We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mainstay Suites

Save
Share
2602 Candlewood Dr, Emporia, KS 66801-6637
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$90
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mainstay Suites
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 15 hotels in Emporia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection and check out our newly renovated rooms. The Candlewood Suites Hotel - Emporia is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each room has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi available and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy it in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). All of our rooms are now non-smoking! The City of Emporia has enacted a smoking ban for all interior public spaces. This includes all areas inside the hotel as well as guest rooms. We are located just off I-35; from exit 128 (Industrial Road) just travel one block north to Candlewood Drive. We are conveniently located close to Emporia State University, shopping, dining and local companies including: Tyson, Glendo, Interstate Brands, Menu Foods, and many others!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
18Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
77Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 30
  • 7
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Pat S wrote a review Jun 2021
Somerset, New Jersey144 contributions64 helpful votes
We were here for Unbound Gravel bike race. This hotel had what we needed: a bed, a shower, and a kitchen. They had a full refrigerator, a stove and cabinets with some of the basics. The staff was nice from booking through checkout. Breakfast was some OJ, coffee, granola bars and fruit. It looks like they recently took over this space or rebranded it. There is a lot of room for improvement. I’m hopeful that they are in the early stages of fixing the place up. The bed was comfortable, but it was hard to get in and out of on one side as it was close to the wall. The chair was also comfortable and was able to recline. Some cosmetic comments: the refrigerator had a mark on the door, the phones in the room were old school and they may want to consider replacing them. Most notably about the room, it smelled. We found the culprit, the ceiling in the closet was covered in mold. Because there was a big event in town other hotel rooms would have been hard to find. So we opened a window and took Claritin to get through the few days we were there. If they totally redo the rooms we would consider staying there again. Until the mold issue is mitigated I would look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
FlatlanderUS wrote a review Oct 2019
Manhattan, Kansas462 contributions53 helpful votes
Pros: Without a doubt the most comfortable bed and pillows we have ever slept on at a hotel. Amazing! Cons: Nice pile of hair in the corner of the bathroom floor, along with 1/3 of a remaining roll of TP and no new rolls??? No coffee in the lobby in the morning either. Overall - sleep quality was outstanding in that bed. Time to fire some of the maids though...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites
Responded 19 Dec 2019
Greetings, FlatlanderUS, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Candlewood Suites Emporia. We want you to feel at home at your best. I am glad you had a quality sleep, and you are pleased with our comfortable bed and pillows. I read your comment about the bathroom floor, availability of tissue papers, and coffee in the lobby made an impact on your stay. I shared y our feedback with the hotel management to address this matter with high importance. I am positive they will respond accordingly. I hope this matter will not stop you from giving us a chance to host your future stays, as we promise to keep the balance of your home. All the best, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Paul W wrote a review Sep 2019
4 contributions
I booked a stay here on-line because I generally like IHG properties and have had good luck with other Candlewood Suites. Only after I booked (let them know I was bringing my dog in the booking) did I discover that there is a $50 charge for my dog. That’s 50% of the price of the room! I get to the hotel and although I reserved and paid for a queen suite, they gave me a two full bed suite - “because I have a dog”. Note that they did not refund the differential in cost however. Upon check-in they make you sign a pet contract, no problem- that’s pretty standard - but one of the “rules” is you can’t bring the dog through the lobby. SERIOUSLY?? This is not a special nicely appointed lobby folks. They just want you to bring your companion through the side door and walk the 3 flights to your room. Then if you have an Apple device, it won’t connect to the WiFi. When you ask for help they will want the details from your device they then email to support, but if it’s Saturday night and support isn’t there, you are SOL...like we were. The only “good news” - we were so cramped sleeping in a full size bed we got on the road early the next day because we couldn’t sleep. If you have a dog, just keep on driving; they don’t want you here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites
Responded 21 Sep 2019
Hi DocPRW, Thank you for making us your home base here in Emporia. I am sorry that your stay with your furry friend was marred due to the issues you had our pet policy. Although we aim to make your stay enjoyable, I understand that this did not happen this time. I also read that our Wifi did not work as expected for your device. Please trust that I have shared this with the team for further review to ensure that your next stay will be a success. We appreciate you preferring our chain and we hope to welcome you back. Warmly, Kristine B. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Jim G wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
We’ve come here for years... never again! No one here from previous mgmt. and it is obvious. Basically “Self Serve, absent maintenance or network assistance. Network is locked out from all Apple products unless they access your device and obtain your MAC address. Only discovered after nearly a week of complaining. Appears to have high turnover of personnel. Unable to print boarding passes or other docs unless we emailed to the desk person because the guest pc was out of disk space.Facility is showing a lack of upkeep as well. Door without lock mechanism. Arrived for a week reservation only to be told we would have to move out of room and take cot for the second bed. Later told it was a mistake and seldom saw any residents worthy of filling the facility. Possibly some of the rooms were not able to be used. Never saw any maintenance personnel during our entire stay. Something has certainly changed here. Never again...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites
Responded 4 May 2019
Hello Jim G, Thanks for staying and for taking the time to share your experience with us. First of all, it's disappointing to know that you didn't fully enjoy your stay because of the service that you received. Also, I truly understand that you were not impressed with the condition of our facilities. The circumstances you have mentioned are not what I want you to experience with any of our properties. The service and our facilities should always be excellent and I know that this time, it wasn't. I am taking your feedback seriously and I've shared this with the management of the hotel so we can further improve our amenities. I'd like to follow up on your concerns that's why I've sent you a private message. Your feedback will definitely help us towards bettering our services and we hope to host you again soon. All the best, Peter J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Phyllis B wrote a review Apr 2019
23 contributions
Polite staff, clean room, quiet room. I only had 1 issue...I could get only the weather channel. They charge $50 for the night for a dog to stay because they say they need to clean everything including drapes & furniture after each dog stay. Not sure if they do or don’t but my room was very clean and my dog was comfortable too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites
Responded 26 Apr 2019
phyllisb863, While I'm happy of your nice words on our staff and rooms, I'm sorry to hear that you found our TV channel selection and pet fee to be a little off. This is definitely not part of our goal of making every guests comfortable during their visit. Don't worry though as I've already looped in the hotel about your feedback. They will make sure that actions are taken in order for them to provide the optimum guest experience. Thanks for trying us out, in spite of our flaws. Stay with us again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Best regards, Joel A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
candlewood suites emporia, candlewood emporia, emporia candlewood suites
LOCATION
United StatesKansasEmporia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mainstay Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Mainstay Suites?
Nearby attractions include B&B Theatres (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mainstay Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mainstay Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mainstay Suites?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mainstay Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mainstay Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Ranch, Applebee's, and Bruff's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mainstay Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mainstay Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mainstay Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mainstay Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mainstay Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.