We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL

Save
Share
754 E. San Lorenzo Road, Palm Springs, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (200)
Pool & Beach (36)
Room & Suite (22)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 13/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Diving
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Plunge pool
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Skiing
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Spa
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Chapel / shrine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
477Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 408
  • 47
  • 8
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tom wrote a review 8 Jan
1 contribution
A place in Under the Sun. This hotel should not be able to business in this day and age. They refuse entry of my two friends in to this hotel because of their race. They were two black men very good guys professional going for a end-of-the-year celebration in Palm Springs and was refused entrance because they were black. They had pre-paid rooms confirmed and on the same day confirmed their arrival. Once they arrive they were refused entrance into the hotel and told there were no more rooms available. This hotel is despicable and someone should Put them in check
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Max R wrote a review Nov 2021
Los Angeles, California4 contributions
I found this treasure by word of mouth by cafe jasmine in the city of palm springs. You walk in a lush palm tree garden with many trees and amazing large bungalows with their own private walled in gardens. The units even offer kitchens and indoor and outdoor dining spaces and huge bedrooms with a king size bed. I loved the decoration and two tv's so we could both watch what we liked most. It is amazing right here. The panoramic mountain views are insane and the proximity to the cool restaurants helps to get the most into your palm springs time. Felt very safe with the outdoor entry and super clean unit and staff was so friendly, truly distanced but always there if you need them.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Dockside23618 wrote a review Nov 2021
Liberty Lake, Washington20 contributions35 helpful votes
If I could give this property a zero, I would. First of all, don’t expect an office or any contact other than a text or phone conversation when they choose to answer. We arrived and called the phone number on record, and were told we were upgraded to The Elizabeth Taylor Suite! So far, sounds good, right? We were given a gate code and lock box code for the key. We opened the door to discover the bed was an old hide a bed, which was made up and the stained couch cushions were stacked up as a headboard. We called the number back and explained this was not acceptable, so he gave us the lockbox code for the studio next door. Upon opening the door we instantly smelled stale urine. Upon trying to call again, no answer. We received a text asking us to text as he was on the other line. I text explained that the room was not acceptable, explained the odor and requested a refund …. SILENCE until I text two more times noting I would like confirmation that we would receive a refund. Late that night I received a response saying the rooms are all sanitized with environmentally safe products, blah,blah, blah and noting he would not refund our balance. We are not picky travelers but trust me … this was the worst property I have ever seen! We were initially impressed with the pictures online and thought it looked quaint. It is horrible, however they must have an amazing photographer! Granted, I made the reservation hastily as I have since googled the property to find several very negative reviews. The response to any negative review is the deflect by coming up with excuses to blame the customer. The hospitality industry is based on customer reviews, word of mouth and repeat business. Trust that we will tell everyone we know to steer clear of this business. Extremely unprofessional! The sad honest truth is that if they paid any attention to customer reviews and input they could have an amazing property. Unfortunately they are not interested.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gav M wrote a review Nov 2021
Reading, United Kingdom23 contributions29 helpful votes
So we arrived at 10pm - the gate was locked - 3 phone calls made to get access to our room. No staff on site. The room way tiny - it claimed premlum bedding - but was more like an olld peoples hostel for homeless people. The bathroom was horrendous... broken tile - no soap - had to use shampoo to wash myself.... the door locks were complicated - if there was a fire we would struggle to escape. No coffee... but there were coffee filters.... The flies in the room seemed happy enough...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Zu, General Manager at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL
Responded 30 Nov 2021
Fabricated competitor Hatepost: We did not host anyone from the UK due to current travel regulations. Also somebody who stayed in prisons and has those experiences is definitely not our clientele as we know our wonderful high quality guests by name. Unfortunately a review abuse without identification is an easy way to slam. What we do offer is fantastic award winning large bungalows with outdoor entries, large private walled in gardens and of course the 1 acre central garden with palm trees and the fresh heated saltwater pool and spa. We cant wait to welcome the next real and discerning travelers to our wonderful boutique resort.
Read more
PatsThing1 wrote a review Oct 2021
Glendale, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything is authentically mid-century so it's very cute without being over-the-top imitation chi-chi. Shout out to the housekeepers: this place was immaculately clean. Even the tile and grout in the bathroom was gleaming. Very comfortable stay, friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$187 - US$346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCalifornia DesertGreater Palm SpringsPalm Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL
Which popular attractions are close to A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Nearby attractions include Social Cycle (0.4 km), Tahquitz Canyon (1.1 km), and Moorten Botanical Garden (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miro's Restaurant, Elmer's Restaurant - Palm Springs, and Palm Springs Koffi South.
Are there opportunities to exercise at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Indian Canyons (4.6 km), Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway (3.8 km), and Village Green Heritage Center (1.4 km).
Does A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.