We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
6500 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/29/23
Vio.com
$102
View deal
HIExpress.com$114
Hotels.com$114
Destinia.com$157
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (11)

About

#143 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel near Chicago Midway AirportSearching for hotels near the best sights in downtown Chicago? Look no more. We would like to welcome you to a convenient stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Chicago - Midway Airport, which boasts a great location.Business travelers love that our hotel is near Chicago Midway Airport, as well as companies like AVW Telav, Bedford Industrial Park, Cintas, CSI Chicago, JB Hunt, Kraft Foods and Tyson Foods. Our 405 sq. ft. meeting room is perfect for small-scale events, and the Business Center is open for any corporate needs.Vacationers in Chicago love lodging at our hotel since we're surrounded by attractions, including the Ford City Mall, and we're a short drive from the Brookfield Zoo and the amazing Shedd Aquarium. Hop the nearby Orange Line for easy transportation into the city. No matter what brings you to Chicago, lodging at our hotel provides you with the convenient amenities you want, such as free high-speed Wi-Fi access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
234Reviews9Q+A31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 90
  • 95
  • 29
  • 7
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
B_Pope wrote a review 24 Jan
Napa, California382 contributions186 helpful votes
As we searched for a hotel near Midway airport, our search criteria were: 1. Close to Midway airport 2. Clean and Comfortable 3. Free Breakfast 4. Airport Shuttle 5. Reasonable pricing. The Holiday In Express provided all of these, so we were very happy with out stay. The only shortcoming was the lack of ceiling fan in the bathroom, which is almost a must for me. The mirror was completely steamed up after showering. Other than that, everything was very good. Clean, comfortable beds. Great breakfast with plenty of options, including a pancake machine--such fun! The shower included dispensers of Dove-branded body wash, shampoo, and conditioner. The airport shuttle is frequent and efficient, serving all the hotels in the south-of-the-airport cluster. There are many restaurant options nearby, including a few within walking distance. We would be glad to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express near Midway Airport. We are proud to offer all of the amenities that you mentioned, such as clean and comfortable beds, a delicious breakfast with plenty of options, and a convenient airport shuttle. We apologize for the lack of a ceiling fan in the bathroom, as we understand how important this is for anyone taking a shower. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities such as the pancake machine and the Dove-branded body wash, shampoo, and conditioner. We are also glad to hear that there are many restaurant options nearby, including a few within walking distance. We are so glad that you would be glad to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AbbasFamilyUSA wrote a review Nov 2022
San Antonio, Texas3 contributions3 helpful votes
Professionalism and friendliness of front desk staff varies greatly. I booked a 2-Queen-Beds room for my teenage son and me. The shower faucet handle was broken. The night shift frontdesk lady offered to put us in different room but it had to be a Queen Suite with sofa bed because nothing else was available. We were told maintenance would repair the shower in our original roomnin the morning and it that it would be held for us so we can move back into it the next day. Unfortunately, when we showed up next day another nice front desk employee told us the room had been sold and she had no other 2-beds room available. Seeing that we were very disappointed and frustrated, she offered to cancel the chanrge for our first night. The next day we inspected our receipt to make sure charges for that first night were cancelled and noticed about $45 in parking fees and taxes when the employee that checked us in clearly said there would be no charge for guests as she handed me the permit I was supposed to put on the dashboard so our car wouldn’t get towed away for parking illegally. The frontdesk clerk quickly became confrontational when I told her those parking charges where unexpected. Her manager then agreed to reimburse these charges, but the clerk then decided she would only refund one of the two days of parking because I had already been given another refund for one night of room charges. I calmy explained the reason for the reversal of room charges but she became more confrontational. I asked to speak with somekne else. The manager stepped out of her office, instructed the clerk to refund all parking charges, and proceeded to angrily advise me to choose another location for my next stay if I had an issue with paying for parking. Ultimately, I do not have a problem paying for parking; but I do care about getting the product (a 2-beds room for 2 nights) this hotel agreed to sell me, and having to make up for the fact that the staff had poor communication among themselves, and follow-through on the commitments that were made (2-beds room would be held for us), and bad training on what guests should expect to be charges for (parking).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us, abbasfamilyusa. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves on our welcoming, kind staff, so it is upsetting to hear about this kind of service. We will let our management team know about your experience and see what we can to ensure this won't happen again in the future. If there is anything we can do to accommodate a future stay with us, please let us know. We'd love another opportunity to show you how amazing we are so we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy Munns wrote a review Sep 2022
247 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
You get bad service from employees as usual as other holiday inn hotels. It is really hard to find someone professional and go beyond your expectations at holiday inn hotels. They gym was very tiny one. I am not sure if anyone would workout at this gym. The worst part was the bedsheet. Everything touches my skin was so uncomfortable. I felt like it was wet but my husband said it wasn't so I don't know why I felt that way. I put everything to cover my skin as much as I could but still felt like wet through my clothes. We had to leave early so did not have a breakfast. Dining area looked small just like they gym. Our flight got cancelled so we did not have a choice but I would not stay here again because of employees' attitudes and the worst bedsheets. There are tons of hotel near by this hotel so try to find another one.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Sep 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback, USARNAMY. We regret that your experience with us was less than ideal. We're disappointed to hear the service you received wasn't up to par. Providing our guests with exceptional service is something we take seriously. Please know your concerns about our bedding and service will be addressed with our management team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance to show you the service we're truly capable of providing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison B wrote a review Jun 2022
