3 days), when I checked in there was old coffee in the coffee pot, which was still there when I left. Stains were present on the counters, it smelled like smoke (for a non-smoking room there sure are a lot of cigarette burns) and was overall disgusting. I will definitely remember to avoid this Super8 in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Responded 7 Jan 2021
Superk518, I am so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and I hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review and for informing us to give us the opportunity to address this situation. We understand that you are hesitant to return based on this experience, though we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
super 8 independence, super eight independence, independence super 8, independence super eight
LOCATION
United StatesKansasIndependence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Super 8 by Wyndham Independence
Which popular attractions are close to Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Nearby attractions include Riverside Park and Ralph Mitchell Zoo (4.2 km), Elk City State Park (4.2 km), and Magnolia Scents by Design (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ane Mae's Coffee and Sandwich Shop, El Pueblito Mexican Restaurant, and Maria's Mexican Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Super 8 by Wyndham Independence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Little House on the Prairie Museum (13.4 km) and Ex Foresteria Nuova (10.1 km).
Is Super 8 by Wyndham Independence accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.