We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matterhorn Inn and Suites

Save
Share
201 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (26)
View from Room (5)

About

#13 of 15 hotels in Ouray
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A luxurious motel set in the middle of the San Juan Mountains in the town of Ouray. We provide the most modern and comfortable rooms in the city of Ouray. Come and experience a sense of tranquility among beautiful scenes of nature in the cozy lodgings we offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
199Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 53
  • 12
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linda P wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Matterhorn Inn is everything mentioned above. Very convenient for access to Main Street Ouray. Very clean with comfortable beds. Cozy in the sense it has everything you need with no space wasted. The fridge, microwave and breakfast were a good fit. The family in this family business is personally invested in pleasing its guests. The outside patio, seating area and hot tub was very inviting.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jules wrote a review Sep 2021
Timnath, Colorado45 contributions9 helpful votes
Great location...walking distance to downtown. Clean rooms and friendly staff! The outdoors was decorated really cute with flowers and lights! The deck and hot tub area was very clean. The provided breakfast was good!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
KD G wrote a review Mar 2021
Minneapolis, Minnesota38 contributions27 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Matterhorn several times and are always impressed with the quality of the accommodations and the service. The linens are great , the bed is comfortable, the rooms are clean and updated. AND the place is reasonably priced. Couldn't be better. Oh yes, the breakfast provided was ample and good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We always chose the second floor to avoid early riser clomping around over head.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Darrell G wrote a review Sep 2020
Munich3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Matterhorn Inn for three nights last week and were delighted with our stay. Jeremy at the front desk was very courteous, professional and wonderful at planning our stay. We had four people in our party in three rooms. Everyone reported they were very comfortable and their rooms and the bathrooms were spotless. We all commented that despite the inn being fully booked we didn’t hear our neighbors at all. If it weren’t for the “No” light on the vacancy sign lit up I would have sworn I had empty rooms around me. The room rates were reasonable. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts at the Timberline Deli whose operating hours (opened at 7 am) worked well for our early morning off-road adventures. Kudos to Jeremy and the Matterhorn Inn for making our stay a very happy and memorable experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Michele Cottingham wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We've been coming to this location for 30 years and have always loved it. They have done a tremendous job of keeping things updated and up until recently their customer service was impeccable. You can imagine my frustration when I recently stayed and was contacted about a missing pillow. I explained to the Matterhorn rep that we placed all the pillows on the spare bed and used our own pillows on the bed we slept on. She kept repeating that the inventory should have been 8 pillows, but there were only 7. I assured her that we did not take a pillow. We do a lot of traveling and never considered the need to inventory so after explaining all this to the hotel rep I couldn't believe there was a $50 charge on my credit card when I returned home. Very disappointing given that we have had many good stays at this place and now they are gouging their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Matterhorn Office, Owner at Matterhorn Inn and Suites
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Funny how management is horrible, yet you were the one yelling at us and cussing at us. All we asked was did you accidentally take a pillow because the room is stocked with 8 but you think we are stupid enough to believe that there was 7 in your room. Right away you exploded with “____ you lady” Horrible management, or horrible customer? And, you couldn’t even call back after you admitted to listening to our voicemail that we left you?
Read more
Gino M wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
This was a great place to stay. Nice rooms and comfortable beds. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. You get free breakfast at the Timberline Deli. That was a nice surprise!! I was thinking it was a continental breakfast but the breakfast you get there was great. Also the location is perfect. Close to the Main Street. Great views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Mandy M wrote a review Aug 2020
53 contributions6 helpful votes
Clean accommodations. We arrived after check-in time and reception stayed for us which was a welcomed surprise. The outdoor courtyard has a gas firepit with a gazebo and tables to enjoy. Close to walk to Main street, the complimentary breakfast was delish, and more than expected.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
7548 wrote a review Jul 2020
Little Rock, Arkansas, USA73 contributions64 helpful votes
Stayed 3 nights, family of 4. This is only my second time staying in an inn or motel so I was very leery. Overall the room was clean and toiletries stocked. The room is small but basic and clean. As long as it's clean I can handle the small room. Ventilation seemed to be a slight issue in the bathroom. Every now and then we open the door to get some fresh air. Once again no big deal as long as you keep the AC pretty cool. It's right off the main street and you can walk everywhere in town. There were no vacancies and we were impressed we could barely hear our neighbors. It seems to be on par with what the other motels and hotels look like from the outside. The hot tub is the size you would see on a back porch. Nothing fancy but available to use. We roasted smores at the tabletop fire pit which was nice in the evening. The young man who worked the office in the evening was polite and courteous. A complimentary breakfast pass was given to use at a nearby restaurant each morning of our stay. It was an average offering of breakfast items but good. I would consider staying at this place again as long as they continue to keep it clean!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
daisyfm wrote a review Jun 2020
Orland Park, Illinois31 contributions18 helpful votes
We came into Ouray to shop and stay overnight. Just booked at the last minute. The Matterhorn was recommended by a friend. Beds were so comfortable, crisp linens, very clean room. Breakfast was close at a local Deli- Sandwich Factory, which was very good! Matterhorn was a home run for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cherim742 wrote a review Sep 2019
Grand Junction, Colorado60 contributions52 helpful votes
Very nice accommodations, just one block off Main Street. Clean, updated rooms. Very quiet. Owner very nice and breakfast was amazing! Free breakfast up the street at Ouray Wings. Delicious choices and a lot of food! Great patio area as well. We will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$181 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matterhorn hotel ouray
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoOuray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Matterhorn Inn and Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Nearby attractions include Ouray Alchemist Museum (0.1 km), Yankee Boy Basin (0.1 km), and Imogene Pass (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include BrickHouse 737, Mouses Chocolates and Coffee, and Bon Ton Restaurant.
Is Matterhorn Inn and Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Ouray.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Matterhorn Inn and Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting New Sheridan Hotel (15.4 km).
Does Matterhorn Inn and Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Matterhorn Inn and Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.