We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
701 Gulf Blvd Corner of Gulf Blvd & 7th Avenue North, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2622
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (106)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (5)

About

#6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Indian Rocks Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
These lovely, quaint cottages complete with their old-fashioned porches may seem to be from another era; that is because they are. The 14 cottages that comprise Sunshine Cozy Cottages date back to pre-WW II, ca. 1930. Originally built at MacDill Air force Base as officer’s quarters, the cottages remained on this military base through the 2nd World War and were eventually brought down to Indian Rocks Beach by barge around 1945 where it became one of the first resorts on the beach and today remains one of the few original resorts that started the Gulf Beach trend.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
74Reviews4Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 45
  • 11
  • 4
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ashley S wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Worst management. Would not recommend. Not family friendly. They are only concerned about money. There are so many other places that have availability and worth staying at. Do your research! Settling for thus place is not worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Schneider, Innkeeper at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 5 May 2021
I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with our cottages. Your statement was very general without specific. What specific about the management? What do you consider family friendly? We have a lot of families visit & they usually have a good time. I agree that there are many places that are available. Does that mean you didn't do any research before you booked? I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Do well & stay safe...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle T wrote a review Apr 2021
Chatham, Illinois3 contributions
Thank you to Chris, Donna, and Darlene for again providing Cabin 6 for our stay at Sunshine Cozy Cottages! We always appreciate the cleanliness of our cottage, fully equipped with the most thoughtful details. We have enjoyed the quality of our amenities here over the years that include abundant supplies of quality linens and bedding. Often, while here, we have fun cooking in . The fully stocked kitchen essentials make it possible for my resident "seafood chef", hubby to create our favorite dinners. We have so much fun seeing the beautiful flocks of Egrets in the area, as we dine on our darling porch. The staff will stop at nothing to see that our needs are met. As a health care professional, when looking for accommodations on vacation, cleanliness is a top priority. The cleaning staff at Sunshine always does an outstanding job of providing a scrupulously clean and fresh cottage. I am a neat freak, and this attention to detail helps to provide a stress free vacation. We have always appreciated the way the staff checks in on us to see that we are completely satisfied. That is why we make Sunshine the only place we will stay when visiting the "Sunshine State!"
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Any cottage- we have stayed at many of them...always completely satisfied
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Schneider, Innkeeper at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 10 Apr 2021
Hi Michelle, that was sweet & such a nice review. Thank you for that. We will see you again at the end of the year. Do well, stay safe & healthy!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foodie Family wrote a review Apr 2021
Hodgenville, Kentucky19 contributions
+1
We stayed in cabin 5. Perfect for a family of 3. We enjoyed the ocean breeze from the front porch. Beds were comfortable. Had a full kitchen which we didn't end up using except to cook a pizza one night for a late night snack. This cabins are old, but don't let that scare you. It added to their charm for us. They were originally officers quarters at the nearby airforce base and moved to the location to become beach resort in the post WWII Era. Everything you need and only seconds from the beach access and a short walk to amazing restaurants. Definitely will consider a return trip. Would be great for multiple families to rent several of the cabin units.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Schneider, Innkeeper at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 10 Apr 2021
Thank you for kind review. We appreciate having you & your thoughts on how you enjoyed our cottages. We look forward to having you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LLL wrote a review Mar 2021
Riverside, New Jersey1 contribution
3/25/21 Do Not Stay In Cottage #6. It is an old, depressing and disgusting cottage. There are holes in the floors, obviously the original. The walls and ceiling are just as dark. The furniture was dirty and very overused. Wires for lamps and air conditioners and TV's are all connected to a power strip in both bedrooms. There is mold in the bathroom and the shower tiles are coming apart presenting sharp edges. The windows are painted shut and if there was a fire, there is no way out. This is by no means a quaint cottage, it is a camping cabin without the bunkbeds. The beds were not bad and the refrigerator worked. The TV in the living room worked too, but not the TV in the bedroom. Airbnb charged us $400.00 in fees...they obviously do not check their recommendations. I would never recommend this place to anyone. IRB is a beautiful beach town in Florida, but this cottage is not worthy of its community. This $900.00 cabin placed a real damper on our vacation when we returned from our evening visiting IRB. We were all very disappointed. City Hall should shut this place down until it is renovated. Sincerely and truthfully, LL
