We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Warwick Allerton - Chicago

Save
Share
701 N Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
27 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/31/22
Expedia.com
$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/31/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$164
View deal
Hotels.com$210
Travelocity$210
travelup.com$240
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (861)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (292)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#139 of 218 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Glamour, revisited. The beautifully rejuvenated Warwick Allerton - Chicago offers charming accommodations at a storied address. Experience boutique ambience in one of The Windy City's grandest hotels. With its 443 stylishly designed rooms, renowned Warwick hospitality, and convenient location among the shopping, dining, and entertainment along Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile, the Warwick Allerton - Chicago is everything you are looking for during your stay in the Windy City.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2741Reviews68Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,053
  • 876
  • 438
  • 200
  • 174
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jo_cicco wrote a review 4 Jul
Marseille, France104 contributions99 helpful votes
Location is the best Up of this hotel - at the corner of North Michigan avenue with plenty of hot spots all around. This is my 2d or 3d stay in this hotel - service is fine, breakfast OK (some restrictions during my stay due to Covid alert). Rooms and bathrooms start to be outdated now - I guess this is just what you need if what you expect is a just decent bed and a place to sleep - but the whole hotel would probably require a serious refurbishing to look more trendy now. No issues with the staff. Beware, door keys tend to demagnetize very quickly, especially if you keep them in your pocket with your mobile phone. Ask for 2 keys, even if you are on your own!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded yesterday
Dear jo-cicco, Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Niek
Read more
Shelly S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! You can go stay at a Holiday Inn or anywhere else for cheaper, and it will be 10x nicer than Warwick Allerton Chicago. The place is FILTHY. I am shocked and confused as to how this can be considered a 4-star hotel, because I can assure you that majority of motels are nicer than this place. There is trash all over the hallways, the room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks, the room was the size of a studio apartment in Manhattan, there are slim to no employees, and the atmosphere of the hotel was totally odd and seemed very unsafe. I am telling you -- do. not. stay. here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for the experience you had during your stay. Kind regards, Niek
Read more
Susan G wrote a review Jun 2022
Plymouth, Minnesota44 contributions31 helpful votes
Upon checkin the room did not have cups in bathroom, closet hangars or an ice bucket. Hangars delivered and did not fit the closet rod. Ice machine was out of service. I made complaint with front desk manager and was told to contact her if anything else was wrong during stay. I called and left message after we found the mini-frig did not work. She has not returned the call as of the next day. The restaurant and bar are not open, hair conditioner and body lotion are not provided (standard with a 4 star hotel). The carpets in room and halls are stained. Elevators are extremely slow and resulted in long back ups in lobby and frustrated guests. I travel extensively for work and leisure and am shocked this is rated a 4 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Susan, Thank you for your review and we have noted the various points that lead to a negative experience in our hotel. Rest assured this will be addressed and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Niek
Read more
Carin C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Been traveliing in 2022 and staying ink hotels and by far, this was the worst experience. Am a Warwick member and they gave us an upgrade. We accepted. Perpetually LONG lines at Reception Desk ALL hours of day/evening. Courteous dialogue offered during stay but NO hotel services. NO food/beverage/housekeeping services whatsoever. 3 day stay: garbage cans overflowing. towels in wet heaps on floor. *** about 4 inches between foot of bed and wall when curtains are closed: get ready to perfect your sideways sashaying skills. Hardly walkable space. Numerous red spots on carpet. Your guess. Dark stains on wallpaper near toilet. Your guess again. Housekeeping DID show up our final morning banging on door at 8:15 am: for what? NO housekeeping services offered/available during 3 day stay. Outdated decor; wallpaper like from the 70's. Hotel said Warwick was going to renovate. Short staffed: no easy access to Reception Desk for questions. Great location. Pretty architecture of building. This hotel needs lots of attention of owners: renovation, customer service and amenities. BTW, of all the hotels I have stayed in DURING COVID, esp, in 2022, this was the worst experience. Other hotels are managing much better. I have realistic expectations during covid. Do yourself a favor, skip this hotel and/or cancel your reservation here and go elsewhere.....anywhere else. C. C.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review and please accept our apologies for the experience you received during your stay with us. Currently the hotel does not offer food and beverage but there are ample of restaurants and bars in the vicinity of the hotel. Our stayover service is only upon on request and for long stay guests. We have ample of amenities available 24/7 at the hotel reception. Kind regards Niek
Read more
CanadianGirl wrote a review Jun 2022
Ontario, Canada99 contributions119 helpful votes
