We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Save
Share
58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$413
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
$413
View deal
Priceline
$332
View deal
Expedia.com$414
Hotels.com$413
Vio.com$332
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (362)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (398)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Gulf View Waterfront Resort remains one of the Florida Keys' best kept secrets. This small Marathon Florida hotel is charming and private. The Dolphin Research Center is a short walk away, and Aquarium Encounters, Crane Point Hammock, and the Turtle Hospital are all nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Canoeing
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
590Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 382
  • 138
  • 43
  • 18
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rachna R wrote a review Jan 2023
Jersey City, New Jersey4 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at this place with my family on a particular cold Christmas In Florida . The room was half of what a standard room at a Hilton or a Marriott would be , but costed twice as much. The first night was cold , we slept in our jackets . The second day I spoke to the front desk , that informed us the ac has a heating option ( felt dumb we didn't notice it) so we turned the heating(option ) and left for the day. It was 48f In the room when we got back. My toes froze I couldnt sleep until 5 On top of that noise from the road and their fire alarm blinked the whole night. So the next day they called a maintenance guy, who informed us the ac 's heating . Was broken . I went to the front desk, the only solution they had was extra blankets( the ones you get in Costco )and a dirty heating tower , which they doubted worked . So I requested to check out early and a partial refund for that day/night. They refused . I told them if it was my husband and I we would have braved it, but I have a baby in diapers and an eight year old that were miserable during the 2 nights. We were not asking for the whole amount, just the day for which we were not staying. It's a non refundable trip. So what you are saying it, you can stay here. But it's not the hotel's responsibility if the guests are miserable because you didn't service your AC, or leave extra blankets before hand, in a room with a broken AC , in case the weather changes for worse. SORRY TOO BAD YOU DECIDED TO BOOK WHEN IT JUST TURNED 48F. Also there front desk closes at 5pm. So the second night when the ac was on, but our room was freezing there was no one at the front desk to help.IT WAS LOCKED . We can make the 400 we lost , but this attitude especially for a small business, is surprising. I thought they were all about building relationships and treating patrons like family. I am thinking if it was a Hilton or a Marriott, would I have been writing this review.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gulf View Waterfront Resort, General Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest. We appreciate your feedback on our property but will have to disagree with you on some of your points. Ultimately, we are not going to meet everyone’s taste, but are confident in our open and fair reviews that overwhelmingly show how appreciative our guest really are to join us at GVR and how much we appreciate them. The team tried to accommodate you and your family as much they could, got a heater – yes maybe dusty, but we simply do not need to use them her in the Keys, office h are to 5pm and it is noted at the time of booking and office door. Best regards, Gulf View team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willows wrote a review Dec 2022
Dublin, Ohio42 contributions27 helpful votes
ROOM 21 is facing to the road, VERY noisy. Room 21 window without curtain, outside is parking lot lights, very bright at night. Dirty bedding, with dark brown spot on bedding, had to sleep in sleeping bags for first night since there is NO staff onsite after 5. broken shower handle, animal bite on the blinds, TINY TV... Think twice before you want to book..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gulf View Waterfront Resort, General Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for joining us on your most recent stay. We will take this critique and keep them in mind as we continue to make improvements in our rooms. We hope to see you again on your next venture to the Keys!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S wrote a review Dec 2022
New York City, New York9 contributions13 helpful votes
Refused to give refund during Hurricane Ian. Are they expecting me travel there and put life in jeopardy in the keys just to honor the reservation. Really greedy from this property and not caring of their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gulf View Waterfront Resort, General Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest. Our guest comfort and security will always be priority and it disappointing us to see, that after us trying to reach out to you in order to confirm your reservation, you never responded. And us unfortunate it was to some other parts of Florida, we did good as our guests. Best regards, Gulf View Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tawnie E wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions
+1
Absolutely amazing experience! Beautiful rooms, comfort beds, coffee in each room. The staff were so friendly and made sure that we were happy every time we talked to them. The fishing was amazing!! We caught 5 or 6 different kinds of fish including a barracuda and a red snapper right off the dock.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gulf View Waterfront Resort, General Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Vacations are amazing! Thank you so much for choosing us during your visits and we hope to see you again very soon! Thank you! All the Best, Gulf View Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie W wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Really? I read through many of the reviews, and I am sad to say that my visit was not so great. The room was clean, the staff friendly. But our room was probably the worst one here. We had a "gulf view" from our bedroom window, where every other location seems to have a view from their patio. #11, the Mutton Snapper, had 2 queen beds against walls, so hard to use. The bathroom was tiny with no space to set things down, there was no light in the shower and not very hot water. AND NO COFFEE POT. Only Keurig. We brought all of our coffee items other than the pot, only to find a keurig w/ bland, light coffee. Normally the room is not my concern as we are in the Keys, where we should've been on the water, or in the pool, or in the hammock - however the weather was bad. And the television - was about the size of my computer monitor. I'm including a picture - our room was on the bottom floor w/ no view.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't get Room 11 - and bring your own coffeepot!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gulf View Waterfront Resort, General Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We understand your feedback and do apologize, but good news , mowing forward our goal as the new company is to make some improvements in our units. We hope you do move forward with considering us in the future and can't wait to show you the finished product! All the Best, Gulf View Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sage F wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