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Wonderful staff. Breakfast was good and front desk staff and housekeeping great. I left my wedding ring and they called as I was landing in Denver to let me know it had been found. Comfortable rooms and so easy for Midway airport. Recommend for anyone departing from Midway!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Thanks for sharing the excellent review with us, Alison! We're so glad that you had an exceptional experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport from beginning to end. It's wonderful to know that our staff treated you so well and made you feel welcome throughout the entirety of your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip Turturro wrote a review Jun 2022
Hollywood, Florida113 contributions53 helpful votes
Great hotel- very clean and modern. Love the fact that they are earth friendly- no linen change every day AND soaps and shampoo are in refillable bottles in the shower. One thing to be aware of…. $24 parking per day in a parking lot that is shared with other hotels. Wasn’t happy to pay $48 in a non secured lot. Other than that - everything was great. Yes- breakfast was very good!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Thank you for the amazing rating, Philip! We are very pleased to hear about the excellent stay we were able to share with you! It is always our highest priority to provide a satisfying experience for all of our guests. We hope you plan on staying at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport soon! Thanks again for leaving your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Customer wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I stayed at this hotel on 4/23/2022, I was able to hear every single car that passed my room. All the people talking outside and they were not loud. I would not recommend you stay at this hotel. The windows on this hotel are horrible, there should be no reason to hear the loud traffic and outside noises. When the hotel was contacted by the 3rd party, they refused to reply. Never book through a 3rd party because this hotel will ignore them when they are asked for resolution. They charge for parking but the there are no gates restricting anyone from coming onto the property to steal or break into your car. Paying for parking at this property is a rip off.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 May 2022
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret the problems you had with the sound levels in the rooms and that your stay didn't exceed your expectations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jgb0907 wrote a review Feb 2022
nyny20 contributions11 helpful votes
Of course we booked the wrong holiday inn. The gal behind the desk went way way out of her way to give us water, let us use the internet and managed to call the driver from there to pick us up. She did it all with a smile and is exactly what you want to meet when your traveling. She was Chicago's best. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Just a nice hotel with a great staff.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Thanks for the amazing review! It's excellent your time at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport was so fantastic! We take great care in providing top-notch service for all of our guests. Your praise for our team lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share another splendid experience with you! Thank you again for sharing your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Djana R wrote a review Aug 2021
Chicago, Illinois5 contributions
+1
I was staying at the Holiday Inn Express with my three daughters, ages 17, 7, and 1 Aug 1-4th. When I say “horrible”, that would be an understatement!!!! We arrived late that night, about 10 pm. Upon checking into my room I called down to the front desk for extra linen because I booked the conference suite and planned to use the sofa sleeper since I was traveling with my children. First, the front desk clerk told me the hotel was fully booked but she would see what she could do. I told her “you mean to tell me there’s no extra linen in the entire hotel.” Nevertheless, a knock at the door with extra linen came five minutes later. Next, while opening the sofa sleeper, we found blood stained sheets on the sofa sleeper. I immediately run down to the phone and call the front desk. Oh it gets worse. While on the phone with the front desk telling her about the sheets, and she telling me there’s literally no one who can come clean the room in the entire hotel and housekeeping isn’t her job, I hear my 17 year old yell out “don’t touch that” and my 7 year old says “what is it”, then my 17 year old says “mom the baby almost touched a used condom”!!! Before I could even go ballistic on the phone, the front desk clerk say “omg, I’m so sorry. I can move your room.” So after being in the nasty room 20 mins, me and my kids carry all of our bags to a smaller room at 10:30 at night. I asked for a manager and was told one would not be there until Wednesday, and it was Sunday night. When I finally got the chance to speak to a manager, Maria Diaz, when I say she was the most unapologetic, non empathetic, unprofessional, incompetent manager ever!!!! She told me and I quote: “Housekeeping cleans 20 rooms a day, things happen, and if I was that outraged I should’ve left, that’s what she would’ve done”!!! No wonder, housekeeping is doing a lackluster job, look at management!!! And to add insult to injury, my bill was incorrect and I was charged for the larger dirty room that I did not sleep in versus the smaller one. Needless to say, I’ll never visit another Holiday Inn chain and I suggest you stay far away from this one!!! I’ll be spending all day seeking out any and everyone in corporate!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid staying here!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper08764704565, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Aug 2021
We appreciate the feedback, djanar2018. We're deeply disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly. We hold ourselves to a much higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team to help us rectify these problems moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela M wrote a review Mar 2020
Los Angeles, California224 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Spacious, beautiful, comfortable room and hotel with helpful staff. Room service or a variety of restaurants nearby. Shuttle to airport, breakfast and in room coffee /fridge/microwave. Had a delay in reaching hotel by phone (on hold) and in shuttle’s early am arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MariaD13824, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We thank you for the naming us the best Holiday Inn around. We hope to have you back to visit again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BRIAN W wrote a review Jan 2020
Blackwood, New Jersey13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is great. Modern, the rooms are great, the bathrooms are spacious and perfectly appointed.... bar / restaurant is nice and right inside the hotel. Cracker Barrel, McDonald's, Burger King and 7 Eleven are within walking distance!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MariaD13824, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed our new product. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express chicago-midway airport hotel chicago, holiday inn chicago, chicago holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicago
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES CHICAGO-MIDWAY AIRPORT, AN IHG HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (IL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mr C's Midway Bar Inc (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Giordano's, TGI Fridays, and Lou Malnati's Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Midway Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (12.5 km), Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (14.1 km), and The Rookery Building (14.8 km).