We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
120 Hickey Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-1144
Lowest prices for your stay
$140
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$140
View deal
Expedia.com$140
Travelocity$140
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#27 of 29 hotels in South San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Royal Inn, your South San Francisco “home away from home.” Royal Inn aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Guest rooms offer a refrigerator and air conditioning, and Royal Inn makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the motel, including a 24 hour front desk and newspaper.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Ed's Diner, Cable Car Cafe, and Denny's, which are some diners that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you are interested in exploring South San Francisco, check out a history museum, such as South San Francisco History Museum.

Royal Inn puts the best of South San Francisco at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
1695Restaurantswithin 10 km
189Attractionswithin 10 km
26Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3
  • 0
  • 8
  • 4
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rupert Murdoch wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
The Royal Inn is conveniently located and well kept. I was surprised to find such a great rate on SF peninsula hotel. Paid less than $100 and got a room with 2 KING beds. The beds are comfortable. Room was clean and the manager was very friendly and hospitable. Located just minutes from SFO, this hotel was a good spot to stay giving us access to shopping and the city for our family trip. Kids had plenty of space and the fridge and microwave was useful. I recommend saving money and staying at this hotel vs these branded hotels, where you can't even get a fridge in the room or have to pay for parking--Royal Inn is a bargain and offers good clean rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Royal Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Rupert, Thank you so much for leaving a Perfect Score review for your stay at Royal Inn. It is a pleasure to learn that you were satisfied with your stay. I'm glad that you loved your stay at our conveniently located hotel and so happy to know that our hardworking staff made your stay comfortable. Your recommendations are highly appreciated. Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Thank You, Royal Inn P.S. Don't forget to book directly on royalinnsfo.com to get the best deals and discounts.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan G wrote a review Dec 2018
Los Angeles, California15 contributions4 helpful votes
This is probably one of the not so good motel/inn I have ever been. I booked this inn a week ago for 2 nights and price was reasonable. When we arrived they were assigning me to a room in the third floor. My companion is disabled and told them to find us a room in the first floor which they did. The room they assigned us in the first floor has a lot of things to improve on but let’s start with the good ones. Water pressure is good and hot when you needed it. Towels are ready. Near gas station fast food and restaurants. The bad part, room is so old and furnitures need to be upgraded. Need more lighting, too dark. TV cable does not have good channels and tv is hard to operate. It has an emanating awful weed smell or probably covering it with so much air-spray. The other one star is the courteous and not so rude staff which I think is being run by an Indian family. Not the type of inn that I would go back again. Sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Royal Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Jonathan, Thank you so much for appreciating our hardworking staff. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our affordable property; however, I am sorry for the issues you had with your room assignment. Thank you for pointing out the positive and negative points at our property. We hope you choose us again and give us a second chance to provide a great stay in South San Francisco. Sincerely, Royal Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate C wrote a review Jun 2018
Santa Rosa, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
Room hadn’t been vacuumed. No towels. Dust on most surfaces. No toilet paper on the holder. Linoleum floor stained with ... I can’t even guess. Hotel response : housekeeper was in the hospital. 2 1/2 stars? No stars!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Royal Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Kate, We are sorry to hear you weren't happy with your accommodations at Royal Inn. Guest satisfaction for us is highly rewarding, so I am terribly sorry for your experience and for the issues in your room. We will certainly take this opportunity to highlight the problems and resolve them. We hope you will give us another chance in the future so you can see that this was an isolated occurrence. Sincerely, Royal Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sherylaselfkruse wrote a review Jul 2017
Richland, Washington1 contribution
I read the reviews on The Royal Inn before making a reservation. I am now certain that the glowing reviews had to have been written by a bribed Property Scout from Booking.com, because I found nothing like what had been described by the reviewers. First issue was with a very prominent sign posted next to the check-in window. No cigarette or marijuana smoking in the rooms or on the property. You are subject to a $250.00 charge on your credit card if you smoke in the room. Immediately upon entering the room it was evident someone had been smoking in there. Mind you, my husband smokes and I tolerate the smell but I didn’t want to get charged $250 for a smell that was already present so went down and reported it. The guy came right up, sniffed around and went and got a can of Febreeze! Sprayed the carpet, bed, towels….ok, good (at least no more liability on me). This place was filthy, run-down, and noisy because of the 24-hour gas station and racing cars on Hickey Blvd. Our dirty wash cloths were taken but were not replaced. We had to continually fill the toilet tank with water (thank goodness I kept one of the Carl’s Jr. cups) so that it would flush and quit running. No soap, no plastic cup replacements, no ice bucket….oh wait, there was a leather covered ice bucket on the counter but when you turn it over, the insides had been pulled out so it was totally unusable. Saw bugs on 3 different occasions but didn’t look close enough to determine what they were….just squashed them. After an evening of walking barefoot on the carpet, the soles of my feet looked like I had walked a mile on a Walmart parking lot! Stayed at the American Inn on El Camino Real a couple of years ago. It had a better price, but above all, it was clean and quiet. Consider yourself warned about Royal Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Royal Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed with your review to know that you were unhappy with your stay at Royal Inn. We apologize for your inconvenience; we have noted all of your concerns and will have our team investigate and rectify them. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Thank You, Royal Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve M wrote a review May 2017
Boise, Idaho2 contributions