2 1/2 Stars but will round up to 3 because of the price. See important details below before booking. The Check-in/Main Lobby is on the 2nd floor, which is odd, but not a pro or con. Pros Front Desk Staff. Very friendly and helpful, despite their limitations. Good location close to Michigan Ave, Navy Pier and RiverWalk. Couldn’t hear sirens at night, like many Chicago hotels. I think because it’s so close to the hospital it is in a “quiet zone.” Incredible water pressure in the bathroom. Good price if you’re wanting a longer stay in the Windy City. Major Cons No cleaning/maid service for the entire 5 days we were there. I’m not sure if this is a “covid” thing, even though we went in June 2022, or a short staffing issue, but the room was never cleaned, no new towels the entire trip. We were told at check in that this would be the case, and to ask if we needed anything. Horrible Wifi in the bedroom. Most of the time we could not connect at all in the room. Rooms: Small and outdated. We upgraded to one of the larger rooms, and it was still smaller than most modern hotel rooms. Bed was about two feet away from the door to the hallway. LUGGAGE DROP OFF!!! This was a big issue for us. There is no secure luggage drop off if you arrive early or leave late. There is a corner of the lobby where you just leave your suitcase. Anyone could come off the street and take it. Small Cons Hair Dryer: Warm air only. Pretty much useless. Ice Machine: Needs to be cleaned on the 10th floor. Multiple black specks, and dirt in the ice. Garbage in hallways because there is no maid service and people leave it out. Takeaway, if you’re a traveller who spends a lot of time in your room, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you’re wanting a good priced, slightly run down hotel in a good location, book it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear CanadianGirlsTravels, Thank you for your detailed and comprehensive review. We will rectify the various points you have listed and we hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Niek
Read more
SaraJets wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York219 contributions95 helpful votes
Hotel was beautiful- right int the heart of Downtown Chicago- near many attractions- that you can walk to. Rooms were clean- very nice view. There were many shops and several restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. Service was good- the only thing missing was a restaurant in the hotel if you want to grab something to eat. Howevrer, if you want to bring food back and eat there were tables and plenty of room to sit down. Definitely would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SaraJets, Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you soon again on your next trip to Chicago. Kind regards Niek
Read more
Eileen wrote a review Jun 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan1 contribution1 helpful vote
I just wish I knew that restaurant and bar wasn't open for business - this was due to Covid and the hotel had only been open for a year. So, I'm understanding of all that. Anyhow, it was a good thing I was only there overnight. At check-in, I was surprisingly given an upgrade to a suite. Well, the suite was run down and in need of desperate repairs. The blinds in the bathroom were yellowed due to age and it was missing some slats. The headboard cushion tufting was damaged and the windows from the outside was so dirty I couldn't see clearly of my view....which btw, the room had a great view of the city:-(. On the flip side, employees were extremely friendly. And if you are needing a good convenient parking, there is a parking structure right next door.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mitten00. Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for the experience you had. The points mentioned will be addressed. Kind regards, Niek
Read more
Philly P wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel while attending a conference. Others mentioned having to change rooms due to bedbugs. My room appeared newly renovated and bug free, and I did not realize I had been also exposed. Upon my arrival home, within 2 days, my wife and I were badly bitten and our house infested. We now have had to engage exterminators ($2k) to treat the entire house, have to discard hundreds of dollars worth of bedding and other household items. Every soft item in 4 bedrooms has to be removed for the exterminator treatment (also the light switch and outlet covers, wall art, etc) , and what has not been discarded, has to washed/dried in the highest heat settings (including clothes in the closets and dressers ). All of the contents in the adjacent bathroom have to be discarded and replaced. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want your life to be a bloody hell, and if you can afford the cost of exterminators and to replace the contents of your home and much of your clothing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
NanaDonna wrote a review Jun 2022
Wichita Falls, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice, clean hotel. A bit pricey, but it’s right on the Magnificent Mile. Close to the Hop On Hop Off bus stop, which was super convenient. The biggest downside was that due to Covid, there was no room cleaning, no restaurant open, and no bar open. You could get clean towels by calling the front desk, but we stayed for 3 nights without being able to get our room cleaned. This was not indicated to us in anyway prior to our arrival. The complimentary internet was also hit or miss, which was inconvenient. The hotel was clean and convenient though
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Niek
Read more
Fiona M wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Like many hotels this one has scaled back services due to Covid - only a little too far! The hotel hallway was not vacuumed the whole 5 nights I was there (a glass sat there the whole time) along with various pieces of rubbish. It makes you wonder whether any touch points were being cleaned at all. Some elevators had hand sanitizer some did not - there was no consistency. In room bars were removed (fair enough) but no glasses left so that you could drink water or buy your own to consume later. No cleaning of the room at all during my stay but they would drop off supplies as requested. No bar, restaurant or concierge. Trying to get information for a first time visitor to Chicago was not easy. You get better answers from google rather than ask the front desk. Assistance with cabs etc was non existent. Rooms were ok but could have been setup better for a more effective use of space - it felt like furniture was thrown in the room without a lot of thought or planning - similar in the bathroom - no where to hang hand towels near the sink for example. Location was good and handy to Restaurants and shops
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niek Mestdagh, General Manager at Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Fiona, Thank you for your review and please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had during your stay at the Warwick Allerton. Rest assured this is not the service we normally provide and we do hope that you do chose our property for your next trip to Chicago. Kind regards Niek
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
allerton hotel chicago
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Allerton Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Near North Side / Magnificent Mile
NUMBER OF ROOMS
443
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Warwick Allerton - Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Nearby attractions include The Magnificent Mile (0.05 km), The Escape Game Chicago (0.3 km), and EscapeHouse Chicago (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab, and Eddie V's Prime Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Warwick Allerton - Chicago offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Warwick Allerton - Chicago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.