We are from Canada and we stayed in marathon for two nights. I searched around reading reviews and looking at photos comparing and this place exceeded all expectations. The price is so affordable, the rooms are cute boho style and were very clean and the view at the resort was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a place to stay I would recommend this place 1000x over to anyone. We hope to come back one day and stay here! Thank you Gulf view resort for making our stay so memorable!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DKBreaux wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
+1
What a nice a quaint little place. We stopped in for one night between Miami and Key West. Though not fancy it is nice, clean, comfy and safe. (All things important to me). For the price you not only get a room but also nice amenities on the grounds. I was impressed. Just wish we could have stayed longer. The sweet lady (Sandra) set up our room to welcome us for our anniversary trip. Nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Great price Free parking Nice amenities
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sam wrote a review Aug 2022
16 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely location overlooking the water, however the place is in need of some TLC. The room we stayed in was too small for 3 but very clean with amenities. The noise was noticeable from adjoining rooms and Highway. The microwave was faulty and kept beeping it went off at 6am and every 10 mins thereafter.. The car park area was overtaken by boat owners at one point. Our daughter was in a wheelchair and the place is not accessible, again it does state that so not a moan just a heads-up! Not worth what they charge considering what is just down the road.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MRQTN wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We loved our stay! The resort advertises "comfortable, not fancy" and that accurately sums it up. The place was beautiful and reasonably, though not immaculately, maintained. Pros: the pool was very nice. It's large for the size of the resort and is tile. It has a fun dolphin mosaic at the bottom. It was well maintained and clean. There is some shade and some sun. The chairs were fine and there was a bin for water toys and floats. The gulf view is beautiful, and the lounge chairs by the water are nice. It's important to know ahead that it is a basking beach and not a sandy beach that you can access to play or swim. The water up to the resort was very shallow and had sea grass, etc growing in it. There is a nice outdoor eating area and hammocks. The tetherball was broken the first night we were there and was fixed promptly the next morning. We had a nice table outside our unit for our private use. The indoor furnishings were not great--the futon seemed particularly on the shabby side--but the beds were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in while traveling. The linens were all white and high quality. Comments on things observed in other reviews: two kayaks remain and we enjoyed them. There are no paddleboat or canoes (as mentioned on the website and on the sign by the dock). I hope they add to the fleet and keep the kayaks. It's a nice additional activity on site. They even allowed us to check out the paddles overnight as our teenagers particularly wanted to have a sunset paddle. They loved it. The birds and turtles have moved to the dolphin center next door. Hopefully they will take the cages down and repurpose the area as it now looks a bit dingy. They brought in additional gravel for the parking area while we were there, so the management is maintaining and updating things. They had a good contactless system for fresh linens and necessities. The Keys are just expensive. While it wasn't cheap to stay here, it was the best value I could find for our dates. It was relaxing and we would love to come back! The nearby beaches were beautiful (Sombrero is particularly nice especially if you have smaller kids) and Key West was an easy day trip. Oh, and Christina in the office was amazingly helpful and friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Unit #19 had two bedrooms and a table available on the patio outside that had a gulf view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Relax684949 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Not sure how this is a “resort,” but I have stayed at Motel 6’s that cost one fifth the price and were more luxurious. Staff was very pleasant but there was nothing pleasant about the accommodations. Second floor room with no luggage cart, had to walk everything up a flight of stairs. No front door. The “doors” were sliding glass patio doors with cheap locks that did not feel secure at all. Room was barely adequate, double beds instead of queen, dirty bathtub. Sleep was impossible. Air conditioner was wall mounted with bright digital display which lit up the room and it was too noisy to keep running all night (although when it was running it drowned out the noise from the highway). Worst of all, our second day there they installed fire alarms in all the rooms. These flashed all night long like a strobe light and kept me awake and gave me a migraine. We finally had to step on a chair and put towels over it so we could get some sleep. We shared a connecting room with friends. (One of them slept with black underwear over his face to drown out the strobe lights.) The doors between the rooms had no door handles so couldn’t be easily opened and didn’t close completely. The patio deck outside the rooms was shared with adjoining rooms so that until 2 in the morning there were people talking literally outside our front “door.” The grounds were not really useable. Had a couple of kayaks (but no life jackets or paddles that we could see), a boat dock, a tetherball pole, a couple of hammocks, a couple of grills. Didn’t check out the pool because just sitting outside on the patio, we were eaten alive by mosquitoes and/or noseeums. My legs and arms are itching like crazy. We chose this place for it’s convenient location midway down the keys, and it was at least a good location. I understand there are new owners and I wish them luck. As it is now, it was one of the worst experiences I have ever had on a vacation and I could not recommend this place. What a waste of money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$278 - US$409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gulf view waterfront hotel marathon
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysMarathon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GULF VIEW WATERFRONT RESORT - UPDATED 2023 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Marathon, FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include Dolphin Research Center (0.09 km), Seven Mile Bridge (2.1 km), and Curry Hammock State Park (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hideaway Cafe, S.S. Wreck & Galley Grill, and Angler and Ale.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Gulf View Waterfront Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Gulf View Waterfront Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.