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Room Tip: Don't rent cabin #6. Others may be fine.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Schneider, Innkeeper at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 2 Apr 2021
REBUTAL: I am very disappointed with this guest who wrote up an unpleasant review of Cottage 6. Instead of working with us in making her stay more pleasurable, which we always aim to do, she preferred to create a negative impression of her accommodations. In respect to her comment regarding our cottage being old, I acknowledge that they are not the Hyatt or Hilton Hotels. They were originally built at MacDill Air force Base in Tampa as officers’ quarters. The cottages remained on the military base through the 2nd World War and were eventually brought down to Indian Rocks Beach by barge around 1945. The cottages, originally named “Coral Beach Court”, became one of the first resorts on the beach and today remain one of the few original properties that started the Gulf Beach trend. Exact quote from our website: sunshinecozycottages.com In her comment of being depressing & disgusting, that is a matter of emotional opinion. There’s nothing I could do about how she feels toward something. She complained about our towels, we brought her new ones. She complained about the air conditioner & that was taken apart, cleaned, disinfected/sanitized & put back. There was no mention about any mold in the bathroom. Our professional cleaners do a great job. Our window unfortunately was painted shut & if necessary, she could have escaped through the back door if the front door was blocked as a security precaution. The excuse of opening the window should not have been an issue unless she wanted to open it to let the air from the air conditioner to escape & raise our electric bill. The wires she described were put together so everything worked & there was no complaint there (that everything worked). While she was staying at the cottage, my Go to Girl would periodically check in on her to find out if she needed anything. The guest was pleasant & polite giving the impression that everything was fine. She didn’t ask for anything else or made additional mention about the window being a problem. If there were severe issues that needed our attention or needed to be fixed or handled with repairs right away, the guest never mentioned it. If they don’t communicate it, we don’t know. We do our very best to accommodate our guests & regularly work toward our historical cottages being clean, comfortable, convenient & affordable. We love it when our guests enjoy themselves & return, which many of them do.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian H wrote a review Oct 2020
Keller, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is AMAZING. Pristine beaches near by and the cottages are very well maintained. Tonya and Chris Bills (Owners) are simply THE BEST. They treated us like family and made sure we were very satisfied with our stay. I would recommend them HIGHLY.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Thank you Brian, glad you had a pleasant stay. We hope you will visit us again...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen MacDonald wrote a review May 2019
Sydney, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
co·zy/ˈkōzē/ : adjective : giving a feeling of comfort, warmth, and relaxation. The Sunshine Cozy Cottages could not be more aptly named. If you want a place that is luxourious, modern and unfriendly, then book a spot across the street and deal with snotty neighbours beside, above or below you, at double the price. Here, at the Cozies, as my wife likes to call them, you have your own home away from home, a well appointed kitchen, a large living/dining room, good sized bedrooms, a spacious porch and friendly neighbours, many of which have returned year after year. This is our seventh visit. Yes, you might read some less than positive reviews, but they are from folks that just don't get it. This place is unique and special. The management, Darlene and Donna, could not be more accommodating – if you have a problem, they will sort it out to your satisfaction. And then there’s Chris, your on site hostess, who performs her chores well above the call of duty. She has become a dear friend and we look forward to seeing her each year when we return. She puts the cozy in the cottages. These roomy cottages are nearly 100 years old and are showing their age, but we have seen steady improvements and updates – renovated bathrooms and kitchens and much more done every time we return. If you want an inexpensive alternative to the overpriced and less than cozy choices on the beach (the Cozies are only 60 seconds from the sand) then this is the place for you! We'll be back, for sure. Steve and Debbie
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Go198744 wrote a review Mar 2019
51 contributions29 helpful votes