What a terrible place. We booked a room online and were within 2 minutes of arrival, guy called with terrible English and said room flooded and canceled our reservation! We showed up as we were just around the corner. The counter attendant obviously lives there as it smelled horrible. Refused to show me room, refused to address why he personally cancelled reservation. Remind you he said room flooded...yea right! He kept saying he refused to sell me the room, English was not his first language! Finally he admitted someone else called and said they would pay MORE MONEY! My reservation is cancelled now get out! He totally lied, I stopped next door at the next hotel same parking lot, was told this was routine treatment by the previous establishment! ROYAL INN-save your time and money! FYI we were in town and U2 was performing, this was nothing but about charging fees for a room! Royal Inn advertised a rate that was false! We ended up sleeping in our car in South San Fran because no other rooms were available within 75 miles!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: DO NOT spend your hard earned American money here! RUDE
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Royal Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Steve, It is apparent from your review that you did not have a good time at our South San Francisco hotel. It is disheartening to know that you were not accommodated well at Royal Inn. This is not the typical experience our guests have with us, and it should not have happened. I will pass this review to the management and understand why this happened. Again please accept our sincere apologies. Thank You, Royal Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa D wrote a review Oct 2016
London, United Kingdom49 contributions57 helpful votes
We booked the motel for an overnight stay close to San Fran airport. Upon arrival we immediately felt unsafe in the area (not the motels fault) and put our guard up. The reception area had a strong smell and a glass partition, obviously to protect the staff, which was worrying. Our room was on the second floor, had basic amenities as expected for a motel, which all worked fine. Apart from the lack of hairdryer, so I couldn't wash my hair. The bed was comfy, but the sheets and pillows were dirty and had stains on them. The carpet and curtains also looked like they had seen better days. The room was noisy too, the front door openly overlooks the road. It's a motel so I wasn't expecting much, we had stayed in a few others on this trip which were much better value for money, safe and clean. I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jerry A wrote a review Jul 2016
Los Angeles, California, United States1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here and was given a 3rd floor room. That room was just OK. Because of a bad knee, I requested a lower level room and was assigned to one for people with mobility problems. That room was nasty and full of cockroaches. The sink was unclean and the bathroom floor had dead roaches. Also, I think the manager's family lives on the second floor, right above, my room. For a few hours, I heard nothing but kids running around. I contacted the manager and was told that he will speak to them. I had a feeling he's related to them. Also, I was quoted $79 online but ended up paying over $100+tax+resort fees. Will I stay here again? Probably not.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Arlene H wrote a review May 2016
12 contributions13 helpful votes
We've stayed in many South SF hotels over the last 18 years, to be with our daughter and her family, who live nearby. Suddenly every place is incredibly expensive, like double to triple the prices from a year ago. This motel was in the price range we desired for a quick one nite sleepover before our granddaughter's 5th grade graduation. The room was more acceptable than we expected. Quite clean and very large. Bed was clean and comfortable. Bathroom ok. TV worked ok. Quiet despite being on a busy street. Free WiFi. Beyond that, Motel 6 would be a major upgrade. As examples of what you get for $125.00 a night: Mini-fridge works, but the entire inside is broken. No shelves or freezer compartment. Closet has hangers that are either plastic from Target or wire that the dry cleaners would toss out. Very thin, puny towels. You can get a hair dryer and coffeemaker from the office if you ask. But don't bother asking for cups or coffeemaker filters, let alone actual coffee, cream or sugar. But worst is attitude of managers. They were polite, but showed little interest in assisting us. We felt as though our simple requests were seen as an imposition, or by surprise that we'd even consider asking. All we wanted were those coffee cups and an extra pillow, for example, and the manager's immediate response was that he didn't have any. He did think about it for a moment, however, and finally found a pillow he could spare. Also, as mentioned, they couldn't be bothered finding us coffee cups or filters for the coffeemaker. These we had to buy at the grocery across the busy highway. Fortunately we got to this store just before they close - at 8 pm. BTW, the managers didn't even bother suggesting the grocery option nor warn us the store was about to close, once they turned down our requests. They've also posted little hand written, rude notes to the office window, such as "No refunds, ever". How we coming Why not say this in a nicer way? Yes these are little things, but serve as an indication and warning about what travelers should expect. So, if you can stay anywhere else, I suggest you do so until these proprietors come up with an attitude adjustment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nick C wrote a review May 2016
1 contribution
Upon arriving at the Royal Inn we were greeted by the local drunk homeless who tired to petal his wears to us (mio flavored water). Once we made it up the narrow cat-urine scented stairway to the main "lobby" of the hotel we were directed to our room by a rude gentlemen from the front desk. The room was not even close to what was advertised but we should have expected that from the price we paid. If you are accustomed to sleeping in what resembles a prison cell then you will feel at home at the Royal Inn. Don't expect a shower or a toilet of your own either. After an hour in the room we requested a refund (even a partial refund) and were denied so we took the loss and got an Airbnb. Head my warning and learn from my mistake, sleep on a strangers couch it is much nicer than this filthy establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Arlene H wrote a review Sep 2015
Los Angeles, California13 contributions5 helpful votes
The fridge was so old and disgusting full of rust inside. The microwave looked old and gross as well. Everything was super old and didn't look so clean. I didn't like that each door has like a cubby around it so for women traveling alone, that is kind of scary to get there at night and someone could be hiding behind the wall as you get to your room. You have to walk up an indoor stairwell also which is kind of scary at night. The neighborhood is a nice neighborhood but the hotel sucks :(
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSouth San Francisco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hills of Eternity Memorial Park (1.2 km), Molloy's Tavern (0.4 km), and Cypress Lawn Memorial Park (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk.
Is parking available at Royal Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chevys, Andy's Chinese Restaurant, and Ono Hawaiian BBQ.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting First Public School (7.3 km).
Is Royal Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.