Even before I checked in, I had a bad vibe about this place. The owner wasnt on the property, so I had to call her. She seemed very confused as to why I was calling. Once she figured it out, she directed me to cabin 16, where I was staying. The housekeeper was there and gave me the keys, no paperwork, nothing. The cabin was very run down, electrical sockets loose, no exhaust fan in bathroom, uneven floors, ceiling fan, air conditioner and blinds were filthy, furniture is old, there were 2 doors that lead to laundry areas that were blocked of, but still creepy, a door that led to a patio but was blocked off, kitchen was listed as being fully equipped but had the bare necessities, garbage disposal didn't work. On the positive side, the property is in walking distance to the beach, cafes and shops, in close proximity to many beach towns and things to do, beds were comfy, and the history of the property/buildings is neat. I saw into the cabin across from ours and it looked a lot nicer than ours. I feel that for the price we paid, the cabin could be a lot better. The pictures online are deceiving. I W ont be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DarleneS1257, Manager at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Thank you for bringing up your concern with your stay at Sunshine Cozy Cottages. I am sorry that one had a disappointing experience. Our policy is always to provide good customer service to our guests that would result in comfort, convenience & relaxation. Our quaint cottages complete with their old-fashioned porches may seem to be from another era; that is because they are. The 14 cottages that comprise Sunshine Cozy Cottages date back to pre-WW II, ca. 1930. Originally built at MacDill Air force Base as officer’s quarters, the cottages remained on this military base through the 2nd World War and were eventually brought down to Indian Rocks Beach by barge around 1945 where it became one of the first resorts on the beach and today remains one of the few original resorts that started the Gulf Beach trend. I totally understand that our historical cottages were not to what one was accustomed to. It was not our intention. Our aim was to provide "Old Florida Style" accommodations at an affordable price. We have since corrected your concerns & hope someday you will give us another try. We appreciated your sharing the positive side of our location.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen D wrote a review Feb 2019
Ravenna38 contributions13 helpful votes
We would definitely return....our cottage had everything we needed....excellent Wifi, a large kitchen stocked with plenty of cookware, and a comfy living space/bedroom. The feeling of privacy, versus staying in a hotel was priceless.....and the other vacationers were all very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mjubenville2018 wrote a review Aug 2018
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution
If you're looking for a place like the Hyatt, this will not be your cup of tea. If you want a quaint, historic, very cool place with your own cabin, then this is your place, Very family friendly, huge courtyard and the best people on the planet taking care of you (Love you Cris). I'm very disappointed when they are all booked up when I want to stay in IRB. Every time I come to IRB I stay here, or I don't come.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene S, Manager at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 8 Sep 2018
Thank you for spending your vacation here at Sunshine Cozy Cottages. We loved having you here & hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annmarie P wrote a review Jul 2018
33 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
Chose this facility to be within walking distance to daughter’s beach wedding. Travelled with a frail relative and a few others who had travelled from up north. This place is a dump. Unresponsive owner major construction site with debris scattered throughout. Our unit had no running water in the shower and black mold growing in the bathroom. Floors uneven and scatter rugs used to cover the imperfection. Window ac didnt work and it was 90 degrees out. Ceiling fans improperly installed and swayed dangerously and loudly. Moved to a smaller unit which was not any better Painted windows see thru window coverings and dust. The furnishings reminded me of dumpster diving days and no one tried to improve on them. Seriously a nasty experience. The entire property is unloved and unkempt. And the cost of staying there is no bargain. This is not the norm for this area which has some amazing beaches and decent affordable independent rentals. This one is just god awful. The owner, darlene schnieder, needs to get her act together and fix this blemish.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane D, Manager at Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Responded 10 Jul 2018
We immediately moved this guest to another cottage once she voiced her complaints. As always, we strive to make our guests happy and comfortable. Our cottages are historic and charming. We lovingly take care of them and our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Uncle Milt's Courtyard Cottages Inc
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaIndian Rocks Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Nearby attractions include McGough Nature Park (0.9 km), Splash Harbour Water Park (0.6 km), and Indian Rocks Historical Museum (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crabby Bill's, Kooky Coconut, and Villa Gallace.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunshine Cozy Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pinellas County Heritage Village (3.9 km).